Gippy Power
Votes

5 - Beams
4 - Swan
3 - Blair
2 - Cloke
1 - Jolly

What I liked

I thought Jolly and Dawes were excellent. Look they were probably beaten but they held it well enough
Beams ability to get off Scott Selwood tag was all class
Coach holding his nerve with those midfield matchups
What I didnt
I thought they were v good at times in the middle with their clearances
I thought their spread and skill level was awesome
Would not feel confident seeming them in a GF and Kerr being let off the hook.
They won the spare man back game

Fasolo - Sparodic but good for mine. Was excellent early but then went missing before bobbing up with a goal and a couple of really good 1:1 efforts.

Maxwell - Was loose in the back half and whilst he had a couple of nice efforts his kicks were as if Simon Buckley was booting them. They just went long and didnt really go to advantage and I thought as the spare man he gave us much less than what Hurn and Waters gave them.

Goldsack - Was good early as usual. Put his body in some contests that would have had him thinking twice. He is so important to our structure and some of his running and contests were really good.

Obrien - Had Darling and whilst Darling was dangerous I didnt think harry was to bad early. Would have been good if he kicked the goal in the 1st but he just seemed to find his mojo after that and we saw some classic moments from him and one on one stuff that was just really good.

Blair - Day made for the little fella and was good early albeit again struggled when the Eagles mids going like many others but went to Priddis and quelled him and was a key reason we got going again in the middle of the match. His hands in close are v good and his ability to make the right call is even better. Would have loved him to kick that late goal but other than that v good.

Thomas - Was ok early but mainly in the back half so wasnt hugely damaging. in fact at times he was lzy at clearances, must have got a burst at half time and he then got going. shark of Nats tap for Cloke mark was special and he just seemed to go from there. Some super efforts in the last but just a couple of things worried me about his game like the hit on Kerr. Bad memories of Freo last year.

clarke - Was terrible and if we lost the game it was squarely at he and Buckleys feet. There were so many errors I reckon his SC #'s could be negative. Really needed to kill the contest at Hams first goal but just didnt connect which was a bad error. He then got outmarked by him as well later in the first and he just didnt look sharp enough. The he just stupidly ran into Lynch for another goal. Given how badly he was being beaten I just thought he could have maybe been sent to a tag but instead the Coach sent him to the Sub bench. The turnover in the 3rd was real bad because we needed that one.

Brown - Had the big boy Lynch and was good but got caught out on the lead a couple of times but that had to do a bit with how well it was coming in early in the game. I thought he then really got on top except for a late goal where he suffered a good block. Couple of real nice marks though late and thought he was good. Will get better and better with more games.

Beams -BOG and even moreso for the fact he gave young Scott a lesson which is pretty rare. Kid is a gun. Is he signed yet? Trav better hurry up bc this kid is going up in the pay stakes v quickly

Jolly - Breaking even was going to be good for him and he did that for most of the game I thought. Certainly Nat had no influence against him and whilst Cox did a bit including a period where Jolls gave some dumb frees away he was v good until he ran out of gas in the last 10. Cox then got a hold of him and thankfully Dawes reigned him in a bit.

Reid - started ok but bad error not to kill the mark sheppard took which gave them their 2nd. After that he didnt do a lot did he. After few weeks out just good to see him get through and he will get better.

Wellingham - Was amongst it early but didnt really take the game by the horns. Nice stoppage clearance fwd that was nearly a goal are the things we love to see and his game seemed to go a bit like that. Just went in fits and bursts. Was good late in the game though and had some handy touches.

Sidebottom - I thought he was beaten today actually. He had Priddis when Priddis was going real well and just couldnt get away until the end of the day. He was v good in the last 20 mins or so and was good to see him lift.

Buckley - Had Masten and Hill at different times early and really struggled i thought. Got caught in the 2nd by Hill and he just seems to be that touch of a second slower in his vision and decision making and in big games it causes him to struggle. When he was clear a couple of skill errors hurt as well. But look he made a tackle on the wing on Darling that turned the footy over and we got a goal via Fasolo but then he butchers out of BP to CHB and Masten goals. He just needs to be better and he needs to lock down a spot or else they are going to give Young a better go.

Dawes - thought he was close to the best early. Work rate was huge and kept on presenting. Had Glass and in an odd way probably appreciated the fact he could run him around. Was also good in the ruck but then he just went to sleep for a couple of quarters. To his credit his work late in the ruck when the Eagles were deep fwd was exceoptional and we should acknowledge some of the less obvious things at times.

Cloke - 5 goals for the big boy was a good reward against a couple of backs who are outstanding and a defensive unit who make it hard for them. Was good.

Toovey - Quiet wasnt he but thats ok as been out a while.

Elliott - He was real good all day I thought. Some lovely marks and a last quarter that makes you say...WOW the boy can play. I am really happy with him and think we should just leave him in. He has class that kid.

Swan - Was real good wasnt he. More of it in the back half but he set us up well and controlled some key passages. Some lovely field kicking which wasnt matched with his goal kicking but I think we mark him hard at times. Was playing off Kerr I thought and he def beat him.

Shaw - I thought he struggled for a lot of the game. Some average decisions which I just put down to some time out of the game. Just didnt cope with the pressure at times and seemed to hurry his disposal and on many occassions it didnt pay off for us. The effort to push fwd late was a good one and it was a shame he didnt pull in the mark.

Williams - hams at times and then Masten I think. Was good at ground level etc it was just his kicking that was awful. I really hope he can clean it up and get it back to his Colt level but if he cant fear it will curtail as it has guys like Barham etc in the past. But look he had some efforts in the third and fourth that I thought were just beyond his years. You wouldnt drop this kid would you? Just seems to be able to hold his feet and get through traffic.

Young - I thought he gave us something late. His intercept in the middle when he first came on was good and he was strong in the contest. I like this kid and would like to think he gets more of a go.

Great work Snoop hard to disagree with anything there IMO.

Dawes was really good in the final couple of minutes with the repeated ball ups deep in Eagles forward line, up against both Cox and Natanui, with Jolly off the ground exhausted after his efforts.

Heard commentators say Clarke had really sore ribs when he was subbed off - didn't he hurt them last game - if so he may have carried them into the game. He wasn't his usual self for sure.

Gutsy effort from the boys and good to get the first one back from the bye and holiday at Port Douglas out of the way.

We did miss both Pendlebury's cool head and also Sinclair's forward line pressure.

Elliott, great signs, quite Medhurst like in many ways.

Clarke got crunched front on when going for the ball down low on the wing...

Was getting late in Q4 and in a tight game, may as well sub him out (rather then waste a couple of mins for him to get back)

Shaw, Reid, Tooves all average coming back. Second half, Toovey was on the taller Darling more often than not; a brave move; two goals against but not disgraced. Brown also needs these creative guys to be firing around him, as he is basically a spoil & kick in-hope full back at the moment (not necessarily a bad thing - see 'Presti' - but others need to be up on their games to save his bacon).

While on defence: Buckley and Clarke had lots of ball and gave lots of ball back to Eagles. Result was probably less than a nill-all draw. Harry and Maxey made up for the shortfall, but how the heck did we win with such imprecise drive from half-back?

Elliott, Williams: 3 games each before tonight. Take a bow - especially for the last quarter (let's forget the earlier ones).

Goldsack is a problem for us (not much ball) - but thankfully also a problem for 'them'. He is the general of the forward fat side, and tackles as if there were no tomorrow (see his mate 'Cloke' - should have been at least 7 goals).

Dawes. Mick would have said these sensitive private school, lawyer types will never make it. However, Chris is being asked to be sacrificial this year. At 193 cms he rucked out the last 5-10 mins against Cox/NicNat. We won; good enough.

The Jollywood midfield was outstanding. Swan off for long rests as Beams took over. Not sure about Wellers and Thomas as our taggers; they are both such instinctively creative players. We may still be a tagger short.

Clarke and Buckley where Terrible and both deserve to be Dropped

Agree Snoop I was acactually dissapointed in Sidebottom as I thought he was very Quiet

Good: Beams Swan, Harry (not before time), Elliott (great signs). Lots of improvement in many players.
Bad: 4:40 timeslot, Marly Williams 1st half but bounced back in 2nd. Umpires for both teams.
Ugly: Simon Buckley and Marty Clarke. Both truly awful. Give Marty another chance but please never again for Buckley.

Great work as always Snoop.

My votes:
5. Beams
4. O'Brien
3. Maxwell
2. Swan
1. Cloke
Also worth a mention: Elliott, Jolly, Blair

Team Notes:
Back half was really dysfunctional. They haven't played together for some time and with Reid, Toovey and Shaw all coming back this week to a degree it was to be expected. But it was a very rusty unit. WCE players getting free up forward and often without a man which was very disappointing. It just looked like a very disfunctional back unit and was clearly very rusty. Very un-Collingwood like and something you'd expect over coming weeks to be allot better.

Also through the midfield it was a really unaccountable game. It looked fine when we had the momentum, but when WCE started to get a run on it was surprising that we still played so loose through the midfield.

Bests:

Beams: Is this guy our best mid now? Looks that way. Have to love those long goals. Inside work good and also added showed some outside class. Quality game. Did a fantastic job considering Scott Selwood went with him for much of the night and even then was still clearly out best.

O'Brien: He really impressed me today and he played the more physical game we know he can play which was great to see. He really got stuck into his direct opponent from the start and did what he used to do with such success early career. Harry's defensive work in 1v1 contests really impressed me and is the best I've seen it in probably two years. Also while he played a mostly accountable game he also provided some really meaningful rebound at times, looking composed and did some damage for one of his more complete all round performances in recent memory. If he can keep playing that same physical ball Harry might get back to his best footy yet. Looks best suited to the less evasive, less quick medium size types and if he can get a role on these types every week I suggest he will be on my bests lists more often.

Maxwell: Played an important role down back. In 1v1 contests again did a fantastic job and read it well all match getting plenty of intercept marks and a few timely marks in the critical moments near the end. Led the defence and is still playing some very, very good footy.

Swan: Got great numbers but mostly due to the unaccountable game he and Daniel Kerr played much of the game as loose mids who did their own thing all day. To start the day played a low energy game and made some poor skill errors but worked his way into the game and was played a big part in the win.

Cloke: It wasn't a 5 goal quality game, but he played a mans game and against one of if not the best backline going around this is an incredible effort. Without a doubt one of his better games so far this season and hopefully this is a sign of things to come. In the first half his goals were mostly fortunate rather than from strong grabs. But in the 3rd quarter particularly really imposed himself with some strong marks and did some damage.

Elliott: Was quiet for the first 3 quarters but in that final quarter was critical and really stood up which was great to see for someone so inexperienced and new to the team. Took some very strong marks and just took everything that came his way. Had some important tackles in the final quarter. And just showed great character and had a real dip and came up with some important plays. Hope to see more of this good play from Elliott, can play a role today and fit into the team no problem which is a good sign.

Jolly: Had yet another very good game and held both Cox and Naitanui very well. Could very easily be in my bests in I suspect he will make most peoples bests for the day. Had the greater influence around the ground than Cox and Naitanui which was fantastic to see considering his around the ground production is slightly down on years past. In the ruck broke even and at times had his own meaningful taps which was also great to see against clearly the leagues best ruck division. Great game and as always and never fails to product.

Blair: Strong attack on the ball as always. Played his usual hard inside game and bobbed up for some important goals. His ground level work was exceptional and he being smaller his gather is just that much better than anyone else. Set up some important plays by handball and played an important role as usual.

Others:
Wellingham: Had another strong marking game. Very strong overhead and took some few others would be able to take in the air. Was very clean with his ball use and was very composed throughout.

Fasolo: Had a solid game hitting the scoreboard as usual and won his own ball. Good game against good opposition which is a good sign.

Thomas: Had a solid game without the stats really showing it. Liked his inside game and really attacked the ball hard and got to the right positions. I like him in this new inside role and I suggest he should play this more. One play that did disappoint was when Daniel Kerr ran from the back of the goal square, handed it off, got it back, ran to 50 and got a long goal. Really surprised Thomas didn't have a gut running effort in him and that one play disappointed me somewhat. Very un-Thomas-like and knowing what he can do you'd hope for better.

Reid: Showed some solid rebounding. Kicking was on target. After 1/4 time was reasonably quiet. I assume he is still struggling with injury but none the less won all the 1v1 contests I noticed him in so I can't complain with his effort.

Brown: Was solid down back. Held his man and defensive efforts solid. Took an important 1v1 mark down back at a critical moment which was impresssive. Got better as the game progressed.

Sidebottom: Had ok numbers but probably didn't have his usual influence with his running game that we are probably accustomed to.

Dawes: Was solid early but after 1/4 time was quiet. Took some strong marks early which was encouraging and competed well in the ruck. Missed his shots on goal yet again but I felt like he played his role and was good enough.

Goldsack: Tackling game solid and had some shots on goal but just missed a few he would normally get. Ok without being one of his stronger games.

Young: Sub. Limited minutes. Not allot to report.

Poor:

Toovey: Not his best game and lost a few more 1v1s than we usually see. Rare poor game but forgivable considering first game back.

Shaw: Not his best game and didn't have his usual impact. Numbers still solid and you have to give him some consideration being first game back from injury but ball use below average and didn't play to the level we are used to seeing from him but first game back like with Toovey and Reid is forgivable.

Buckley: Won a fair bit of his own ball but ball use at times was very ordinary and still was very slow to get rid of the ball at times which really hurt us.

Williams: Kicking was terrible in the 1st quarter! Missed every target by foot early and just turnover, after turnover, after turnover, after turnover, after turnover. It was just that poor and the only reason West Coast were even in the game at 1/4 time frankly. Still I commend some of his other efforts, provided some run at times even if the finish wasn't great, defensively wasn't nearly our worst down back and he competed well, tackled hard and otherwise did ok. Will need to spend considerable time on his kicking though. Worst I've seen from him and really needs more practise with the wet footy.

Clarke: Poor game and was subbed mid way through the final quarter for Young. Down back really got showed up by opposition forwards. Lost 1v1s and then not able to go with the quicker players. Just needs to play a more offensive role in the back half because at this stage defensively he is not capable of shutting down a man down back. Seems to struggle overhead and particularly when the ball is in the air has trouble judging it. Also by hand today was too slow for my liking and not as on target as I'd expect from an AFL level player. More work needs to go into his game and this was a long way off his best.

I'm starting to wonder just how good Beams could be?

He is a long way ahead of Pendles, development and performance wise then he was at the same stage in his career.

Sign this bloke up for 5 years Pies.

Beams could win a Brownlow without a doubt. You look at all the characteristics of a great midfielder, and he ticks most of the boxes. It's pretty difficult to poke any holes in his game at this point. From kicking, to hands, to inside/outside ability, goal sense, to awareness and decision making. He's not a burner which is just about the only thing he doesn't do pretty well.

Agree Pie eyed and Dundalis. Beams is just simply exceptional. He has lifted our midfield another level. Just adding to your comments Dundalis the other slight weakness in his game is probably his defensive midfield work.

I only managed to watch the second half of the game so am surprised to read the comments on Marley. I thought he was excellent in the second half and particularly with some of his contests in the last. Must have been a bit of Jekyll and Hyde about his game.

Elliot was massive in the last. He showed he is going to be a really good player for us. Thats the impression I walked away with. He made some really important plays which belie his experience. Really good defensive efforts and I felt the uncalled holding the ball which was missed by the umpire in the third was a turning point in the momentum of the game. Elliot should have been rewarded. He took some great contested marks and it seems the wraps on his marking as a junior was not misleading. Just a smart footballer.

Two performances for me stood out as winning us the game. Jollys effort in the ruck. Against Nic Nat and Cox just a gutsy effort. To think about some of the short sighted comments that have been bandied about this year about Jolly. Never write off a champion. He really stood up, like he so often has over his career, in a big game for the club.

Beams was unbelievable. That was his best all round game for the club. I think his 3 goals was the most defining difference in the game in the end. I realise I shouldn't single one thing like that out for the win but thats how it seemed to me. For someone who has been criticised for going missing in important games I hope he gains a lot of confidence from that performance and can take that with him into September.

I can't wait for Pendles return and for our back six to get a run of games together. I hope Johnson returns as well we miss his run. Still plenty of improvement in this side.

Maxwell: Played an important role down back. In 1v1 contests again did a fantastic job and read it well all match getting plenty of intercept marks and a few timely marks in the critical moments near the end. Led the defence and is still playing some very, very good footy.

Knighta I found his game hard to assess bc I didnt think he had the influence that their spare man had. I know he intercepted a lot of contests and in fact there was one in the last where he got across and impacted and left Hams in the goal square so he was def good but I just thought Waters and Hurn were stronger as the extra player back. Be interesting how the coaches assess that - do they look at it like I do or more like you in that it is an overall effort down there. Suspect you are right.

Agree Pie eyed and Dundalis. Beams is just simply exceptional. He has lifted our midfield another level. Just adding to your comments Dundalis the other slight weakness in his game is probably his defensive midfield work.

I only managed to watch the second half of the game so am surprised to read the comments on Marley. I thought he was excellent in the second half and particularly with some of his contests in the last. Must have been a bit of Jekyll and Hyde about his game.

Elliot was massive in the last. He showed he is going to be a really good player for us. Thats the impression I walked away with. He made some really important plays which belie his experience. Really good defensive efforts and I felt the uncalled holding the ball which was missed by the umpire in the third was a turning point in the momentum of the game. Elliot should have been rewarded. He took some great contested marks and it seems the wraps on his marking as a junior was not misleading. Just a smart footballer.

Two performances for me stood out as winning us the game. Jollys effort in the ruck. Against Nic Nat and Cox just a gutsy effort. To think about some of the short sighted comments that have been bandied about this year about Jolly. Never write off a champion. He really stood up, like he so often has over his career, in a big game for the club.

Beams was unbelievable. That was his best all round game for the club. I think his 3 goals was the most defining difference in the game in the end. I realise I shouldn't single one thing like that out for the win but thats how it seemed to me. For someone who has been criticised for going missing in important games I hope he gains a lot of confidence from that performance and can take that with him into September.

I can't wait for Pendles return and for our back six to get a run of games together. I hope Johnson returns as well we miss his run. Still plenty of improvement in this side.

Quicky the comments probably relate to the part of the game you didnt see. We stormed out of the blocks and it was 19-0 after 10 min but then it was 42-48 at half time. A lot of their scoring shots came from Williams, Clarke and Buckley butchering the ball off HB. Clarke was involved in at least 3. Buckley was getting the ball but just horrific in the transition at times. Was caught holding the ball at CHB and made a number of skill errors. To be fair Williams was the better of all of them and he at least was a bit stronger in the contest and he def was the one who stood up in the last. His last qtr was great which was a great sign from a young kid but as Knighta says .....it has to improve

I'm starting to wonder just how good Beams could be?

He is a long way ahead of Pendles, development and performance wise then he was at the same stage in his career.

Sign this bloke up for 5 years Pies.

First game he played I predicted a brownlow. Felt stupid the last coupla years but the way he is playing now anything is possible.

Only caught the 2nd half. Those backline errors - Buckley, Clarke - was it Eagles preassure? Seems to me our backline has struggled whenever the opposition sorts out a decent press.

I think we can put our backline struggles down to that fact we have had so many missed games from our core 6/7 being Maxwell, O'Brien, Reid, Taz, Shaw, Toovey and Johnno. Obviously Nate is part of this group and knows te structures but needs some continuity in his pay. We are still the 4th best defensive unit and very little off 2nd.

Knighta I found his game hard to assess bc I didnt think he had the influence that their spare man had. I know he intercepted a lot of contests and in fact there was one in the last where he got across and impacted and left Hams in the goal square so he was def good but I just thought Waters and Hurn were stronger as the extra player back. Be interesting how the coaches assess that - do they look at it like I do or more like you in that it is an overall effort down there. Suspect you are right.
His disposal was horrid and he put Buckley under the pump several times and people are crucifying him when some of it was not his fault. Defensively Maxwell did well but with ball in hand cost us goals.

I think the thing with Buckley is that when he is not under extreme pressure he makes poor decisions and invariably turns the ball over or puts the player he is targeting under greater pressure than he is.
I guess my point is more about his development, it doesn't appear to me as if he is learning or getting better and being in his mid 20's IMO his time with us is limited

I liked Marley Williams game I know he missed some targets early but gee the kid stood up when it counted. Surely he will keep his spot?

I agree West Coast had the better functioning backline and Waters and Hurn were fantastic for WCE. I found Marty Clarke at times to be that extra man rather than Maxwell but he did at stages find himself in the role so I wouldn't really look at the WCE backs v Maxwell and the Coll backs.

What more so impressed me with Maxwell was his 1v1 work. Seemed to win the contest every time the ball came in his direction and unlike many of the other defenders really held strong throughout. So along with his typical rebounding game he had one of his more complete games by also beating his direct opponent. Has done this several times this season and I really wanted to point out that he is performing and playing his role to a high level and not just hand out votes to Swan who had no opposition and was allowed to run free throughout or a Cloke who got some really lucky goals but probably didn't put together a full 4 quarter effort.

I liked Marley Williams game I know he missed some targets early but gee the kid stood up when it counted. Surely he will keep his spot?

I'd like to see him receive a few more games. In that 1st quarter he missed so many targets. Probably had 6 kicks and missed all of them.

He has always been an inconsistent kick but really struggled with his kicking in the wet it seemed.

Other than his kicking - I agree he otherwise played his role and deserves more games. Provides run, beats his man and plays a hard, 4 quarter game where he puts his head over the footy, attacks it, tackles hard and does all the team things you look for in a young player.

Certainly his worst senior game but I wouldn't punish his performance. Has been excellent in all his other games and deserves an extended run in the seniors to really get a feel for the pace of the game and get a better feel for what he needs to work on.

Hopefully the team starts to get a settled line up over the next few weeks , once the backline settles nothing will get through them,

Young - I thought he gave us something late. His intercept in the middle when he first came on was good and he was strong in the contest. I like this kid and would like to think he gets more of a go.

I'm still not convinced with him in the backline, his brainfade in the last when he came over for the punch should have put the Eagles in front with two and a half to play. Should have been an uncontested mark with Masten being looked after.

Player review vs WCE