Toast Quinton Narkle

Narkle was good against Essenscum - not great but good. I see a lot of upside given what I saw at the ground last night. Don't trade him, Geelong! (not unless, say, Nat Fyfe decides he wants to become a Cat, of course)

Yes, double of 1 is 2. What a great game...
I enjoy how you defend his game by trying to compare him to players who don't play midfield and had absolutely woeful games. It's a seriously low bar to set.

I think that the comparison is made because Dahl is a walk-up starter every week when he struggles to get touches, doesn't kick goals and is only picked off of tackling.

The narkle pile on is ridiculous. all by the same group of supporters too.

he had a poor game last night. But still had 19 touches and third highest in clearances. Hardly worthy of all the hate. Guthrie 16 disposals. Selwood has had 3 games in his last 6 with 19 disposals Or less. No one complains or piles on them. Narkle also can’t get match continuity.

yet many of these posters defend dalhaus constantly. A player who does get enormous continuity. no kicks last week and only 8 disposals and 1 tackle last night in a slowed down game that was perfect for him.

let’s attack narkle instead.

As you know Seeds I’m a fan, but have to concede that he’s been ordinary the past two games. I don’t think it’s the possession count that most of us are necessarily critical of but what he does or doesn’t do when he doesn’t have the footy. He has lacked desperation in these games. And lacked defensive accountability of his opponent. Don’t worry, he’s not on his Pat Malone there in our midfield - that first 1/4 in particular every mid let their opponent just trot around them.

Guthrie has been terrible since coming back from injury but has credits from a season and a half of consistent footy. Selwood a career of it.

I hope for his sake that he can be better next week if he retains his place. But atm, he’s on the fringes and needs to show he really wants to stay in the side. Constable is lurking and on VFL form probably deserves a crack if we are being consistent.

I think that the comparison is made because Dahl is a walk-up starter every week when he struggles to get touches, doesn't kick goals and is only picked off of tackling.

But there's 2 points of difference.
Firstly he doesn't play midfield, so comparisons aren't fair.
Secondly, nobody on this board (or any fans from what I've seen) have talked up his game at all, and the vast majority agree that Dahlhaus has been shithouse.
There were huge melts and carry on after Narkle was dropped, melts that are warranted from genuinely quality players...

But there's 2 points of difference.
Firstly he doesn't play midfield, so comparisons aren't fair.
Secondly, nobody on this board (or any fans from what I've seen) have talked up his game at all, and the vast majority agree that Dahlhaus has been shithouse.
There were huge melts and carry on after Narkle was dropped, melts that are warranted from genuinely quality players...

The melts were because Narkle had played the 2 best games of his career after playing well as a medical sub. There was no reward for effort. It showed all the problems that people have with our MC. They don't reward a player and play them on their name.

Higgins shouldn't be a walk-up starter, nor should Dahl. Narkle shouldn't have been dropped.

I'm a big fan of Narkle but have to agree that it was a bit of a missed opportunity. But then has he really been given a proper opportunity? Players in general need continuity and a definite task. When he had a few games on the trot earlier in the year, we saw him really building some form. It's no coincidence that the drop in form has come when he's been shifted each week between the AFL and VFL sides.

That's one way of seeing it, for sure. Another view would be that it's no coincidence that his drop in form has come when playing his last two games against two teams that aren't between positions 14 and 18 on the ladder.

Still hasn't played a game of note against a team of note this season. And, in another season where we are contending, that means others with runs on the board in bigger contests will be preferred for that inside mid role at this point.

Wouldn't have played last night if MOC had been available. And did not show enough to prevent the Irishman returning next week if he's right to go. It's really not half as controversial as some here want to make out.

That's one way of seeing it, for sure. Another view would be that it's no coincidence that his drop in form has come when playing his last two games against two teams that aren't between positions 14 and 18 on the ladder.

Still hasn't played a game of note against a team of note this season. And, in another season where we are contending, that means others with runs on the board in bigger contests will be preferred for that inside mid role at this point.

Wouldn't have played last night if MOC had been available. And did not show enough to prevent the Irishman returning next week if he's right to go. It's really not half as controversial as some here want to make out.

He's played 2 good teams this year cause he's either out or the medical sub and has probably been the medical sub bar what? 4 games?

Whatever his selection status for all the other games, he's hardly lit it up against the two better quality teams he's played most recently. When you're trying to push past established players for a specific role in a contending team (particularly when they're coming towards yet another finals push), that's going to make it difficult to hold your sport week after week.

The melts were because Narkle had played the 2 best games of his career after playing well as a medical sub. There was no reward for effort. It showed all the problems that people have with our MC. They don't reward a player and play them on their name.

Higgins shouldn't be a walk-up starter, nor should Dahl. Narkle shouldn't have been dropped.

Sigh, again though, Higgins or Dahls selection or non-selection doesn't impact Narkle. He's an inside mid. So he's competing against guys like Danger, Selwood, Guthrie and Parfitt. Whose he pushing out?
I agree re: both of those too btw, neither should be in the team but I still wouldn't have a spot for Narkle regardless.

he had a poor game last night. But still had 19 touches and third highest in clearances. Hardly worthy of all the hate. Guthrie 16 disposals. Selwood has had 3 games in his last 6 with 19 disposals Or less. No one complains or piles on them. Narkle also can’t get match continuity.

yet many of these posters defend dalhaus constantly. A player who does get enormous continuity. no kicks last week and only 8 disposals and 1 tackle last night in a slowed down game that was perfect for him.

Lol. You should change your name to the contrarian. Who defends Dalhouse? Everyone wants him out.
Guthrie is a bit slow returning from injury but he will pick up and be an essential part of the team again. Selwood, is having a good year but is entitled to an average game here and there. 19 touches from Selwood are, as a rule, effective and instrumental in constructive play. Both these guys have worked their butts off for years.
Narkle needs to take his chances - the interaction with parish on boundary line when parish kicks a goal- it was pretty underwhelming and the opposite of what he needs to be doing. And he did stuff a bit like that a few times last night. Will watch the replay and hopefully, in the cool light of day, see better stuff in his touches.

As you know Seeds I’m a fan, but have to concede that he’s been ordinary the past two games. I don’t think it’s the possession count that most of us are necessarily critical of but what he does or doesn’t do when he doesn’t have the footy. He has lacked desperation in these games. And lacked defensive accountability of his opponent. Don’t worry, he’s not on his Pat Malone there in our midfield - that first 1/4 in particular every mid let their opponent just trot around them.

Guthrie has been terrible since coming back from injury but has credits from a season and a half of consistent footy. Selwood a career of it.

I hope for his sake that he can be better next week if he retains his place. But atm, he’s on the fringes and needs to show he really wants to stay in the side. Constable is lurking and on VFL form probably deserves a crack if we are being consistent.
I agree he has been poor. But not to the level to justify all these negative posts.

2 and a half pages since the game. Meanwhile dalhaus who was worse and for two games in a row has like 5 posts since the game.

Sigh, again though, Higgins or Dahls selection or non-selection doesn't impact Narkle. He's an inside mid. So he's competing against guys like Danger, Selwood, Guthrie and Parfitt. Whose he pushing out?
I agree re: both of those too btw, neither should be in the team but I still wouldn't have a spot for Narkle regardless.

The selection thing is bullshit. It doesn't matter if they're a like for like when Dahl is deadweight who has had 4 kicks and 0 goals in his last couple of games. 15 touches, 4 kicks, 1 mark, 0 goals and 4 tackles in his last 2 games. He's played 2 good games this season and is riding them.

Narkle plays his 2 best career games and gets dropped. The position excuse is bullshit.

The selection thing is bullshit. It doesn't matter if they're a like for like when Dahl is deadweight who has had 4 kicks and 0 goals in his last couple of games. 15 touches, 4 kicks, 1 mark, 0 goals and 4 tackles in his last 2 games. He's played 2 good games this season and is riding them.

Narkle plays his 2 best career games and gets dropped. The position excuse is bullshit.

Maybe to idiots who don't understand football.
Sure, let's bring in Chook and Clark for Hawkins and Cameron, because positions are bullshit right?
Again, and I've said this multiple times, Dahlhaus is shit. That makes zero difference. Rohan also had a poor game but that's completely irrelevant when talking about a MIDFIELDER. I don't get why this is so hard for people to get.

I agree he has been poor. But not to the level to justify all these negative posts.

2 and a half pages since the game. Meanwhile dalhaus who was worse and for two games in a row has like 5 posts since the game.

Keep it in perspective, though. Most who are not simply 'true believers' would have posted twice (at best) since the game if not for continued appeals from the perennially indignant to justify their supposedly irrational bias.

It's not just the unconvinced who pump up the posting numbers in these threads.

Maybe to idiots who don't understand football.
Sure, let's bring in Chook and Clark for Hawkins and Cameron, because positions are bullshit right?
Again, and I've said this multiple times, Dahlhaus is sh*t. That makes zero difference. Rohan also had a poor game but that's completely irrelevant when talking about a MIDFIELDER. I don't get why this is so hard for people to get.

Yeah but i can remember a game against the Swans - at the SCG 2-3 years back ( Geelong won and kicked 30 plus behinds ) and Narkle that night played on a hff - and played ok

He has played on a hff flank before mate - and done ok

Blooody Dahlhaus - this is a Chris Scott special

And you can pencil in the side this week already - Higgins will come in - Narkle will get dropped - and Dahlhaus unbelievably will keep his spot yet again

Yeah but i can remember a game against the Swans - at the SCG 2-3 years back ( Geelong won and kicked 30 plus behinds ) and Narkle that night played on a hff - and played ok

He has played on a hff flank before mate - and done ok

Blooody Dahlhaus - this is a Chris Scott special

And you can pencil in the side this week already - Higgins will come in - Narkle will get dropped - and Dahlhaus unbelievably will keep his spot yet again

I'm hoping the form of Evans forces the MC hand, he's been really solid in the VFL the last few weeks and provides everything dahl can't.

It was stupid to drop Narkle when his form was running hot. He should have been given the opportunity then. He has lost a bit of momentum and I don’t doubt he has lost faith in his place in the side. Hardly surprising his form has dropped.

I am not sure he is going to play too many more games at Geelong.

That's just red herring.

No one is saying drop our 2 best players, we're talking about Dahlhaus.
Maybe I'm on my own in this, but I just don't get the outrage over Dahlhaus's performance. He gives it his all, pressures, never shirks a contest, does the team thing, never hangs his head. Stuff that won't make the highlights reel most weeks, but does make his teammates walk taller. These are the kind of things I'd say we'll need when things get tough in finals. Narkle on the other hand - and I'm a big fan of his - just looked listless out there from what I saw on Friday. It may be because he hasn't been given the same continuity as other players. Or it may be because he's already pondering life after Geelong. Whichever way it is, I hope he finds the groove again. I have no doubt if he stays he will help make the cats a much better club and team beyond 2021.

Yes, we understand he applies pressure. But it's what he doesn't do. Doesn't get touches, doesn't kick goals, doesn't take marks, doesn't do anything besides pressure and tackle.

If he plays as he did against the Dogs more than 1-2 times a year he'd be super valuable, but he doesn't.

But this is turning into a Dahl discussion rather than Narkle.

Yes, we understand he applies pressure. But it's what he doesn't do. Doesn't get touches, doesn't kick goals, doesn't take marks, doesn't do anything besides pressure and tackle.

If he plays as he did against the Dogs more than 1-2 times a year he'd be super valuable, but he doesn't.

But this is turning into a Dahl discussion rather than Narkle.
Fair enough. Taken it over to the Dahl thread.

I don't mind Narkle, way prefer see him developed,... what l believe is he's a big talent on the up, to me he's proven he can really play and was unfortunate to make way.
Just people say he's lazy, and that type of stigma is sometimes hard to shake even when he probably isn't. A bit like the speedster or lack of for Constable, but that's not his game as people should recognise.
l don't know where those lazy accusations came from surely not the club, but l'm sure Narkle has to do the work he's given just like everyone, needs opportunity imo. Apart from Dahl Close didn't do much either.

The position excuse is not BS its reality..if it werent guys like hawkins would play ruck etc etc. You have to pick players according to the mix of positions and types that the side needs not just put square pegs in round holes.

Toast Quinton Narkle