Port Adelaide
Cronulla Sutherland Sharks
Since we snared Paddy Ryder I have taken to watching a few Essendon games on FOXTEL so I can see more of him. As we got Paddy to play a dual role in ruck and as a second tall forward I thought I would have a look at how he plays.

Let me say I think Ryder is a good enough player but in the games I have watched I have not seen him move into the forward line, take a mark, and kick more than the odd goal. It appears to me that Ryder was used as the no1 ruckman at Essendon and that is where he spent most of his time. Yesterday I watched the Essendon v Saints game which the Bombers lost and Ryder had no impact what so ever. He took a couple of nice marks in field play contested well in ruck but had no influence on the game. It was Jake Carlile that Thompson opted to move into the forward line not Ryder. I also watched the game against Richmond where his performance was certainly better but again he was in ruck for most of that time. In the game against us last year Ryder was again serviceable without starring.

I have to say from what I have seen Paddy was certainly worth a first round pick but I think we may have paid overs by trading our first and second round picks for him. I am not condemning Paddy, he will boost our ruck department for sure, but I am waiting to see a game in which he goes forward and boots the Bombers to victory. Maybe there is a 2014 Essendon game that someone can recommend?

Ryder isnt a goal kicker. He doesnt even average 1 goal a game. I wamted a proper KPF plus a ruck. What Ryder does is fix our structure and help out Schulz and Westhoff. I think we are going to have to wait until one or more of Harvey, Shaw or Butcher come good util we get a 40-60 goal kicker who is a KPF or 3rd tall.

Personally I shared similar thoughts before the trade was confirmed but quickly poured cold water on it for following reasons:
- new lease of life away from the Essendon ASADA hassles that must have weighed on the mind
- Pre season under Burgess
- 17 new faces around him that will keep giving him opportunities

You also need to consider what our season may have been like if one of Lobbe, Schultz or Westhoff went down mid season.

Best case scenario Ryder's best form is in front of him and worst case scenario he's an insurance policy over the next three years. Was he worth our first two draft picks... given our list of youngsters at the moment I say yes definitely worth the punt.

Burgo over to you.

To start- Burgo gets him into a fit enough state to play a roaming forward/ruck role.

The message from Ken will be simple. Play your role for the team. If that means pinch hits in the ruck and 20 goals a season, but he brings Neade, Chad, Gray and co. into more dangerous positions, gives Lobbes a chop out and releases Westy back- he makes the team more dangerous, without playing a starring role in his own right.

As for draft pick worth. I think we may have paid overs initially, but in 10 years time if Essendon nail 17 and we go without a flag- its definitely a win to Essendon. If we win 2 flags in this window, regardless of what happens with pick 17, its a huge win to Port.

Don't worry about him kicking goals.Shaw and Harvey will get enough of them:straining:

He has the ability to be a superstar but was always patching holes for us which I believe was a serious waste of his talent and enthusiasm... If you guys can isolate a position he likes I feel you will see scary results from him...

Has always had superstar ability but I don't think we ever harnessed it properly (mentally)

He has the ability to be a superstar but was always patching holes for us which I believe was a serious waste of his talent and enthusiasm... If you guys can isolate a position he likes I feel you will see scary results from him...

Has always had superstar ability but I don't think we ever harnessed it properly (mentally)

Agree

Always been a big Paddy Ryder fan.

But at the same time felt he's been a bit of a tease so far.

Reckon he'll fit right in with our Harlem Globetrotters game.

Hopefully Ken & co. can harness his ability and it all gets scary...

He has the ability to be a superstar but was always patching holes for us which I believe was a serious waste of his talent and enthusiasm... If you guys can isolate a position he likes I feelbyou will see scary results from him...

Thanks for that. Paddy is obviously not going to play in ruck as much as he did with Essendon so it will be interesting to see what happens when Lobbe is in ruck. I suspect that we will use him up forward as I cannot see him warming the pine.

There are imo 3 reasons why the acquisition of Ryder is brilliant.

For starters, he has ability, there's no doubt about that. He can play almost anywhere on the park and have some sort of impact. His best position at Essendon was as the lead ruck. However, he is a very good kick. A knock on him was that he was drift out of games as a forward man because of low supply. At Port, I find it hard to believe that he'll be getting a limited supply of the footy down there.

The second reason is that he changes the structure in our best 22 for the better. Even in the prelim, we had guys like Neade and Wingard stuck in the forward line playing as the key position guys. How refreshing will it be that when we go on the counter and Schulz leads up to the wing/high half forward, that we'll still have at least 1 big man to kick to from there? This in turn is going to bring Wingard and Neade into the game even further. Also consider Lobbe in this. He rucks 95% of the game. The other 5-10% goes to Trengove. So when Trengove has to go into the ruck, we lose a man in defence, a key man at that. Getting Ryder in here means that we won't have to adjust our defence at all during the game, unless it's by design. Changing a forward line is much easier, and happens often in games anyway, so I'm not worried about having to adjust our forward line in the event that Lobbe needs a break, simply because there are heaps of rotations in the forward line anyway with midfielders and high half forwards frequently swapping positions. Lobbe got worn down by the end of the year. Keeping him fresh, even if it means he rucks 25-30% less per game, is going to do wonders. Don't forget that he is a reasonable kick as well, so we can always stick him in the forward line for breathers instead of the bench.

Lastly, is the effect Ryder will have on Westhoff. The Hoff is at his best when he's given free reign to roam as he pleases. Ryder will allow us to keep our structure and let Westhoff roam.

Of course, Ryder also provides depth as a backup option in the event that Lobbe goes down. He's proven he can handle being a #1 ruckman with minimal fuss. He is going to be a great player for the Power. Don't think Kenny and co have put a foot wrong recruiting wise since Ken arrived at the end of 2012, and from my perspective at least, there's no reason to doubt him now.

/\ what chewy said :thumbsu:

... Saw Paddy in a highlight from last year ... marks at 45 meters on a 45 degree angle ...Instead of going back for the kick...takes one step and hooks the ball thru the sticks! If his one goal per game is this ... wowee

Ryder averaged 26 hitouts a game as first ruck in 2014. Also averaged a goal a game in 2014 despite the full time ruck role.

I'm happy with the trade.

If we get 2-3 goals between Lobbe & Ryder a game playing as the ruck resting forward we'll be a much better balanced team going forward, if all goes well we could have a more dynamic ruck combo than Broges/Lade in our premiership days which is what the club are aiming for.

Ideally like Chewy said bringing Ryder in stops us using Wingard/Neade as small full forwards & we shouldn't have the sight of Schulz marking on the wing with no one above 190cm to kick to up forward.

A lot of our Lobbe/Ryder combo working like we want will hinge on Lobbe improving as well, he has to work on his marking in contested situations in particular & his work up forward to do what Jacobs & the other gun rucks can do by clunking a mark & slotting the goal.

I believe the variance in output at a new club is heavily skewed in a positive direction; we can almost assume his output will be a minimum baseline at Port.

Over the past two years, when I've watched Essendon games, I've focused on Ryder and Watson due to supercoach. I have often critiqued Ryder for what appears to be a lack of workrate // intent. Given the reasons to leave the bombers, our current fitness regime and perhaps Ryder playing a position he is more interested in, output will increase. I believe this will have a synergistic effect on the rest of the team.

Furthermore what is the opportunity cost of giving up the first two picks? In an objective sense, I think very little. I'm please, as the general consensus of the board is that we have good depth, with much upside developing some KPFs.
Clurey, Young, O'Shea, Moore, Colquhoun I regard as AFL ready.

Our list is good. We don't need more young & developing draft picks

Since we snared Paddy Ryder I have taken to watching a few Essendon games on FOXTEL so I can see more of him. As we got Paddy to play a dual role in ruck and as a second tall forward I thought I would have a look at how he plays.

Let me say I think Ryder is a good enough player but in the games I have watched I have not seen him move into the forward line, take a mark, and kick more than the odd goal. It appears to me that Ryder was used as the no1 ruckman at Essendon and that is where he spent most of his time.

Ryder this year kicked 20 goals and took 26 marks inside 50. For comparison, Lobbe took two marks inside 50 and kicked 6 goals.

We dont need him to kick 50 goals a year. We need him to kick a goal a game and help in the ruck. He'll do that just fine.

Ryder is our second ruck and third KPF all in one. He doesn't have to be a superstar and will ensure our structure is solid in every game barring injuries.
The fact he has heaps of natural talent and can be the occasional match winner is a massive bonus, but he is here to play alongside Schulz, Westhoff and Lobbe, and not to replace any of them.

He is the perfect fit and probably the best 2nd ruck come 3rd KPF we could get.

Ryder's role is pretty much to let Chad Wingard not play full forward.
Or no small forward in general. Not having Monfries, Wingard or Neade playing as a KPF alone makes it worthwhile. Just providing the contest and stopping those guys being outmarked by a player much taller or having two on them is going to make a huge difference, even if Ryder averages 1 goal a game playing more forward.

HF : Westhoff, Ryder, Wingard
FF: Monfries, Schulz, Neade

That's my ideal forward line. Wingard and Monfries will obviously have decent midfield time, but Gray will have some time forward. It's the flow on effects rather than Ryder's direct impact that makes it worth the picks. I think the thought of Neade at the feet of multiple talls is what I'm most looking forward to from it.

We can also send him deep forward in tight games it'll be quite nice seeing paddy hitting a pack under a chaos ball deep inside 50 as opposed to monfries.