chimphawk28

Mar 8, 2003
Just a couple of things.

Considering we are SO light on for tallish forwards at the moment, why the hell wasn't Hunter picked against Melb?
I know he isn't the best option, but gees we could do worse.

Also i've only seen this footage once, but i heard that the umpire paid McDonald for the mark. Surely it was no mark...can't say he had any control over the ball. Did the umpire infact pay the mark?

Anyway having said that, the best team on the day won. You can't expect to play good footy in patches and expect to win.

Originally posted by chimphawk28
Just a couple of things.

Considering we are SO light on for tallish forwards at the moment, why the hell wasn't Hunter picked against Melb?
I know he isn't the best option, but gees we could do worse.

Also i've only seen this footage once, but i heard that the umpire paid McDonald for the mark. Surely it was no mark...can't say he had any control over the ball. Did the umpire infact pay the mark?

Anyway having said that, the best team on the day won. You can't expect to play good footy in patches and expect to win.
It was paid a mark because he took hold of it before he collided with his team mate.

Re: Re: paid a mark or not?

Originally posted by goaldrush
It was paid a mark because he took hold of it before he collided with his team mate.

ok...but for how long did he have hold of it before he ran into his teamate? didnt seem like very long

Re: Re: Re: paid a mark or not?

Originally posted by chimphawk28
ok...but for how long did he have hold of it before he ran into his teamate? didnt seem like very long
3 seconds and then his team mate knocked him out.

Doggies supporter here guys......but just on this topic:

Yep, it probably was a mark to McDonald, but no-one seems to be talking about the free-kick that should have been paid.
Robertson jumped over Dixon about 2 full seconds before the ball arrived. (Obviously, since he was back on the ground when McDonald was landing.)

Couldn't believe it when the ambo left the ground and Melbourne had the ball!

chimphawk28, I was thinking the same thing - after McDonald hit the ground...and after everyone decided to play on - I could see Robertson call to the umpire (waving his arms all over the place) to signal that McDonald was in serious trouble....thats when play actually stopped. Which made me wonder why Melbourne had possession of the ball after that...

I was hoping for at least a draw, but we were unlucky...as you said, the better team on the day won the match...

If only Hawthorn could play with that urgency for 4 quarters!! (Insead of 10 minutes)

Originally posted by Dutchy's Gal
chimphawk28, I was thinking the same thing - after McDonald hit the ground...and after everyone decided to play on - I could see Robertson call to the umpire (waving his arms all over the place) to signal that McDonald was in serious trouble....thats when play actually stopped. Which made me wonder why Melbourne had possession of the ball after that...

I was hoping for at least a draw, but we were unlucky...as you said, the better team on the day won the match...

If only Hawthorn could play with that urgency for 4 quarters!! (Insead of 10 minutes)

heres a news flash for ya its not gonna happen lol we are way to incosistant.
Get Matthews and he will sort the boys out.

tige19 you don't know what you are talking about here. :rolleyes:

As far as I know the mark was paid and that's that. End of story.

So why don't you take your posts and go home

Originally posted by goaldrush
tige19 you don't know what you are talking about here. :rolleyes:

As far as I know the mark was paid and that's that. End of story.

So why don't you take your posts and go home

Was not even talking about the mark and im sure as far as everyone knows the mark was paid because that is fact.

Dont go telling me to take my posts and go home because as far as im known you are the most hated and compulsive lyer on this board Miss my twin Brother is Luke Toia.
pffffttt grow up!!!!!

paid a mark or not?