Opinion Posts That Don't Deserve a Thread (Random Opinion or Questions)

An exciting part about Sheldrick's form... Matty Roberts was rated even more by the coaches this year. Makes you wonder what kind of a year he could've put together if he didn't do his knee. Not that I rate the Rising Star award but if there's one positive to come out of his missing so much footy this year it's that he'll still be eligible for a nomination of his own next year.
I was thinking about what our midfield might look like in 2025:

Parker (32)
Mills (28)
Rowy (24)
Chad (24)
Campbell (23)
Errol (22)
Gus (21)
Roberts (21)

That’s a lot of very good players entering their prime years.

Parker (32)
Mills (28)
Rowy (24)
Chad (24)
Campbell (23)
Errol (22)
Gus (21)
Roberts (21)

Mitchell coming through too might be a surprise package. Magor?
Add on the outside Campbell, McInerney, Corey and Stephens if he stays.
Pretty good cattle.

Parker (32)
Mills (28)
Rowy (24)
Chad (24)
Campbell (23)
Errol (22)
Gus (21)
Roberts (21)

Imagine if Stephens comes good

Milestones all on the 1 game I hope or pencil in 4 losses. We all know our history in milestone games.
Goodness our record in milestone games appears to be dead set awful. I'd need a stat guru to confirm but it sure feels that way.

Are we the AFL list with the most gingers?

Francis, Mills, Roberts, Rankin, Blakey (? Does Blakey count? I reckon he does.)

Hi Swannies fans, firstly sorry you lost last night. Everyone except the Tiger ferals were wanting a Swans win.

Swans have been my second team after living in SYD for a few years in mid 90's and being a Swans member and I attended the 96 GF along with being featured on the front page of The Australian one year being a metre or 2 from Plugger when he celebrated kicking another 100 one year (96 or 97 perhaps?) at the SCG after perhaps his 5-6th goal (mate and I were downing a beer every time Plugger kicked another one that game)

Anyway, I digress but come in peace. Over in the Crows forum we are constantly talking about the VFL bias that is so blatant and have been discussing various games. The one stand out - without any doubt esp when the AFL deemed it 'sub-par umpiring' is the 2016 GF. The Bullies were the VFL's 'fairytale story' that year. They played some good footy and cracking games but my perspective - without a shadow of doubt despite me being somewhat pi$$ed with the Swans taking Tippett a few years earlier under the prevailing circumstances - the Swans were CRUCIFIED by the green things in that game. 20 free to 8. Look at the 'Free kick Bulldogs' on Youtube and its actually sickening

Simply I was hoping to determine:

• do you guys agree that you were royally screwed in 2016, costing you the GF
  • overall the VFL still dominates and interstate teams to win a flag need to be 20-30% better than a MLB based MCG playing team with their inherent advantages come GF day

Anyway, thanks for reading and appreciate any response received. At some point non Vic teams need to band together and really form a bloc to demand more equality in this still VFL dominated era

Cheers

We were definitely screwed. I fully accept the 2006, 2014 and 2022 Grand Final losses but I will never accept the 2016 Grand Final loss. I can't remember the exact numbers but the free kicks were like 20 to 3 or something crazy like that part way through the last quarter.

What annoyed me the most though was the umpiring was never even mention in the post Grand Final shows, like the Victorian media did not want to ruin the "fairtale" of the Bulldogs win by talking about just how bad the umpiring was that day.

I think it was Mark Evans who said after the game that the umpiring probably cost the Swans 4 goals, and given the final score you can't tell me that did not affect the result.

Also yes, I am still bitter :)

I’m a bit old fashioned but I personally found the umpiring and particularly Matt Stevic worse in 2012. As I’ve watched that game about 100 times I never can get over Ted richards beibg done for deliberate out of bounds in the pre insufficient intent bs era.

Doesn’t change the point though — the bias towards the Melbourne team

You are 100% correct #119others. The AFL should surely be renamed the VFL. The likes of Eddie "I run the AFL" McGuire insists that everything has to be equal, unless it interferes with Collingwood's advantages.
When all the interstate teams play in Victoria, you can bet your house on the fact that the Victorian team will get at least a 25% advantage in free kicks.
As to your earlier remark, it still makes me sick how we were absolutely robbed of a premiership by the "darlings" of the day.
Thank you for your post.

I was at the 2016 GF & have never gotten over it.

Personally, I think Easton Wood destroying Hanners’ knee was the determining factor (noting of course that Wood was awarded the resultant free, which was typical of the absurd umpiring that fateful day).

It was interesting hearing the commentary after last night’s loss to Richmond - with some in the press querying the need for a send-off rule “in case the Nankervis hit on Lloyd happens in a GF”.

Newsflash - it already has. 2016.

The AFL came out and said the 2016 umpiring was “below standard”. And yet Stevic and co. have been retained for most subsequent GF’s.

We were robbed. In part by umpires and in part by the Bravedogs benefiting from taking an opponent out of the game through foul play.

To this day it's one of the most disgusting things I've ever seen in any sport and seriously had me contemplating giving up Aussie Rules altogether and making the full switch to soccer. Even after 3 generations of my family following South Melbourne. It still makes me sick knowing the boys club got away with it. I'm already over 2022 but unfortunately I don't think I'll ever get over 2016. AFL ****ed us big time and people with two eyeballs know it.

Yes the AFL are vicbiased. And Victorian teams have numerous advantages throughout the season and in the Grand Final. If the comp had any semblance of equality they'd rotate the Grand Final. And either play each team only once for the season if they insist on keeping it between 18-22 rounds, or expand to 30-40 rounds and play each other twice.

The more I learn about the boys club, the more I wish I had switched to soccer.

Opinion Posts That Don't Deserve a Thread (Random Opinion or Questions)