Pick 14

totally agree.

The too many 180cm and under on the list argument seems to be overstated.

Ballantyne will retire at the end of this coming season, and B Hill, Walters and Coyler will be 26,28,29 next year.

Matera, Giro, Switkowski and Crowden haven't cemented their spot in the best 22.

Tigers have Prestia, Short, Higgins, Lambert, Rioli and Houli in their best 22 that are 180cm and under.

People forgot that Neale is 176cm as an inside mid and Bobby Hill is an 175cm outside mid who can play as a high forward.

There are plenty stuck in the past in regards to this. 10 or so years ago, if you weren’t over 180 very few AFL clubs would look at you. But thankfully they’ve moved on and realised their value and the value in list and team diversity.

What is Ian hills goal kicking like ie numbers? Have seen him talked up as a small forward, but didn’t think he had kicked that many goals. I really prefer small forwards that kick goals. Rioli, Ryan and Stephenson I’m pretty sure were all high goal kickers

What primary school did you go to???

Not an insult, just a statement of fact....???

Not a statement of fact in this case, and it rarely is.
It’s a trite little saying that is intended to belittle the person accused of being jealous.
I doubt very much that Chris is jealous of Knightmare. It’s certainly not a fact.

What is Ian hills goal kicking like ie numbers? Have seen him talked up as a small forward, but didn’t think he had kicked that many goals. I really prefer small forwards that kick goals. Rioli, Ryan and Stephenson I’m pretty sure were all high goal kickers
12 goals in 9 games, with three games of three goals. I don't think that side of his game is the problem.

Not a statement of fact in this case, and it rarely is.
It’s a trite little saying that is intended to belittle the person accused of being jealous.
I doubt very much that Chris is jealous of Knightmare. It’s certainly not a fact.

Hahaha, seriously Clem take the blinkers off. You doubt it, but then in the next line say it’s certain. Says it all really.

What is Bobby’s ball drop like?

At pick 14-17, there are no guarantees. Especially of picking up an elite inside mid (which is probably our biggest need imo). But if you can snag a potentially elite small forward/mid, with extreme pace, silky skills on left and right and doesn’t mind some bone crunching tackles, I reckon go for it.

If we make finals next year, you beauty! But if not, we’ll have another top 10 pick and could probably find a really good midfielder there (I have no idea about next years draft crop) - or potentially dream of adding a Coniglio or similar via trade/FA.

Plus, having Ian, Brad and Stephen will give the opposition the shits! It’ll be the IBS affect.

So the thing that confuses me about the Ian Hill debate is that the reasons against us drafting him appear to be that he is too small and we have enough short people on our list already. Yet the same people using this argument are then also very keen on Boyd Woodcock who is just as small (I like him too btw).

The only other argument against seems to be that speed and x-factor in the forward half isn't as important as other positions (eg midfield) yet we look at the two grand finalists last season and West Coast recruited Willie Rioli and Liam Ryan recently whilst Collingwood added Jaiydn Stephenson. West Coast with an elite back line and forward line yet ordinary midfield defeated Collingwood with an elite midfield but ordinary back and forward line.

I'm certainly not going to have a sook if we don't end up with Hill but I don't understand why some are so against him and are also claiming those who do want him are just being emotional because of the Hill name. Is it because people overrate pick #14? It's likely to become #16 or #17 by the time bids get sorted. Is spending a late first on a quality small forward who could eventually rotate through the midfield really that big a gamble?

I think it's just that on the basis of his form this year he isn't a top 20 pick, we'd be reaching for him. They'd also be question marks on whether he's actually a small forward long-term, considering that he's largely played wing so far. Throw in the worries over his size in the context of our already pretty lightweight team (which are very real) and I reckon there's enough there to have some doubts.

Ok that sounds good. So you’d think if played permanently as a forward would hit the scoreboard.
Yes, especially when we are playing a fast break from defense and he is the closest player to goal, at the top of the fifty. Nobody would beat him to the ball over the top.

Long term I think he would be a player who bursts from position forward into space on the fat side to mark in free space, again - nobody would be able to keep up with him.

So a small forward who gets involved in transition and then back to the forward line at speed. Pressure I'm not sure on because of his size, he can definitely close space and grab hold of players but until he bulks up he will need to use his speed to get into space and then use his footskills to make us better.

If hill slid past say Pick 25, would people be against trying to trade up pick 31 to make sure no one gets him?

I think it's just that on the basis of his form this year he isn't a top 20 pick, we'd be reaching for him. They'd also be question marks on whether he's actually a small forward long-term, considering that he's largely played wing so far. Throw in the worries over his size in the context of our already pretty lightweight team (which are very real) and I reckon there's enough there to have some doubts.
On the size thing. I would still prefer I.Hill over say Darcy Tucker out on a wing. Long term, Bobby could potentially even replace (wait for it, not gonna be popular here) Eddy Langdon on the wing. I love Eddy’s effort, but his kicking can be coach killing stuff. It’s fine whilst we aren’t contending, but once we’re at the pointy end, you can’t really afford many players that regularly miss kicks, especially when on a fast break. The poor kicks of the team should be inside mids who can still gain meters.

No it’s just some players star at 16, 17 but can’t go on with it, that’s all.

That's true but he did mention that his shoulder has significantly impacted this season.

I'd take that at face value

He has so much skill and pace he would IMO be hard to pass on however I'm sure there are other very relented players around our first pick.

Fascination is warranted when the boys are from WA, shown good potential - doesn’t need to be outstanding, progressing through the from Colts - Ressies - League.
Massive and I believe far too great value is placed on TAC underage comp when ranking all draftees.
Our problem with drafting in the past has been drafting too many interstate player when there have been great talent under our nose - fascination with populist opinion generated by a centralised VFL.
O’Reilly has great potential and a Freo name, it would be madness to dismiss him or any other WA talent based on lack of exposure to so called phantom draft experts.

Agree with this, particularly to bolded bits.

We are too TAC focused. But then where was Lloyd based. We need a beefed up ongoing brief on WA players - wouldnt be hard nor particularly expensive. How many Ex Docker players live in Perth, and how many would watch alota footy all weekend - most or at least a fair few.

Agree with this, particularly to bolded bits.

We are too TAC focused. But then where was Lloyd based. We need a beefed up ongoing brief on WA players - wouldnt be hard nor particularly expensive. How many Ex Docker players live in Perth, and how many would watch alota footy all weekend - most or at least a fair few.
I agree.

It's easy to follow the Vic kids especially the inner Melbourne youngsters than the WA and SA kids due TO distance and talent is spread over more teams.

I really think that the inner Melbourne kids are more likely to be drafted but less likely to succeed.

My believe is that their real bargains from WA, SA and Vic Country excluding Dandenong Stingrays as most of them are from the city (Dandenong is 30km from the CBD).

Most of the successful mature ages are from these three recruiting zones, indicates that the Melbourne city kids are overrated by both AFL recruiters and draft lookers.

That's true but he did mention that his shoulder has significantly impacted this season.

I'd take that at face value

He has so much skill and pace he would IMO be hard to pass on however I'm sure there are other very relented players around our first pick.

Yep, I trust our guys to make the right decision. On his 2017 form I think he’s exactly what we need and being a relation to a couple of guys already at the club is a bonus. If we pick him I’ll be stoked but equally if we don’t I’ll trust that the guys have done all of the research and have gone with who they think is best for us.

Not sure how much of Hill’s footy you have seen, but he predominantly plays as a small forward. In colts this year he pinch hit through the midfield, but was usually inside.

I don’t care if we take him or not but he has the best foot skills (left or right) that I have seen at colts level. He is a great grab, is hard at it and has good defensive pressure.

After his 16’s carnival he was probably the best player in country. Watch his highlights from the SA game. He kicked 2 goals in that game that would be goal of year in any comp.

This year I think he read some of his own press and he thought it would just come easy. Most colts games this year he had a shadow and struggled with that early.

He also likes a night out which is well known and could be part of his slide.

Not sure how much of Hill’s footy you have seen, but he predominantly plays as a small forward. In colts this year he pinch hit through the midfield, but was usually inside.

I don’t care if we take him or not but he has the best foot skills (left or right) that I have seen at colts level. He is a great grab, is hard at it and has good defensive pressure.

After his 16’s carnival he was probably the best player in country. Watch his highlights from the SA game. He kicked 2 goals in that game that would be goal of year in any comp.

This year I think he read some of his own press and he thought it would just come easy. Most colts games this year he had a shadow and struggled with that early.

He also likes a night out which is well known and could be part of his slide.

He doea like getting on the drink. I can confirm that as he occasionally drinks with my mate who is friends with Tim Kelly and a few others who have hung out with him while back in Perth.

If he's dinkum on being an AFL star he curb this just like many other players have done when an AFL career becomes reality

It's incredibly frustrating isn't it? He spends some time on the wing in one under 18 game and everyone then assumes that's where he normally plays I assume because they either watch the footage or read the reports from draft commentators. Even in that one game he looked so much more dangerous when he went inside 50 as a forward. It's one of the things that frustrates me a bit with u18 champs, in that they have to make all the best prospects for each state fit. So if the other prospects from each state are limited in what positions they can play the more versatile types are forced into filling the gaps round them. You don't get that problem in Colts because they are managing a list properly to win games - hence why Ian Hill played his ideal role of small forward pinch hitting in the middle (ie inside) at Colts but at u18s was used all over the shop. Back in 2017 u18s he was only played as a small forward from memory - and if not for Rankine would have made the AA team as a bottom ager imo.

I'm certainly not going to have a sook if we don't end up with Hill but I don't understand why some are so against him and are also claiming those who do want him are just being emotional because of the Hill name. Is it because people overrate pick #14? It's likely to become #16 or #17 by the time bids get sorted. Is spending a late first on a quality small forward who could eventually rotate through the midfield really that big a gamble?

People are not sure Hill is a small forward or an outside mid, as a short mid he will slide .

plus he had a bad year that might mean he has no improvement left in him.

I rate Sam Sturt above him .

I love Hills leap, that could allow him to play taller
If hill slid past say Pick 25, would people be against trying to trade up pick 31 to make sure no one gets him?
I like the idea of upgrading pick 31 and 40 to get him

Would adelaide (or us) consider swapping 14, 31 and 45 for 16, 21 and 73?

We get Hill at 16 and a player like Mchenry, Sturt, Valente with 21. The move up and can potentailly package 13 and 14 for a top 6 pick and get value for their 21.