OX's comments on JON

I feel the same thing about the kid, I know he is young, yet most players that are drafted at least show something that will convince supporters, coaching staff and fellow team mates that they will be a long term player.

The coaching staff know exactly how much he is improving, where he started from, and where he needs to continue improving. He's shown them plenty to satisfy them that he'll be a good player, and they've said so numerous times. He's showed good and bad in his two games this year, which is exactly what we get from every youngster. His pressure and work rate in the last quarter was exactly what the coaching staff would have been expecting from him.

Fortunately, supporters who are addicted to jumping the gun and calling for the heads of young players who are nowhere near reaching their AFL playing size, fitness or potential, hold zero influence over who stays on the list and who goes.

Maybe you are right that he believed his aboriginality gave him a special talent that would compensate for a lack of hard work.

This is a 'maybe' based on pure speculation. In reality, anyone at the club always stresses what a hard worker and a good kid JON is.

this maybe, so far, also happens to be based on observation and of course the club people are gonna talk him up...it's the "company line"....but i reckon they have doubts as i do

The coaching staff know exactly how much he is improving, where he started from, and where he needs to continue improving. He's shown them plenty to satisfy them that he'll be a good player, and they've said so numerous times. He's showed good and bad in his two games this year, which is exactly what we get from every youngster. His pressure and work rate in the last quarter was exactly what the coaching staff would have been expecting from him.

Fortunately, supporters who are addicted to jumping the gun and calling for the heads of young players who are nowhere near reaching their AFL playing size, fitness or potential, hold zero influence over who stays on the list and who goes.

Spot on! Praise the day when more posters around here show half the common sense you do...

Must have been a different player in the 29 jumper that tackled Burgoyne in the last quarter, got the free kick quickly moved the ball onto White who passed to Richo for our only goal of the quarter.

Must have been a different player in the 29 jumper that was offering leads in the dying minutes and when he did get possession managed to hit up a couple of targets despite being in heavy traffic at one point.

Seeing as people want to delist JON because he hasn't met expectations in his first 10 games, I fully expect threads stating that, Rance, Casserly, Collins, Putt, Gourdis and any future draft picks from this day on, are all to be delisted if they don't pick up at least 25 possessions, kick 5 goals and take 15 marks in their first few games. Otherwise the hypocrisy of some posters will be astounding.
:thumbsu:

I think he has been ok the last 2 games. No harm giving him games and pesisting with him, but I think we have a couple of important players to come back and he will go first

The coaching staff know exactly how much he is improving, where he started from,

Ahh, more gold from Rayzorflog!

My 10 year old would improve in his thrid season on an AFL list, so why don't we keep him? One would hope a no 8 draft pick who is a full time footballer would improve.

It isn't about improvement, it's about who is actually up to AFL standard. Of course the coaching staff are going to defend him and talk him up

This guy will waste 5/6 years on out list and end up being another krakouer, hall etc who simply aren't up to it.

Delist please

this maybe, so far, also happens to be based on observation and of course the club people are gonna talk him up...it's the "company line"....but i reckon they have doubts as i do

Observation of what exactly? The kid hadn't done a proper pre-season until this year and already he's come on in leaps and bounds showing the benefits of having a decent base to build off. The only things to observe regarding how hard he works on the track are his fitness (tick - for his age), defensive pressure (tick), and improving skills (tick).

A couple of years from now there'll be just as many people wrong about JON as there were about Tambling.

My 10 year old...

There should be a law against people like you breeding Offal Troll.

Observation of what exactly? The kid hadn't done a proper pre-season until this year and already he's come on in leaps and bounds showing the benefits of having a decent base to build off. The only things to observe regarding how hard he works on the track are his fitness (tick - for his age), defensive pressure (tick), and improving skills (tick).

A couple of years from now there'll be just as many people wrong about JON as there were about Tambling.

There should be a law against people like you breeding Offal Troll.

LMAO!
More gold from Rayzorflog!

No argument, just play the man again!

There's nothing funnier than when you wheel that one out 10 times a day Troll.

Anyone who replies to you has little choice but to 'play the man' (as you so quaintly put it) and have a good laugh at you - after all, you've never had the ball and you've never looked like getting it.

went to see adelaide v the lions last night - and i tell you what - our club made a massive mistake taking JON over Mitch Clarke - It made no sense to me at the time that we passed up such a great KP player in that draft - and a few years on - it seems even more ******ed

another to the list of shame

Fiora > Pavlich
Pettifer > S.Burgoyne / Kerr
Stafford > J.Kelly
k.Johnson &Schulz ? A.Wells, T.Selwood & Dempster
JON > Clarke / Higgins

Oour lack of respect for first round selections has been the concrete boot that has held this club back - if it wasn't shonky trades - it was using early picks on forward pockets, skinny back flanker -while the rest of the league stocked up on high quality ruckman, midfielders and Key position talent.

He needs games under his belt - keep playing him

Yeah, I agree. JON was appalling in the first half yesterday, reminding me a lot of Richie Tambling's shocking first half against Collingowod in R3. In fact, I got a bit sick of John Casey mistakenly calling him Tambling after yet another stuff up. And Richie's really come good over the last month or 6 weeks - looks like he really belongs out there now. Offering plenty.

There's no doubt that JON's got some real athleticism, and did show some clear improvement in that last quarter. He desperately needs to have some confidence and belief instilled into him. Maybe half a dozen successive senior games might do the trick. Staying uninjured is the key.

Sausage Roll said:
The coaching staff know exactly how much he is improving, where he started from,

Ahh, more gold from Rayzorflog!

My 10 year old would improve in his thrid season on an AFL list, so why don't we keep him? One would hope a no 8 draft pick who is a full time footballer would improve.

It isn't about improvement, it's about who is actually up to AFL standard. Of course the coaching staff are going to defend him and talk him up

This guy will waste 5/6 years on out list and end up being another krakouer, hall etc who simply aren't up to it.

Delist please

Just out of curiosity, was that you that altered the Wikipedia reference to Jarod Oakley-Nicholls a year or so back? If it was, then you'll know what I'm referring to.

went to see adelaide v the lions last night - and i tell you what - our club made a massive mistake taking JON over Mitch Clarke - It made no sense to me at the time that we passed up such a great KP player in that draft - and a few years on - it seems even more ******ed

What, because he's so much better than Hughes who we got in the same draft?

You picked a strange weekend to make that point Astro. ;)

What, because he's so much better than Hughes who we got in the same draft?

You picked a strange weekend to make that point Astro. ;)

what? how does our drafting of JON over Clarke have anything to do with Hughes?

if we had not drafted JON our forward line when richo retires would look like this

CHF: Morton Reiwoldt edwards
F: Brown Hughes Clarke

clarke is also capable of playing down back.

wouldn't matter what weekend it was - Clarke shits all over JON

JON is behind most of the other kids because he has suffered injuries, I believe this year was the first pre season he has been able to complete since moving. As it stands he has played the last 2 games while still recovering from a broken arm, which I don't think many people realise.

Given that the 2 games he has just played are the first 2 games he has played at AFL level in over 12 months and are his 8th & 9th games as well I think he has a bit of time on his side before we can stamp his file as never going to be a player. Imagine if we cut every player who didn't show something in their first couple of games, we would not have enjoyed Hughes kicking 6 goals yesterday or Moore becoming a solid player in the backline. Give the kid a chance to play 20-30 games first before you right him off.

Sorry RT, you take the field of battle, you are fit enough to play. I'm sure there are wise people on the training staff down there who would rule him out if he weren't up to playing.
As I said on another thread, that game on Saturday was close to the worse I have seen a guy play in our club's colours. It was embarassing and we were only one more stuff up from him away from losing the four points.
He won't make it!
The way I see it, he has no trade value. Were we to delist him tomorrow, would another club pick him up. I think not! So why should w ekeep him on our list?

There's nothing funnier than when you wheel that one out 10 times a day Troll.

Anyone who replies to you has little choice but to 'play the man' (as you so quaintly put it) and have a good laugh at you - after all, you've never had the ball and you've never looked like getting it.

No danger of you adressing the issues you are getting soundly flogged on?

I suppose thats what happens when it is all turning pear shaped for you.

You are hanging your hat on Jon "improving"..read my comments then try and respond without the pathetic attempts at being cryptic, personal or funny.

Its all to do with confidence.Its upto the coaching staff on how they manage J0N.
The talent is there[You only have to watch JON,s games in the u/18 champs to know this].You only lose that talent through lack of confidence.

Must have been a different player in the 29 jumper that tackled Burgoyne in the last quarter, got the free kick quickly moved the ball onto White who passed to Richo for our only goal of the quarter.

Must have been a different player in the 29 jumper that was offering leads in the dying minutes and when he did get possession managed to hit up a couple of targets despite being in heavy traffic at one point.

Seeing as people want to delist JON because he hasn't met expectations in his first 10 games, I fully expect threads stating that, Rance, Casserly, Collins, Putt, Gourdis and any future draft picks from this day on, are all to be delisted if they don't pick up at least 25 possessions, kick 5 goals and take 15 marks in their first few games. Otherwise the hypocrisy of some posters will be astounding.

Yes it looked good ....... :thumbsu: Gotta keep playing him ,,,,,

you cant keep going back to the well ........

He was far from good in the first half but settled down a bit later on. Last quarter was actually pretty bloody good including a decent tackle then finding White with a good pass from which Richo goaled. When kids are playing for their place they need a few weeks on the trot IMHO. JON will get there, I have no doubt, his development is on track with that of Moore, McGuane and White who we all thought werent going to get there. I'm more concerned with Casserley and Meyer at this stage.

Yeah, what's the deal with Meyer? Why isn't he pushing for selection? In fact why isn't he named in the side?

Why has a thread originating with David Schwartz generating three pages? Schwartz was a hack. Listening to the guy talk. He's lobotimised.

Sake I've just added to the idiocy!

The difference between Meyer, Cass and JON:

Meyer: Has shown he actually has skill and potential yet he has been cursed be injury and he seems to me as a lazy and soft type.. I dont think anyone here actually doubts he has potential. It is up to him though.

Cass: The kid cant take a trick.. He has had numerous injuries since coming to tigerland.. I have been to coburg games and watched him in the NAB cup, if he can get over his injuries he seems to have the skill and potential to be a solid footballer (gilbee/Gram type player)

JON: Seems to be more of an athlete than a footballer, Im sure no one is doubing that about the kid.. I believe that is what helped him trhough his junior days. Yet all games I have watched from him all I see is a good athlete that lacks footy smarts. He may of been a decent junior player yet it is a whole different ball game playing afl, the kid struggles at vfl as well, he should at least dominate that yet he still lacks the smarts at that level. In all honesty I dont see future for the kid in afl football.

Sorry RT, you take the field of battle, you are fit enough to play. I'm sure there are wise people on the training staff down there who would rule him out if he weren't up to playing.
As I said on another thread, that game on Saturday was close to the worse I have seen a guy play in our club's colours. It was embarassing and we were only one more stuff up from him away from losing the four points.
He won't make it!
The way I see it, he has no trade value. Were we to delist him tomorrow, would another club pick him up. I think not! So why should w ekeep him on our list?
Tend to agree we were one more stuff up away from losing that game, but to put it solely on JON is wrong. In the last quarter when the heat was on, alongside another whipping boy in McMahon it was JON who stood up and showed a cool head, it was JON's tackle that led to our solitary goal for the quarter, it was JON who was presenting on the outer wing when others were standing still, it was JON who ran back into traffic and then picked out a target on the opposite wing.

As I said at the end of the previous post Goldy if everyone who is getting stuck into JON is serious then they should also have threads prepared so that when Rance, Casserly, Gourdis & Putt fail to take the AFL world by storm in their first 10 games they can call for their delistings as well otherwise they are simply hypocrites.

if we had not drafted JON our forward line when richo retires would look like this

What's so difficult to understand? We passed on Clarke for JON and got Hughes 2nd pick anyway. Maybe Clarke will be better, maybe Hughes will, maybe Gourdis and/or Putt who we picked up in later drafts will be better than both of them. Regardless, we got a good key forward in Hughes and we've addressed our problem of both KP forwards and KP defenders during Wallace's time.

This perpetual Miller bashing is beyond ridiculous, particularly on the same weekend our 2nd round CHF from the same draft just kicked 6.1 and produced more than Clarke has so far to date. Were Brisbane idiots for not picking Hughes? Who can tell at this early stage?

As for Clarke being better than JON, we're a long way from determining that yet, besides which, they're completely different players picked to fill completely different roles.

No danger of you adressing the issues you are getting soundly flogged on?

LMAO, let us know when you think you've managed to post your first "issue" Troll.

Dozens of people (myself included) have responded to your 'JON should be sacked' trolling with numerous points about the virtues of showing patience with young players of obvious ability, your only comeback is to bleat 'JON should be sacked' another 100 times and pretend it'll pass for debate. It doesn't - it marks you as a bleating moron doing nothing but trying in vain to stick the knife into a young player who doesn't deserve it.

Between that and the very slim odds that you've ever flogged anything that wasn't attached to your own body, you're just a constant source of amusement.

How do you know that Brisbane wouldn't have taken Hughes if we had taken Clarke?