Mega Thread Port Forum 'General AFL Talk' Thread Part 7

If the SMA over-inflate Crow crowd numbers and understate ours, is that not fraud? I don't see how they can get away with this. Surely crowd figures are audited?
Why would this be fraud?

Other than the "prestige" what advantage is gained?

It is not like the Footy Park days when we had to write a cheque to the SNAFL based on the crowd figure.

Why would this be fraud?

Other than the "prestige" what advantage is gained?

It is not like the Footy Park days when we had to write a cheque to the SNAFL based on the crowd figure.

"Under the original Adelaide Oval financial model, Port Adelaide had a $4.3 million uplift in 2014, compared to the previous model at AAMI Stadium," Thomas said.

"If we maintain our 2014 attendances and corporate uptake at the Adelaide Oval, we will benefit from a further $1.5 million uplift in 2015 and $2 million in 2016 and 2017."

Basically the SMA is costing us money if they underreport our crowd.

An article in the Australian that the Suns will fight Victoria for the opportunity to play in Shanghai next year and are outraged that the Vics want to get in on the act. Apparently the Suns are already getting benefits from it.
There was some tiny mention in there about Port’s work.
Would be nice if we could let go of having to pay them nect year.

Talk about laughable. So she is suggesting that we would have lost that game if it was played at Metricon? Certainly, as you point out, Richmond get a huge leg-up with their multiple games at the MCG, although I think they'd struggle to beat West Coast at the MCG on form.
Both Port and Gold Coast have played in Shanghai twice. How is that advantageous to us Caro?

99% the person would have a conviction recorded.

100% he wouldn't.

Even if Easton Wood pushed hard and stitched him up in the statement he provided, at worst he'd be found guilty without a conviction reported. It most likely wouldn't even make it to court.

People get off of assault for so much more than this on a regular basis. Practically, with this sort of incident there needs to be an element of fear.

Not to mention Freo and West Coast getting ‘home’ games against GC played at Optus. And that Gold Coast have played exactly as many games at Jiangwan Stadium as we have. Carn Caro.

West Coast's was their home game, but yes, they did benefit from SUNS having to play at the New Perth Stadium two weeks straight.

Because running out onto the field of play is absolutely, positively different to reaching over the fence and giving a player a tap

100% he wouldn't.

Even if Easton Wood pushed hard and stitched him up in the statement he provided, at worst he'd be found guilty without a conviction reported. It most likely wouldn't even make it to court.

People get off of assault for so much more than this on a regular basis. Practically, with this sort of incident there needs to be an element of fear.

Yeah, I'll leave it, obviously having been a practicing lawyer disqualifies me from this conversation.

The Facebook guy is a crers member, offered to hand in his membership but coward fages stuck his head in the sand and refused to even comment on the behaviour, even if to set a standard.

Similar to Ryder being racially abused, zero acknowledgements from the crers. They know they don’t need to so they don’t waste their time.

Meanwhile their little ambassadors apologises for his opinion so he doesn’t lose his precious ambassadorship

Pissant state
They and their supporters deserve each other.
The insular self entitled bitter flogs that set up their franchise are reflected in their members.
No wonder their current motto is we fly as one. Yep club and base are in lockstep.
Let'm stay that way too.

Yeah, I'll leave it, obviously having been a practicing lawyer disqualifies me from this conversation.
If you think you can get a conviction for assault out of this incident you'd be invaluable as a police prosecutor. In my experience most of them wouldn't run with it.

Yeah, sure they would totally ignore the offence that was seen by millions as there's not the evidence to convict.

Sloane staying on a huge pay packet forcing Lynch out would be great. Make it happen AFC!!
I'd rather Lynch stay as well. Will be 28 the start of next season. It'd be another one 2020 in the 30+ and all downhill club. Him staying will slow down the development of Fogarty and help their 2021-2025 period be a shittruck. Adelaide are still a good side and will be in 2019 as well, but their peak was last season and they fell short. Smart Adelaide fans would realise this and want to trade these two out whilst they have good currency and do a mini-reset to go for it in 2021 onwards, but that's not Adelaide's way.

The big advantage of playing at your home ground in a national competition is not having to travel. Adelaide to Shanghai is around 7,500 kms.

Another advantage is being in familiar surrounds and being able to keep to a routine. We have played 2 games in Shanghai and it is not just in another Australian city but in a foreign country with a very different culture to Australia.

Then there is the home crowd. Playing in front of 5K Ports supporters in Shanghai can not match playing in front of 45K Ports Supporters at Adelaide Oval.

Epic fail Caro :thumbsdown:
I wonder sometimes whether our goal kicking yips at AO is because of the crowd. Do the players feel added pressure
especially set shots? Does it help explain our record v the better teams against whom you have to take your chances.
Don't have the stats over the years in front of me just going on what i've seen.

I agree the conviction idea's got no wheels. But with what channel 7 did to SPP why are they not bullying this person? The AFC have said he is not a member but he had a lanyard so they're otherwise telling porkies(most likely) or he got the ticket off a mate. Either way they know who it is.

All is good Crows just put out a statement. Person has been banned for rest of year.

I’ve heard everything now...
Caro statting that Port have an unfair advantage in Shanghai as it is our home ground and that if we make the eight it will be on tha back of that unfair advantage
meanwhile failing to mention Richmond’s unfair advantage of playing how many games at the MCG this year?
I didn’t realise we were the only team to ever buy a home game either.
Gee commentators are dumb and biased at times.

It's such a dumb discussion.

Has anyone bothered to check our win/loss record at Metricon Stadium? Oh yeah, we won there in 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016. 5 trips for 5 wins.

We also haven't lost to the Gold Coast SUNS since R4 2011, our longest winning streak against any club. If not for Westhoff and the rest of the team choking we would never have lost to them.

Maybe, just maybe, our supremacy in China has nothing to do with some bogus home ground advantage and everything to do with the fact that the Gold Coast SUNS franchise sucks balls.

Lynch looks at homes in Melbourne as contract talks loom with Crows

Adelaide’s quest to keep hold of dynamic forward Tom Lynch will intensify this week when the club meets his management.

Crows list manager Justin Reid will travel to Melbourne on Thursday, when he will meet Paul Connors and Robbie D’Orazio from Connors Sports Management to discuss Lynch’s contract.

The Crows have offered Lynch a three-year deal but the two parties are some way apart financially, with Victorian clubs keeping a close eye on the situation.

Lynch was in Melbourne for the day on Saturday and despite some reports, he was not meeting his management. He was looking at houses.

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...ct-talks-loom-with-crows-20180522-p4zgtv.html

Lynch looks at homes in Melbourne as contract talks loom with Crows

Adelaide’s quest to keep hold of dynamic forward Tom Lynch will intensify this week when the club meets his management.

Crows list manager Justin Reid will travel to Melbourne on Thursday, when he will meet Paul Connors and Robbie D’Orazio from Connors Sports Management to discuss Lynch’s contract.

The Crows have offered Lynch a three-year deal but the two parties are some way apart financially, with Victorian clubs keeping a close eye on the situation.

Lynch was in Melbourne for the day on Saturday and despite some reports, he was not meeting his management. He was looking at houses.

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...ct-talks-loom-with-crows-20180522-p4zgtv.html
download-1.jpg

I’ve heard everything now...
Caro statting that Port have an unfair advantage in Shanghai as it is our home ground and that if we make the eight it will be on tha back of that unfair advantage
meanwhile failing to mention Richmond’s unfair advantage of playing how many games at the MCG this year?
I didn’t realise we were the only team to ever buy a home game either.
Gee commentators are dumb and biased at times.

I’d have though Geelong having to play their home game in round 16 against Richmond at the MCG is a pretty significant advantage for Richmond ? Last time I checked the MCG wasn’t Geelongs home ground ?

Oh wait she’s a Richmond supporter so it’s ok the give Richmond an advantage ? What’s that, 5 “away games” Richmond get to play at their home ground. Get off it Caro, Richmond only leave Vic 5 times this year, that’s what an advantage looks like.