Toast Positives v Hawks

• Thread starter Thread starter Alpha1

I do a lot of my day postings on a 14 inch lappy so I know what you mean. I love how one post can make the whole page wacky though.

We got smashed because we haven't learned that we need to switch on for every game and our first half was a disgrace, but there were some positives.

Henderson - Showed why he can become a good player for us.
Joseph - Another good solid game, smashed Rioil.
Armfield- In the form of his life

Our courage we were 3 players down and no rotations at all, yes we got smashed but with three players down that was to be expected.
Rioli is carrying an injury, has been down in form for a while now. You guys beat us in the clearances like every week for us but our defensive pressure was what won us the game.

Bullshit Rioli is carrying a injury, seemed to play quite well last week now piss off.

Nah, Rioli's been off for a while - lost his power, acceleration and agility, not to mention his leap. (99% of what sets him apart from 'mortals'). Last week his goals/stats were all straight-line running and team-work, not individual brilliance efforts.

That said, he pretty much ran out the game this week, and I saw a couple of quick changes, standing sprints, etc - so I think it's just AJ got the better of him.

Positives:
Henderson
Kreuzer
Joseph

Negative:

No one came out of the closet from both sides or any other AFL side this week.
Akermanis
Houlihan,Bower,Walker,Fisher and Lucas all injured

Positives:

Sammy Jacobs was sensational, really makes a difference when our rucks can take good pack marks around the ground, his tap work was again great and he was good around the ground.

Joseph seems to have hit form again after a few shaky weeks earlier in the year

Robbo & Hendo both showed that they will play many a good game for the blues, its just a matter of waiting for them to develop

Kreuzer was great

A reality check, none of our 3 amigos fired and we need to be better prepared for this!

I haven't read through every thread and I have no intention in doing so, due to the amount of rubbish on here after the loss....

We got beaten by a good side who has got some quality players back into their side, their pressure was fantastic and buddy was on fire.

We lost Johnson and White very early on in this piece, Betts went down to the rooms early in the first quarter and we lost Yarran towards the end of the game.

midfield rotations were stuffed from this point onwards and without two of our backs we werent able to execute our game plan. We kicked the ball long to contests and werent able to generate the run and fast ball movement that we have done in previous weeks, due to the Hawks' pressure and the fact that we just didnt have the legs...

We had White, Lucas, Johnson, Walker, Bower, Houlihan and McLean out from probably our best 22...And we had a lot of players who were down.

We had our chances with Setant playing on and Eddie missing to build some momentum. When you are playing a couple down you are forced to play on momentum and addrenelin and the boys did that but as soon as the hawks got a couple back we were a spent force.

Hopefully the boys can get together and move forward against the Eagles next week and get back to playing some better footy.

Edit: There is no more difficult position on the ground to play consistently than the HFF, it isnt called the graveyard for nothing. The three black fellas benefit from fast ball movement and running back into space and creating space, we weren't able to get the job done down back and through the midfield and consitently bombed it long. The boys were a bit off yes, but there were reasons for it.

Positives:

CJ injured

FFS :rolleyes:

Liked Robbo's game, seems he was finding that form he was displaying pre-season, a fine mixture of aggression and control and utilizing his skills which a lot of non-Carlton people around here would have you believe don't exist.

I know Sin, couldn't help it today he's been very good in the last 2 games but he's meant to be in the team for the elite kick. His turnover under no pressure resulting in the start of the demise was a shocker! thats about all i saw out of him at etihad. It was a passing joke & i hope he pulls up well today
No mate, it's just not on to write that sort of stuff about blokes who get injured. He missed a kick and had a bad game. Couldn't handle the pressure the Hawks applied, just like a lot of our players, it's still disgusting to write about someone getting hurt as a positive.

Henderson... you've got to be kidding me, he should be back in the reserves.. yeah he kicked 3 goals but dropped marks he shouldve taken... missed at crucial times...
:confused:
A penny for your thoughts on our skipper, who, in the crucial first half when they were setting up our win turned over 85% of his first 11 or so touches and 2 of which directly resulted in goals.........and 9 of his 20 kicks were tunrovers...........surely he's not at senior level?

Another penny for your thoughts on Thornton who was so bad down back they wanted to drag him , but couldn't as White had injured his knee, so they had to hide him in a FP, and drag Setanta and Hendo out of their positions to cover down back.

Betts, Simpson, Gibbs...................I could go on.

No......lets bag the 20 year old forward who in around his 20th game of senior football actually produced a quarter, and an effort that got us back in the game. :thumbsu::o

How is he any different to any other player out there?

His second half was a positive,

But please mate, this isn't the under 10's.. missing goals from the goalsquare and dropping chest marks is unforgivable, all players are equal, if Fevola had of done what Henderson did today he wouldve been crucified.. Don't give me that "young" crap either he's been in the system for 3 years now he has been given time, he has played no good games this year (except for the second half today) he clearly isn't up to it and needs to earn his spot.

And there goes any credibility you ever had.
Comparing Henderson to Fevola.

You're either not a real Carlton supporter, just some opposition flog who has nothing better to do than troll around on BigFooty, or one of the bronx cheers morons who knows nothing about football.
Hendo has had zero confidence early this year, but a couple of the things he did were great and you could see his confidence rising.

If Fev had have done those things, you're right, we wouldnt be happy.
But Hendo is 20 years old and in no way shape of form claiming to be the new Fev.

He kicked 3 goals in a quarter, and got us back in to the game.

One thing you can guarantee, if Fev had have had the first half Hendo had, he wouldn't have been interested after half time and we'd have lost by 20 goals.

Yesterday convinced me that he will be a very good player.

How many 20 year old KPF can do what Hendo did in one quarter yesterday? Not many.

Edit: if you're a 10 y.o kid then forget the moron bit, Hendo will be good pal, have some faith.

So pissed off at the crap Hendo copped from Carlton 'supporters' (might want to look up the word in the dictionary, flogs), that I'm gonna rip into anyone bagging him. Sorry mods but it must be done.

How about the 16 other blokes who couldn't win a 50/50 to save themselves, missed sitters (looking at you, Setanta and Betts) and couldn't hit the side of the ****ing Queen Mary 2, you deadset clown?

Not missing you either, moron.

Might want to take off the blinkers flog and apply that same scrutiny to the other 21 players out there.

Second half was 'positive'? Only kicked 3 goals in a quarter and contested better than any other forward in navy. :rolleyes:

4 bad games. Righto. I'm sure you were one of the morons bagging Kennedy a few years ago.

Henderson has kicked 3 goals twice in 22 games. Took Kennedy 31 games to manage it once. Difference being Henderson spent 15 of those 22 playing in defence.

Honestly, cannot believe people are bagging him today. While he didn't mark everything that came his way, he competed every single time and wasn't outmarked once. Was one on three at one stage and broke even. Even when the ball hit the ground, he won far more contests than he lost.

Not to mention he kicked 3 goals.

Why not bag Setanta who played his worst game all season? All season he's been bringing it to ground and competing brilliantly. Today, his second efforts were non existent, unlike Henderson.

The less said about Eddie's game, the better.

Henderon might be dropped once Waite comes back in but to bag him after his game today is absolutely ridiculous. :thumbsd:

Well said B4F :thumbsu:

Been negative? I am always like that before a game, you obviously don't know me, but hey we did get smashed, Kruz was very good as well today.

Turns out nobody does. Is it base-jumping off-season?

The way Hawthorn set the scene from the start of the match, i knew we we're going to be a chance.

*Buddy bashing through tackles, getting a kick away, then following up and laying a crunching tackle.
*Hawthorn players hunting in packs of 2, 3 ,4.

This pressure put on us early really put us behind the 8 ball and its somethign we rarely seem to recover from. When its us doing this from the outset its different (see Geelong, St Kilda), but as yet we don't know how to cope and turn it around and we fall victim to the peceived pressure for the rest of the day.

The positive is that once we're experienced to turn a physical tide around, we will be a force to be reckoned with.

The way Hawthorn set the scene from the start of the match, i knew we we're going to be a chance.

*Buddy bashing through tackles, getting a kick away, then following up and laying a crunching tackle.
*Hawthorn players hunting in packs of 2, 3 ,4.

This pressure put on us early really put us behind the 8 ball and its somethign we rarely seem to recover from. When its us doing this from the outset its different (see Geelong, St Kilda), but as yet we don't know how to cope and turn it around and we fall victim to the peceived pressure for the rest of the day.

The positive is that once we're experienced to turn a physical tide around, we will be a force to be reckoned with.

We are receivers not givers:eek:

With our forward line rejig coming along a little ahead of schedule and the building blocks of our backline due back shortly perhaps we could turn our attention to being a bit more 'unsociable'.
Whether or not there is any argy bargy is dependent upon who we play. I think that stepping on the front foot from the start will save having to react to these situations (not biffo - just hard, take no crap footy).

People are attributing blame to Waite for Sunday's loss but not for last weeks win. Our turnaround coincided with Port having second thoughts after Waite 'corrected' their bullsh!t. It might have been dumb but it might have inadvertently saved us from two losses in a row.

Two weeks in a row teams have tried to rough us up and why not - we don't check it quickly enough and the die is cast for the day. Our kids start having second thoughts, go into their shell a little, and then begin to react to pressure whether real or imagined - Robbo the exception to the rule.

It will sort itself out as the group matures, but it pisses me off to watch at the moment.

Positives:
-Kruze back in some touch
-Sauce is pretty bloody useful for a third/fourth ruck and has sticky fingers
-Robbo seems less lost each game - really had an impact on Sunday which -is outstanding for a kid with so few games.
-We haven't lost without at least challenging yet this year
-Despite missing the points a reality check at this point may do more good than harm