Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 30

Found this on Saturday if anyone wants a resource link. Wasn't sure where to put it but given it covers every AFL player including those taken in the 2025 mid season draft, the general thread is as good a place as anywhere.

Zero Hanger have listed ever player by cm from 211 (Mate Colina, Mason Cox) down to 168 (Isaiah Dudley)

We could have had a similar thing for weight if the AFL didn't piss its pants about AFLW players and weight issues.
You don’t have to see the numbers to pick out the fat arse ones in the AFLW.
Some would be easier to jump over the top of than walk around them.
It is what it is, just put the weights back like it used to be.
It’s a sport not a Beauty pageant

You don’t have to see the numbers to pick out the fat arse ones in the AFLW.
Some would be easier to jump over the top of than walk around them.
It is what it is, just put the weights back like it used to be.
It’s a sport not a Beauty pageant
The AFLW don't have to have the weights, but I would prefer them so when the W team play someone who has a Gemma Houghton type tall and strong physique type forward, I can see which of our defenders we can put on that oppo star that is in her height and weight division and might be a good match up.

I have been doing that type of analysis with our blokes matching up with the oppo key players for 40+ years, until they went all politically sensitive and dropped the weights, using the bullshit excuse that draftees might be fat shamed.

Does this table have an explanation?

In the last 3 drafts Brisbane have drafted 3 father sons - 2022, pick 2 Will Ashcroft, 12 Jaspa Fletcher and 2024 pick 5 Levi Aschroft. That adds up to 19.

I did a list after Friday night's game of their 1st round picks between 2014-2024, so that's why I'm so aware of those 3 father son picks.

Brisbane's Average FS pick is 23.75 for 4 picks = 95 in total, so was the other FS pick 76??

Who went pick 76 as a FS for Brisbane? The last player drafted at pick 76 was in 2018 and Brisbane didn't have pick 76 between 2014-2018 drafts. So have they added numbers to the rookie drafted players?

How is FS Game % Diff calculated.

Josh Clayton from 2014 draft is a father son pick for Lions. Pick 86.

The AFLW don't have to have the weights, but I would prefer them so when the W team play someone who has a Gemma Houghton type tall and strong physique type forward, I can see which of our defenders we can put on that oppo star that is in her height and weight division and might be a good match up.

I have been doing that type of analysis with our blokes matching up with the oppo key players for 40+ years, until they went all politically sensitive and dropped the weights, using the bullshit excuse that draftees might be fat shamed.
It’s all part of the woke world of today.

Then you are probably worrying about the wrong things in life chief

If Adelaide win the flag whilst we are bottom 6 trash patting ourselves on the back for making the community proud (no flags in 20 years) you'll still be able to go about your day without a care in the world and still be motivated to attend Port Adelaide games into the future?

Massive cope but okay champ

Adelaide are putting themselves in the hunt but I don't think they have the class to win a flag. Their midfield and defence is workmanlike but I believe will be shown up in September under finals pressure.

It absolutely is worth panicking for SA residents if they win a flag, unless you work from home and have no interaction with the outside world I guess. They're already insufferable and they haven't won anything yet.

I somewhat agree and think they might get shown up but that's just purely hope at this point, they've got it all to win it , nobody is a huge standout. They never are.
The vast majority of this forum will be bed wetting some September if they win their first final, don't pretend you won't be.

Does this have something to do with Port?
I recall against the Hawks, Boak kicked to MG - and missed by quite some way.

Mitch gesticulated angrily - presume towards Travis? Not sure.

Commentators ignored it and waffled on, and camera panned elsewhere.
Nothing made of it during or after the game.

Guessing just some frustration by Mitch.
Wouldn't think the players gave it a second thought tbh.

Not sure if this what numbnuts was referring to?

So just a logo change
The black and white stripes are reversed to the away top instead of the home one. With black arm and neck trim instead of white.

Probably also black numbers on a white back instead of white numbers on a black back.

Which points out that their current home top isn't their tradiational gear.

If Adelaide win the flag whilst we are bottom 6 trash patting ourselves on the back for making the community proud (no flags in 20 years) you'll still be able to go about your day without a care in the world and still be motivated to attend Port Adelaide games into the future?

Massive cope but okay champ
I work from home lol
Haven’t attended a home game for years

Next question?

The last 2 major TV/media deals and the short term covid extension, News Corp have lead negotiations not Foxtel.

Since the 2017-22 deal, News Corp have inserted News Corp newspaper journos, mainly from Herald Sun into a lot of their shows, ie currently Jay Clark, John Ralph, Greg McFlarane, Scott Gullen, Lauren Wood, Josh Barnes etc

Ex HS journo Whateley and ex HS chief football writer Mark Robinson had major roles since the 2012-16 deal when AFL 360 started in 2012 as a trial once a week show and then become a nightly show 4 times a week.

The same sort of thing happens with Fox League channel on Foxtel and News Corp's Daily Telegraph in Sydney.

News Corp went from a 50/50 ownership with Telstra, a 50/50 ownership of Fox Footy and 100% of Fox Sports when in August 2015 they signed the 2017-22 AFL deal, but in 2018 everything went to a 65/35 share with Telstra.

Last December News Corp and Telstra announced they would sell Foxtel, Fox Footy and all the Fox Sports channels to DAZN in a cash and share swap deal worth $3.4bil AUD and News Corp would end up with 6% and Telstra 3% of DAZN. The whole process took most of the first 6 months of this year to conclude.

In February 2025 the Saudi Public Investment Fund bought just under 5% in DAZN for $1 billion USD just days before FIFA awarded Saudi Arabia the 2034 FIFA World Cup. DAZN have lost $1billion USD a year since 2019. The Saudis will probably get a bigger say in DAZN as the FIFA World Club Cup expands, they had rights to the tournament just concluded in USA and in the build up to the 2034 WC.

Who owns DAZN? Before these minor shareholdings come into place the last 6 months it was owned 100% by private company Access Industries a conglomerate that has operations in biotechnology, entertainment, external funds, global media, strategic equity, technology ventures, and real estate. DAZN HQ is London and Access Industries HQ is in New York. Access has several important assets in the petrochemical and oil industries - another link to the Saudis.

Access Industries is privately owned by Len Blavatnik - Soviet/Ukrainian born of Jewish heritage, but now a British-American business man who picked up a UK knighthood in 2017 because of his philanthropy.

Blavatnik parents moved from Ukraine to Russia when he was about 10 and the family immigrated to USA when he was 20 in the late 1970's and he became a computer scientist. Set up a business in USA and then in the mid 1990's become one of those Oligarchs who ended up with old Soviet assets for bargain prices when Boris Yeltsin privatised state assets and he picked up aluminium and oil assets for a song.

He has been linked to Putin and other of Putin's oligarch mates. He denies this but is close to one oligarch that the US has sanctioned. Zelensky imposed personal sanctions on him in 2023. His very generous philanthropy has been dubbed a cover to wash his personal reputation away from any links to Putin and corruption.

Bottom line, I'm not sure if the Fox Footy link to News Corp journos will last if Fox Footy isn't making money during the 2025-31 TV/media deal and then post that deal. Its also why some people in the AFL industry are worried about high valued long term contract deals offered to players way past 2031 and what the next TV/media deal might be worth and if it could actually decrease.

Seven West Media which includes more than the 7 Network, has market capitalisation of about $240 million (ie share price x total issued shares) and 7 network are paying about $190 million for the rights in 2025 and that compounds by 3.6% per year as per their ASX announcement when the 2025-31 deal was signed.

Who knows, in a few years time it might be Saudi monies that comes to the rescue of the AFL if DAZN keeps losing $1 bil USD per year. Last couple of weeks I have been looking at the Saudi current and potential future involvement in cricket so I have been researching DAZN as its Australians driving the Saudi push into cricket.

McGuire on Footy Classified came up with a lot better alternative to improving the fixture than the stupid suggestion last week to have in season tournament to get some excitement back.

Basically he says to have almost the same number of games as currently have split home an away season into 3 parts.

1) 17 rounds so everyone plays each other once and its flipped the next year so home teams have to play away in year 2. Its better than current situation of playing some teams 4 years in a row either all home games or all away games like at Kardinia Park.

2) What he calls 4 exotic rounds;
a) Blockbuster in Round 1, 10 Vic teams play in Victoria and a nod to state of origin SA teams play WA teams and NSW teams play Qld teams ( scrap Round 0 / Opening Rd and have a big focus on Northern Markets with a round mid season)
b) Gather Round
c) 2 x Rivalry rounds to keep showdowns, derbies etc. The reason he says 2 and not 1 is to get enough games. So Port would play the crows in 1 rivalry round and then over the years rotate who the rival is for the 2nd rivalry game.

3) 2 x Qualifying Rounds before the finals.

Then you have the normal 9 game finals series.

In his graphics he assumed the the top rated team wins, but in week 2 of the qualifying rounds he forgets to include teams 13th and 14th who would play each other but not affect qualifying rounds. When you add that 13th v 14th game you get 214 games a season vs the current 216 games a season.

Its a lot better than what was suggested last week, and I like the fact that it guarantees over every 2 year cycle you play a home and away game against every other team as opposed the the current crap where one team might not play another team away from home for 5 or more years.

As I said above he left 13 v 14 playing in week 2 of qualifying round but they are out of running to make finals. Ill put just the first 2 graphics up so you get an idea before watching the 5 minute video.

1753222140075.png

1753222286089.png

McGuire on Footy Classified came up with a lot better alternative to improving the fixture than the stupid suggestion last week to have in season tournament to get some excitement back.

Basically he says to have almost the same number of games as currently have split home an away season into 3 parts.

1) 17 rounds so everyone plays each other once and its flipped the next year so home teams have to play away in year 2. Its better than current situation of playing some teams 4 years in a row either all home games or all away games like at Kardinia Park.

2) What he calls 4 exotic rounds;
a) Blockbuster in Round 1, 10 Vic teams play in Victoria and a nod to state of origin SA teams play WA teams and NSW teams play Qld teams ( scrap Round 0 / Opening Rd and have a big focus on Northern Markets with a round mid season)
b) Gather Round
c) 2 x Rivalry rounds to keep showdowns, derbies etc. The reason he says 2 and not 1 is to get enough games. So Port would play the crows in 1 rivalry round and then over the years rotate who the rival is for the 2nd rivalry game.

3) 2 x Qualifying Rounds before the finals.

Then you have the normal 9 game finals series.

In his graphics he assumed the the top rated team wins, but in week 2 of the qualifying rounds he forgets to include teams 13th and 14th who would play each other but not affect qualifying rounds. When you add that 13th v 14th game you get 214 games a season vs the current 216 games a season.

Its a lot better than what was suggested last week, and I like the fact that it guarantees over every 2 year cycle you play a home and away game against every other team as opposed the the current crap where one team might not play another team away from home for 5 or more years.

As I said above he left 13 v 14 playing in week 2 of qualifying round but they are out of running to make finals. Ill put just the first 2 graphics up so you get an idea before watching the 5 minute video.

View attachment 2374819

View attachment 2374822

Can't believe I'm agreeing with Eddie.

Just on part 2(c) How I understood it is that there would still be 2 x Showdowns/Qclashes/Coll-Carl etc. per year? If so, would this way of doing the fixture get messed up by odd numbers of teams? How would Tassie get their extra game in without messing things up?

my preference would be a completely random mixture subject to every team having their allocated number of home games.

If it’s one showdown that year, then so be it.

I understand it would never happen as it would be a commercial nightmare. I hate the whole manufactured drama/romanticism that the AFL is obsessed with.

The easiest way to make the game slightly better is to bring back the glove.

People want big forwards clunking marks and kicking snags. Give them an advantage in doing that.

Let players wear NFL wide-receiver level grippy gloves, like Tredders and Travis Cloke among others used to wear.

The easiest way to make the game slightly better is to bring back the glove.

People want big forwards clunking marks and kicking snags. Give them an advantage in doing that.

Let players wear NFL wide-receiver level grippy gloves, like Tredders and Travis Cloke among others used to wear.
The easiest way to make the game slightly better is to bring back the Biff!