Toast Proud of the Boys

You in one of those moods again I see.

What a season.........so good.......the boys did us proud last night........hopefully we have the same season in 2020.
You’re not happy, I get that. But the OP feels pride and has created a thread to express it. No need to come in over the top with your circle jerk quip.
There are other threads to vent in.

You’re not happy, I get that. But the OP feels pride and has created a thread to express it. No need to come in over the top with your circle jerk quip.
There are other threads to vent in.

Like I said proud of what?

Will he be proud again if we did the same thing next year?

In an open forum I am disagreeing to this pride concept.......I live in the real world.

Enjoy the circle jerk thread jmac70 I vented last night I am out.

In an open forum I am disagreeing to this pride concept.......I live in the real world.

I was proud of the players for fighting back in the last.
I am proud of my club. That’s not a circle jerk.

Proud of what exactly?

Our two leaders wilted last night....again.......not good enough IMO.

Another circle jerk thread on our board.
I’d like to leave on a good note CFC and lowered my colours with my reply to the above.
I feel your pain as do many others but I’m sure our leaders tried their best and were both pretty good in the last quarter comeback. No it wasn’t good enough in the end but I have nothing but admiration for our leaders. They can’t carry us forever.
And let’s face it a circle jerk ain’t happening with so many limp members around after yesterday 😊
You want the best from the club and players , so do I.
Surely I can be proud of the effort if not the result.
14 others clubs didn’t have that chance.
Cheers

I’d like to leave on a good note CFC and lowered my colours with my reply to the above.
I feel your pain as do many others but I’m sure our leaders tried their best and were both pretty good in the last quarter comeback. No it wasn’t good enough in the end but I have nothing but admiration for our leaders. They can’t carry us forever.
And let’s face it a circle jerk ain’t happening with so many limp members around
after yesterday😒.
You want the best from the club and players , so do I.
Surely I can be proud of the effort if not the result.
14 others clubs didn’t have that chance.
Cheers

I only care about one Club mate........OURS.

I went to bed angry and woke up the same.......let me just say it takes a lot for me to reach that emotion.

The only thing that calmed me down a little this morning was Pendles and Bucks comments about our failure I read in the paper.

Fortunately they’re not living in marshmallow land like this thread......sorry that’s just how I feel at the moment.

Our Club failed yesterday......simple.

No excuses for that failure IMO.

I went to bed angry and woke up the same.......let me just say it takes a lot for me to reach that emotion.

The only thing that calmed me down a little this morning was Pendles and Bucks comments about our failure I read in the paper.

Fortunately they’re not living in marshmallow land like this thread......sorry that’s just how I feel at the moment.

No worries mate.

Harsh. We all know Mayne doesn’t have a long kick ...

... and given they needed the ARC to determine if it went through or not it was worth him taking the shot.

Heavy ball late on a wet day didn't help his cause.

was a great season. unfortunately I couldn't get to any games with my legends membership. living in prissy. however. I often got tickets printed an gave them to people who needed time out for what ever reason. I did goto lions V pies at the Gabba. That was a great win for us and the last game the lions lost at the Gabba during the regular season in 2019. Last night was a real kick in the guts.
bring on 2020. I want to goto rd 1, Anzac Day and a few more.

Luke Ball
Andrews Krakeour
Keeffe
Scharenberg (x3)
Dunne (x2)
Langdon
Goldsack
Nathan Brown (x2)
Allan Toovey
Greenwood
I think there may have been one more player.

Macaffer

I went to bed guttered to mate.
One of my smart ars friends sent me a text during the 3rd saying "I hope Collingwood loose"
my reply " F-U I hope Parramatta get flogged" ( hes supports the eels ) .... least I had 1 victory for the night

Why does being proud of what this team achieved in the face of all the adversity they encountered this year constitute a circle jerk?

Stephenson has believed his own publicity. he needs to accept that some players can run him down.
All in all this has been an excellent year for a team ravaged by injuries, but still managing to finish fourth.
There's much gnashing of teeth about missed opportunities but to my mind in the 2nd quarter Stevo's decision to go for a long bomb on a wet day when he had players open and free inside 50 when we had a brief period of something resembling momentum was perhaps the biggest missed opportunity of the day. Skill errors happen (Brown's missed opportunity in the goal square, Reid's bad miss in the last, Mayne's inability to kick a wet ball 40 metres) Bad umpiring decisions are part of the game (Grundy's blatant push in the back by Finlayson) but you pay the price for decisions not to do the team thing - it's a moment that he must be held accountable for by the coaching staff. It's a small moment in a game that lasts 120 minutes. He is perhaps potentially one of the very best players we are likely to see in a Collingwood jumper but he has to keep his head firmly on his shoulders. The game's elite players know their limitations and make the right decision 99 times out of 100. He can be elite - he isn't there yet

I haven't posted much this year, and in fact have focused a lot less on footy than previous years. (Probably a response to the loss last year).

This was obviously a rough loss - we were favourites and were a bit healthier than last year (though obviously with a lot of outs still). It would've been incredible to go up against Richmond next week - but on our overall performances this year, we (like pretty much every team) had a deficiences throughout the year and werent clearly top 2. But when things started to get tough we did bounce back throughout the year, and we did enough to sneak into the top 4, and then won the QF to make the prelim.

I think today we just struggled to adjust to the conditions as quickly as GWS did, and let the lead get too far out of hand in that 3rd quarter. But the response was absolutely incredible.

Most of our players had their numbers clearly lowered in the first 3 quarters (Moore, Crisp and Grundy were the only ones that really stood up) but pretty much everyone turned it to "11" in that final term and gave their absolute all for the club and the jumper.

So much love for the boys, and Bucks, and lets push on in 2020.

Well summed up mate.

I have seen this shit too many times. They were pathetic for 3 quarters, scared to take the game on, did not smash into them, run them into to ground and exploit their 2 hard finals v our rest. They only played decent footy when they had no choice. So many passengers.

This was a choke, pure and simple. Nothing to be proud of, club has a history of it. I have seen 12 grand finals for 2 wins. Let that sink in, its an appalling strike rate. On my train ride home the pies fans, all around my age were basically laughing at the club. What more can you do. You would go made otherwise.

Beams could have been the right move, as in right type of player. Even though we have the best ruckman in the league our midfielders do not win the contested ball. We needed sier of last year, jdg, or a big unit, a player of beams strength. We have midfielders who are runners and Adams, who is not really big enough or clever enough. I think we need to try Maynard in the middle.
But Beams didn't help us win the clearances when he was playing earlier this year. Adams was opposed to Williams in the GF and must have been a real disappointment to those who were determined to declare him as elite prior to the PF. Sier has to be the biggest disappointment this year. It's a worry when lack of commitment and motivation holds back the development and negates the performance of a class player. Like some others, I don't feel proud of the team's efforts in the PF. Several of our best midfield players now have question marks over their ability to perform in big final's games, including Sidebottom, Pendlebury and now Adams. We have also overrated the ability and potential impact of the likes of WHE and Mihochek, as well as placing too much faith in Callum Brown, Noble and Thomas when there were players available to take their spot.

I'm proud of the club. Really disappointed, and I think we have a fair bit to think about going forward...but still proud. We could have given it up, and most clubs honestly would have in that last quarter. But to turn it around like we did shows real heart.

I think by around round 14,15ish this year, I had written off the year. We had far too many injuries, and we just were playing so poorly. We had 2 really bad losses to GWS and Richmond, and the year looked over. I thought we'd make the finals, and then bow out week 1. So to win our last 4 games, then win the first final against the top of the ladder team, was a really good ride.

But we blew an opportunity. All likelihood though is that were would have got pantsed by Richmond the week after. They just have too many players at the top of their game, and very few injuries other than to Rance. We would have been riding on a half fit De Goey, and too many others either without match fitness like Ben Reid, or out of form like WHE, JT, Cal Brown etc.

The list is still really strong and in a window. Pendlebury and Sidebottom are ageing, but still in peak form so I think we still have opportunity with them. If we can get some guys like Sier and Tyler Brown to step in, and maybe use Pendles and Sidey more sparingly, I reckon they each have 3+ years left minimum. I see both playing until at least 35.

I'm proud of the club. Really disappointed, and I think we have a fair bit to think about going forward...but still proud. We could have given it up, and most clubs honestly would have in that last quarter. But to turn it around like we did shows real heart.

I think by around round 14,15ish this year, I had written off the year. We had far too many injuries, and we just were playing so poorly. We had 2 really bad losses to GWS and Richmond, and the year looked over. I thought we'd make the finals, and then bow out week 1. So to win our last 4 games, then win the first final against the top of the ladder team, was a really good ride.

But we blew an opportunity. All likelihood though is that were would have got pantsed by Richmond the week after. They just have too many players at the top of their game, and very few injuries other than to Rance. We would have been riding on a half fit De Goey, and too many others either without match fitness like Ben Reid, or out of form like WHE, JT, Cal Brown etc.

The list is still really strong and in a window. Pendlebury and Sidebottom are ageing, but still in peak form so I think we still have opportunity with them. If we can get some guys like Sier and Tyler Brown to step in, and maybe use Pendles and Sidey more sparingly, I reckon they each have 3+ years left minimum. I see both playing until at least 35.
I pretty much agree with this. When Howe was injured the week after Stephenson was suspended, I wrote our year off. There were just too many of our good players out. And yet this group somehow made the preliminary and came within a kick of winning it. Hats off to them.
I would be surprised if Pendlebury has 3 more good years left, but at least one.
I don't see it as panic stations time as some commentators do. The list is good and well led. Cox should help a lot, and I would hang onto Reid as his backup until we have an actual replacement. If Beams is about next year, Seir gets his act together and Langdon comes back, with the improvement in the young ones we already have and retention of our top players, we should go better than this year if injuries don't kill us again.

But Beams didn't help us win the clearances when he was playing earlier this year. Adams was opposed to Williams in the GF and must have been a real disappointment to those who were determined to declare him as elite prior to the PF. Sier has to be the biggest disappointment this year. It's a worry when lack of commitment and motivation holds back the development and negates the performance of a class player. Like some others, I don't feel proud of the team's efforts in the PF. Several of our best midfield players now have question marks over their ability to perform in big final's games, including Sidebottom, Pendlebury and now Adams. We have also overrated the ability and potential impact of the likes of WHE and Mihochek, as well as placing too much faith in Callum Brown, Noble and Thomas when there were players available to take their spot.

1 below average game doesn't change his claims to be considered among the top echelon of midfielders anymore than 1 good game for Keeffe merits teeth gnashing over letting him go.

You must be a mate of Apex36. Could you please show me where I teeth gnashed over letting Keeffe go? I made no such suggestion that he be retained.

EDIT: Still waiting for either you or Apex to respond with current evidence that I wanted Keeffe retained on the list??? Or can't you substantiate your claims? Do the pair of you normally work as a tag team to besmirch other posters or is this a more recent arrangement?

Toast Proud of the Boys