- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Richmond
Would you spend 6 precious points of ex-AFL talent on a Ruck/key forward/back or star midfielder? Just out of interest.
45 /
45 /

Fantasy Footy Notice Image Round 12
SuperCoach Rd 12 SC Talk - Trade Talk - Capt/VC - 2026 Fight MND Comp ,//, AFL Fantasy Rd 12 AFF Talk - AF Trades - Capt/VC
Would you spend 6 precious points of ex-AFL talent on a Ruck/key forward/back or star midfielder? Just out of interest.
45 /
In a dilemma in the recruiting department. Who has the the most impactHave you got someone in mind 45?
Hardly accused Uni Blues of paying players, I just stated that a uni supporter said they were under investigation. Your struggling pal.Weak? I'd say weak is you accusing Uni Blues of paying players without evidence, that's a far more serious accusation than a throw away line on a forum.
Don’t think that Mannix was inferring that players were being paid, or that it was even something that occurred recently. I believe the reference was in regard to a post made by him several years ago where he was told by a Uni Blues supporter that they were under investigation. Clearly nothing came of that, if it were in fact true.Not sure about any of the acquisations about Blues being under investigation. Questions were asked by the VAFA about 2 players during the season and the rationale around why they had the points allocated. These questions were answered to the complete satisfaction of the VAFA. End of Story. Nothing to see here. Move on
Don’t think that Mannix was inferring that players were being paid, or that it was even something that occurred recently. I believe the reference was in regard to a post made by him several years ago where he was told by a Uni Blues supporter that they were under investigation. Clearly nothing came of that, if it were in fact true.
In regard to points – IMHO the points allocation, particularly in regard to so called University players is a joke and needs an overhaul.
Bit sensitive there MH. Nobody is suggesting they have not complied with the rules. The issue; which has been acknowledged by HQ, is that the rules relating to school and Uni qualification applied over the AFL policy was flawed. We had the absurd situation where someone who actually went Xavier College was a 6 pointer for OX but numerous players who did not go to Melbourne University were 1 pointers for UB. Clubs have been advised that the rules are being reviewed and the amended policy will be provided to clubs in December.You are correct... it is a humble opinion... Since the introduction of the points system in 2016, Uni Blues have fully complied with all of the relevant rules with regard to player eligibility...
Good post JJ , the Uni rules have to change , as well as the whole structure of the points system , to stop it becoming more like the EPL.Bit sensitive there MH. Nobody is suggesting they have not complied with the rules. The issue; which has been acknowledged by HQ, is that the rules relating to school and Uni qualification applied over the AFL policy was flawed. We had the absurd situation where someone who actually went Xavier College was a 6 pointer for OX but numerous players who did not go to Melbourne University were 1 pointers for UB. Clubs have been advised that the rules are being reviewed and the amended policy will be provided to clubs in December.
No fault on the part of Uni Blues. As you say they have abided by the rules and worked the system perfectly. But the rules are flawed. As UB played on the max points limit all year the expected changes might make it more difficult to fit them all in.
I’m told they are going too, although to what extent I’m not sure. I have heard unofficially that the Uni qual. will involve actually attending the university in question, that school qualification will be tweaked and that the points limit may drop by one. I stress this is unsubstantiated and provided 3rd hand.Good post JJ , the Uni rules have to change , as well as the whole structure of the points system , to stop it becoming more like the EPL.
The football manager is not the Father of the young player you refer to.I’m told they are going too, although to what extent I’m not sure. I have heard unofficially that the Uni qual. will involve actually attending the university in question, that school qualification will be tweaked and that the points limit may drop by one. I stress this is unsubstantiated and provided 3rd hand.
Not really Premier news but does involve our clubs. Word reaches me that the Ormond footy manager responsible for the off-season ruckus has convinced his talented son back to club in an effort to right the ship. Had a solid season for us and will be a loss. More positive news for the monders on the back of a good coaching appointment.
Are we talking about the same player? Not sure of the exact title but believe he is a "mover and shaker". Said player apparently away for part of the season travelling. Still a more than handy pick up.The football manager is not the Father of the young player you refer to.
Director of coaching I believeAre we talking about the same player? Not sure of the exact title but believe he is a "mover and shaker". Said player apparently away for part of the season travelling. Still a more than handy pick up.
Would love to know who these "numerous players who did not go to Melbourne University were"? You obviously know more about Unis list than most.Bit sensitive there MH. Nobody is suggesting they have not complied with the rules. The issue; which has been acknowledged by HQ, is that the rules relating to school and Uni qualification applied over the AFL policy was flawed. We had the absurd situation where someone who actually went Xavier College was a 6 pointer for OX but numerous players who did not go to Melbourne University were 1 pointers for UB. Clubs have been advised that the rules are being reviewed and the amended policy will be provided to clubs in December.
No fault on the part of Uni Blues. As you say they have abided by the rules and worked the system perfectly. But the rules are flawed. As UB played on the max points limit all year the expected changes might make it more difficult to fit them all in.
Relax mate. You seem to have come on here simply to pick a fight with someone.Would love to know who these "numerous players who did not go to Melbourne University were"? You obviously know more about Unis list than most.
As a matter of passing interest, Bedders, why does a middle order community football club with no junior team or women's team need a Director of Coaching? Putting to one side recommending dispensing with coaches who have a record of achievement.Director of coaching I believe
As a matter of passing interest, Bedders, why does a middle order community football club with no junior team or women's team need a Director of Coaching? Putting to one side recommending dispensing with coaches who have a record of achievement.
Perhaps, maybe, possibly.... a club like AFL/SKOB who have junior teams, women's teams and coaches coming out of every aperture, plus close ties with the school that need to be nurtured. Of course there's attending to contracts too. So Briza won't choke on his Metamucil - just joshing.
The way I see it a Director of Coaching is an extraneous position for most community clubs.
JJ is correct about a review of the points system, btw. Just what the likely outcome is would be anyone's guess.
Well I do know that have landed a good coach and a very good recruit this week.
Mate... not trying to pick a fight... far from it... just interested... your information is inaccurate at best... that is one of the things which concerns me greatly... Rumours all of a sudden become fact... and what you described could not be further from the truth.Relax mate. You seem to have come on here simply to pick a fight with someone.
Blues have done nothing wrong and played within the rules, which allowed part time students from RMIT, ACU and other education facilities to have a player value of 1 point. I know this not because I have an intimate knowledge of the list but because a Blues official who I know well told me so.
They were the rules this year. They may not be in future. I’m sure Blues will adapt accordingly.
Mate... not trying to pick a fight... far from it... just interested... your information is inaccurate at best... that is one of the things which concerns me greatly... Rumours all of a sudden become fact... and what you described could not be further from the truth.
Yes.So part-time students from RMIT, ACU et al as described by JJ weren’t allocated 1-point for Uni Blues (and presumably Uni Blacks)? Genuine question.
Yes.
Give it a rest, we all know it was a scam and to be honest a disgrace that the Xavier STUDENT was a 6 pointer yet if you had a piss in the dunny at RMIT you were deemed a 1 point player for Uni Blues. I mean, in what world does that make sense? WHAT.A.JOKE. It's the VAFA version of Murali, whoever made the ruling should be sacked with a 'never to be employed again' mark on his file.Interesting "students"... one student. So.. Define part time... the course in question required 8-10 hours student/teacher contact per week . The rest of the time was spent working in the industry associated with the course. Most "full time" students spend less than 25 hours of student/teacher contact per week. Similar to a lot of Year 12 students who spend between 25 to 30 hours per week.