Opinion Posts That Don't Deserve a Thread (Random Opinion or Questions)

Really? 2014 GF? They were at their absolute obnoxious best everywhere I went that day. Worst day at the footy ever by a fair margin.

I stood outside Gate 4 with my wife after the game waiting for some mates who were in a different part of the ground and just copped mouthfuls of bile from Hawk flog after Hawk flog. COLA, Buddy, the full gamut of anti-Sydney shit was spewing forthwith. They are shocking in defeat, but worse in victory. Campaigners...
Well when their coach is all "they were crap, we were better at being crap" after 2012 and 2 weeks ago, are you surprised?

Really? 2014 GF? They were at their absolute obnoxious best everywhere I went that day. Worst day at the footy ever by a fair margin.

I stood outside Gate 4 with my wife after the game waiting for some mates who were in a different part of the ground and just copped mouthfuls of bile from Hawk flog after Hawk flog. COLA, Buddy, the full gamut of anti-Sydney shit was spewing forthwith. They are shocking in defeat, but worse in victory. Campaigners...

My daughter was there and in tears at the end, but stayed through the final siren and the presentations gracious in defeat and never leaving early (good girl, learned well) BUT copped heaps of shit from Hawks fans for having the hide to stick around and pay respect to the winning team.

Pack of campaigners the lot of 'em

Vile. They were vile. Even my mum was copping it and she is a quiet supporter in her 70's who minds her own business.

Find it amusing that the same people having a crack at goodesy are the same people posting all this Ali stuff on fbook. One man stood up for his race and is universally loved, The other guy does it and cops shit all year until retiring. Grinds my heckin'g gears

Ali was anything but universally loved whilst he was doing it though. The grief Goodes cops pales in comparison to what Ali went through at the time.

You know what im getting at though.

I'm completely uninformed about the whole rookie list/list in general conversation. But whose in danger of being cut/moving elsewhere?

Great news on Hewett though. Reminds me of Fosdike and I have no idea why but i like it.
Fosdike was a really great underrated player IMO. Never got enough love from the media or our fans in general I reckon. He was very very valuable in terms of structure and setting up but also those little off the ball 1%ers which mean a heck of a lot but don't tend to get the attention of kicking 100 goals in a season or some flashy goals.

In response to your cut/moved query I guess it's up to who the club can attract/draft first.

The first on the list from my point of view would be Super Ted. It'll be his last year for sure IMO. Great servant of the club since he moved across and has gotten the very most out of himself. You'd never doubt his desire but his body is obviously not keeping up with his skills (which I think are still pretty good). His read of the play is elite. He can take a great mark and can still wrestle with the best of them. He's got a fairly good kick still. It's just the key things for him that are now lacking like speed, agility, acceleration. This will be it for him.

I'd suggest Benny Macs time is coming to a slow down. If he doesn't retire or get cut this year I suspect it'll be a 1-2 year contract at most offered up on not much coin at all. He may choose to go elsewhere though as I believe he may get some interest from teams like GC or Brissy who could use that hardness & experience. Unlikely but possibly see him in other colours next year.

AJ may call time if the knee goes horribly wrong again this time around. I desperately want him to pull on the colours and run out and play a few games before he decides to call it but the decision may simply be left out of his hands. It all depends on the next 6-9 months.

I can't see the point in having Derickx, Nakervis, Naismith, Reid, Tippett & Sinclair all on the list together. I'd say Derickx is the weak link there and likely to go at the end of the year. Nanny & Naisy are both still developing and have some value as cheap backups at the moment. Derickx hasn't got the upside they have and based on his experience alone is probably still demanding as much coin for as much skill and less potential.

While I don't watch too much ressies (being in SA & all) but in the games I have seen & with what I've read Foote and Newman could be on the block IMO. Both 2nd year CatA's and neitherhave made a significant dent in my opinion. Paps got a crack first up as did Mills & Heeney. Perhaps they follow the Hewett method of banging the door down with NEAFL superstardom but I can't see it from them thus far.

I reckon Xav Richards, Abe Davis and Hiscox are on the line & I'm 50/50 on them. I love Davis and reckon he's safe. Xav I'm not sure about. He's got potential but isn't getting a chance at seniors. I'm more sold on the fact that I think Hiscox has been a project which hasn't worked though.

It'll be really interesting to see where Horse goes with these guys and if they end up at another AFL list if they do go/get cut.

Ali wasn't revered when he made his stand against the Vietnam war.

GotTheGoodes I have moved your post from the Contract Status thread to here as it is more in the nature of general list discussion (i.e. perfect for this thread). Carry on

Fosdike was a really great underrated player IMO. Never got enough love from the media or our fans in general I reckon. He was very very valuable in terms of structure and setting up but also those little off the ball 1%ers which mean a heck of a lot but don't tend to get the attention of kicking 100 goals in a season or some flashy goals.

1998 draft was interesting. 3 picks in the top 20 came from NSW/ACT Rams (McVeigh 9, Hayes 11, Davis 19) and we chose to look past all of them instead taking Fosdike at 3, Fitzy at 4 and Jude at 8.

Opinion Posts That Don't Deserve a Thread (Random Opinion or Questions)