Kickett Punches Read

South Mandurah Football Club
Guys, i know that we all now have a stance on recruiting players from other clubs, it hasnt really worked for us in the past, although taz, solly and mcpharlin have all played great footy for us, but a friend of mine who is very much informed on the comings and goings in the afl told me an interesting piece of information about Paul Bower. apparently, the blues have offered him a rediculously small contract for a guy who is 21 and has been sensational in the back line for the blues this year, this contract has been taken as kind of an insult, especially when the blues have offered the world for a guy like warnock who hasnt even played a game for them, add onto that the fact that the blues have to sign murphy, kruezer, gibbs ontop of the guys they already have like judd and the salary cap is looking kind of small. given the facts that paul was all australian CHB state U/18's, a WA boy, we have heaps of room in the salary cap and our own deficiencies in the backline, maybe there is a chance for us to get one back on the blues for their raping of us with warnock. i know a good talented young CHB would always be welcomed at our club, especially if we end up towards the bottom, we could use the preseason draft to bully them into a trade like they did with us.

thoughts?

Would need a low 2nd round pick I would think

He looks a very likely type in the Sam Gilbert, Luke McGuane, Colin Garland mold.

I don't think the Blues would be that keen on losing him but I guess that what they get when they have Steven, Judd, Murphy, Fevola, Gibbs, Waite, Warnock, Betts, etc in the same salary cap

If we could get him in the PSD or for say a pick in the 30's-40's yes.

lol you honestly reckon thats all he'd be worth, lol.... your dreaming, the guy would be worth a 2nd round pick easily, but if we could offer him the money he wants and get him through the PSD it would be the steal of the century

Not sure WC would be that interested given talls are one area we are OK with. That may help you guys.

Although, IMO Bower isnt a true CHB option. More of a floater/flanker who can rebound. More than handy player but I personally wouldnt be relying on him shutting down the best forwards in the game week after week.

Because he is just what we need, yet another player who just isn't big enough to be a key defender. Essentially he would probably replace Dodd or Grover, but the amount we would have to spend to get him wouldn't really make it worth it.

If we could get him for free in the PSD, then I would. But I wouldn't be trading for him.

lol you honestly reckon thats all he'd be worth, lol.... your dreaming, the guy would be worth a 2nd round pick easily, but if we could offer him the money he wants and get him through the PSD it would be the steal of the century

With the priority picks what do reckon a pick in the 30's is?

If he has the shits on and we have the space and the PSD as a hammer, they'll take a pick in the 30's or get nothing :)

Been waiting to use that line for a while :D

[quote=Lach72;14770322]With the priority picks what do reckon a pick in the 30's is?

If he has the shits on and we have the space and the PSD as a hammer, they'll take a pick in the 30's or get nothing :)

Been waiting to use that line for a while :D[/quote]

Sure no problems, nice to give you more compensations for Warnock :thumbsu:

If we could get him cheap it'd be worth looking at. It's highly unlikely we'd get him for less than an early second rounder though. Unless we get a priority pick, and/or make some other trades, I don't think he'd be worth it.

Although, IMO Bower isnt a true CHB option. More of a floater/flanker who can rebound. More than handy player but I personally wouldnt be relying on him shutting down the best forwards in the game week after week.

Yeah, I'm not convinced he's a true CHB either. Seems to prefer zoning off than the body-on-body stuff - not necessarily a bad thing in this day and age though. He's improving at it though. Not a great contested mark. Good leap. Pretty good at setting up play and running out of defense.

In an alternate universe where Marcus Drum hadn't had so many injuries he would be our version of Paul Bower.

Thanks "unlisted" now piss off back to unlisted board.

IF he wanted to come to Freo the deal is exactly the same as it was with Warnock, we low ball them all the way with a third rounderand threaten them that if they don't take that then he goes to the PSD. Even if we didn't get him and he went to WCE in the PSD thats still a win for me anyway.
Although we should have a better PSD pick then the Eagles anyway.

In a heartbeat, hope Carlton stuff this one up and Bower moves on.
Rate him very highly and has been having a super year

Meh I really don't see what is so special about him, his name comes up on this board a hell of a lot for someone that isn't really a key defender.

He's got to be worth a look. Hayden is injury prone and isn't playing back flank much any way, would be a good upgrade for Dodd or Head if the price is right. The issue is with the butchered draft next year, picks are going to be a premium this year. It's going to take some inventive trading for any deals to get done this year.

Freo need quality midfielders and young kps to replace Pavlich and co when they retire. Paul Bower is a flanker.

Alway, love to screw Visyville but we dont need bower. maybe, offer a third round pick for bower.

no way i would be happy offering a second round pick even if it is a weak draft this year.

Would need a low 2nd round pick I would think

He looks a very likely type in the Sam Gilbert, Luke McGuane, Colin Garland mold.

I don't think the Blues would be that keen on losing him but I guess that what they get when they have Steven, Judd, Murphy, Fevola, Gibbs, Waite, Warnock, Betts, etc in the same salary cap

Since when have the Blues been within the salary cap? A couple of brown paper bags and they'll keep him.

Something has to give down Carlton way considering the alleged contracts of a small % of their list. It would be great payback to steal the likes of Bower, Yarran, Browne for little compensation.

Screw the deal in our favour as much as possible, if it doesn't work then move on. I'd play the PSD with Bower, if he ends up at Melbourne or Richmond then so be it. Bower isn't going to magically solve any key defensive problems, but he is certainly a lot better than a lot of the players who have played for us in recent memory.

Been waiting to use that line for a while :D

Sure no problems, nice to give you more compensations for Warnock :thumbsu:

I'd want to be unlisted as well rather than name myself if I was a Carltank supporter....

i would have bower in my side ahead of the following:
dodd
head
grover
thornton
gilmore
bradley

all of which are meant to be backline options, grover i might be being a bit hard on, but bower is averaging 25 touches a game, and is becoming an attacking weapon, grover is 29 and is starting to struggle in my opinion.... and just because he isnt playing CHB at the moment, doesnt mean that he cant, he has put little weight on in his time at carlton, probably to maintain his speed as a flanker. he is 195cm tall so with some weight im sure he would become a fantastic CHB

Hopefully we can target a couple of 20-24 yr olds in the next draft. We will need some backs to replace our aging backline, but I think we need a Steve Johnson/tallish type forward that can kick goals, too.