QAFL 2022

Rep footy chat - do we need to get rep games back happening

I think we need to get something going for all levels and gives players a chance to mix with other players from other clubs and get coached by different coaches

Would this work to start with
QAFL North vs QAFL South
Cairns vs Div 1
Div 2 North vs Div 2 South
Div 3 vs Div 4
Toowoomba vs Wide Bay

Winners play high loser
Would love to see Qafl play an interstate league. ACT?
Yes there is a cost.
Think Div 1 vs cairns is a good fixture where as the north vs south Div 2 could work as well. Plenty of good coaches not coaching who could get around to games. Danny craven done a good job without coaching anyone.

Yes there is a cost.
Think Div 1 vs cairns is a good fixture where as the north vs south Div 2 could work as well. Plenty of good coaches not coaching who could get around to games. Danny craven done a good job without coaching anyone.
In vic always worked best when it was recently retired player/ coach, one who current players and coaches respected to front up to training and talk to.

Morningside v Sherwood lived up to the close picks here. 80 to 89 in favour of Siders. I kept an eye on the live scores online.

Sherwood came back from a 30 point deficit at one point in the 3rd. Last qtr was a nail biter. Sherwood got within under 1 goal from the lead, but Morningside kept replying at the other end, keeping it to two goals for most of the last qtr. Sherwood continually got momentum, but Siders kept arresting it. Would have been a great game to have watched live at the ground.

Morningside v Sherwood lived up to the close picks here. 80 to 89 in favour of Siders. I kept an eye on the live scores online.

Sherwood came back from a 30 point deficit at one point in the 3rd. Last qtr was a nail biter. Sherwood got within under 1 goal from the lead, but Morningside kept replying at the other end, keeping it to two goals for most of the last qtr. Sherwood continually got momentum, but Siders kept arresting it. Would have been a great game to have watched live at the ground.

It wasn't. I watched from my car Oxley Road side, figured it would be worth a look watching a couple of young teams with mostly local talent. I wouldn't say the umpires influenced the outcome, but they did completely ruin the game.

It was an embarassment for this level of football.

Perhaps the shitty lights at Sherwood didn't help them, as they clearly couldn't see a bloody thing?

Shouldn't be allowed to play QAFL footy at night with lights that bad.

Guess you could see a fair bit even with bad lights.

Although if it was that bad there was a higher quality game about 10 minutes up the road with much better lights!

It wasn't. I watched from my car Oxley Road side, figured it would be worth a look watching a couple of young teams with mostly local talent. I wouldn't say the umpires influenced the outcome, but they did completely ruin the game.

Perhaps the shitty lights at Sherwood didn't help them, as they clearly couldn't see a bloody thing?

I was on the other side and couldn't see what happened to get those two Sherwood players reported. Can you fill us in? I did however see a Sherwood player on the clubhouse side of the field get knocked out, stretchered off and awarded a free kick with no report made. I don't think we've heard the last about this game.

With the orchestrated destruction of our power grid by our masters, makes me wonder how applications by clubs for lighting upgrades that use more power will be recieved? Do new, better systems use more or less power?

I was on the other side and couldn't see what happened to get those two Sherwood players reported. Can you fill us in? I did however see a Sherwood player on the clubhouse side of the field get knocked out, stretchered off and awarded a free kick with no report made. I don't think we've heard the last about this game.

Didn't think any of the 3 incidents you refer to deserved a report to be honest.

First one looked like rough conduct or something to that effect, absolutely nothing in it. Bloke got up and slotted the goal and played out the game. It looked a fair bump, not even high.

2nd one, Magpies had a free kick through Will Fletcher (how bloody good is he by the way?) and there was a bit of push and shove in the goal square. An umpire way out of position reported a guy for striking, when there was literally no striking at all - should be on camera as the ball was sailing through for a goal when it happened. Terrible call by a guy who simply liked being the centre of attention.

The one where #21 went lights out. Thought it a genuine footy incident, would have to see a replay to really know. He was lights out for a long time, so they would be having a look at it. Arms pinned, but didn't seem to be 2 motions or an overtly aggressive tackle, just really unlucky and the tackler immediately helped him and was genuinely concerned and called his opposition and trainers over. Lot of bodies where it happened, so think it was possibly a stray drive by accidental knee or hip to knock him out like that, but hard to say.

Don't think any of the reported players would have anything to worry about once the video is looked at. Though if the injury to #21 is severe, then they like to punish accidents if there is a bad result. (didn't see an ambo rock up though, so thats a good sign)

Guess you could see a fair bit even with bad lights.

Although if it was that bad there was a higher quality game about 10 minutes up the road with much better lights!

Saw enough that Dignan and Colenso absolutely dominated for Morningside alongside Fletcher and Coombes for sherwood.

Young Belly from Moorooka went pretty well too.

Yes there is a cost.
Back in late 80’s the QLD State side was a huge honour and blokes wanted to be selected to play the likes of Tassie, NSW etc.

Then there was always a preseason game against Collingwood, Swans etc.

Maybe the QAFL Team of the Year should be selected at end of year with intention of playing Lions/Suns or other AFL side in a preseason game?

That way AFL Club could showcase some of their younger list against best local competition players.

If players selected have left competition then maybe selectors who pick QAFL Team of the Year pick next in line or what type of players are required. That way Clubs probably a bit less stressed about allowing their players to have a kick

Lights would have to reach a minimum lux requirement to play, otherwise no doubt insurances would be compromised?

Thanks
Didn't think any of the 3 incidents you refer to deserved a report to be honest.

First one looked like rough conduct or something to that effect, absolutely nothing in it. Bloke got up and slotted the goal and played out the game. It looked a fair bump, not even high.

2nd one, Magpies had a free kick through Will Fletcher (how bloody good is he by the way?) and there was a bit of push and shove in the goal square. An umpire way out of position reported a guy for striking, when there was literally no striking at all - should be on camera as the ball was sailing through for a goal when it happened. Terrible call by a guy who simply liked being the centre of attention.

The one where #21 went lights out. Thought it a genuine footy incident, would have to see a replay to really know. He was lights out for a long time, so they would be having a look at it. Arms pinned, but didn't seem to be 2 motions or an overtly aggressive tackle, just really unlucky and the tackler immediately helped him and was genuinely concerned and called his opposition and trainers over. Lot of bodies where it happened, so think it was possibly a stray drive by accidental knee or hip to knock him out like that, but hard to say.

Don't think any of the reported players would have anything to worry about once the video is looked at. Though if the injury to #21 is severe, then they like to punish accidents if there is a bad result. (didn't see an ambo rock up though, so thats a good sign)
Thanks. It did seem that the whistle was blown a hell of a lot more than on average during that game. Must have been the lights ;)

Our lights meet the minimum requirements of 100LUX, though certainly we would welcome an upgrade to LED both to improve their output and also reduce our power bill.

As we have seen consistently though in recent years, if you want a big grant from any level of government, you need to let your facility go completely and not look after it, then the white knights come in and give you cash because you can't competently manage what you have. But if you are pretty self sufficient and stand on your own two feet, then you are left to raise your own funds.

Interesting the Cats played at 36 points yesterday, the lowest for some time. Player availability a challenge at the moment.

There’s a review of the points system happening at the moment overall I think it is a good thing a couple tweaks probably needed not sure if somebody that moves cities should get 2 point penalty , 1 would be more fair.

Also VFL listed should be 3 points unless they came from aligned club.

Also I reckon points for retained players should happen from year 2 rather than year 3.

Interesting the Cats played at 36 points yesterday, the lowest for some time. Player availability a challenge at the moment.

There’s a review of the points system happening at the moment overall I think it is a good thing a couple tweaks probably needed not sure if somebody that moves cities should get 2 point penalty , 1 would be more fair.

Also VFL listed should be 3 points unless they came from aligned club.

Also I reckon points for retained players should happen from year 2 rather than year 3.

It is difficult because we want all qld comps to be the best possible. How do we attract the best talent from other States but not compromise the development of our locals? I might be wrong, but I think NT have zero points for ex AFL players to encourage them to play up there.

WA did have dispensation for certain occupations, like school teachers and stock agents, because they moved around regional areas regularly.

Certainly been some anomalies with the points in the QAFL this year, which needs tweaking, but has been reasonable even which has been great for QLD footy.

QAFL 2022