Paul Haselby on the trade table

Annoying because Palmer hasn't been able to benefit from Haselby in our side if this is true.

We are unlikely to get much for him either unless potentially a pick upgrade...Haselby packaged to west coast for pick 6 is an option I suppose.

Can't see the logic considering our list behind not giving him 2 years.

Are you on drugs?
He isn't worth much, would not benefit a young side, who won't be in the mix for the flag for a few years
so why would we want haselby+ one of your other hacks for pick 6

Do people think before they say stupid stuff -.-

Who comes up with our great list managment strategies?? I think we brain storm stupid strategies, and when we have proven the last one is terrible we move on to the next one. The only reason we should not give him a two year deal is if he's carrying an injury which is likely to degerenerate.

Given his injury history (back, groin, knee) there is a reasonable chance that is the case.

surprised they dont give him 2 years. I am a fan and watch a bit of him but there are a few weaknesses;

1 - Doesnt kick enough and when he does it aint that penetrating
2 - Pace
3 - Not a goal kicking mid.

In saying that he is a clearance king. For me the best club for him would be the Swans. With Kirk at the end he wouldnt be a bad fit for 2-3 years at least. Lions would have a similar view albeit Rich and Redden are coming up pretty quickly.

Pies might be interested but with Steele, Beams and JMac I think its unlikely.

Dogs dont mind these situations. They have heaps of pace so another ball winner would be of interest. Suspect Hall is in their sights though.

Essendons another as it might take some pressure off Watson and Prismall. They have the pace to compensate and he would be good for releasing the speedier types.

Rich, Port, WCE, Melb, North etc need to focus on kids although North might be keen on him to teach the kids for 2-3 years if they think he could add something there.

Are you on drugs?
He isn't worth much, would not benefit a young side, who won't be in the mix for the flag for a few years
so why would we want haselby+ one of your other hacks for pick 6

Do people think before they say stupid stuff -.-

Packaged could mean anything.

Extra Draft picks/upgraded draft picks and/or players.

Given his injury history (back, groin, knee) there is a reasonable chance that is the case.

Even if this is the case, he would be reasonably good value assisting in the coaches box if forced to retire IMO. Just give him 2 years or find a way to keep him happy.

They should just give him two years. He'll be on the veterans list soon enough meaning he won't be hogging a list space, and half his salary won't count.

You would think that Port would look at an inside mid - also possibly Sydney with the mass exodus of senior players that has occurred this season.

They should just give him two years. He'll be on the veterans list soon enough meaning he won't be hogging a list space, and half his salary won't count.

Agreed...it's not like they're pressed for cap room and they have so many young players they really can afford to keep one experienced one.

I would think Sydney would have a look as they have massive cap room and they'll want to put it on experienced players.
Who has the first PSD pick? Tank-a-melb?:D

Did Freo sign Pav to a 5 year deal when he was 26 to avoid this contract policy being an issue?

The policy doesn't apply to Pavlich or Sandilands. Both are far superior footballers to Hasleby who would have 15 (16 once GC come in) clubs chasing them if they fell out of contract. Neither have had injury concerns like those that have dogged Hasleby his entire career. Once again, Hasleby seems to be after a better contract, but it's hard to negotiate when both he and Fremantle know that he doesn't have a better option.

I hope he looks better after the flight. The poor bugger looked like he could hardly walk at the airport.

Would be very interested, but would think that Fremantle would be very interested in seeking revenge over their feeling of being bent over on the Warnock deal of last year (yes, even despite the great man playing a total of 0 games this year).

Would be reluctant to part with our 2nd rounder, all things considered. However would probably take a gamble and offer up Armfield to go back home in a straight swap. Hasleby suits our premiership window, I rate Army well, he's got 7 years on Hasleby, he's quick, and prepared to break the lines, his deficiencies with his kicking can be improved.

Would be very interested, but would think that Fremantle would be very interested in seeking revenge over their feeling of being bent over on the Warnock deal of last year (yes, even despite the great man playing a total of 0 games this year).

Would be reluctant to part with our 2nd rounder, all things considered. However would probably take a gamble and offer up Armfield to go back home in a straight swap. Hasleby suits our premiership window, I rate Army well, he's got 7 years on Hasleby, he's quick, and prepared to break the lines, his deficiencies with his kicking can be improved.

I don't think anyone has ever explained the concept of being bent over to you champ. Generally it works like this - the individual getting bent over is in the less favourable position. The bender-overer in this situation was Freo by the long length of Juddy's list of unaccountable misdemeanours. That pea-heart Warnock will probably be de-listed at the end of next year Cap'n Gougey.....enjoy.

I don't know why I bother explaining myself to a troll, but anyhow I shall attempt to, even if I readily admit to being obviously far less experienced in bending over than yourself...

Fremantle wanted two high picks for Warnock, instead we held them over a barrel, and exchanged for 24 and 72 and trading down 56 to 69 (and given that by all reports, we would have picked Robinson at 24 anyway, was essentially Warnock for 24 and loose change.)

Despite all the posturing from Chris Bond, that was the end result, and I'd be filthy too.

2nd rounder + Leroy Jetta

Are you off your nut mate? I'm all for a Jetta trade but it is one of the other when it comes to Hasleby and tbh i wouldn't do the second round pick. Straight swap for Jetta. They aren't confident enough to give him 2 years so they take what they can get.

Did Freo sign Pav to a 5 year deal when he was 26 to avoid this contract policy being an issue?

I was just about to make a post asking people if they think the policy will change when Pav hits 27 but i reckon you have answered it for me.

Are you off your nut mate? I'm all for a Jetta trade but it is one of the other when it comes to Hasleby and tbh i wouldn't do the second round pick. Straight swap for Jetta. They aren't confident enough to give him 2 years so they take what they can get.

I was just about to make a post asking people if they think the policy will change when Pav hits 27 but i reckon you have answered it for me.

Nah, they've stated categorically that the rule doesn't apply to Sandilands or Pavlich, they can sign on for as long as they like.