noddy

/The Bays/Man U
Have the Port Power become more passionate & determined to win these bloody showdowns than the Crows ???

I have been thinking long & hard [ no derogatory comments please] on the subject of "PASSION" shown by our club in showdowns, since the debacle of sat night & after having to put up with my pap head boss raving on & on & on about the passion of the Port power side compared to the Crows i guess i'm having second thoughts on this subject, while i expected us to win on sat night it was always in the back of my head that the power players would have been primed to the hilt by Williams & his staff just how important & vital it is to win these showdowns compared to how the Crows players had been prepared,

also one other point on this subject did anyone else note the interview with Chad Cornes after the game on sat night when he stated that a showdown win probably means more than winning some finals,

Originally posted by noddy
also one other point on this subject did anyone else note the interview with Chad Cornes after the game on sat night when he stated that a showdown win probably means more than winning some finals,

He said the game was bigger than some finals, which it probably is as far as buildup and the atmosphere of two teams supporters there is concerned.

Re: Re: Passion in Showdowns

Originally posted by Port01
He said the game was bigger than some finals, which it probably is as far as buildup and the atmosphere of two teams supporters there is concerned.

What rubbish.

Perhaps this is why Port can't win big finals.

They play their grand finals aginst us

How Sad.

I am confident we will beat Port in any final we play in.

Re: Re: Re: Passion in Showdowns

Originally posted by Jars458

I winced after reading that.

We keep providing the ammunition and the boys at Alberton keep firing it back at us...

Perhaps this is why Port can't win big finals.
Who says we can't? Won one last year. No such thing as a 'small' final.

Good on ya. That's great. We'll see.

What rubbish.

As long as you're not too (ocky, mate.

I remember you being sure we were going to win on Saturday. (Or is my memory at fault here?) :rolleyes:

Re: Re: Re: Re: Passion in Showdowns

Originally posted by Crow54

I remember you being sure we were going to win on Saturday. (Or is my memory at fault here?) :rolleyes:
Wasn't it 22? Whoops, I meant 21. Hoooops, what I really meant was 20 ... :D

Originally posted by noddy
Have the Port Power become more passionate & determined to win these bloody showdowns than the Crows ???

No noddy, they haven't BECOME more passionate & determined to win these showdowns than the Crows.

IMO they have ALWAYS been more passionate & determined to win these showdowns than the Crows. Which is why they can beat us with key players out..

They find it hard to attract the same level of supporters and public attention that the Crows do, even if they are playing better footy and higher on the ladder than we are at the time. I think this really burns their arse with a high degree of resentment. This gets the very best out of them as they really want to stick it up the Crows, their supporters and the footy world in general, to show that THEY are the best SA team, and the rest of the world is stupid for not supporting them.

9-4 says it all.

Fellas,

I think the Power do make more of these Showdowns than the Crows do. But I think the real reason the Crows don't care as much is because they are focused on getting to the Finals and then actually WINNING a game in the Finals.

The Power are a very good team (all my verbal jousting with Pred aside), but it seems to me maybe a little too parochial. When it all comes down, there are 2 Showdowns a year and we're on, what, Showdown 13 or something like that, the bragging rights get a little old after a while. Port's deal is that they've never done anything on a bigger stage (i.e. the Finals) so to them the Showdowns are a huge event. When you've won Finals and especially the Grand Final itself I think it gives you a little more perspective.

Kind of like the Sacramento Kings can beat the Lakers all they want during the regular season and place a lot of importance on doing so, but when it comes to the NBA Finals they haven't tasted success. The Lakers know the regular games don't mean as much as winning when it counts in the playoffs.

I agree 100% with Macca23. In fact, I wrote something along the same lines before Saturday night's game.

One consolation to me, when we lose all these Showdowns, is that the only way the Power is ever going to get a crowd of 50,000 plus in Adelaide is when they play us! :D :D :D

Sorry if I believe in our team

I think its funny that you are getting mileage because the Crows lost.

Perhaps I should be negative like you?

I suppose you think Kangas should win this one by ten goals?

Jars wasn't the only person confident of a Crows win - the majority of punters were reflected by the odds before the game. I was the most confident in a long time with Francou, Primus, Monty, etc out. This all made it even more disappointing that we lost. Need to keep the faith though!

finals 'eh ?

2002 Port Won 1 Lost 2 (Port beat Essendon and lost to Collingwood and Brisbane) : Crows Won 1 Lost 2 (Crows beat Melbourne and lost to Collingwood and Brisbane)
2001 Port Lost 2 (Hawthorn and Brisbane): Crows Lost 1 (Carlton)
2000 when does the cricket start ?
1999 Port Lost 1 (North): Crows....

In recent history I don't think either SA side has covered itself in glory.

VM

and yes I stopped at 1999 for a reason.

First you lot keep reminding us for two years that winning the pre-season cup means Jack Schitt, 97 & 98 is what it's all about.
When you finally win one, you all carry on like pork chops, pat yourselves on the back repeatedly, and after beating Freo at home go around bleating how you will not lose any games this year because of this that and the other.
Even making a TV commercial (that I haven't seen by the way), and threads such as 22 games.
Now, after not winning a showdown for umpteen years it's: " A but we have never given a rats fart about them anyway, they don't mean Jack Schitt and never have", 97 & 98 is what it's all about.
Yeah yeah.

Back-to-back

Originally posted by PAfolwr
First you lot keep reminding us for two years that winning the pre-season cup means Jack Schitt, 97 & 98 is what it's all about.
When you finally win one, you all carry on like pork chops, pat yourselves on the back repeatedly, and after beating Freo at home go around bleating how you will not lose any games this year because of this that and the other.
Even making a TV commercial (that I haven't seen by the way), and threads such as 22 games.
Now, after not winning a showdown for umpteen years it's: " A but we have never given a rats fart about them anyway, they don't mean Jack Schitt and never have", 97 & 98 is what it's all about.
Yeah yeah.

Back-to-back

Disappointing post PAfolwr. Normally you make a bit of sense.

But to come on our board and incorrectly accuse ALL of us for carrying on like pork chops etc etc is out of order.

Like your fellow Powder supporters on the Port board we have posters who post over the top crap. But your statement is directed at all of us.

Just taking myself for example, while I was pleased to win the Wizard Wok, I remember posting that I would trade it for 4 points.

I totally disagreeed with the 22 win thread.

I posted many times that it was vital to our year to win the 2 showdowns etc etc.

So I take offence at your comments "When you finally win one, you all carry on like pork chops, pat yourselves on the back repeatedly, and after beating Freo at home go around bleating how you will not lose any games this year because of this that and the other."

And I wasn't the only one. There were more sane comments on these issues than there were over the top ones, and I'm sure that you will have p*ssed these other posters off too.

Disappointing stuff PA. Get your act together.

Well Only being in the competition six years our finals record **** all over the Crows in their first six. In your first 6 years you made only one finals series, a win against a mediocre Hawthorn, then a poor display of skills against Carlton resulting in a loss, then the biggest choke of all time, being up by 7 goal in the 3rd quarter and losing. It is really hard to comment on your finals performances in the first couple of years due to your inabilty to make them. Instead you just had poor home and away records, record thrashings over 100 odd points at least twice a year.
You had two lucky final series in 97 and 98 as has already been pointed out in previous threads but since then you have won only one final since then, beat your hometown rival only 2 times in the 9 clashes since, finished below them for the majority of the time, and have basically been Port's b!tches. Every thing Port Adelaide achieve on it' way the Crow supporters have been the first to try and downgrade it. As soon as we won the pre-season cup the Crows fans out of snide jealousy label it the mickey mouse cup or come up with the pathetic remark that no body tries etc. Then theres the Minor Premiership, back in 97 there was a big article in the advertiser when the Crows had to beat Essendon in Rd 22 to get the minor premiership and St Kilda to lose, fans were raving on and on about it, but after Essendon smashed the Crows it was talked down, even when the Crows made the Ansett Cup final in the mid 90's, the papers had souvenir editions and the TV was flogging it as were the fans.
As soon as we win the pre-season cup we get attacked about a finals record, anything to take the shine off the great club we are. The 34 SANFL premierships we won, the Crows fans in there little spaced out mind have this theory that we are not Port Adelaide etc. If the home and away series counts for nothing then why do 40000 Crows supporters turn up every week? If the Showdown has no passion for the Crows then why did they have for the first time a home crowd over 50000, If you can't win it you have to make up some **** poor excuse and play it down as irrelevant. Even if you guys don't go on about our finals record it is our crowds or our coach, our coach has showed up your coach time and time again. Ayres took an almighty Geelong side to a bottom side, also he has done nothing with the Crows since he has been there, wow you guys say you had your best home and away season last year and say for that he is a good coach, then when it suits yas, you say H&A counts for nothing. If Finals count for anything, then Ayres is ****, his first final appearance in 01 the Crows were belted by Carlton by over ten goals, the next Brisbane was over 10 goal and a few consolation goals near the end saved you guys from total embarrasment but of course you guys had an excuse for the so called travel factor :rolleyes: , then there was the final against Melbourne after being 8 goal up and just scraping over the line and then of course you guys finished off losing to Collingwood but this was only because of Collingwood taking out your players of course. Yet you guys still finish lower than us in the finals series last year yet we are the worser side again due to the Crows theory. Yet we going into finals two years straight on a roll and get serious injuries to key players and at least remain competitive in our finals campaigns, maybe not so the Brisbane game but we were still in the game deep in the third quarter. I guess no matter what we achieve, in 50 years time when we have numerous premierships you chardonnay sippers will still be at Bingo night living in the past talking about your back to back flags. HAHA suffer you guys are our bitches, live with it, after belting all the pre-composite teams in the SANFL for over a century, we have finally made it to the AFL, the only difference is now we have found you in the AFL and the beauty about you guys manufacturing 9 teams together is we can beat you all in the same game. Technically Showdowns should be 81-4.
Talk us down at your peril, Port Adelaide will be the kings of this state for yet another century as Champagne scullers as the manufactured fruit tingle club lives in our glory still sipping on chardonnay.
I just can't work you guys out, when you go buy a car do you tell the car salesman it's a motorbike so it becomes devalued? Then when he tells you too **** off, do you turn around to him and say his car/bike doesn't mean anything as you have a better one at home? and then he thinks why the **** are you out car shopping in the first place if you aren't after a car. As stupid as this sounds, it's about as stupid as some of the **** I put up with day to day from Crows supporters.

Dude, is it just me or does Floodbuster have some serious issues?

FB, wake up please. Port have been in the competition for 6 years now with no Grand Finals to show for it. Sure, the Crows didn't have any either at that time, but the difference - the BIG difference - is that we went on to win 2 back to back flags during our 6th year (97-91=6, for the Port fans out there).

This means that just to keep up with the Crows, the Power have to win the next 2 flags. NOT GOING TO HAPPEN. So sit down, shut up and enjoy the fact that you are just another side in the AFL.

And yes, you are right when you say that we have had a poor few years since 98 (last year excepted), however take a look around and you will see that this year's side has the definite possibility to win the flag. In fact, many regard the Crows as the ONLY viable threat to Brisbane's 3-peat.

Having a side that wins 2 back-to-back flags and then regroups in only 5 years to be a major contender for another flag is quite a good return. Name one other sport where this happens with frequency. Most times a team wins a championship, maybe two, and then goes into a rebuilding phase which can last a long time. The Crows have managed to buck the odds due to the fact that they are a well-managed, professional outfit with a culture of winning.

So talk all you want about comparisons between Port's first 6 years and the Crows first 6 years, but the FACT is that right now you have NO PREMIERSHIPS, NONE, ZERO. Maybe you can talk when you get one, but until then, shut up and deal with it.

Originally posted by sapaul
Some paragraphs might make me want to read it.
I was thinking the same thing. The dam walls well & truely have broken with this drivel by the O'Wet One. Sounds like he well & truely wet himself writing the amount of passionate BS. I was going to try & interpret in English, but decided I have far better things to do with my time.

Originally posted by macca23
Disappointing post PAfolwr. Normally you make a bit of sense.
Disappointing stuff PA. Get your act together.
Agree 100% Macca, but we should let PAfolwr off this time as he is still probably on a high after their showdown win. ie. Show how we can be gracious losers (although I'm sick of making a habit of it).

I think Floodbuster is missing his mummy.

Someone get him his dummy.

He is the very steretype of why most people in this State hate Port Adelaide - 'cause of their drongo supporters.

I think we have hit a nerve with some of our Port Adelaide friends

I think they are realising that winning Showdowns means jack unless you can follow it through in the finals.

Hence their agressive posts.

I hope their players are concentrating this week and the bashing they will get form Stafford;)

Hmmmmm.

I think The Floodbuster has gone too far coming on to our board and posting such abusive crap.

noddy recently posted the following post on the Port board

"All this energy you people are displaying as so-called hate against the team for all South Australians = the mighty Adelaide Crows & those Colliwobblers from over the border maybe could be put to better use, like turning up at the weekend to support your club & get above the 30,000 mark,"

which brought this reaction from their moderator, Porthos

"Noddy, either quit with posts like this or **** off."

ultimately followed by another Porthos post

"The post I quoted had no redeeming feature. It wasn't anything positive about Port, it was pure crap, and frankly, I'm getting sick of reiterating that this is a board for Port supporters, not for Crows supporters to come and bait Port supporters, especially in reference to your modus operandi."

and a one week ban on noddy from posting on the Port board.

You'd have to think that The Floodbuster's abusive and at times vitriolic post would have brought a lifetime ban if we had Porthos as a moderator.

I have to admit that the double standards are starting to really p*ss me off.

I'm not a moderator, but I can quote one!!!

In the words of Porthos

"The Floodbuster, either quit with posts like this or **** off."