Votes: 10 3.6%
  • Aiden Bonar

Votes: 15 5.4%
  • Nathan Murphy

Votes: 3 1.1%

Personally, if Hine goes for something out of the deck I'll be excited.

Me too. The more I read the more I'm leaning toward Bonar. Wouldn't be unhappy with Fogarty or Stephensen or any of those other kids, just thinking Bonar could end up being the pick of the litter.

if we reach at 6 the question has to be asked why we didn't trade back.

I guess it means we have more control on the player we reach for being available. I'd have loved to see us swap 6 for a couple of picks in the top 25. Sadly wasn't to be.

Me too. The more I read the more I'm leaning toward Bonar. Wouldn't be unhappy with Fogarty or Stephensen or any of those other kids, just thinking Bonar could end up being the pick of the litter.

Do you guys honestly think we are in a position list wise to roll the dice?

I'm thinking something like that private school dude that no one seems to rate but is on our radar. I hate to think how close our views are to others. I like what Hine picks from the branch.

I don't see Bonar as a roll of the dice. Yes, he's had knee issues but has been super diligent in his recovery to the point where he was able to play out the last few games this year. I think he also fills a need as a medium-tall forward short term and will compliment some combination of Cox - Reid - Moore.

From Snoop's Phantom draft

# 8 St Kilda
AIDAN BONAR– DANDENONY STINGRAYS / MIDFIELDER & HF / 190CM

People will say he is a big bolter but he isn’t. For those that watch a bit if junior footy this kid was known and really highly regarded coming into the year but just had terrible troubles with his knee. He has come back from it really well and I don’t think clubs are going to be overly concerned because without any issues late in the year. I don’t think he even had strapping on it. Big explosive player who probably had his best day on the G in the All Star Game. Showed off all best attributes. Powerful inside the contest and won his own ball, competitive and made really good decisions exiting by hand and foot. Deceptively quick and has really good finishing ability. Wont be surprised if he goes as high as 4.

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/snoop-dog-2018-phantom-draft-incl-rookie.1182255/

And a really good story in the Hun...

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...t/news-story/98d5fbdcc1c210fe746b2951e8db1a76

Robbie D’Orazio already managed Davies-Uniacke and Hunter Clark and they suggested he sign Bonar too.

D’Orazio — who has half of this year’s top-10 prospects — listened, and when Bonar’s knee went again, he called top surgeon Julian Feller.

Bonar first went under the knife of a local surgeon using a hamstring graft.

Feller used the patella tendon and Bonar knew it was a better operation.

“The next morning you wake up from surgery and actually have to walk around, and it felt a lot better,” he said.

His rehabilitation was also different — Bonar picked a new personal trainer and did four intensive sessions per week.

They still continue, with a session on Tuesday pushing back a Herald Sun photoshoot.

D’Orazio — who has half of this year’s top-10 prospects — listened, and when Bonar’s knee went again, he called top surgeon Julian Feller.

Bonar first went under the knife of a local surgeon using a hamstring graft.

Feller used the patella tendon and Bonar knew it was a better operation.

“The next morning you wake up from surgery and actually have to walk around, and it felt a lot better,” he said.

His rehabilitation was also different — Bonar picked a new personal trainer and did four intensive sessions per week.

They still continue, with a session on Tuesday pushing back a Herald Sun photoshoot.
Julian Feller is probably the most highly regarded knee surgeon in Victoria and has done all of the recent Collingwood players to my knowledge.

I can't recall any of our players re-injuring the same knee, failed grafts etc.

Mate that’s some A+ spin right there! As others have said there’s about 4 moves within that range that we’ve nailed in the past five years.

If you want to be critical of Hine be my guest, but I think we should at least make it fair and accurate by focusing on the area he bombed in, list management.

Apologies I did overlook JDG- forgot all about him.
Moore was F/S so doesn't count.

However the rest are burnt or just about burnt.

Freeman, Scharenberg (whilst he's still with us in hope its been a nightmare thus far).

Even the other first rounders we've had outside the top 10.

Grundy he nailed, Broomhead polarises opinion and Kennedy was burnt.

We've still got a jury out on Sier and McLarty who ha e also been our first picks (despite not being top 10 or first rounders) it's still doesn't make for quality viewing.

Treloar we paid a high price- so be it.
Not concerned about this.

I think it's fair to say Hine's work in the draft for some time now has been very underwhelming when you look at what he achieved through 2005-2008.
That's more than 10yrs ago now.

Rubbish. Unlike previous years when you'd just snavel these F/S selections with a 3rd round pick, 2014 saw the introduction of the new bidding system and we still had to agree to match the Footscray bid that came for him rather than opt for any of the players taken after him.

Freeman, Scharenberg (whilst he's still with us in hope its been a nightmare thus far).

We've still got a jury out on Sier and McLarty who ha e also been our first picks (despite not being top 10 or first rounders) it's still doesn't make for quality viewing.

I think it's fair to say Hine's work in the draft for some time now has been very underwhelming when you look at what he achieved through 2005-2008.

I just did some work on the Aish trade and we appear to have given a slew of picks to GWS just to get a few picks higher on the Sier pick... luckily the 3 late picks were Phillips Wills and Crocker which are excellent picks for 58 63 65

*maybe the player we really wanted didn't drop and we took next best in Sier

He's got a good kick on him, can take a grab too. Can see why clubs are keen to pounce. 6 still a tad stretchy, though?

Hard to judge from Youtube highlights, hey? I like those hands. Lots of one one touch grabs, often under pressure. His short-to-medium field passing looked really nice. More players who can consistently nail targets are always welcome!

I agree that he gives the impression of being a good pick later in the first round, but may be a stretch at 6.

I find it hard to overlook Coffield's combo of speed, kicking and leadership/professionalism if we don't land a top 5 slider or take Naughton.

I reckon we are, but I'm more bullish about our list than most people are. To me we've got a foundation of solid players(obviously we need a couple of talls to come through) but lack some top end quality. For that reason, I'd be happy for us to target someone like Bonar of Fogarty who may have star potential. I'd also be happy with Naughton for needs or one of the top mids who may have less chance of becoming a star, but is less likely than Bonar or Fogarty of being a flop.

Basically, I'm going to be pretty happy any way we are likely to go.

I guess it means we have more control on the player we reach for being available. I'd have loved to see us swap 6 for a couple of picks in the top 25. Sadly wasn't to be.

the definition of reach means someone that isn't expected to be taken that low. Anderson was saying yesterday we are a chance to take Richards at 6. I would seriously take a long time to get over that.

With so much fluctuation in the proposed rankings of those players outside the top 5, it could be argued that just about all of them would be a reach according to someone.

Hard to judge from Youtube highlights, hey? I like those hands. Lots of one one touch grabs, often under pressure. His short-to-medium field passing looked really nice. More players who can consistently nail targets are always welcome!

I agree that he gives the impression of being a good pick later in the first round, but may be a stretch at 6.

I find it hard to overlook Coffield's combo of speed, kicking and leadership/professionalism if we don't land a top 5 slider or take Naughton.

I like what Coffield offers and wouldn't be disappointed if we grabbed him, I just think medium-tall forwards are a greater need given we already have Langdon, Scharenberg, Howe and Crisp battling for spots and have now added Murray (187cm).

Currently, DeGoey is the only player in that 188-193cm range playing as a forward. Either that or we see a Sier or Wills coming on in 2018, or plan to shift the Sack or 1 of those medium-tall defenders forward.

I like what Coffield offers and wouldn't be disappointed if we grabbed him, I just think medium-tall forwards are a greater need given we already have Langdon, Scharenberg, Howe and Crisp battling for spots and have now added Murray (187cm).

Currently, DeGoey is the only player in that 188-193cm range playing as a forward. Either that or we see a Sier or Wills coming on in 2018, or plan to shift the Sack or 1 of those medium-tall defenders forward.

I very much agree that the need is there. It's a damn shame we don't have a second 1st round pick this year!

We’re talking talent ID here and what has happened to Scharenberg doesn’t suggest bad talent ID which is why I find it really difficult to pot that selection. He’d have 60+ games under his belt if he’d avoided the injury God’s wrath so let’s be fair no recruiter can recruit against bad luck.

Despite that you’ve acknowledged Treloar and JDG as worthy selections then ruled out Moore because he picked himself.

I’m normally partial to a roasting of the club, but in this case I’m not buying it and this couch recruiter stuff is a pretty easy gig, IMO. Especially when the outgoing CEO was cutting costs left right and centre within the FD to help the bottom line dramatically impacting Hine’s department. IMO, it’s no coincidence we went from league best to above average given resources were constrained.

Oh yeah agreed 100%. I was just saying even if he wouldn't be my choice for pick 6 I wouldn't be shattered like were :p

I can't wait either. A full day watching cricket. Picking up fish and chips for tea. Then settling in to watch the draft. Its going to be a great day!
Knowing the Aussies the whole test match will probably be over by Friday lunch, but otherwise it sounds like a good plan!

So we have Fogarty who hasn't convinced me whatsoever, seems like a very poor mans Dusty minus the speed, yet many people are treating like the second coming of Christ.
Very much hoping for Cerra though.
I havent seen him compared to dusty, I'd say he's more like Jake Stringer, will start off forward and then have short stints in the middle.

What would be available in the KP stakes at 38? I like the look of Bolta notwithstanding the knob assertions. Hopefully we paid Alan Didak and Dane Swan to take him to Peppermint Hippopotamus before the draft to spook opposition scouts.

It looks good at 38. Harry Petty (KPD) Sam Taylor (KPD) Jordan Butts (KPF/KPD)Toby Wooller (KPF) and Noah Balta (KPF/KPD) are the ones I really like and may be available. Others like Oscar Clavarino (KPD), Krueger (KPF), Coleman-Jones (Ruck/KPF) have been discussed and will likely be there, not as big on them though personally

I've decided I'll be shattered if we get Naughton. So many people rating him around 15, I'll feel ripped off if we take him at 6.

Where people rate him and Club be 2 different things