Potential Draftee Watch - Version 2008

All will be forgiven with the Prismall trade if we pick up either Trengove/Swift in the first round and Ash Smith with a later pick.

Since when did you jump onto the Ash Smith wagon??

I'm a sucker for Youtube highlights!!! No, I saw him again at Telstra Dome on the final day and he was a player that I marked down that was of interest. The other was Luke Stanton. Don't mind him either.

By the way check out Smith's Youtube - pretty impressive!!

I'm a sucker for Youtube highlights!!! No, I saw him again at Telstra Dome on the final day and he was a player that I marked down that was of interest. The other was Luke Stanton. Don't mind him either.

By the way check out Smith's Youtube - pretty impressive!!

Ha ha, no need, scroll through this thread and I think you'll find I made mention of him earlier in the year.

I agree, I think he is grossly under-rated on BF. I just wish I had seen more but the bit I did see, I liked.

Ha ha, no need, scroll through this thread and I think you'll find I made mention of him earlier in the year.

I agree, I think he is grossly under-rated on BF. I just wish I had seen more but the bit I did see, I liked.

What do you think of Stanton? I reckon he would make a good replacement for Milburn.

pick 1 - Trengove/Swift
pick 2 - Smith
pick 3 - Stanton
pick 4 - Ranga

I would take that.

What do you think of Stanton? I reckon he would make a good replacement for Milburn.

pick 1 - Trengove/Swift
pick 2 - Smith
pick 3 - Stanton
pick 4 - Ranga

I would take that.

Um, I kinda see Broadbent as Milburn's replacement. :)

I guess this all depends on what the club does list wise, as I understand it, there are 3 picks so I guess someone might be delisted and (potentially) paid out or Ranga might go to the rookie list to ensure 3 'live' picks.

I kinda felt Ranga going to the rookie list was the way to go as it meant he'd have a year's development and then bring him up a year later.

Maybe that is what the club was thinking when it accepted 39 - who knows??

For what it is worth.

1st Pick - Trengove or Lisle
2nd Pick - Broadbent or Shuey (Cahill if still available)
3rd Pick - Smith or a Project KPP forward

Rookie - Ranga

Guess it depends on whether another spot opens up, which is why I'm more pissed at the Byrnes decision than the Prismall one (the Prismall trade was about right IMO, a touch high but around the mark - early to mid 30s for mine. I think most people are annoyed at the perception Geelong 'got screwed').

The Tenace contract is the killer for mine. This kid has gone backwards each year.

When your best game is one of your first it has to be something of a concern.

Easy with hindsight but I'd love to take Collingwood's pick 7 that they offered after his first year.

Probably should have let Byrnes walk but I'm a little surprised that nothing came up for him. He is handy enough to part with a pick between 45 and 60 I would have thought but clearly draft picks were king this year.

The Tenace contract is the killer for mine. This kid has gone backwards each year.

When your best game is one of your first it has to be something of a concern.

Easy with hindsight but I'd love to take Collingwood's pick 7 that they offered after his first year.

Probably should have let Byrnes walk but I'm a little surprised that nothing came up for him. He is handy enough to part with a pick between 45 and 60 I would have thought but clearly draft picks were king this year.

The only thing I would say that we would not want to get rid of all our depth players at once. As bad as Byrnes is, with Prismall now gone, we need the likes of him, Djerkurra, Tenace and Hogan to be putting some sort of pressure on Varcoe, Kelly and Stokes for spots. Also with injuries they are more useful than having just a bunch of first year kids.

God I hope we win the flag in 2009. Because we can happily get rid of Byrnes/Tenace/DJ and look at a mini rebuild to keep us competitive for the following 5 years. Having said that, flag or not, we will probably be doing it anyway...
That's it isn't it... if we DON'T win the flag next year, boy oh boy what a waste of talent, good management, and good coaching.

Just wonder if Yarran was still ther at pick 15 does anyone think we would take him? or will we be going for Best KPP still ther (eg Trengrove?)?

Yarran is a strange one and i have no idea where he will go. Could go as a top 5 or could go at 20 in my opinion. I dont think he will be ther at our pick but i just wanted to get some peoples throughts on him.

Hey Rizzo, when are you releasing your Phantom draft on to us?

Highly anticipated.:thumbsu:

Hey mate.

Am going to sit down tonight and start nutting it out. I will be doing all rounds. So should be done in the next 2 weeks.

Just wonder if Yarran was still ther at pick 15 does anyone think we would take him? or will we be going for Best KPP still ther (eg Trengrove?)?

Yarran is a strange one and i have no idea where he will go. Could go as a top 5 or could go at 20 in my opinion. I dont think he will be ther at our pick but i just wanted to get some peoples throughts on him.

If I was Stephen Wells I would go with the best available with the first pick in this draft and then perhaps use our subsequent pick on a different type of player.

If possible I would err on a tall over a short for the first pick if there wasn't deemed to be much difference in ability between the two. With the upcoming drafts being thin from our perspective quality talls will be in short supply you would think.

A couple of draft scenarios may be (assuming Ranga is rookied):

pick 1: Trengove/McKernan pick 1: Swift
pick 2: Ash Smith pick 2: Shoenmakers
pick 3: Jordan Jones pick 3: Jones
pick 4: Luke Stanton pick 4: Stanton

What do you think?

If I was Stephen Wells I would go with the best available with the first pick in this draft and then perhaps use our subsequent pick on a different type of player.

If possible I would err on a tall over a short for the first pick if there wasn't deemed to be much difference in ability between the two. With the upcoming drafts being thin from our perspective quality talls will be in short supply you would think.

A couple of draft scenarios may be (assuming Ranga is rookied):

pick 1: Trengove/McKernan pick 1: Swift
pick 2: Ash Smith pick 2: Shoenmakers
pick 3: Jordan Jones pick 3: Jones
pick 4: Luke Stanton pick 4: Stanton

What do you think?

Looks good YOTC, I would be happy with that. If anything I would swap Stanton to Sam Hughes.

Since I'm using the first day of my last week at work productively I figured I'd help thejester out with promoting his boy, Jordan Lisle (who I also like).

Here's your shout-out.

[youtube]kzC54bqn3Nk[/youtube]

Are you retiring?

:eek: Bit young for that. Nah, just changing companies. But being the King of the Slackarses this week before a week off and then onto my new position.

For a minute there I thought you were either 55 or were a rich 30 plus year old!!

By the way I reckon there is a slight chance Lisle will fall to our second pick. I know that may sound a little stupid but I just have a hunch.

I'm not too sure we'd want both, would we??

Still, Lisle can play forward and back I guess so maybe they both fill needs at either end.

I'm kinda hoping Cahill is still around with 33 but Lisle wouldn't be too bad all things considered.

I'm not too sure we'd want both, would we??

Still, Lisle can play forward and back I guess so maybe they both fill needs at either end.

I'm kinda hoping Cahill is still around with 33 but Lisle wouldn't be too bad all things considered.

My thinking is that if Trengove and McKernan are gone by pick 15 then take Swift and bank on either Shoenmaker/Lisle or perhaps even Cahill at our second pick.

I reckon only take one tall from our first two picks though.

Hahaha ta Pivot.

Been mulling over it a bit and I think some of the conditions underpinning our consensus earlier in the year have changed. The coaching staff showed confidence in Taylor being able to beat power forwards and he rewarded them. On that basis they may well decide that with Egan back (eventually) our KPD stocks are fine and that drafting replacement(s) for Scarlett and Harley can wait.

Nablett quitting opens some interesting questions, however. He announced it in late November, so the club was aware of the possibility by draft day. However our drafting would suggest we moved to cover only the four guys we'd lost (King, Playfair, Gardiner and Spencer), so they may well decide that it is now a forward, not a backman, that we need - an impression reinforced by the GF.

Finally I would think leg speed has cropped up as an issue. Our fastest players are all on the fringe of the 22, and it'd be fair to say half will probably never make it. If there is one hole in our midfield it's the lack of someone like Griffen who is both fast and a genuine footballer. The one player who perhaps comes closest - Woja - isn't getting any younger.

Keeping all that in mind, I think we might end up looking something like this:

Pick 15: Tom Swift
Pick 31: Matthew Broadbent
Pick 39: Ryan Schoenmakers or (still more likely IMO) Ranga.

There seems to be more than a few handy talls or utilities who will be floating around in the 30s, IMO seems likely we'll invest in one. However I'd probably prefer to see Ranga on the main list if push comes to shove - ignoring that it's simply unfair to rookie him, he strikes me as the type who could play senior footy from the start and I'd rather have him getting games should injury strike than the likes of Tenace.

I'm still fairly comfortable with the Lisle/Trengove first selection. However I have probably swung more towards Trengove now. Either of these guys can play forward so I don't think the club would be missing out there.

They have the tools to be key position forwards.

However, I am also starting to think Cahill might be a decent option. He is sliding under the radar a little bit but I think he is a player.

Broadbent is still a real option in my eyes, especially with Geelong's second pick. I know people don't seem to be buying what I'm selling but this kid will be a seriously good player. He can play off the back flank and do it well, he gets his own ball and likes being in-and-under but can also break lines and hit targets.

On top of that, he moves like a midfielder and can go in there in time.

I also like Smith and Shuey. Smith has a thumping kick on him and has also played back and mid. He is no thrills but the little I have seen, I like - a lot. Shuey might be a surprise for some and his highlights (a bit like Lisle's) aren't great. I'm looking past that a bit though. Shuey's kicking doesn't do too much for me but I think he is very good with his hands which means he can release guys. Varcoe, Wojcinski and (like it or not) Byrnes. Shuey is slight but has a bit of toe and seems to know where to go.

I'm thinking Geelong might only go with 3 picks so what happens with Ediriwickrama may determine their drafting. We must remember Ediriwickrama is quality and a mid.

Strauss - negative. But I'm sure rizzo will have something on him.

However, I'm more alarmed about Ranga. Only being offered a rookie spot (which I don't disagree with as a strategy) is very, very interesting.

As a strategy I can't fault it. It secures the kid (if he agrees) and enables Geelong to get him into the system and culture. It also allows the club to secure other kids safe in the knowledge that they have a beauty plying his trade in the VFL ready to come up onto the senior list the year after when a few 'fringe' players come out of contract.

However, if he is as good as we think (and have read) why would he not be offered a spot right away? Have we over-rated him? He has been mentioned in the same sentence as Top 20 but the club can't get him onto the list.

I'll be very interested in seeing how this pans out. I'm hoping this doesn't backfire and he slips through Geelong's fingers. I'd rather have him, see him play and then delist him if he doesn't cut it rather than let him go elsewhere and tear it up.

The Cats will have 4 picks in the draft. They have also only offered Ranga a rookie spot. I think this is a little risky. He can just nominate for the draft now.

Potential Draftee Watch - Version 2008