List Mgmt. Player Ages Thread

Any word on how Dayle Gartlett did this off-season? We should certainly get him with our first pick if available. Davey is not getting any younger...need to take a shot at this kid.

Think almost every Essendon fan is with you there.

If the AFL has labelled your first round pick next year as a "compensation pick", I don't see how it could be used for F/S, unless they change the rules. Could end up with a bargain.

they didn't specify compensation or not in the official charges, so I still don't know if the FS bans are real. all they said was 'Essendon would receive a pick at the end of the first round prior to any relevant compensation picks'.

I consider that pick an absolute bonus because the AFL in all their Mafioso grandeur could have banned us from the next 5 drafts for all we know, so I'm happy to use it on Long if needed.

Kid belongs with us

Daniel Cross leaving the bulldogs. Could be a handy late pickup or rookie. Or just pick up as free agent. He is still a handy inside mid who could be useful for a club in premiership window.

Bring him in for a year or two whilst our picks are limited?

Daniel Cross leaving the bulldogs. Could be a handy late pickup or rookie. Or just pick up as free agent. He is still a handy inside mid who could be useful for a club in premiership window.

At first glance, I'd say too old... But it might be worth a crack.

Plus we need fresh meat to test our new supplement program on.

I actually don't mind that, 1-2 year rental, If he buys in on the proviso he's not an automatic selection and might play a fair bit of VFL.

If we're going to recycle guys, he's the top of the pile

Would be looking at the Swans, Hawks, Geelong and Freo delistees first though. They are more likely to be more handy so to speak. Wouldn't mind Cross though, although we have Watson...if Watson goes down Cross is a solid replacement.

Why does everyone keep pushing for us to go down the ageing players road? What we need is someone either in or about to be in their prime, not someone who will be the wrong side of 30 next year and who's game is tailing off.
They might sound like good pick-ups but guys like Dal Santo and Cross are too old.

Why does everyone keep pushing for us to go down the ageing players road? What we need is someone either in or about to be in their prime, not someone who will be the wrong side of 30 next year and who's game is tailing off.
They might sound like good pick-ups but guys like Dal Santo and Cross are too old.

we lose 2 more vets in hille and nlm this year, a little more experience at a cut price wouldn't go astray

my list of potential diamonds to be found in the rough that is the 3rd round onwards, my knowledge of non victorians basically extends to the champs for what my opinion is worth btw:

Tipungwuti: Hopefully he's our little secret. Committed to his footy so no Garlett issues, absurdly skilled, and fills a need, needs work, make no mistake, but undeniably talented.
Zac Merrett: brother of, similar sort of player, makes good decisions and has good skills, would be pretty happy with him to be honest, and not just because he's jacko's brother. Seems a pretty 'essendon' selection if that makes any sense.
Jay Kennedy-Harris: Speedy small forward from the chargers. as a crumber i'd have him only behind Tippa and Garlett, not exactly versatile like garlett, but you get what you pay for really.
Sam Heavyside: Jarryd Blair esque small mid, undrafted last year (injury effected), has come back and monstered it at times for bendigo, he's small, but he's the kind of kid that you'll grow to love quickly if we take him.
Louis Herbert: another overager, medium forward/winger much like a shorter karnezis, bit of the Steinberg's about him as he was known as that kind of mercurial marking forward but has gone further up the ground this year. Again fills a need, can mark overhead, but could play as a small easily.
Jarrod Impey: I've only seen this kid once when I was trying to keep an eye on Neagle, but this kid is blindingly fast. Only little, but pretty good by foot, and likes to break lines much like our own dalgleish.
Michael Apeness: Big, Big unit who i think could hold his own in the ruck next year if needed as a 19 year old. Mauling type ruck like Mumford/Maric. Not a forward like belch, but i've seen him take a grab or two.
Luke Reynolds: South Aussie who seems like a natural forward flanker, someone who isn't just a midfielder forced out onto a flank. Ripping left foot, long and accurate like Myers, also apparently loathes to use his right, like Myers. as a Monfries type, he's our guy IMO if he's there.
Ben Duscher: It's not too late, maturing like a fine wine this bloke is. Like Sam Dwyer, could come in and play as a rotational forward/mid right away. foot skills aren't brilliant, but it's not a deficiency either. a natural ball winner, leader and can kick a goal or 5 on his day, he should already be on an AFL list IMO.
Toby Nankervis: big guy like Apeness, more mobile around the ground, if Apeness is Mumford, Nankervis is like a luenberger, better around the ground, can do bits and pieces as a forward. Decent enough project, a lot to work with and has only really started to scratch the surface really.
Josh Scipione: started the year like a house on fire, has cooled somewhat but i still like him. 20 year old (i think) small forward/mid (mostly forward) who just always seems to be in the right spot. Very good finisher and someone who could play AFL next season.
Zac O'Brien: The amazing ZOB, hopefully he brings his act to the seniors next year. Come from nowhere to ascend to some level of cult status amongst VFL watchers recently, and someone who will be on our radar. Is a see ball-get ball guy, no frills, but works hard, tackles hard and is a bottom of the pack sort of guy. a senior list spot beckons imo.
Dwayne Wilson: indigenous silky speed merchant from SA via WA (possibly vice versa). Skills great, agility, vision and awareness great, teach him to run hard defensively and win some of his own ball and you have a serious player on your hands. easier said than done of course.
Cam Conlon: Forward/ruck who has dropped off the face of the planet due to injury, Cal Twomey once had him in his top 10 for this year many moons ago, but hasn't had the chance to show it.
If he's still there getting towards the back end of the draft you HAVE to look closely IMO.

Bonus round: Guys you look at if we gain a pick inside the top 20:
Matt Crouch: Brother of, similar player, contested ball machine with limited outside game, but could play next year and hold his own inside.
Ben Lennon: Long kicking flanker/winger who is a bit of a bits and pieces guy, but a fair bit to work with and could play anywhere really.
Dom Sheed: Rolls Royce, Silky smooth midfielder, you get Simon Black comparisons, you get my very close attention. Makes the game slow down around him like Heppell or Pendles, not ultra quick, but smart as hell.
Luke Dunstan: Inside midfielder, bit vanilla but will end up a very solid citizen of a footballer like a Jordan Lewis or a Brad Sewell imo.
Nathan Freeman: Bigfooty hype prospect. Fast, explosive inside midfielder from sandy, cue Judd comparisons. I'm not sold yet but the potential is there.

Any f/s coming through the draft this year and next, if so how are we going to obtain them if they are high in the draft pool?. I heard on 360 we won't be able to obtain f/s if they go high in the draft, due to our sanctions of no 1st or 2nd round picks.

The question we would need to ask ourselves about cross is, Will he be in our best 22 in 2014?
If the answer is NO all he will become is an expensive back up player who will just clog our list up.

The question we would need to ask ourselves about cross is, Will he be in our best 22 in 2014?
If the answer is NO all he will become is an expensive back up player who will just clog our list up.

Don't know that he'll be that expensive as a lot of clubs won't have any interest in him. I'd reckon a 2yr deal for $200k a season would get it done. I'd reckon Cross is better than Howlett so would be a bench player ie in best 21 in season 2014. Very good clearance player to help Watson or rotate with him.

According to this article we are out of the running for high end father son for the next two years.

Our 2014 pick 19 can't be used for a father son, and if we trade into rounds 1/2 for 2013/14 they can't be used for father son selections.

http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/es...in-2013-and-2014/story-fngexzp4-1226706093372

what a crock of an article.. any one find this bit particularly laughable?

Big man Callum Daniher and midfielder Todd Vander Haar are available this year and speedster Jake Long can be taken next year, although early indications are that none are yet first-round picks.
why make a mountain out of a mole hill then??

BrunoV

Tom Fields moved to the SANFL (West Adelaide perhaps) to further his football development I believe. Started in the reserves before the club quickly realised the kid could play.

Has played the majority of the year in the seniors and has been ok without doing anything spectacular. I think you will find Jack Package that he is, in fact still eligible to be father/son drafted.

Jacob Brennan from West Coast was their first ever and he was selected as a 22 year (+ 4 overlooked drafts) so there is still hope there for him I say.

Just on father/son options, if Jake Long or Tom Wallis is as good as people are suggesting, lets get in there ear and tell them not to nominate for that year should they WANT to play for Essendon badly enough and follow in the footsteps of their famous fathers. Sounds legit, yeah?

The question we would need to ask ourselves about 'mature aged player x' is, Will he be in our best 22 in 2014?

EFA

my list of potential diamonds to be found in the rough that is the 3rd round onwards, my knowledge of non victorians basically extends to the champs for what my opinion is worth btw:

Tipungwuti: Hopefully he's our little secret. Committed to his footy so no Garlett issues, absurdly skilled, and fills a need, needs work, make no mistake, but undeniably talented.
Zac Merrett: brother of, similar sort of player, makes good decisions and has good skills, would be pretty happy with him to be honest, and not just because he's jacko's brother. Seems a pretty 'essendon' selection if that makes any sense.
Jay Kennedy-Harris: Speedy small forward from the chargers. as a crumber i'd have him only behind Tippa and Garlett, not exactly versatile like garlett, but you get what you pay for really.
Sam Heavyside: Jarryd Blair esque small mid, undrafted last year (injury effected), has come back and monstered it at times for bendigo, he's small, but he's the kind of kid that you'll grow to love quickly if we take him.
Louis Herbert: another overager, medium forward/winger much like a shorter karnezis, bit of the Steinberg's about him as he was known as that kind of mercurial marking forward but has gone further up the ground this year. Again fills a need, can mark overhead, but could play as a small easily.
Jarrod Impey: I've only seen this kid once when I was trying to keep an eye on Neagle, but this kid is blindingly fast. Only little, but pretty good by foot, and likes to break lines much like our own dalgleish.
Michael Apeness: Big, Big unit who i think could hold his own in the ruck next year if needed as a 19 year old. Mauling type ruck like Mumford/Maric. Not a forward like belch, but i've seen him take a grab or two.
Luke Reynolds: South Aussie who seems like a natural forward flanker, someone who isn't just a midfielder forced out onto a flank. Ripping left foot, long and accurate like Myers, also apparently loathes to use his right, like Myers. as a Monfries type, he's our guy IMO if he's there.
Ben Duscher: It's not too late, maturing like a fine wine this bloke is. Like Sam Dwyer, could come in and play as a rotational forward/mid right away. foot skills aren't brilliant, but it's not a deficiency either. a natural ball winner, leader and can kick a goal or 5 on his day, he should already be on an AFL list IMO.
Toby Nankervis: big guy like Apeness, more mobile around the ground, if Apeness is Mumford, Nankervis is like a luenberger, better around the ground, can do bits and pieces as a forward. Decent enough project, a lot to work with and has only really started to scratch the surface really.
Josh Scipione: started the year like a house on fire, has cooled somewhat but i still like him. 20 year old (i think) small forward/mid (mostly forward) who just always seems to be in the right spot. Very good finisher and someone who could play AFL next season.
Zac O'Brien: The amazing ZOB, hopefully he brings his act to the seniors next year. Come from nowhere to ascend to some level of cult status amongst VFL watchers recently, and someone who will be on our radar. Is a see ball-get ball guy, no frills, but works hard, tackles hard and is a bottom of the pack sort of guy. a senior list spot beckons imo.
Dwayne Wilson: indigenous silky speed merchant from SA via WA (possibly vice versa). Skills great, agility, vision and awareness great, teach him to run hard defensively and win some of his own ball and you have a serious player on your hands. easier said than done of course.
Cam Conlon: Forward/ruck who has dropped off the face of the planet due to injury, Cal Twomey once had him in his top 10 for this year many moons ago, but hasn't had the chance to show it.
If he's still there getting towards the back end of the draft you HAVE to look closely IMO.

Good list mate :thumbsu:

Want to add a couple of names for you to keep an eye out for.

Max King, a big 201cm ruck men/forward who kicked some goals for NSW in the championships and is a real goer in the ruck. Creative with his tapwork and CAN take a big mark. Skills are good and works hard to be a link up player for the Bushrangers alongside Neagle in the TAC Cup side.

Clayton McCartney, a Stingrays boy who has blistering pace and a keen eye for goal. Some have spoken him up as a top 30 player prior to the start of the year but has waned a little since then. A goal sneak in every sense of the word, he looks like tearing games apart but has never quite strung together the 4 quarters week in week out.

I would also be taking that free shot at Jedd Clothier, whom most clubs wouldn't be bidding a first 3 round draft pick on I imagine. He would be outside out initial 4 rookie listed players (as a category a or b or something for being a NSW scholarship player) and as such, we get exclusive rights to him (after a bidding process on the kid).

IF we can nail ONE pick in each draft, I would class that as a win with the picks we currently have. IF we could trade ourselves into the top 30 then that drastically improves our chances of getting a hit with the picks.

I guess we're in the fortunate position of not necessarily needing immediate production for these kids, barring something extraordinary, i can't see anyone drafted this year (rookie elevations aside) playing next year, and even with a first and second rounder they'd probably be looking at a few sub appearances and 3-4 games at best.

I agree, I think we need a really good hit on one pick over the next two drafts (we've got a first rounder so it can be done), but if we can nail that pick and then maybe grab a couple of Kommer/Howlett/Baugley style role players who can contribute then it's a big win.

say Reynolds, Tipungwuti, Apeness and Dalgleish in, it's something I could live with. Might bite a bit more when we see what some of those kids in the first round can do though...

Hearing that GWS are keen to help us and is willing to offer Pick 1 and maybe a player or 2nd rounder, this is of course provided we give them a reasonable trade.
This would be my trade:
OUT: -Bellchambers (Has plenty of currency and is really only a back-up for Paddy, his playing VFL the last couple of weeks seems to suggest he could be on his way out).
-Gumbleton (Seems to be behind even Daniher now, while he has shown glimpses the last 2 seasons he's not in our best 22 and its better for him and us to part ways).
-Pears (Has shown a couple of glimpses of what he could do but his form is up and down like a yo-yo, people have suggested he could take Fletch's role once he retires but for mine if we can get Boyd then it'll enable Hurley to be a more permanent defender).

IN: -Pick 1 (To be used on Boyd, will essentially give us the best 2 forwards for the next 10+ years).
-Pick 20 (I think that's what their 2nd rounder is) or Taylor Adams.

Personally I'd love it if we worked out a deal that netted us both of those picks and Adams like if we threw in Jetta and Colyer or something but I doubt we'd be able to do that.

Personally I believe if we did this it'd free up cap space for us and potentially make a play for one of the bigger free agency names in 2014 (I'm looking at you Bryce Gibbs).

Yoda has hit the nail on the head.

The media don't understand that F/S have red and black through their veins - In a worst case scenario they don't nominate for the draft - They play one or two years for the VFL team - let's face it - Few first year draftees play many games and not necessarily in their second year.

Player Watch - Will closely watch Kyle Martin on Sunday - Collingwood may not be able to place him on their primary list in 2014 - Offer him a contract and he will be best 22.