Probe puts Pratt's presidency in doubt

posted by HappyHawk
It is bad. You will find that they are now in the process of making it a criminal offence, due the Pratt Fiasco. He will force a change in the law. When that happens you know it's serious. Rudd has already gone on record saying it should be a criminal charge. He is the likely next PM, so please don't go saying it's not that bad. You're just saying that because you barrack for Carlton. If I had the power to take 20 cents off every Australian without them knowing or due to a loophole would that make it right? He fully knew what he was doing and he knew he was ripping us off.

It's called Greed. I would have had more respect for him if he came out and said I'm sorry, no excuses, we were motivated by Greed and we will change our ways. People like that sort of honesty and sincerity. But what does he say? I never knew about it. So along with ripping off 750 million, he has the nerve to say to the public "and you're stupid too." Is it the money that makes him think we're dumb. Does he think more money = smarter, less money = dumber.

200 years since federation and no laws have been put in place to prevent this? Not Pratt's problem in my view. It is up to the law makers to make the law and if something s not illegal i think you are entitled to say it is not that bad. I would think that it would be hard enough to succeed in the business world without having to take the oral high ground all the time.

Anyhow the initial point of me buying into this thread was to correct you on your ill informed belief that no Carlton supporters care about this type of thing. I think corporate crime should be treated very seriously and disagree with the Blues supporters who try and minimise this behaviour. Also I care about the image of the club and i do believe that Pratt should consider resigning even though i know i would get little support on this on the Blues board. But it also needs to be considered that

a) Pratt has been a very good president
b) he hasn't been convicted off anything
c) just b/c Pratt may have been involved in some dodgy business practices it does not mean that CFC is currently involved in any illegal or innappropriate behaviour

Carlton supporters - gotta luv 'em, the gullibility and stupidity - the gaming commission operates under the strictest guidelines in the country to keep organised crime figures and criminals out of the gaming industry.

But no, we'll just restructure it and put Swanny's name up!:)

You will find if you want pokies you will have to put a lot of distance between your club and Mr Pratt and not just in a token way.

As a Carlton supporter i have no problems with Dick Pratt presiding over the club he has been a revelation for us supporters ..Chris Judd is a prime example of the power he influences...I would be much much more concerned if say the club had a drug culture and there were rumours of several players breaking the law and taking illicit drugs ..with a couple known to be in a drug addicts rehab clinic ..this sort of scenario would be a much bigger concern.....but thats just me :cool:

Small things ...

Well we will just see how many sponsors pull out before gauging my response shall we?

No, it's my own fault. I naturally look for a complex argument as first port of call. When that fails I look for something a bit more low brow. That's the problem. The stuff you write is usually too generic and low brow for me to recognise first time.

I need to spend some time in Bay 13 or take a course in cheap laughs 101.

As I said, it's my issue. You maintain your level very well and it's all credit to you.

Have you wondered why you look for a complex argument? Maybe complicating a very straight forward matter as this may supply loop holes?
Your Pres is a cheat, your clubs sponsors(or anyone for that matter) will surely take that on board when considering any business dealings.

PS I'm not sure if you have noticed but only one of us is resorting to personal abuse.

200 years since federation and no laws have been put in place to prevent this? Not Pratt's problem in my view. It is up to the law makers to make the law and if something s not illegal i think you are entitled to say it is not that bad. I would think that it would be hard enough to succeed in the business world without having to take the oral high ground all the time.

Anyhow the initial point of me buying into this thread was to correct you on your ill informed belief that no Carlton supporters care about this type of thing. I think corporate crime should be treated very seriously and disagree with the Blues supporters who try and minimise this behaviour. Also I care about the image of the club and i do believe that Pratt should consider resigning even though i know i would get little support on this on the Blues board. But it also needs to be considered that

c) just b/c Pratt may have been involved in some dodgy business practices it does not mean that CFC is currently involved in any illegal or innappropriate behaviour

just because something isn't "criminal" it doesn't mean the conduct isn't "illegal". Pratt's admission of guilt was for conduct that was contrary to law, ie illegal. The punishment for that illegal conduct is a civil penalty. In the same that certain kinds of breaches of copyright are illegal, without being criminal, and attract civil penalties. It still makes you an infringer of copyright, even though it technically isn't a "conviction". Tricky semantics are being used to hide the true unlawfulness of the behaviour. In the colloquial sense of word most people would regard people who act contrary to law as being criminals, even if it isn't correct as a legal term of art.

Um, what would you describe Pratt's clandestine meeting with Amcor CEO Russell Jones at the All Nations as being? A catch-up between old mates?

Either Jones was lying or Pratt was.

The fact that Pratt pleaded guilty answers that question in a sense.

Umm..... Answers what question? What the hell are talking about? What you have written addressed nothing from post you quoted.

posted by Blues Man
As a Carlton supporter i have no problems with Dick Pratt presiding over the club he has been a revelation for us supporters ..Chris Judd is a prime example of the power he influences...I would be much much more concerned if say the club had a drug culture and there were rumours of several players breaking the law and taking illicit drugs ..with a couple known to be in a drug addicts rehab clinic ..this sort of scenario would be a much bigger concern.....but thats just me :cool:

what you think it's more concerning that a few immature young players have some minor brushes with the law rather than the head off the club being accused of criminal action involving millions and millions of dollars :rolleyes:

Remember mate that image is important. I wonder how many young people that are raised in decent homes and have a sense of right from wrong would be put off Carlton as a result of the image that our club is developing. I am not saying that Pratt should necessarily go and he has done a great job as president but i thinnk you should get some perspective.

Your first post was OK, but unfortunately Nutcase you kind of lost the plot there, please go back to your teacher and ask her when Federation was.

My tip is it wasn't 1807.

Umm..... Answers what question? What the hell are talking about? What you have written addressed nothing from post you quoted.

Hey Monkey King, I think you're about the only poster here trying to put up an argument that Pratt is NOT GUILTY.

I think you've been swinging on that tree so much, it's rattled your sense of reality. Get with it. Pratt is Guilty. Stop sooking. If one of our Administrators gets caught doing the wrong thing I will NOT defend him. In trying to make innocent a guilty person, you're looking really foolish and I think you're giving the perception out there that all Carlton fans believe your delusions. We live in the real world here.

Pratt quickly swallowed this fine and admitted guilt. The fact he says he knew nothing about it shows what a spineless President you have. He's not only a cheat but he blames the rest of his executives. (Which if were true, why didn't he sack them for such a major offence. He didn't sack them because the whole ugly truth would've come out.).

Anyway, his reputation is now destroyed. It's gone and he won't be remembered for anything other than a rich cheat who barracked for Carlton. He has no credibility and I would cringe to see him leading my club. All I would be thinking is Super Hypocrite.

Hahaha! The Carlton brigade is out in force. We've got HappyHawk, Schwabie and Fireman, JeffDunne and Ron the Bear. Apologies if I missed anyone.

cartman_ch.gif

I love you guys.

posted by Blues Man

what you think it's more concerning that a few immature young players have some minor brushes with the law rather than the head off the club being accused of criminal action involving millions and millions of dollars :rolleyes:

Remember mate that image is important. I wonder how many young people that are raised in decent homes and have a sense of right from wrong would be put off Carlton as a result of the image that our club is developing. I am not saying that Pratt should necessarily go and he has done a great job as president but i thinnk you should get some perspective.

Our clubs image is fine thank you very much ..I don't think a couple of other clubs can claim the same thing .
as for what you think about my perspective ...i don't give a flying **** .

Hey Monkey King, I think you're about the only poster here trying to put up an argument that Pratt is NOT GUILTY.

I think you've been swinging on that tree so much, it's rattled your sense of reality. Get with it. Pratt is Guilty. Stop sooking. If one of our Administrators gets caught doing the wrong thing I will NOT defend him. In trying to make innocent a guilty person, you're looking really foolish and I think you're giving the perception out there that all Carlton fans believe your delusions. We live in the real world here.

Pratt quickly swallowed this fine and admitted guilt. The fact he says he knew nothing about it shows what a spineless President you have. He's not only a cheat but he blames the rest of his executives. (Which if were true, why didn't he sack them for such a major offence. He didn't sack them because the whole ugly truth would've come out.).

Anyway, his reputation is now destroyed. It's gone and he won't be remembered for anything other than a rich cheat who barracked for Carlton. He has no credibility and I would cringe to see him leading my club. All I would be thinking is Super Hypocrite.

Id cringe with Kennett leading mine and leading us to Tassie..

were even... :)

Yep..the same old crew who abhor dishonesty:cool:

Same old crew of self righteous, hypocrytical fabricators were the words that passed through my mind. :cool: You're like a rabid pack of religious fanatics.

And where were you when, as confessed by former Saints CEO Brian Waldron, the Saints tanked for draft picks; or when your club didn't pay the creditors; oh ye who abhors dishonesty. Haha! I suppose you dipped in to your own pockets to ensure everyone got a fair deal eh? Self righteous git!

Not half as much as i'd cringe seeing Jeff Kennett lead my club sport?:rolleyes:

Id cringe with Kennett leading mine and leading us to Tassie..

were even... :)

If Kennett is found guilty of such an act, I will definitely not defend him. I just can't get over how much Carlton fans like Elliott style leaders.

I can call a spade a spade. Kennett has a big mouth, but he does an enormous amount for depression and has not been convicted of anything. If he is in the future, I will not want him representing our club. Says a lot more than Carlton fans. You love Pratt coz of his money and that is all. Be honest and admit it.

If Pratt was not rich, you wouldn't care less. True or False?

Same old crew of self righteous, hypocrytical fabricators were the words that passed through my mind. :cool: You're like a rabid pack of religious fanatics.
Who don't like cheats..funny that:rolleyes:
And where were you when, as confessed by former Saints CEO Brian Waldron, the Saints tanked for draft picks;
I was listening to the facts.
Waldron said that the Saints were so bad that they didn't have to tank.
Said that they did similarly to what the pies did a few years back (got all their injured players fixed early and played the kids).
He called Carlton cheaters and tankers. Later apologised for calling them cheaters but did not retract on tankers part.
or when your club didn't pay the creditors; oh ye who abhors dishonesty. Haha! I suppose you dipped in to your own pockets to ensure everyone got a fair deal eh? Self righteous git!
I was there and helped out financially, the creditors were paid out and accepted what they got or the club would have folded, how is that dishonest? Maybe this is where the problem is, some of you Carlton fans aren't quite sure what dishonest means. Or want to turn a blind eye which is even worse. You keep wanting to deflect, so do you admit you follow a dishonest organization ?
Low mate..low.:eek::thumbsdown:

If Kennett is found guilty of such an act, I will definitely not defend him. I just can't get over how much Carlton fans like Elliott style leaders.

I can call a spade a spade. Kennett has a big mouth, but he does an enormous amount for depression and has not been convicted of anything. If he is in the future, I will not want him representing our club. Says a lot more than Carlton fans. You love Pratt coz of his money and that is all. Be honest and admit it.

If Pratt was not rich, you wouldn't care less. True or False?

Pratt does alot of good work for alot of people....
Alot of people would be less well off if it wasnt for Pratt..

Kennett closed down schools and made it harder to get into hospitals...

Who don't like cheats..funny that:rolleyes:
I was listening to the facts.
Waldron said that the Saints were so bad that they didn't have to tank.
Said that they did similarly to what the pies did a few years back (got all their injured players fixed early and played the kids).
He called Carlton cheaters and tankers. Later apologised for calling them cheaters but did not retract on tankers part.
I was there and helped out financially, the creditors were paid out and accepted what they got or the club would have folded, how is that dishonest? Maybe this is where the problem is, some of you Carlton fans aren't quite sure what dishonest means. Or want to turn a blind eye which is even worse. You keep wanting to deflect, so do you admit you follow a dishonest organization ?
Low mate..low.:eek::thumbsdown:

Dishonest like ummmmmmmm lets see.. accepting goods and services and then not paying for them????

And being the most unsuccesful club in world sport to boot!!!???

Dishonest like ummmmmmmm lets see.. accepting goods and services and then not paying for them????

And being the most unsuccesful club in world sport to boot!!!???

poor THS, another one who struggles with the concept of dishonesty.:eek:
The StKildaFC did not do anything dishonest, how were they charged with dishonesty THS, care to answer that?
as far as being unsuccessful, it's tough when you don't cheat.

Probe puts Pratt's presidency in doubt