Autopsy Post Hawks vent thread

• Thread starter Thread starter swannies

We had to go through a similar exercise last year swannies didn't we ;)
Oh christ, didn't we fullbull. But some of the softcocks there left and haven't been seen since. Some are there, and they have to change.

Nah, gws, wasn't there some story about Mitchell giving Masten (yes, most people's favourite player) an earful about being run down by Petrie in the pre-season? If so, hope that sort of story is true.
I know you listen to players on the field at the WAFL greatwhiteshark and you learn a lot of stuff from listening. At one point in the West Perth v Swans game on Saturday and Lynch (who is pretty much useless) turned around and gave Aaron Black (I think) a spray for not laying a block for him. I liked it and like i have told a few other posters here, I 'ken hate West Perth. :)

It's all part of good footy sides as you well know Swannies. In the match today one of our blokes kicked a goal on the run just inside 50 but the chase by the Hawks player who started many meters back was rewarded and acknowledged by 4 team mates even though he didn't get there.
We rarely see those things at the Eagles.

Nah, gws, wasn't there some story about Mitchell giving Masten (yes, most people's favourite player) an earful about being run down by Petrie in the pre-season? If so, hope that sort of story is true.
I know you listen to players on the field at the WAFL greatwhiteshark and you learn a lot of stuff from listening. At one point in the West Perth v Swans game on Saturday and Lynch (who is pretty much useless) turned around and gave Aaron Black (I think) a spray for not laying a block for him. I liked it and like i have told a few other posters here, I 'ken hate West Perth. :)

By the way mate it was a reasonable game of footy yesterday between the Falcons and Swans. Thought you might nab us but we held on.

when are we going to get some recruiters that actually watch local football, not picking up Liam Ryan was criminal also missing out on mcgovern junior, menegola, Blakely and numerous other WA players in recent times and picked up rejects like Gorter, time to clear out Nisbett and his slimy mates hes given jobs to at West Coast.

By the way mate it was a reasonable game of footy yesterday between the Falcons and Swans. Thought you might nab us but we held on.
It was a great game of football and I didn't walk away disappointed. I didn't like losing, but I knew the Falcons were going to give us some trouble. However, at all levels certain players keep getting picked and i can't understand why. Swans have a couple, but I guess you can't drop them after 1 game of footy. There is 1 bloke at Swans who I can't work out, for the life of me, a) how he got a gig and b) how he keeps getting picked. He was one of Swans best against East Freo but absolutely deplorable against West Perth. Had 12 disposals, to give folks a clue. Now, the hard question has to be answered, why does he keep getting picked? Same applies at the eagles, why do some keep getting picked? If there is no one better, then surely the onus is on developing, or recruiting, someone better. You need to remain hard edged all the time.

Shuey turned the ball over a lot. Had 58% DE and 7 turnovers from 20 possessions. We turned over the ball a lot. Not looking crash hot for the Derby. We butchered the ball a lot 81 turnovers is a lot.

I made note of this, but I also noted how it's very uncharacteristic for him. He'll bounce back in that department next week.

Honestly though - for all those looking for a revolution, the criticisms of Simmo etc, the real problem lies higher up. Need to get rid of Nisbett and Gepp.

We need a good clean out from the top down, Nissy, MC, Recruiting, Development. Even Julie Bishop as the #1 ticket holder.

Does this mean we cant win the April premiership now?

Im just hopeful that, as a group, they took notice of the wake up call. We arent actually that good that we can coast through the year... any success this year will come on the back of consistent hard work. Which we are capable of.

I hope.

It was a great game of football and I didn't walk away disappointed. I didn't like losing, but I knew the Falcons were going to give us some trouble. However, at all levels certain players keep getting picked and i can't understand why. Swans have a couple, but I guess you can't drop them after 1 game of footy. There is 1 bloke at Swans who I can't work out, for the life of me, a) how he got a gig and b) how he keeps getting picked. He was one of Swans best against East Freo but absolutely deplorable against West Perth. Had 12 disposals, to give folks a clue. Now, the hard question has to be answered, why does he keep getting picked? Same applies at the eagles, why do some keep getting picked? If there is no one better, then surely the onus is on developing, or recruiting, someone better. You need to remain hard edged all the time.

I think sometimes we don't know if others are better because they are not given extended time to show it.
There seems to be a real in or out crowd within our playing list

Was anyone else surprised by how good Gov's ruckwork was? I reckon he hit it straight down the throat of a midfielder for a clearance 5-10 times in the short bursts he was there. Still don't think he has the tank/durability to be there but was good nonetheless.

Also think he should be continued up forward as we need to start planning for the future and Kennedy isn't getting any younger. Darling certainly wont be holding up our attack on his own when JK finishes so it may well be Gov long term and that should be looked at. Barrass looks brilliant down back as it is anyway and Gov can still swing down there when needed.

When Shuey got run down kicking for goal that useless seagull Hill ran in front asking for a chip and then spat the dummy when he didnt get it... why didnt he run behind Shuey and put a shepherd on the player, he no doubt could see, so Shuey could make the kick... old school 2005 players like Chick would not have thought twice about it. Useless almost everywhere and I've significantly lowered my expectations for this year. We do not play for each other. Stopped watching 7 or 8 mins in to the last qtr. Absolute crud.

First time in 30 years I have felt like not supporting this club anymore, I normally put aside the time to watch the games live but that time is now over...I'm planning my life not around watching this team play from now on...I'm pretty much done.
Very melty.

Football is 90% upstairs.
I don't think all our players are physically soft but mentally they're as weak as shit.

Hard thought game against a hard contested team like Sydney on a 6 day break and we looked like superstars against last years grand finalists.

Give us 10 days off to think about how scary a half cooked Hawks are at the G and this game was already over before we boarded the plane.

When Shuey got run down kicking for goal that useless seagull Hill ran in front asking for a chip and then spat the dummy when he didnt get it... why didnt he run behind Shuey and put a shepherd on the player, he no doubt could see, so Shuey could make the kick... old school 2005 players like Chick would not have thought twice about it. Useless almost everywhere and I've significantly lowered my expectations for this year. We do not play for each other. Stopped watching 7 or 8 mins in to the last qtr. Absolute crud.
We dont block. Drives me batshit.

Those calling out Redden today, wonder if they're the same who were praising his efforts last week vs Sydney?
he was good v swans but was a joke today but the again priddis andhalf our midfield were.