OZBomb

West Ham United
Hi Guys. For those that didn't see the last version... This is what I consider to be the best available talent at the forthcoming draft. It's not what clubs will select in the actual draft because that's impossible to even begin to analyse at this point. As I've said before, it's all subjective and feel free to completely disagree.

(I'll add another list of VFL, SANFL and WAFL players over the weekend who are a shot at geting drafted.)

First Round

1. Scott Gumbleton (WA)
2. Bryce Gibbs (SA)
3. Lachlan Hansen (VIC C)
4. Mitch Thorp (TAS)
5. Matthew Leuenberger (WA)
6. Joel Selwood (VIC C)
7. James Sellar (SA)
8. Albert Proud (QLD)
9. Leroy Jetta (WA)
10. Tom Hislop (TAS)
11. Nathan Djerrkura (NT)
12. Brock O’Brien (WA)
13. Kurt Tippett (QLD)
14. Ricky Petterd (QLD)
15. Jack Riewoldt (TAS)
16. Joseph Anderson (NT)
17. Clayton Collard (WA)
18. Jarryd Allen (VIC M)

Second Round

19. Brent Renouf (QLD)
20. Clinton Benjamin (WA)
21. Bachar Houli (VIC M)
22. Gary Moss (WA)
23. Jarryd Morton (WA)
24. Rhyce Prismall (VIC M)
25. Gavin Urquhart (QLD)
26. Nathan Brown (VIC C)
27. Andrejs Everitt (VIC M)
28. Mitchell Brown (VIC C)
29. Grant Weeks (VIC C)
30. Lindsay Thomas (SA)
31. David Armitage (QLD)
32. Colin Garland (TAS)
33. Zac Millar (SA)
34. Daniel Connors (VIC C)

Third Round

35. Eric McKenzie (WA)
36. Chris Schmidt (SA)
37. Matthew Vasilevski (VIC M)
38. Jackson Sheringham (VIC C)
39. Craig Bird (NSW/ACT)
40. Jethro Calm-Holt (NT)
41. Tom Collier (TAS)
42. Matthew Virgo (WA)
43. Dean D.i.c.k (WA)
44. Daniel Dzufer (QLD)
45. Nick McKenna (TAS)
46. Shaun Grigg (VIC C)
47. Lachlan George (VIC C)
48. Leigh Adams (VIC M)
49. Travis Boak (VIC C)
50. Luke Nugent (WA)

Fourth Round

51. Todd Pfeiffer (SA)
52. Sam Fielding (TAS)
53. David Gourdis (WA)
54. Tim Houlihan (VIC C)
55. Jarrod Harbrow (VIC C)
56. Shawn Colbung Jr (WA)
57. James Frawley (VIC C)
58. Tom Hurley (SA)
59. Brad D.i.c.k (WA)
60. Evan Duryea (NSW/ACT)
61. Jessie White (QLD)
62. Ryan Williams (VIC C)
63. Keegan Dingo (NT)
64. Dean Kelly (VIC M)
65. Ryan Anderson (VIC M)
66. Rob Eddy (VIC C)

Fifth Round

67. Jacob Wooden (NSW/ACT)
68. Daniel Currie (VIC M)
69. Tim Mohr (TAS)
70. Jack Lawler (QLD)
71. Trevor Oliver (NT)
72. Lachlan Button (SA)
73. Dominic Foster (WA)
74. Charlie Sharples (NT)
75. Patrick Fittock (NT)
76. Toby Schulz (SA)
77. Shaun Hampson (QLD)
78. Justin Hardy (VIC C)
79. Lazarus Louis (NSW/ACT)
80. Nathan Krakouer (WA)
81. Ed Wilson (NSW/ACT)
82. Simon Plummer (QLD)

it's an interesting list Oz, i'll give you that.

Surprises for me were connors and schmidt at 34 and 36 and no Hawksley

Hislop i don't see having the pace and agility to be a top midfielder at AFL level, solid flanker and that's about it IMO, can do better there.

I think we can do better than Djerrkura that high as well.

Not being critical it was an interesting read, just some differences and initial reactions.

Fair enough comments... I saw Tasmania vs Sandringham earlier in the season when Hislop played on the ball and chased Shannon Motlop down over 30 meters, starting 15 meters behind, for a holding the ball. And I've seen him play on the ball a lot. I'd say he's a lot better than Justin Sherman at the same age.

I'll admit Djerrkura is one of my favourite players. He's tough, he's fast, he's dedicated, highly skilled and makes a good breakfast.

Connors was avergaing 23 possessions a game at TAC Cup level and really stood out in the last two carnival games.

Schmidt is one you either like or don't. I still don't know if that's the right position for him either.

Fair enough too, if he is better than sherman at the same age then that's a pretty good rap. I suppose my VFL experience with Hislop was seeing him play on Courtney Dempsey and Dempsy continually burning him off like Hislop was stanidng still.

Schmidt is probably a bit like a David Lynch film then, and I suppose i am a Schmidt fan.

I wouldn't be unhappy if we drafted Djerrkura, but i would probably only use a later pick and take my chances.

Gilly1972 said:
Fair enough too, if he is better than sherman at the same age then that's a pretty good rap. I suppose my VFL experience with Hislop was seeing him play on Courtney Dempsey and Dempsy continually burning him off like Hislop was stanidng still.

Schmidt is probably a bit like a David Lynch film then, and I suppose i am a Schmidt fan.

I wouldn't be unhappy if we drafted Djerrkura, but i would probably only use a later pick and take my chances.

Dempsey can be scary quick though when he's in the mood.

Djerrkura could go later, mostly because he's 179cm, but I think he's going to be one of those blokes clubs will kick themselves for missing. If I was a recruiter for Carlton and got Pick 10 via a trade, I'm not sure I'd risk my job by taking him over others though.

Good effort mate, very hard to do such a thing!

You dont think Batsanis, Grey, Smith and even Ainger have any chance... surely there above some of those guys!
Varsamakis, Horne and Colbert would all have to be up there aswell.

Your thoughts?

Was your thing done solely and purely on the nationals?

With the TAC guys I mostly have to rely upon a few blokes I know in and around Melbourne who go to the games, given that I live down in Hobart.

So as I say, it's just a subjective indication.

philhawk said:
Very good work OZ. As you said, it's your own subjective opinion, so respect. :cool:

Can I ask though why you feel Clinton Benjamin will slip down to the second round mate?

Who would drop out of the round one selections that would make room for Benjamin. Perhaps Tippett. Not sure i'd have him that high at this stage.

Very good work OZ. As you said, it's your own subjective opinion, so respect.

Can I ask though why you feel Clinton Benjamin will slip down to the second round mate?

It's no indictment on Benjamin to be early second round when you're talking best available. As HBF said, it's difficult to see who he'd dislodge in that first round. He's a mid-sized forward flanker who is a hell of a talent but same as Houli, Key Positions and Mids are generally more valuable than utility types. I realise he's started playing a little more on a wing and such this year, but still I think he's just a flanker at this stage.

With Tippett, it's a similar situation to Tom Williams and Scott Pendlebury. Tippett has only being playing Aussie Rules for a year, the scope for improvement, being 199cm's already, his strong hands and good skills puts him firmly in the first round.

Gilly1972 said:

Dempsey is very quick, would be in the top 10 % in the AFL. Hislop is quick enough to play AFL.

TOM HURLEY 58 !!!!!

this kid is great, small and slowish but has good smarts. knows how to get it and shows great poise in the SANFL i think. reminds me a lot of murph. some have had him as a 1st round and even heard top 10.

mcphee_is_a_gun said:
Dempsey is very quick, would be in the top 10 % in the AFL. Hislop is quick enough to play AFL.

McPhee, never said hislop wasn't quick enough to play AFL.... I do appreciate Dempsey is very quick. I am not saying i don't rate Hislop because i do...i just wonder if he has a touch of the 'Hurn' factor, in that he is an already developed body, and might be more suited to a flank with his physical make-up

IMO 58 is about right for Hurley. People seem to be forgetting this is a shopping list of best avilable for carlton, and we already have murphy, blackers bentick and betts as our small mids.

Having said that, 58 is still about right for Hurley :o

a1118374 said:
TOM HURLEY 58 !!!!!

this kid is great, small and slowish but has good smarts. knows how to get it and shows great poise in the SANFL i think. reminds me a lot of murph. some have had him as a 1st round and even heard top 10.

Small and Slowish isn't something you can ignore unfortunately.

Gilly1972 said:
McPhee, never said hislop wasn't quick enough to play AFL.... I do appreciate Dempsey is very quick. I am not saying i don't rate Hislop because i do...i just wonder if he has a touch of the 'Hurn' factor, in that he is an already developed body, and might be more suited to a flank with his physical make-up

Having a developed body can be misleading in junior footy, but Hislop has been playing at a Senior standard against AFL listed players as well. So it's not like he's "King of the Kids" alah Nathan Jones and to a lesser extent Shannon Hurn.

I don't mean to be too critical of your opinion, because you may be right in the end, but to say the guy is simply a flanker because he decided to hit the gym with regularity is a bit rough.

a1118374 said:
i want to argue but its not really winnable....time will tell

It's an arguable point for sure mate. I reckon he might be a player in the end too, but for me, I wouldn't pick him before the other guys on that list unless I had a dire need for a centreman.

Similarly, on a lesser level, Ricky Delphine is a great little accumulator and player... but he's going to drown if there's any sort of heavy rain and he's not quick, so he'll be lucky to get Rookie'd.

McKinleyISgood said:
how bout colbert from nthrn knights for a late pick? hes got potential
Colbert will go mate, Ozbomb hasn't had the oppurtunity to watch many TAC cup games, if any (im not sure, OZ?)

Colbert looks likely to go mid to lateish, quality player.

OZBomb said:
Hi Guys. For those that didn't see the last version... This is what I consider to be the best available talent at the forthcoming draft. It's not what clubs will select in the actual draft because that's impossible to even begin to analyse at this point. As I've said before, it's all subjective and feel free to completely disagree.

(I'll add another list of VFL, SANFL and WAFL players over the weekend who are a shot at geting drafted.)

First Round

1. Scott Gumbleton (WA)
2. Bryce Gibbs (SA)
3. Lachlan Hansen (VIC C)
4. Mitch Thorp (TAS)
5. Matthew Leuenberger (WA)
6. Joel Selwood (VIC C)
7. James Sellar (SA)
8. Albert Proud (QLD)
9. Leroy Jetta (WA)
10. Tom Hislop (TAS)
11. Nathan Djerrkura (NT)
12. Brock O’Brien (WA)
13. Kurt Tippett (QLD)
14. Ricky Petterd (QLD)
15. Jack Riewoldt (TAS)
16. Joseph Anderson (NT)
17. Clayton Collard (WA)
18. Jarryd Allen (VIC M)

Second Round

19. Brent Renouf (QLD)
20. Clinton Benjamin (WA)
21. Bachar Houli (VIC M)
22. Gary Moss (WA)
23. Jarryd Morton (WA)
24. Rhyce Prismall (VIC M)
25. Gavin Urquhart (QLD)
26. Nathan Brown (VIC C)
27. Andrejs Everitt (VIC M)
28. Mitchell Brown (VIC C)
29. Grant Weeks (VIC C)
30. Lindsay Thomas (SA)
31. David Armitage (QLD)
32. Colin Garland (TAS)
33. Zac Millar (SA)
34. Daniel Connors (VIC C)

Third Round

35. Eric McKenzie (WA)
36. Chris Schmidt (SA)
37. Matthew Vasilevski (VIC M)
38. Jackson Sheringham (VIC C)
39. Craig Bird (NSW/ACT)
40. Jethro Calm-Holt (NT)
41. Tom Collier (TAS)
42. Matthew Virgo (WA)
43. Dean D.i.c.k (WA)
44. Daniel Dzufer (QLD)
45. Nick McKenna (TAS)
46. Shaun Grigg (VIC C)
47. Lachlan George (VIC C)
48. Leigh Adams (VIC M)
49. Travis Boak (VIC C)
50. Luke Nugent (WA)

Fourth Round

51. Todd Pfeiffer (SA)
52. Sam Fielding (TAS)
53. David Gourdis (WA)
54. Tim Houlihan (VIC C)
55. Jarrod Harbrow (VIC C)
56. Shawn Colbung Jr (WA)
57. James Frawley (VIC C)
58. Tom Hurley (SA)
59. Brad D.i.c.k (WA)
60. Evan Duryea (NSW/ACT)
61. Jessie White (QLD)
62. Ryan Williams (VIC C)
63. Keegan Dingo (NT)
64. Dean Kelly (VIC M)
65. Ryan Anderson (VIC M)
66. Rob Eddy (VIC C)

Fifth Round

67. Jacob Wooden (NSW/ACT)
68. Daniel Currie (VIC M)
69. Tim Mohr (TAS)
70. Jack Lawler (QLD)
71. Trevor Oliver (NT)
72. Lachlan Button (SA)
73. Dominic Foster (WA)
74. Charlie Sharples (NT)
75. Patrick Fittock (NT)
76. Toby Schulz (SA)
77. Shaun Hampson (QLD)
78. Justin Hardy (VIC C)
79. Lazarus Louis (NSW/ACT)
80. Nathan Krakouer (WA)
81. Ed Wilson (NSW/ACT)
82. Simon Plummer (QLD)

:confused: Question, where is Sam Sheldon in this list? Is he already taken or do we assume he is not in this year's Draft or, are we not interested in him, Wayne Johnstons' son or Jake Williams. Does anyone know what is going on with these father/son picks.:confused:

It is most likely carlton will try and get Sammy Sheldon to play another year for school.. Haileybury and in the U/18 comp, as he is still eligible to play unders next year. Tomi Jonhston is an absolute ball magnet at TAC level and has been racking up bests very consistently all year, however as we all know he is very small and this will count against him when carlton look at its current needs! Especially with Hurley likely to go after our father son picks, who is a similar player, with more class.

Seen Jake Williams play once and he absolutely dominated, havnt heard much about him but for some reason can't see him going around pick 40 THIS draft.

I've seen about 5-6 TAC Cup games in the last 2 years so I don't want to comment too much on them, as I'm relying on blokes in Melbourne to give me second-hand info on them.

All these guys played in the Champs and I got to see them play three games.
I really don't have the urge to chase down video cam tapes of TAC cup matches. Those that have played senior Football in the SANFL, QAFL or WAFL, I know a fair bit about.

There's going to be approximately a third of players who wheren't in the carnival get drafted, based on history.

As they say in the classics... It is, what it is.