Post-Game Thoughts on the Essendon Game

• Thread starter Thread starter Smoooothy

Ah, c'mon you don't think Carlton will win another game :p

Huh?
If we finish 12th do we get pick #6?

I thought the Priority pick has been changed to the 2nd round instead of the first round.

Do Carlton get 1 & 3 if they don't win another game? Damn that's a joke!

Hence Carlton would get pick 17 and 18 (18 being their priority bonus).

Huh?
If we finish 12th do we get pick #6?

I thought the Priority pick has been changed to the 2nd round instead of the first round.

Do Carlton get 1 & 3 if they don't win another game? Damn that's a joke!

Hence Carlton would get pick 17 and 18 (18 being their priority bonus).

Carlton would get 1 + 3/4 because they haven't won 'x' amount of games over 2 or 3 years.

I'm not completely sure.

*Sigh*. Is it really worth it trying to give a million draft picks (even though it is a supposedly weak draft) to secure Pav when we aren't probably going to challenge for the finals next year (our expereinced guns are getting older and older...)? I think it's time to rebuild. We had our chance with Pav and I don't know whether he wants to move to us. I mean- it'd be basically a sideways move from Freo to here. Yes, he'd be back home but Port would be more appealing. However I don't know whther he'd want to put on a Port jumper. Meh. Back on topic.

Gill was brilliant. Very mobile, athletic. The modern forward- except he can't kick. Hopefully he puts in some hard work in the off season and next season we'll see a new improved kick.

Bock should stay CHB. He looks way way better there, his reading of the play was superb. Killed Lucas (even though Lucas had 20 possies or so he had most of them up the ground) who is one of the most dominant forwards in the game at this point in time. He also provided great rebound from Defense and his turning circle isn't as pronounced :thumbsu:. I reckon in the off season he needs to trim down a bit. He's already very very strong and well built. Just needs a little more mobility. I think he could get away with a few less kilos. As usual Goody was superb. He is a genuine superstar. Macca and Joncock were both quiet. They didn't really give much run out of defense for us and Essendon did a good job with them two. VB was pretty good I thought. He stepped up when the game was on the line:thumbsu: and he actually took hold of the match for a while. His disposal was very good- just that casual around the corner kick he tried bugged me though. He doesn't usually do that thing...

Knights was ok. He had a lot of the ball but wasn't much of an influence really. Thommo and Edwards were agian brilliant in the midfield. Bryce Campbell had and ok debut. He looked a bit rushed at times with his kicking but thats expected. Also at times he went to the ground too easily. THat's AFL though. He has a brilliant tackling technique though and his tackles STICK. Another thing about us today- when we looked stuffed it was way way too easy for Essendon to break our tackles. Perrie was good down back. He was playing on a first gamer though. He took some important overhead marks tohugh:thumbsu:. Mattner- He was ok. He lacks awareness though. I don't really know where his best position is though? Was tried on the wing, had little impact then played in defense where he got the ball but his lack of awareness/brain fades were costly. Torney played another solid game. Very reliable player. Stevens- he was cut up early but held his own after that. Took some good marks one on one:thumbsu:. Stevens needs to play in front more- same with a lot of our other defenders... If you play in front you're either going to get a free or most likely make a good spoil. Kenny played a great match. He actually chased a bit and put some forward pressure on. 4 goals is a good output from him.

Birdman our matchwinner was in and out of the game. Kepp playing him up foward. Looks dangerous whenever he has the ball. He is our X factor. Welsh played another good game. It wasn't our forward line today that lost it for us. It was our midfield. We were smashed in the clearances and ruck... Hille and Laycock were too good. The hitouts to advantage say it all. Their ruckman gave them 1st use of the ball while ours didn't.

Overall a really dissapointing loss. We had our chances but didn't convert. It was a see-sawing battle. Essendon wanted it more, it was the biggest match of the year for both teams. But Essendon wanted it more and it showed really. Pretty hacked of at the umpires... there was tonnes of holding decisions not payed to us. The important decisions just didn't go our way. It's just not our season this year. Looking forward to seeing our youngsters given a go...

Well that sucks if it's true.
Carlton is disadvantaging other teams by not winning 'x' amount of games over 2 years.

They're tanking games...it should really be looked at.
I can't wait until Carlton play Richmond, it's going to be wonderful if Carlton win...they really should smash em...let's see what happens.

Not overly disappointed. Wasn't expecting much with Truck and Bass out.

Dare I say it but I'm a bit relieved that our season is over. I mean yeah of course I want them to play finals but theres been so much stress thru out the year with injuries and whatnot. Time to give Pfeiff and a few other lads a go. Drop Mattner and Doughty for a couple of young fellas please.. they are offering us nothing at the moment.

Re: Shattered Pt 2

Geelong v Port GF.
Too many youngsters in our first 22 and big bodied teams still give us trouble.

IMO WCE are still the favourites, followed by Geelong, you lot then Sydney, although your time to get your best players fit and firing (this year) is quickly running out.
After that we have us, Kangas and Hawthorn, not sure of the order.

Don't want the Eagles or Pies to win... Kangas look ok now and will make prelim, but IMO, need one more year and a bit of fianls experience to have a go next year

I don't disagree with you, but gee I hope that you are wrong ;)

I never want to see Lloyd's buttock again!! Seriously i have never seen someone bend over so much in all my life! It seemed like every two minutes he would bend of and "touch up" his laces!

Thats because there was no grass for him to thrown the air:p

IMO WCE are still the favourites, followed by Geelong, you lot then Sydney, although your time to get your best players fit and firing (this year) is quickly running out.

Ahhh Paf my old mate to have us ahead of you guys is crazy. Of the 4 big bodied teams AFC ( out of the finals race), Sydney ( won't get the double chance), West Coast ( who you seem to have the wood on) only Geelong may cause you problems. However, when it comes to players with GF experience, you have more experience than Geelong. IMO Geelong, West Coast, then Port are the favourites for the flag.

If you face West Coast in the finals, given you have the wood over them, you are likely to win, hence the reason I think it will be a Geelong v Port GF.

Basic skill errors really hurt us today. As a side that used to pride themselves on their skills, they have slipped quite a bit in the last season. The amount of time we played on from marks with a handball to someone under pressure today was ridiculous. Yes it looks great when we are running freely and moving it on quickly but you can't just handball to someone who is under immediate pressure.

Shooting at goal today was near embarrassing. Gill missed two obvious sitters, Burton had a very gettable shot which he didn't kick through and didn't make the distance, Goodwin kicked one into the man on the mark and missed another on the run he would usually kick. Burton also kicked it into the man on the mark when we were about to move into our forward 50.

I just can't believe when we have prided ourselves so highly in the past couple of seasons on our skills that they could be so pathetic. And the errors are just so basic. Kicking into the man on the mark when Simon Goodwin is lining up for a set hot is pathetic. Handballing to a mate without looking and putting him under such pressure is a joke. We were lucky we were as close as we were today. We really need to re-group and look at where the club is heading. This season is now shot so maybe we should look at getting some younger blokes into the side and seeing what they can offer us.

Ahhh Paf my old mate to have us ahead of you guys is crazy. ...
They way you are playing atm of course you are right but if you could put your best team, minus long term injuries, on the park then you are wrong. Problem now is that time is running out and you could even miss out on the finals altogether.

wrt young teams Vs big bodied teams look no further then your game Vs Hawthorn.

Ahhh Paf my old mate to have us ahead of you guys is crazy. Of the 4 big bodied teams AFC ( out of the finals race), Sydney ( won't get the double chance), West Coast ( who you seem to have the wood on) only Geelong may cause you problems. However, when it comes to players with GF experience, you have more experience than Geelong. IMO Geelong, West Coast, then Port are the favourites for the flag.

If you face West Coast in the finals, given you have the wood over them, you are likely to win, hence the reason I think it will be a Geelong v Port GF.

There were a lot of big named players missing when Port smashed Eagles. Saw them live on friday night, and saw the Power smash the Tigers the week before, stil quite a distance between the two sides. Can't see the Eagles losing to Port in a finals game.

Do we get a "12th and Loving It" article tomorrow?

Doubt it.

It wasn't our forward line today that lost it for us. It was our midfield. We were smashed in the clearances and ruck... Hille and Laycock were too good. The hitouts to advantage say it all. Their ruckman gave them 1st use of the ball while ours didn't.

Overall a really dissapointing loss. We had our chances but didn't convert. It was a see-sawing battle. Essendon wanted it more, it was the biggest match of the year for both teams. But Essendon wanted it more and it showed really. Pretty hacked of at the umpires... there was tonnes of holding decisions not payed to us. The important decisions just didn't go our way. It's just not our season this year. Looking forward to seeing our youngsters given a go...

A very good summary overall with the quote above the most relevant IMO.

Huddo and Maric loked like boys against Hille and Laycock.

We were slaughtered in the ruck and hence the clearances - they scored a minimum of 4 maybe 5 goals from clearances.

Once again, we had no luck with the umps near the death-knock, but then again - good teams make their own luck!!

A very good summary overall with the quote above the most relevant IMO.

Huddo and Maric loked like boys against Hille and Laycock.

We were slaughtered in the ruck and hence the clearances - they scored a minimum of 4 maybe 5 goals from clearances.

Once again, we had no luck with the umps near the death-knock, but then again - good teams make their own luck!!

Hille made them look pretty ordinary. I thought when ever Laycock went into the ruck we got a few more clearances and came back all the time. Just as Laycock started the last quarter in the ruck, we drew back to level just in time for Hille to come back on and lead the Bombers to victory.

But overall we were very ordinary in the clearances today. Killed us.

Depressing viewing indeed. Even though we had a few out when I heard that Fletcher wasn't playing I thought we were a real show. The game itself had a sinkingly familiar feel to it. Even though we strung a few goals together at times and hit the lead at various stages I never really felt that we really grabbed control of the game. The St Kilda, Fremantle and Essendon games have felt like de ja vu - playing catch up without quite enough firepower.

The remainder of the season could be tough to watch. The Crows players deep down will know that whilst we are still a mathematical chance in reality our season is shot. It is the first time since 2004 that we have been involved in 'dead' matches where there is no tangible team reward resting on the result of the games. How will the players react? Where will they find their motivation? Pride in the guernsey, pride in yourself, place in the team - these will all be trotted out but I really fear that we will cop some un-Adelaide-like hidings as this season draws to a close. We are used to playing for a spot in the finals. Motivation has not been hard to find over the last three seasons.

To think that just three weeks ago we had belted Hawthorn off AAMI Stadium and were thinking top four. I think we were third favourite for the flag at that stage after Geelong and West Coast. A week is a long time in football, three is an eternity.

Phil Harper summed it up perfectly in an interview before the game when he said that there were only 4-5 players who could legitimately say that they had improved this season. In 2006 we had 14-15 players elevate their game to a new level. Perhaps these players had reached their peak in 2006? Or maybe we can take solace that improvement is never a straight line.

Look to be honest I’m not too disappointed. It was always going to be tough without Bassett and Rutten and it was only blind faith that left me with some confidence. The endeavor was terrific and you couldn’t question their commitment. The only worrying sign was that it was the old stages in Goodwin, Edwards and Burton doing most of the work. Goodwin showed why he is an elite AFL midfielder and should make the AA team. Thompson was courageous playing under duress and finished with 30+ possessions once again. I thought Thommo was great today as was Edwards who didn’t stop running and his work in close and in heavy traffic was a highlight.

I was disappointed in VB’s game. His last quarter was very good and he was one of the few players who looked as though they still had some run in their legs. However he missed that crucial shot on goal which basically ended our chances. His disposal was a little suspect, and that attempted snap around the body was just shocking. But as I said he left his best work until the final term which was pleasing.

Hats off to Perrie who I thought played very well. :thumbsu: When I saw him starting in defence I almost collapsed and his first quarter wasn’t too flash, but from the second quarter onwards I thought he was very good. On that performance I would leave him down back again next week. And another much criticized player in Scott Welsh tried extremely hard and his tackling and willingness to throw himself at contest after contest was very pleasing. :)

Marty Mattner though, he either needs to tell Craig he’ll never play in defence again or he can be dropped. As a defender he’s simply not good enough, and his decision making in crucial situations is not up to par.

Doughty was average, did some good things, other times he was poor. Typical game from him, but he's not really offering this team too much.

pretty much as I saw it :thumbsu:

Hille made them look pretty ordinary. I thought when ever Laycock went into the ruck we got a few more clearances and came back all the time. Just as Laycock started the last quarter in the ruck, we drew back to level just in time for Hille to come back on and lead the Bombers to victory.

But overall we were very ordinary in the clearances today. Killed us.

I can't for the life of me understand why we don't use the third man up more often these days. I think we only used it once for the whole game.
It gives variety, something sadly lacking in our game plan.

I agree with your ruck thoughts ...particularly Hudson ....but I do think Maric has the leap and strength to be a good ruckman.

From what I have seen he gets clean hands to taps far more than Hudson ,who tends to nullify, and Maric does direct the ball well ....why he's not getting more gametime I can only assume his fitness is not up to scratch ....he does have poor aerobic capacity that may see him used as a forward and relieving ruck longterm.

Meesen ......yeah my thoughts are wavering and I do agree it's more mental than physical

While I basically agree with you about Huddo's rucking ability this year, his second and third efforts are still very good at times. I believe he is carrying an injury and we would do well to rest him for the rest of the season and play the youngsters in Maric and Meesen just to give them the opportunity to play together.

Now we need to play Meesen before the end of the season no matter what IMO. We must play him and you can't drop Maric after just three games when he has provided some good game time.

Depressing viewing indeed. Even though we had a few out when I heard that Fletcher wasn't playing I thought we were a real show. The game itself had a sinkingly familiar feel to it. Even though we strung a few goals together at times and hit the lead at various stages I never really felt that we really grabbed control of the game. The St Kilda, Fremantle and Essendon games have felt like de ja vu - playing catch up without quite enough firepower.

The remainder of the season could be tough to watch. The Crows players deep down will know that whilst we are still a mathematical chance in reality our season is shot. It is the first time since 2004 that we have been involved in 'dead' matches where there is no tangible team reward resting on the result of the games. How will the players react? Where will they find their motivation? Pride in the guernsey, pride in yourself, place in the team - these will all be trotted out but I really fear that we will cop some un-Adelaide-like hidings as this season draws to a close. We are used to playing for a spot in the finals. Motivation has not been hard to find over the last three seasons.

To think that just three weeks ago we had belted Hawthorn off AAMI Stadium and were thinking top four. I think we were third favourite for the flag at that stage after Geelong and West Coast. A week is a long time in football, three is an eternity.

Phil Harper summed it up perfectly in an interview before the game when he said that there were only 4-5 players who could legitimately say that they had improved this season. In 2006 we had 14-15 players elevate their game to a new level. Perhaps these players had reached their peak in 2006? Or maybe we can take solace that improvement is never a straight line.

Excellent thoughts, Carl.

I feel that 2007 will go down in our club's history as the "Not Quite Right" Year.

Every week we seem to be saying if this had happened and if that had happened.

The plain and simple truth is that we peaked last year IMHO. 2006 was our year! We were clearly the best side in the league in the H&A season until we got smashed by West Coast at Subi and the wheels fell off. We fought valiantly to make the Prelim but were just not good enough to beat the best finals side running around ATM.

Last year was it for us and this year the lads have, I believe, over-performed. To even be mathematically possible of making the finals at this stage of the season given our injury toll and the close games we have lost along the way is a great achievement for the club.

Next week will be very interesting for the future of the AFC - pride in guernsey, club history and fellow players will need to be on show in spades next Saturday night.

IMO a belting by the Powderpuffs next week will do heaps of mental damage to our club's chances for next year.

Anyway, I will back up in the front of the TV next Saturday night for another instalment in the AFC soap opera for 2007 and I wish the lads all the best against our "Old Enemy".

Once again, a valiant effort but when skills and decision making is as bad as what ours is at the minute, we are going to struggle to win games. We are not going well enough and are too inconsisten to play finals but when the effort is there you are always a chance to pull of a surprise win. Am confident we will win one of the next two games, but not sure which. Port and Geelong are both due to drop one and we are due to get back in the winners list, a performance like we dished up vs the Hawks is required.

Smashed in the ruck, smashed around the stoppages, our tackling is a shadow of what is was when we were going well in 06 and we made errors that would be unacceptable at u13 level. Yet with 3 mins to go we are still in the game with a chance to win it.

Bock - terriffic on Lucas, really looks at home down back. Missed a crucial tackle on McVeigh next to the point post at the end of the 3rd qtr that was very costly. Keep him at CHB.

Goody - solid game but made some awful errors that were really quite unacceptable from the acting captain. Had a horror 5 mins (kicked into man on mark, flew against Birdman, missed on the run from 35m) in the 3rd qtr but fought back well.

Hudson/Maric - Smashed in the ruck contests all day. Huddo looks out on his feet and Maric could not get his hand near the ball. People have been having a go at Gills kicking but Huddo's two misses were just as bad.

Kenny - leave him in the fwd line, always does his job up there and straightens us up.

Perrie - cringed when saw him start down back but he was ok. Match up was right with him on the 1st gamer, that is his level as a defender. Hopefully back up fwd this week.

Stevo - gutsy effort after getting no support from the midfield in the 1st quarter. Did Lloyd a few times in the one-on-ones. Has improved markedly.

McLeod & Johncock - Apart from a 10 min purple patch by McLeod in the 2nd qtr, both virtually unsighted. McLeod in particular did not look interested, running past contests, no 2nd efforts.

Mattner - confidence has been totally destroyed by being continually played out of position. Has been done to death on this board but if not the wing, back to the SANFL and trade at seasons end.

Gill - gave us something but for obvious reason can see why it has taken him 7 years in the system to get his first AFL game. If his kicking has not reached AFL standard, it won't, so I don't hold high hopes for him.

Campbell - solid debut, save for a couple of clumsy tackle attempts, has a future.

van Berlo - severely over-rated on this board. Another who looks mentally shot, some shocking skill and decision errors. The goal Winderlich kicked when he ran around VB like he was a statue in the last qtr summed up where he is at for me.

Torney, Welsh, Birdman - did their jobs apart from the odd brain fade by Bird.

Thommo - solid apart from not taking the ball cleanly a few times.

Knights, Reilly - both going ok, Reilly seems to be getting his share of injuries now

Edwards - sensational

Massie - like Mattner, confidence is now low after being played out of position. Great game vs Roos at Carrara when used in a midfield/flanker role, pulled one out of the bag vs Buddy in the wet. Craig went to the well once to often thinking Massie could pull it off again v Riewoldt and is now paying a price.

Doughty - can contribute when we are going well but struggles otherwise. Time to get some game time into Douglas/Pfeiffer.

Will be interesting to see how the selctors go from here. Reality says we can't make it, but while it is mathematically possible I am sure the conservative approach will continue. Hopefully Pfeiffer gets a crack before seasons end, Meesen also, he could not do a lot worse than Maric at the ruck contests on yesterday's performance.

Disappointed as the result. I still think we are a good enough side, just our teams confidence is very low. Will be interesting this week against a team full of confidence.

Fairly sensible rankings.

Good post. :thumbsu: