Pick Swap Completed

• Thread starter Thread starter Malibu#27

Agree.
. I am nowhere near an avid draft follower but all the avid draft followers I listen to have said that the 2020 draft isn't great and is really

Total b.s. mate. Jackson this time last year was not on anyone's draft board now he is a top 5 gun..

Port Adelaide and Brisbane exchanged picks in a deal confirmed on Monday, with the Power attaining the Lions' pick 16 this year but swapping out their future first round pick, among a swag of picks that changed hands.

Other clubs have struggled to find buyers for future first-round picks for the 2020 draft. There are differing views among clubs on the strength of next year's pool, which is also dominated by Academy and father-son players.

https://www.afl.com.au/news/2019-11...g-as-it-looks-to-trade-future-firstround-pick

There was a premium to be paid to get into this year's first round, which we were prepared to pay. Just like last year where despite all the talk of buying up top 5 picks (how many ways did we hear that the crows were going to get pick 2 and/or 3?), only one club managed to do it. And we did it by moving fast early and setting the price for a top 5 pick.

Considering that we should have enough points to cover for Jones and schofield next year, this trade makes a lot of sense. Including 29 is fine given that in all likelihood that pick would have been used to match a bid on Mead anyway.

3 first rounders last year, another three this year, and likely 2 next year with Schofield and Jones. In a league that is so unequally compromised, I have to credit the recruiting team to put us in a position whereby we have the necessary player personnel to accelerate any rebuild. That is of course, provided we have a coach and a coaching staff that can get the most out of.these young talents whilst putting together a cohesive and attractive brand of footy that can be identified as Port Adelaide football.

https://www.afl.com.au/news/2019-11...g-as-it-looks-to-trade-future-firstround-pick

There was a premium to be paid to get into this year's first round, which we were prepared to pay. Just like last year where despite all the talk of buying up top 5 picks (how many ways did we hear that the crows were going to get pick 2 and/or 3?), only one club managed to do it. And we did it by moving fast early and setting the price for a top 5 pick.

The longer it goes on the better this deal seems.

At first glance it was very much WTF.

Now it looks like shrewd trading.

Time will tell on whether it nets a positive result but that isn't entirely in the hands of the traders.

Yes it’s becoming quite clear that we will trade all our picks to the suns for pick 2 and draft Mead with that.

Astute.

We get shit done though.

Might not always be good shit or bad shit but shit gets done.

Plenty of clubs get fu** all shit done good bad or otherwise.

We could always be Sydney or Essendon standing around with our dicks in our hands when the music stops.

Why do people want to be shitty every single decision the club makes?
Any trade is a risk but Port obviously thought the odds are in our favour to do this now.
Frustration because they never seem to do as well as they should out of trades, recon they’ve jumped at these deals instead of working for a better outcome because they want to sell “three first round picks” as a positive to try get members back in side.

we shouldn’t of downgraded 10 and we should have probably done better than 16 considering what we gave up.

Total b.s. mate. Jackson this time last year was not on anyone's draft board now he is a top 5 gun..

I dont know who you are talking about here.

If its Jackson Mead, then he was considered a potential first round pick at the end of last year

If its Luke Jackson, then he was considered the best tall in the draft and first round pick after a great bottom age carnival

Why do people want to be shitty every single decision the club makes
In this particular case why does the club make decisions that shit people off.

Wanting to not trade out future first round picks when your team is shit is a view that is more than 48hrs old

Liam Pickering has hailed Port Adelaide’s pick swap with Brisbane that saw the Power secure another first-round draft selection.

Port Adelaide received picks 16, 52, 55 and 72 with the Lions gaining 29, 71 and a future first-rounder in exchange.

The Power now hold three first-round picks – 12, 16 and 18 – which will help them secure father-son prospect Jackson Mead.

“Port Adelaide may have very well done that for Jackson Mead, who is a very good player,” Pickering told SEN SA Breakfast.

“I think they have got a nice suite of picks now; I think they will be happy with that.

“Personally, I’d rather have a pick this year because I don’t think the draft is anywhere near as strong next year – reckon next year’s draft is going to be very thin on what I’ve seen so far,” he said.

“I’ve watched them in the under 16s and it was slim pickings. I don’t think it’s going to be a very strong draft at all next year, this is a much stronger draft … and a lot deeper.”

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2019/11...-lions-hailed-a-smart-move-by-player-manager/

Or Adelaide.

They really missed the boat on the pick upgrades last year.

On SM-G960F using
BigFooty.com mobile app
Yeah we did last year, but we traded 9 and last years 19 for 4.

You just traded 29 and a pick around 10-12 I reckon for pick 16.

We also secured this years 23 for a 4 pick downgrade last year.

Yeah we did last year, but we traded 9 and last years 19 for 4.

You just traded 29 and a pick around 10-12 I reckon for pick 16.

We also secured this years 23 for a 4 pick downgrade last year.

Yes, but last years draft was elite. This years is middling and next years is poor with a multitude of F/S and NGA selections.

Pick 10-12 next year might net you a player the equivalent of a 20 from this year and a 29 from last year quality wise.

Pick numbers don't mean shit without the context of the relevant draft strength.

You've got to remember though, that getting 3 picks in this draft, for only 1 out, means 2 of our picks are now obsolete. We can't use all their points at the draft as we dont have the vacant list spots. Pick 71 (now 72), was already obsolete. Pick 67 and 68 are also now obsolete.

So whilst we brought in 52 and 55, we only actually improved our draft hand of Mead picks by 325 points. So we gave up our 2ndrounder for a deal that only improved our position by the value of a mid 3rd Round pick.

The other problem is that extra value we gave up in that trade should have also spilled over into the first round draft pick, but instead it didn't and we are looking at what is effectively a very poor 1st round pick for potentially a very good one next year, and the extra value of giving away 29.

The problem with all this isn't the fact we were trying to do these trades, everyone knew we needed to trade out 29, it was that once again we throw around our trade/draft capital and don't really extract the value out of it that we should.

If we aren't aiming to trade out 67, 68 and 72 to sneak further up the draft board, or to get some more points in next year's draft, then our whole strategy over the last couple years of trying to build up capital at the draft will be voided by wasting 3 picks with value. Effectively meaning we gave Pittard and Hombsch away for free, and never needed to secure Pick 72 from the Wingard trade.

People put too much weight into points value. You also put too much weight into the late picks.

We may have needed those picks last year. Situations change, now we don't need them. Doesn't really matter if it means we gave away Hombsch for nothing. There are lots of trades each year involving picks that don't end up getting used.

The whole strategy of improving our draft capital worked exactly how we wanted it to. Last year the moving around of mid-late picks we acquired from the year before was one of the reasons why we ended in such a good position in last years draft.

Why do people want to be shitty every single decision the club makes?
Any trade is a risk but Port obviously thought the odds are in our favour to do this now.

Probably because the club has missed the finals 9 of the past 12 years and has absolutely no credits in the bank in terms of credibility and trust.

Ok. Using the Draft Points Calculator, we have traded out 682 points (29+71) and traded in 472 points (52+55+72), for a net loss of 210 points - which is basically pick 55.

It is the little things. This happens in every trade. There seems to be a "Port fee". Even in trades that are more even, we get slightly unders.

----

We are going to do precisely that. The point is that people believe to be not much difference in quality after a short number of picks. Hence, for instance, picking #10 or #40 would be more similar than picking #3 or #10.

Besides, we are putting pressure on the team not to sink; which is good.
Your post, setting it out in 3 parts like you did, makes it stark why we traded pick 71 for 72. Yesterday I said why the **** did we do this.

It is all because of the bidding system.

Between picks 1 (3000 pts) and pick 18 (985 pt) ie basically the first round before any compo or special assistance picks given by the AFL, the bidding team on a father son or various type of academies players get a 20% discount.

So Pick 18 gets 20% of 985 pts = 197 pts discount. After that every bid gets a flat 197 pts discount, be it pick 19 (948 pts) or 72 (9 pts).

From pick 56, 194 pts the player comes to the club for free and the club doesn't have to give up any other picks.

So as clubs have to nominate before trade period if they have any father sons or academy players they are prepared to bid for, everyone knows Port is going to make a bid for Mead if need be.

So if we are going to make a bid for Mead and want to do a points swap to get him, the club we are trading with knows roughly where Mead will go and will push to get a difference in point values equal to the discount we will get, as we will be basically no better or worse off.

Most of the opinions and phantom drafts I saw re which pick Mead might get drafted is between 20-30. I have seen one phantom draft say pick 16.

If its pick 16 the pts are 1067 - so 20% = 213.4 pts discount and pick 17 1025 pts - so 20% discount = 205 pts

So before we swapped picks 71 and 72 the points differential were 200 pts lost, by doing the swap it meant 210 pts difference. I don't know if Brisbane were hard arses over 10 pts, or bit of goodwill from Port, but the 210 pts given up basically covers Port if they have to bid for Mead as high as pick 16.

We are going to make bids on Schofield and Jones next year, so if we don't trade players out, but just do a picks swap, expect more "lost points" situation like this one next year.

Well done GremioPower for laying out the trade like you did in 3 parts and asking why did we give up so many pts. This year makes sense as it relates to the bidding process. Last year re picks swap with Freo and giving up 4 picks to only get 2 back was about getting Rozee and we didn't worry about lost points.

and then Mead gets nominated prior to pick 18...
Clubs want to hold other clubs vaguely accountable by nominating players around their draft value, knowing that if they act like pricks it'll come back to bite them.

If a non-SA club bids on Mead with pick 15, we let him walk, then pick him up for cheap when he requests to come back to SA in 2 years time. Other clubs will know this is the most likely scenario so won't bother wasting a high pick on him

:D

Ok guys get me excited about Mead. The blurb is he's the ultimate professional and AFL ready.
My computer has a virus atm that stops me opening links and surfing for info. soooo fill me in pls
His height, kicking style, decision making, reading the play etc. He sounds like a brie ant get

184cm

Kicking style is Darren Jarman-esque low trajectory accurate kicks (but without Jarmans depth). In the top 3 kicks in this years draft. Has elite vision, can spot targets in traffic quickly. Reads the play well. Is a bit of a plodder athletically, but his football IQ is exceptional.

Liam Pickering has hailed Port Adelaide’s pick swap with Brisbane that saw the Power secure another first-round draft selection.

Port Adelaide received picks 16, 52, 55 and 72 with the Lions gaining 29, 71 and a future first-rounder in exchange.

The Power now hold three first-round picks – 12, 16 and 18 – which will help them secure father-son prospect Jackson Mead.

“Port Adelaide may have very well done that for Jackson Mead, who is a very good player,” Pickering told SEN SA Breakfast.

“I think they have got a nice suite of picks now; I think they will be happy with that.

“Personally, I’d rather have a pick this year because I don’t think the draft is anywhere near as strong next year – reckon next year’s draft is going to be very thin on what I’ve seen so far,” he said.

“I’ve watched them in the under 16s and it was slim pickings. I don’t think it’s going to be a very strong draft at all next year, this is a much stronger draft … and a lot deeper.”

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2019/11...-lions-hailed-a-smart-move-by-player-manager/

Spot on. Next years draft is looking potentially as worst ever. This has been a long held view by many in the industry. Add in the fact that many of the draftable kids aren't available to the whole pool and it is slim pickings.

From what i've seen, i'd much rather pick 16 in this years draft compared to pick 8-12 next year. People get too worked up on specific draft numbers without any idea of what the quality is that's available.

What if it were pick 16 in this year's draft compared to pick 2 or 3 in next year's draft? A lot of people seem happy to dismiss that possibility with 'lol don't worry, we'll finish 10th again'. But we might not. There's significant downside risk in our list profile. And we only won 4 more games than the 17th placed team this year.

It disturbs me no end that the people making these decisions have no reason to care about this potential outcome, as if it did eventuate, they know they'd most likely be gone anyway.

184cm

Kicking style is Darren Jarman-esque low trajectory accurate kicks (but without Jarmans depth). In the top 3 kicks in this years draft. Has elite vision, can spot targets in traffic quickly. Reads the play well. Is a bit of a plodder athletically, but his football IQ is exceptional.

I shall dub him Diesel ;)

What if it were pick 16 in this year's draft compared to pick 2 or 3 in next year's draft? A lot of people seem happy to dismiss that possibility with 'lol don't worry, we'll finish 10th again'. But we might not. There's significant downside risk in our list profile. And we only won 4 more games than the 17th placed team this year.

It disturbs me no end that the people making these decisions have no reason to care about this potential outcome, as if it did eventuate, they know they'd most likely be gone anyway.

There's more chance of us finishing in finals than finishing bottom four.

We only won 4 more games than the 17th placed team? How about not being so negative and saying we only lost 5 more games than the team that finished on the top of the ladder? A team that we beat, incidentally.