Discussion Question and Answer Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Gibbsy

It was an attempt to grab supporters by making the name more generic and therefore less geographically constrained. This was because they were struggling off the field at the time.

All the change to "The Kangaroos" did was weaken them and piss off rusted ons as it also encouraged the move north to GC.

2006_AFL_Kangaroos.png

Similar logic would have had Port Adelaide rebranded Southern Power several years ago despite the strength of our brand lying in the Port Adelaide name.

For all intents and purposes St Kilda were to become the Southern Saints in the mid-80s. I think I've posted the logos here a few times, they were even adorning Moorabbin for a few years but the rebrand was eventually canned.

Is that the football with the S cut out of it?

Hi all, after getting a custom guernsey made up for training. It'll just be a one off. Does anyone know where I can get one made?

It'd be handy if UltimateFooty still did their service (you could order your design for $90) but they seem to have stopped.

Moorabbin must have gotten incredible close, but I guess a lot of these were fairly well considered as well. Up until the demolition of the ground about five years ago, Moorabbin Oval had about half the ground with 'Moorabbin Saints' instead of the St Kilda logo. That would have been a rare but interesting name change for an AFL club, but a great thing it never eventuated really.

FWIW I remember hearing innuendo from Smeagle and Gibbsy once about stories they heard of Footscray becoming 'Western Bulldogs' because they wanted to play in western Sydney and the AFL wanted them to later relocate.

Moorabbin must have gotten incredible close, but I guess a lot of these were fairly well considered as well. Up until the demolition of the ground about five years ago, Moorabbin Oval had about half the ground with 'Moorabbin Saints' instead of the St Kilda logo. That would have been a rare but interesting name change for an AFL club, but a great thing it never eventuated really.

FWIW I remember hearing innuendo from Smeagle and Gibbsy once about stories they heard of Footscray becoming 'Western Bulldogs' because they wanted to play in western Sydney and the AFL wanted them to later relocate.
I played a lot of my juniors in the MSJFL - Moorabbin Saints Junior Football League (Now Southern Metro or some shit)

No idea why it was named that. Not sure there was a club that existed under the name or if it had much to do with the St Kilda Football Club aside from the Moorabbin ground?

I played a lot of my juniors in the MSJFL - Moorabbin Saints Junior Football League (Now Southern Metro or some shit)

No idea why it was named that. Not sure there was a club that existed under the name or if it had much to do with the St Kilda Football Club aside from the Moorabbin ground?
Potentially sponsored by St Kilda Football Club? Ala clubs like the Bernie Dockers and Balmain Dockers (?) in Tassie and Sydney. In primary school we had a school based Tuesday arvo comp called Eagles Cup and I think there was a 'Freo Dockers Cup' in other towns, so probably something like that.

EDIT: Googled it and surprisingly, it's still a thing. I thought this was some short stay mid-2000s thing for country schools but alas it's not. Also can't believe the current Schteves at Fremantle are letting the funnily unofficial 'Freo Dockers' continue on and they haven't renamed it to 'Dockers Cup' or something. Freo Dockers is like Port Power but without the memes; the sort of thing your mum or a work manager with no idea who works at Woolworths calls Freo.

Ah, the old Eagles Cup. My first primary school (Marangaroo) was involved in it, and I think even won it a couple years before I started. Unfortunately, the team was for years 5-7 only. Moved schools in year 5 so never got to play and the new school's footy team never joined the Eagles Cup, only playing occasional 'friendlies' against random schools from all over the north-eastern suburbs and the yearly inter-school winter carnival, so my school footy experience was nowhere near as fruitful as I wanted.

Marangaroo's jumpers were beautiful acrylic royal wings with a motif on the front that I can't quite recall. The second were a boring polyester navy blue with a giant sky blue 'R'.

Ah, the old Eagles Cup. My first primary school (Marangaroo) was involved in it, and I think even won it a couple years before I started. Unfortunately, the team was for years 5-7 only. Moved schools in year 5 so never got to play and the new school's footy team never joined the Eagles Cup, only playing occasional 'friendlies' against random schools from all over the north-eastern suburbs and the yearly inter-school winter carnival, so my school footy experience was nowhere near as fruitful as I wanted.

Marangaroo's jumpers were beautiful acrylic royal wings with a motif on the front that I can't quite recall. The second were a boring polyester navy blue with a giant sky blue 'R'.
I remember we used to use full on leather Burleys (which it seems they still do) which we used to struggle with as primary school kids. It was stupid. I think it ended up being a bit nepotistic towards the end but I'll never forget driving about two hours with two of my mates, dad got off work early, and I got exactly one touch. He went off. He was so pissed off he'd wasted his night on a freezing cold weekday to see me play like complete shit and almost embarrass him – and he was the sort of dad who never made me do anything I didn't want to. I'll never forget sitting in an IGA car park while he broke that and made a truce with a can of coke... we never drank coke as kids so it was a weird and rare truce.

We used to train on Thursdays and Monday lunch times. I remember you'd do two drills and then it was time to go home, and you'd even have year 3s and 4s running around – mayhem. Some knobhead tryhard dad 'assistant coaching' would try and take over too. If your dad was 'assistant coach' of a junior team you are in fact a dick or at least your old man was.

I think when I was year 6 we had a policy where the coach's son was in year 7 and it was last chance saloon for him, so the team was nothing but tall year 7s. Don't know if they won it but I think the next year it was called off or it was total shit.

One team wore a red version of our bright neon yellow McDonalds jumpers. Bright. Bright yellow. Fit like hessian sacks. Terrible. Had no shapes and a massive Maccas logo on the back, where numbers would be, like a number panel, and maybe one on the front?

Do you remember the big serif, stencil blue and yellow font on the ball? It was the Eagles Cup logo.

Only ever saw the Eagles Cup ball mounted on one of those wooden display spike things in the principal's office when I was sent there for being a little scrote. Beautiful red leather Burley, although I think that one had a monochromatic white Eagles logo, can't remember exactly. I remember my nephew nicked an old leather Burley from his school. That thing was a beauty; cherry red, the classic script logo and his school's name in white. Was a bit chipped and always over-inflated to the point where the laces resembled a mons pubis, but we loved kicking that thing around the front yard.

Old school's team used to train with the shitty round synthetics found in the bin full of sports equipment in every classroom. My second school didn't even have training sessions, we just picked a team about a week before a match was scheduled, got mum to sign the permission slip, jumped on the bus after lunch on match day and had a brief hitout 10 minutes before bouncedown. I remember kicking 9 goals one afternoon against our geographical rivals. My strut was off the charts the next day.

Also remember the front office had all these Eagles cup plaques mounted on the wall by the siren switch, so that probably does confirm Marangaroo won the cup at least once.

Only ever saw the Eagles Cup ball mounted on one of those wooden display spike things in the principal's office when I was sent there for being a little scrote. Beautiful red leather Burley, although I think that one had a monochromatic white Eagles logo, can't remember exactly. I remember my nephew nicked an old leather Burley from his school. That thing was a beauty; cherry red, the classic script logo and his school's name in white. Was a bit chipped and always over-inflated to the point where the laces resembled a mons pubis, but we loved kicking that thing around the front yard.
I've seen a lot of footys. Kicked a lot of footys. Marked a lot of footys. Handballed a lot of footys.
NONE of them ever reminded me of intimate lady parts.

Had they done, I'd have never kicked it around the front yard.

Does anyone know how to attach images into a conversation (for competitions and stuff) without the quality dropping? Thanks