Please help me : Re changing teams

• Thread starter ????
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None

Originally posted by Wally:
A mate of mine jumped on our wagon last year after following Collingwood for all his 36 years. He keeps reminding everyone he's now an Essendon supporter. But really, we see him as a Collingwood supporter who walked out when they needed him. So he's not taken seriously by the 'true believers', despite him taking out an Essendon membership.
Jeez, i'd love to hear Joffas opion on this bloke!

where's wally?
please wally print this and give it to him ok,Whoever you are i say good riddance so you've walked out on the real magpies and gone to essenscum well they can bloody well have you.We dont have much time for deserters down at magpie land,your type are usually found unconcious in some sleazy gutter somewhere.You would of been one of them bastards on the titanic as it was sinking you would of cowardly jumped onto a life raft with all the sheilas,oh i know your type,you would hardly have any spine if you did it would be yellow.So have fun idiot.You were never collingwood anyhows cause us true collingwood people stick,There is one very important motto in life'how can you appreciate the good times without ever experiencing the bad times'you prolly would not understand that,oh whats that mummy is calling you with your bowl of dog food go and choke on your dog food you pathetic excuse for human existance and while your at it go and get rooted by 12 dozen wild bush pigs.
from a real magpie!!!!

Dear whoever you are,

There are plenty of things I don't like about my Club, too. A lot of our supporters are complete dead-shits. Our administration is a pack of thieving con-artists. Many of our players wouldn't get a kick in a street-fight. We'll probably be extinct in a couple of years too. And all that ... rah rah rah ... rhubarb ... rhubarb.

But it's still my Club. and if we're going down, I'm going down with it. No abandoning ship for me. When the Titanic goes down I'll be playing the violin as it sinks ... and the tune I'll be playing will be "Good Old Collingwood Forever".

And when it's all over, the last thing I'll be looking for is ANOTHER friggin' club to invest my emotions into. Supporting a footy club is about the lows as well as the highs. And it bloody hurts some times. In Collingwood's case, it hurts ALL the bloody time. But there'd be no joy for me in jumping ship and barracking for one of the more fashionable clubs.

Maybe footy's the wrong game for you. Perhaps you should follow horse racing. That's all about backing winners. You can back a different horse every week. And when a horse is out of form, you back another horse. Simple.

Footy's not like that.

------------------
**floreat pica**

Firstly, to Magpie Joffa-

"...go and do me a favor grab a dictionary and look up the meaning of LOYALITY."

Prior to suggesting that this person looks up the meaning of loyalty in the dictionary, I would suggest that YOU should first look up it's SPELLING....

Agreed Alf. Bear with me as I spill my guts. My team (West Coast) is in the top few richest clubs in the comp. And yet (at least at the moment) they play with no passion. Despite the best efforts of our ageing veterans, the young guys seem prepared to rest on the laurels that were earnt in blood by their predecessors in the early nineties. Right now management seems more content with making money (eg. those ghastly new guernseys) than building a team to be reckoned with. And the next few years I expect will be painful. On top of this, we're one of the most disliked teams in the AFL. Actually that last point is not bad at all.

But have I ever once thought about switching teams? HELL NO! I live in Brisbane, so I also take an interest in the Lions' (I liked them much more when they were called the Bears) activities. A couple of seasons, after West Coast has been eliminated in a less than glorious fashion, I have followed the Lions through the finals. But my heart is never there. I would like to see them win, but I don't love them. It's about passion mate. Without that, AFL descends into the realms of normality.

My supporting "career" has been built on the extremes of emotion. From that dark day back in 1996 when I angrily kicked the TV into the wall after the Boomers (yes, I meant that) beat us at the G after that bullsh!t finals draw, to the day I kissed two strangers outside my house after we beat Footscray in the first final of 1999. I'm not even going to speak of the following week though, against you know who.

See? Frustration. Elation. That's what makes us what we are. Sure, we might have a few repair bills, or lose a few non-footy friends, but it's worth it in the long run. West Coast could never win again and my heart would stay in Subiaco.

Stay with Geelong. If they fold, who will we beat on Grand Final day?

Originally posted by ????:
People might know who this is, but this serious. Very serious. I barrack for Team X and i'm pissed off with the way i have been treated by other club members of the same team. I have been disrespected, slagged, called 'a traitor' and basically i don't see this team going anyway, and in fact, i think they may fold very soon (they have got a 6 million dollar debt) - my question is ,would it be wrong to change allegenices, and my membership money (which i haven't paid up yet) to my second fav club, Carlton, whom i feel more warm to, as i've chatted to a few of their players who make me feel welcome, and i'm dissillusioned with my current club. I have barracked for, well to heck with it, Geelong since i was 9 (1989) but with rumors about my hero's downfall, and being treated with contempt with another GFC forum, i am very seriously thinking of becoming a full blooded Bluebagger. i do not want any geelong fan replies, as i know i'm going to be bagged. i haven't made my mind up but i'm very close to it, and i'm suffering personal anguish and pain as i type this, please take it seriously and dont' abuse me, my head says Geelong at this stage, but, but, my heart says Carlton.

what kind of supporter are you..... so your obviously out to prove those people who called you a traitor correct...by the sounds of it those people were right about you.... its times like your club is going thru that really prove what kind of supporter you really are....
obviously loyalty is not one of your strongest suits. Changing clubs is something i could never, ever even contemplate.... if my club folded, which it wont, then i would follow no team.... ever...end of story. Every club goes thru tough times and most of them get thru it...
just remember its the club you follow not its supporters..... and if their supporters treat you bad, dont cry about it, maybe you should take a good hard look at yourself and you may see that you deserve to be bagged....
probably just a matter of time before the carltons supporters started bagging you too...then what would you do...go home to mummy crying....

Originally posted by McKenna for PM:
Firstly, to Magpie Joffa-

"...go and do me a favor grab a dictionary and look up the meaning of LOYALITY."

oh yes thucking sir'gee you would be a dick what are ya a thucken teach pff....moron.

------------------
There is nothing in life greater,than to be a supporter or our beloved collingwood football club,we must remain united,we must stand tall,we must be prepared to fight for our glorious black and white,for we are THE ENVY OF ALL NATIONS.