Team from weekend

B: Johncock, Rutten, Stevens
HB Doughty, Davis, Symes
C: Vince, Dangerfield, Sloane
HF: Henderson, Walker, van Berlo
F: Porplyzia, Tippett, Douglas
R: Maric, Thompson, Goodwin
Int: Reilly, Griffin, Armstrong, Jaensch

One's in bold that would say didn't set the world on fire, maybe a bit harsh on VB, but if we are looking at Bock, Knighta, Macca and DMac to come back in the next few weeks, maybe you could put Porps in bold as well, but he did okay yesterday.

Has been said that Maric is looking a bit stuffed and it might be worth our while giving Smack a go before the end of the year.

At this stage if Bock and Macca come back in casue Mooney will be available and will need two mobile big men. So Armstrong and Stevens go out-have had enough of Stevo giving stupid free kicks away.

Stiffy on Stokes and maybe a Reilly on Bartel, VB on Ablett and Dogga on the biggest threat Chapman. We have the better forward line, but you would think Scarlett will go to Tipp and Taylor would go to Tex.

Porps, Hendo and Jaensch are going to be the wild cards this week.

Its a great problem to have seeing that the young Crows are really standing up.

The bolded part!

This is how i see it, despite the fact i reckon Armstrong has a future at this level, Stevens has redressed the excellent:horrendous ratio in the past 2 weeks and Doughty has certainly lifted his intensity.

In different ways, all 3 would be harsh droppings (Armstrong less so), but the other 3 are clearly better players when fit and firing.

Regarding that point, I'd stagger the inclusions and give Bock and Knights another SANFL week at least and only bring them in on a decent form base.

What a nice quandary.
Armstrong Out Mackay In.

There will no doubt be an injury out of the Cat game then at least we have covering options.

I agree with Huntercrow, the combination that has won the last three in a row should be the starting point. Any unforced changes should only be for players who have a proven fitness base and are showing sufficient form in the SANFL and on the track to push their case.

Then it comes down to structure and match-ups as to whether changes are made.

I guess, as the travelling emergencies, Sellar and Cook are in the mix.

Bock, Macca and Mackay haven't played at all for some weeks, Burton and Pets are injured again and Knights couldn't run out the game. None should be considered until successfully running out a SANFL game.

The only players who may be pushing for inclusion by their SANFL form are Martin, Riley and Young. Schmidt and McKernan may have put up their hands today - haven't seen the reports yet.

That said, leg soreness and general soreness may come into it after the heavy ground, the flight back and the short week. Fresh legs may be called for at selection on Thursday, but I hope only from proven match-fit legs! :D

Let Bock, Macca, Mackay, Knights, Pup and Birdman force their way back into the side if they can.

Agree with this.

In fact I'd go as far as to say that Reilly and Symes efforts in recent weeks have played an enormous part in our teams reversal in fortunes.

Symes in particular provides a running link man with an elite ability to find space to setup the run. He may have iffy disposal at times but he's a crucial cog in our side now and his workrate is top notch.

As for Reilly well he's evolving into an exceptional defensive midfielder. I cringed at the start of this year at the prospect of him being our first choice tagger but I think he's finally found his niche and his football is showing as a result. Even his disposal is getting back to the Reilly of old.

Knights, Mackay and Bock should all come back and for mine they'll squeeze Armstrong, Stevens and Doughty out. Harsh call on Doughty but for mine he's behind Symes and Reilly in terms of recent performances and the young kids (Sloane et al) must be prioritised.

Would love if it unfolded like this but I'm concerned that the selection committee will revert to its experience first policy, now that there is the faintest sniff of finals.

It's really only McLeod and Bock that are in the mix isn't it? Mackay was still listed at 2-3 weeks before the West Coast game and Knights by all accounts battled today. No one in the SANFL except maybe Schmidt is bashing the door down yet.

Personally I would prefer both of those guys to have a gentle run in the SANFL (even reserves) before coming in given how many players we've had re-injuring themselves this season.

If McLeod botches this comeback it is likely to be the end of his career.

Mainly because I think the tagging job is overrated in terms of its difficulty. Tagger is another way of saying "this bloke isn't much of an asset to us when he has the footy, so let's have him stop an opposition asset instead". Reilly's ability under any sort of pressure is piss poor, so I wouldn't throw away the idea of chucking him out, handing the role to someone else - Sloane - and having the silky skills of Mackay setting us up off the flank.

I think the idea of Reilly playing as a tagger was based on the idea that he would be more damaging going in the opposite direction. A traditional tagger type like Shirley didn't pose much of a threat going forward, and Doughty presented a pretty similar problem.

Reilly leads the team in tackles this season, ranks fourth for disposals and is third for inside 50s. We never got that sort of output from Shirley, despite how good he was at tagging. While it's not the Brent Reilly we expected to see this year I think he's still doing a damn fine job.

Bock will come in for Stevens after a couple of SANFL matches.
Mackay in for Symes (tough call because Symes has been good since his inclusion).
Mcleod in for Armstrong.
By the time Knights is match fit the season will just about be over unless we some how make the finals.
Burton it's doubtful if he will wear the tricolours ever again after injuring his ankle in his comeback match.

If it was up to me, the only change I might make would be:

Out: Armstrong
In: McLeod

I really can't see Macca playing SANFL to force his way back into the side. If he's 100%, then he comes back in. Everyone else back to SANFL to force their way into the side and create some positive selection pressure.

Also re: Knights, I would be particularly careful with him. I would say he needs at least 3-4 weeks of solid SANFL to get his foot used to playing football again. IIRC, he has Plantar Fasciitis, and I for one would want to make damn sure he's 100% good to go, otherwise, if he's rushed, there's the risk of this becoming a significant, long term problem.

Minimal changes please. Macca for Armstrong the only one I'm even thinking about.

Macca has proven many times over his long career that he knows his body and can perform when not totally 100%. Armstrong had a nice string of games to get a taste and feel for it. Knows what needs to work on now to improve and should probably go back to SANFL level to work on those aspects of his game.

Show some faith, go in unchanged.

My preference too, but if Bock is judged fit and ready to return, he could come in for Armstrong. Armstrong has been used in a back-pocket ala Stiffy sort of role, while Stiffy and Davis covered CHB. Stevens hasn't been covering Bock - he has been playing his usual "spare man in defence" role.

So if Bock is fit and fresh enough to give added bite to the defence, we can revert to an earlier and effective model. Of all our debutantes, Armstrong looks to be the one who would most benefit from a spell in the SANFL.

My preference too, but if Bock is judged fit and ready to return, he could come in for Armstrong. Armstrong has been used in a back-pocket ala Stiffy sort of role, while Stiffy and Davis covered CHB. Stevens hasn't been covering Bock - he has been playing his usual "spare man in defence" role.

So if Bock is fit and fresh enough to give added bite to the defence, we can revert to an earlier and effective model. Of all our debutantes, Armstrong looks to be the one who would most benefit from a spell in the SANFL.

That was before had Maric AND Griffin AND Tippett all in the side though wasnt it? We cant afford to have a ruckman permanently on the bench (Griffin/Maric) plus a tall always on bench. That'll only leave 2 genuine runnning players on bench at any one time. Against Geelong thats suicide. Especially if one or two running players go down injured.

Wont and cant happen. Please Craigy.

In: Mcleod,
Out Armstrong

Not sure if Bock should come in. Against Geelong especially I'd feel better with them in the team but its a tough selection. I've calling for Stevens, but his last 2 weeks have been good. Depends if Mooney, Hawkins and Pods all play. Does anyone know?

I tend to agree with most people here..

The obvious change is:
IN: McLeod
OUT: Armstrong

If Bock is selected - and it's a massive IF - then the other change is:
IN: Bock
OUT: Stevens

Effectively we are able to retain the same structure which has helped us win the last 3 games, while (theoretically) improving the cattle executing the plan.

Id bring in Macca this week. Thats David Mckay and not Andrew Mcleod

Shaun Mckernan can come in as well and play at CHF. The others back through the SANFL

Armstrong can have a rest back in the two's. Dogga has now run his race and back to the SANFL for him.

So thats

In - Mckay, Mckernan
Out - Armstrong, Doughty

Side
F Henderson Tippett Walker
HF Jaensch Mckernan Douglas
C Symes Dangerfield Mckay
HB Van Berlo Davis Goodwin
B Stevens Rutten Johncock

Ruck
Maric
Vince
Thompson

Interchange
Porplysia
Reilly
Griffin
Sloane

Both McLeod and Bock are now listed as "Available" on the Crows website, so I'd say its pretty safe to assume that McLeod will come in for Armstrong, we'll be needing him. Bock I'm not so sure about, could probably use a bit of a run back in the SANFL, but they may choose to bring him in, depends how he trains during the week I suppose.

Mackay is now listed as a "test", however I'd probably like to see us give him an extra week, no point taking too many risks with injured players at this stage, much rather see Mackay get his body right than risk re-injury or to delay the healing process.

The fiter of McLeod/Mackay in for Armstrong. I would not bring both in.

Bock was struggling before he was injured (only played well on an injured Brown), so would prefer he come back through the Eagles as his form was no better than Stevens/Davis.

Long-term Porps could still be in danger, but at least started to look better on the WE. Also, Dogga would want to improve as his form has been average this year. Still not convinced Symes skills are up to AFL standard, but safe based on last WE & also Craig rates his leadership.

Funny how times change & no one talking about Douglas ... so for those now moving on to Reilly, think again...

If any changes are made it will only be one. A settled side is a winning side, you don't make heaps of changes going into a tough game especially when the players you're bringing in have spent an eternity out with injury.

Chris Knights is probably the least likely to come in. People seem to be getting 2009 Chris Knights (20 games 40+ goals) confused with 2010 Chris Knights (3 games 2 goals ravaged by injury). If he did come in he'd have 0 impact and be a waste of space, because there is no fitness base at all. We've already seen exactly that in the 3 games he did play this year.

This, with bells on it.

I can't believe so many people here want him straight back in after all the football he's missed like he's our Gary Ablett. Let alone those that want to make him captain! The guy has had one good season for us. He was an excellent, important contributor for us last year but, even then, not our best. As a player, he's earned the right to prove that he can do it again, but not to waltz in like he's the man. If he performs well in the SANFL, it has to be a consistently high standard over at least three weeks IMO - then he puts some pressure on selection.

And, while I'm forehead slapping, Bock does NOT come straight back in either! He has got a lot to prove this year regarding both form and fitness. And, possibly, where he's at mentally. Signs have not been good in his few games this year.

Armstrong looks like he could do with a little rest. McLeod and Mackay the only players currently who get to walk back in, provided they are fit. I was under the impression Mackay was a couple of weeks away.

The fiter of McLeod/Mackay in for Armstrong. I would not bring both in.

Bock was struggling before he was injured (only played well on an injured Brown), so would prefer he come back through the Eagles as his form was no better than Stevens/Davis.

Long-term Porps could still be in danger, but at least started to look better on the WE. Also, Dogga would want to improve as his form has been average this year. Still not convinced Symes skills are up to AFL standard, but safe based on last WE & also Craig rates his leadership.

Funny how times change & no one talking about Douglas ... so for those now moving on to Reilly, think again...

Did you see Symes hit walker on the lead from 60m away - weighted it to perfection. You also may of noticed his running goal on the 50. No coincidence Symes back = crows winning. GUN. I agree his kicking style does not look pretty but is effective more often than not and everything else he brings to the table is outstanding. Has been awesome since blowing away the cobwebs against the hawks.

i agree. i love Symes' attack on the footy, his intensity in playing the game, his tackling ability, etc. and his disposal efficiency isn't as bad as people assume (ave 83% disposal efficiency in his last 3 games - which is quite high), though he does have his usual 1-3 clangers/game...but there are several Crows players who are prone to this.

Agree 100% he has picked up form really quickly given no pre season. Why did port get rid of him again, are hard running hard working hard at it footballer ( disposal only ok) not needed at Port?

They used that pick on the great Marlon Motlop