Phantom Draft - Trial Run #1

the_kid_can_play_footy said:
Brennan from the Calder Cannons has had a terrific year and has gone unnoticed in this thread . very strong marking KPP. along with andrew Horne and jarryd allen, are key players for the Cannons. brennan could be a smokey, but Horne and allen have a fair chance? any thorts?

Too right! jarryd allen is a great player, no doubting that and does deserve to picked up pretty high, however ben brennan is the unsung hero of the calder cannons footy club this season. the countless number of inspirational parts of his game he has performed is quite remarkable. eg. backing into packs is like an everyday occurance for him. also his long range kicking has been taken to a new level, if he aint picked up this yr then the Tampa Bay Buckaneers look out, NFL here he comes.

1st ROUND

1. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Bryce Gibbs
2. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Scott Gumbleton
3. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Lachlan Hansen
4. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- Mitch Thorp
5. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) -------------------- James Sellar
6. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) ---------------------- Leroy Jetta
7. Geelong (Diablo14) ---------------------------- Matthew Leuenberger
8. Richmond (philhawk) -------------------------- Jack Riewoldt
9. St Kilda (Kingjames) -------------------------- Albert Proud
10. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ---------------------- Joel Selwood
11. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) ------------------- Eric McKenzie
12. Melbourne (Gilly1972) ------------------------ Clinton Benjamin
13. Fremantle (Wizard9) ------------------------- Tom Hislop
14. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) -------------- Clayton Collard
15. Sydney (Macca) ----------------------------- Brock O'Brien
16. Adelaide (Thunderstruck) --------------------- Daniel Connors

2nd ROUND

17. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Ricky Petterd
18. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Ben Reid
19. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Chris Schmidt
20. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Gary Moss
21. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Bachar Houli
22. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- James Hawksley
23. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) ------------------- Tom Hurley
24. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) --------------------- Gavin Urquart
25. Geelong (Diablo14) --------------------------- Jarrad Harbrow
26. Richmond (philhawk) -------------------------- Caleb Mourish
27. St Kilda (Kingjames) -------------------------- David Armitage
28. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ---------------------- Nathan Brown
29. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) -------------------- Brent Renouf
30. Melbourne (Gilly1972) ------------------------- Grant Weeks
31. Fremantle (Wizard9) -------------------------- Rhyce Prismall
32. West Coast (Macca69/Sinepari) --------------- Kurt Tippett
33. Sydney (Macca) ----------------------------- Nathan Djerrkura
34. Adelaide (Thunderstruck) --------------------- Justin Westhoff

3rd ROUND

35. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Andrejs Everitt
36. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Jarryd Morton
37. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Jarryd Allen
38. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- Sam Fielding
39. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) -------------------- Travis Boak
40. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) --------------------- Josh Kennedy F/S
41. Geelong (Diablo14) --------------------------- Tom Hawkins F/S
42. Richmond (philhawk) -------------------------- Jackson Sheringham
43. St Kilda (Kingjames) -------------------------- Shaun Grigg
44. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ---------------------- Mitchell Brown
45. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) -------------------- Tim Houlihan
46. Melbourne (Gilly1972) ------------------------- Daniel O'Keefe
47. Fremantle (Wizard9) -------------------------- Dean Kelly
48. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) --------------- Alwyn Davey
49. Sydney (Macca) ----------------------------- Tom Collier
50. Adelaide (Thunderstruck) --------------------- Todd Pfieffer

4th ROUND

51. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- David McKay
52. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Robert Eddy
53. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Daniel Caire
54. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- Jarryn Geary
55. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) -------------------- James Frawley
56. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) ---------------------- Nathan Krakouer
57. Geelong (Diablo14) --------------------------- Matthew Vasilevski
58. Richmond (philhawk) -------------------------- Daniel Dzufer
59. St Kilda (Kingjames) -------------------------- Leigh Adams
60. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ---------------------- Joseph Anderson
61. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) -------------------- Jesse White
62. Melbourne (Gilly1972) ------------------------- Luke McLean
63. Fremantle (Wizard9) -------------------------- Jethro Calma-Holt
64. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) --------------- Chris Varsamakis
65. Sydney (Macca) ----------------------------- Tom Holmes
66. Adelaide (Thunderstruck) --------------------- Alex Hutchins

5th ROUND

67. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Patrick Fittock
68. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Sam Jacobs
69. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Caolan Buckley
70. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- Tim Brown
71. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) -------------------- Andrew Ainger
72. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) ---------------------- Brad Dicke
73. Geelong (Diablo14) --------------------------- Kyle Reimers
74. Richmond (philhawk) -------------------------- Shawn Colbung
75. St Kilda (Kingjames) -------------------------- Craig Bird
76. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ---------------------- Shaun Hampson
77. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) -------------------- Daniel Currie
78. Melbourne (Gilly1972) ------------------------- Matt Austin
79. Fremantle (Wizard9) -------------------------- Angus Lally
80. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) --------------- Carl Peterson
81. Sydney (Macca) ----------------------------- Nathan Batsanis
82. Adelaide (Thunderstruck)---------------------- Zac Millar

6th ROUND

83. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) ----------------------- Todd Goldstein
84. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) ----------------- Andrew Horne
85. Kangaroos (Scottroo) ------------------------- Ben Haynes
86. Brisbane (Irel) -------------------------------- Hayden Kiel
87. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) -------------------- Jaymie Youle
88. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) ----------------------
89. Geelong (Diablo14) ---------------------------
90. Richmond (philhawk) --------------------------
91. St Kilda (Kingjames) --------------------------
92. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ----------------------
93. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) --------------------
94. Melbourne (Gilly1972) -------------------------
95. Fremantle (Wizard9) --------------------------
96. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) ---------------
97. Sydney (Macca) -----------------------------
98. Adelaide (Thunderstruck)----------------------

fitzroy_fanatic said:
Too right! jarryd allen is a great player, no doubting that and does deserve to picked up pretty high, however ben brennan is the unsung hero of the calder cannons footy club this season. the countless number of inspirational parts of his game he has performed is quite remarkable. eg. backing into packs is like an everyday occurance for him. also his long range kicking has been taken to a new level, if he aint picked up this yr then the Tampa Bay Buckaneers look out, NFL here he comes.

great post fanatic, i agree. i remember an insatnce during the year where he took a mark similar to that of Leo Barrys mark in last years AFL grand Final, against the chargers. i think this week the chargers will have found memories of that mark and not take brennan lightly. also as you stated fanatic does have quite a boot on him.

Great job Johnson, very happy with Port's selections. Only query is there are only two South Australians.

Other than that, Great stuff :)

See what you mean PAFC..

I tried to get one more just previously- coalan buckley. Lovely 185-188 cm midfielder- seems S.A breed them like no other: Ryan Griffen, Adam Cooney, Bryce Gibbs etc...

However someone else nabbed him before me so i reckon i'm going to have to re-evaluate strategy come real draft time, in terms of where i pick players up from. In the end, 6 players, pretty good mix, first two picks (the ones you so sorely need) being home grown (no gome home factor with your precious picks):
Pick 5: James Sellar; 17 year old- 195cm Ruckman. Be a key position player at AFL level and with a bit of work to his action, there is no reason why he couldn't be like a riewoldt at all. Has great athleticism.

Pick 23: Thomas Hurley; 18 Year old S.A Captain, 178 cm Rover. Ball magnet. Doesn't do anythign flashy like i've said befor ebut has some nice turn of speed which helps him shrug tackles. Really he, schmidt, gibbs and buckley played lone hands for S.A vs Vic Metro, and that's why i like him- great leadership.

Pick 39: Travis Boak; 18 Year old- 184 cm Half Foward/ Centreman. Unfortunately i played my cards right and he got this low, but it won't happen again. Gold mine- seriously underrated ever since the champs after coming back from OP at the start of the year. great hands, would slot in nicely playing along side shaun and peter burgoyne.

Pick 55: James Frawely; 18 year old- 193 cm UTILITY- i love that word, because that's what this kid is. CAN PLAY ANYWHERE= MR FIX IT!!! Seriously underrated, again. In the real thing he'll go top 30 easily- there's nothing wrong with his kick people. Very athletic, very talented- will be great with chad cornes and ryan willits in a ever building port back line.

Pick 71: Andrew Ainger; 19 year old- 196 cm CHB/CHF. This guy has the equal best hands in the draft along with lachie hansen, but i reckon he uses it betetr too. Needs to lift his performances as the standout hansen like performances- he's not OVERRLY consistent but Ainger is the package and can play anywhere. Again, another atheltic back or foward with great hands, and a very solid kick on him. Could've taken him with a later pick and gone with craig bird/ zac millar- a couple of young bottom aged midfielders.

Pick 87: Jaymie Youle; 18 year old- 180cm Half Back flank. Just gave a description, but i've pretty much shored up a backline with good kpp and running depth, along with 2 capable midfielders, and one potential superstar CHF- isolating warren tredrea to a full foward.

Future looks bright at port :)

Down to pick 87 and still no Ben Ross ! Can't believe it. Wait until the real thing, he will go at least early 3rd round.

downtowner said:
Down to pick 87 and still no Ben Ross ! Can't believe it. Wait until the real thing, he will go at least early 3rd round.

The recruiters on here could well be holding their cards close to their chest ;). This is only a Trial Phantom draft and the real one will occur in a month or so. He may find himself go a lot earlier in the real one ;)

dalethomas13 said:
I've heard alot of big raps on albert proud and he being a possibility to slip down to pick 10 and joel selwood being rated one of the best midfielders in there along with the excitemement of jetta's pace but is it a realistic possibility that we will land one of proud, selwood or jetta at pick 10 come draft day?

To be honest I think we are pretty well assured of one of those three. DOnt discount Hislop either.

Just wondering if anyone here knows much about Simon Hogan from the Geelong Falcons. Pretty sure he is going to the draft camp and has had a very consistent year. Could slip under the radar. Was just curious to see how he is rated by those in the know because I haven't heard a thing about him on these boards? Did anyone consider him for a pick in the trial draft?

88. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) ---------------------- Dean Dicke. 191cm 94kilos

Continue with my pillaging of West Australian aboriginal talent. A couple of days short of being bottom aged:eek: . Still a huge chance to grow a couple of cm to reach a good KP size. Really liked his champs, be it very limited game time.

bmaurizio said:
Great effort by everyone involved, absolutely rapted with CFC selections.
Would have loved Houli and maybe Jacob's somewhere amongst them.
Will be very interesting to compare to the real thing.
Ciao

Wow, someones happy with my selections. That means two people are happy now. Gilly and bmaurizio

LukeHodge15 said:
88. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) ---------------------- Dean Dicke. 191cm 94kilos

Continue with my pillaging of West Australian aboriginal talent. A couple of days short of being bottom aged:eek: . Still a huge chance to grow a couple of cm to reach a good KP size. Really liked his champs, be it very limited game time.

Very nice pick up - I thought he was slightly better than his bro at champs but would be interested in Sinepari's comments comparing the pair.

Snoop Dog said:
Very nice pick up - I thought he was slightly better than his bro at champs but would be interested in Sinepari's comments comparing the pair.
I think Brad is his cousin.

I haven't seen heaps of either, hence I asked Yakuza a while back his thoughts.

I'd say Brad is probably slightly ahead of Dean from what i've seen.

Scottroo said:
North Melbourne select ex Essendon and current West Adelaide Utility Ben Haynes, 24yo Haynes had a great year in the SANFL and I beleive still has something to offer in the AFL

youth Scottroo, youth

6th ROUND

88. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) ---------------------- Dean Dicke
89. Geelong (Diablo14) --------------------------- :confused:

7th ROUND

99. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) -----------------------
100. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) -----------------
101. Kangaroos (Scottroo) -------------------------
102. Brisbane (Irel) --------------------------------
103. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) --------------------
104. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) ----------------------
105. Geelong (Diablo14) ---------------------------
106. Richmond (philhawk) --------------------------
107. St Kilda (Kingjames) --------------------------
108. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ----------------------
109. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) --------------------
110. Melbourne (Gilly1972) -------------------------
111. Fremantle (Wizard9) --------------------------
112. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) ---------------
113. Sydney (Macca) -----------------------------
114. Adelaide (Thunderstruck)----------------------

micky_11 said:
youth Scottroo, youth

exactly, shocking desision considering whos left, and if we were going for anyone, would be the 22 year old Aaron Edwards.

LukeHodge15 said:
6th ROUND

88. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) ---------------------- Dean Dicke
89. Geelong (Diablo14) --------------------------- :confused:

7th ROUND

99. Carlton (HugeBluesFan) -----------------------
100. Essendon (mcphee_is_a_gun) -----------------
101. Kangaroos (Scottroo) -------------------------
102. Brisbane (Irel) --------------------------------
103. Port Adelaide (johnson_26) --------------------
104. Hawthorn (LukeHodge15) ----------------------
105. Geelong (Diablo14) ---------------------------
106. Richmond (philhawk) --------------------------
107. St Kilda (Kingjames) --------------------------
108. Collingwood (Snoopdog) ----------------------
109. Western Bulldogs (Grub29) --------------------
110. Melbourne (Gilly1972) -------------------------
111. Fremantle (Wizard9) --------------------------
112. West Coast (Macca69/sinepari) ---------------
113. Sydney (Macca) -----------------------------
114. Adelaide (Thunderstruck)----------------------

So will we finish at the end of round 7?

Some interesting but good late pickups here. I must confess I need to see more tapes and will do b4 the main phantom draft, but certainly can see during this trial run, that you can snare a bargain pretty late.

Good work fellas :thumbsu:

Longshot but anyone heard of Josh Jenkins from Swan Hill. Plays with Tyntynder in the Central Murray Football League. Returned in Round 7 after a stint with Townsville pursuing basketball. Is 198cm, 90kgs so a good size. Has wonderful athletic ability. Massive leap (0bviously from hoops), great motor for a ruck/forward and can play on a wing or forward flank at 6-6". I have personally seen him on a few occasions and he did the ruckwork by himself all season from Round 7 on. Is draft eligible but is an extreme long shot seems he missed TAC cause of being in QLD. Many experienced men around this league believe he is this leagues best prospect in many years. Was offered a spot at Ballarat Clarendon College for footy exploits and played in the 2005 U16 Country Championships in Bendigo for the Pioneers. Anyone know this fella.? You all seem to know alot. I even used his name as my user thanks to my sisters love for him.

Josh Jenkins 24 said:
Longshot but anyone heard of Josh Jenkins from Swan Hill. Plays with Tyntynder in the Central Murray Football League. Returned in Round 7 after a stint with Townsville pursuing basketball. Is 198cm, 90kgs so a good size. Has wonderful athletic ability. Massive leap (0bviously from hoops), great motor for a ruck/forward and can play on a wing or forward flank at 6-6". I have personally seen him on a few occasions and he did the ruckwork by himself all season from Round 7 on. Is draft eligible but is an extreme long shot seems he missed TAC cause of being in QLD. Many experienced men around this league believe he is this leagues best prospect in many years. Was offered a spot at Ballarat Clarendon College for footy exploits and played in the 2005 U16 Country Championships in Bendigo for the Pioneers. Anyone know this fella.? You all seem to know alot. I even used his name as my user thanks to my sisters love for him.

Never seen him but he should get you to act as his fwd scout - sounds interesting.

He'd probably hate me for writing this about him. He'll play TAC next year as long as he is not seen before the draft or injured and I do believe he is a top 10 pick. He is a hard worker who when was young was hopeless at left hand handpassing so he practised so hard he ended being a dominant left hander. He'll be one to watch for sure. If anyone knows him, let us know. I'd love to hear.

So it's gone from you've seen him a few times, to basically you saying you know him and all his details. Interesting.

Thanks for the heads up though.