Preview R1: Changes for 2025

Of the players at the fringes or who are getting on a bit, who will get a gig in Round 1?

B Worrell - Murray - Michalanney
HB Hinge - Keane - Nankervis

R O'Brien - Dawson - Rankine
C Cumming - Soligo - Sholl

HF Rachele - Fogarty - Neal-Bullen
F Walker - Thilthorpe - Keays

I Peatling - Draper - Curtin - Bond
S Pedlar

I think that's where I'm sitting for my round 1 side.

Really not sure about the 7th defensive spot. I think Cumming should play wing, and I'm not sure either Laird or Milera deserve a spot - well Laird definitely doesn't, Milera probably not. So maybe Bond?
Laird deserves a spot over Milera.

He was nowhere near as bad as what some here would have you believe.

Laird deserves a spot over Milera.

He was nowhere near as bad as what some here would have you believe.
A couple of errors. One was from a bad pass from his team mate. Laird should have taken the tackle and it would have been no prior and ball up. But as he spun out of tackle then got hammered holding the ball with 2nd tackle. But overall he was decent. 24 touches and thought he provided a bit of run.

With the umpiring we saw last night, no one could've known how it was gonna be called

I know he’s mobile, but playing as a forward with Fog, Tex and TT in the side isn’t going to be easy. He showed enough last year but I’m not happy with that structure. Not enough ground ball pressure.
It can work but he can’t be stationed up forward, he’s got to push up the ground and play as another winger. Tom Lynch role and what Murphy used to do. With his height he would provide a good marking outlet and his strength around the contest would also help.

But it’s not an easy role to play, can get caught in no mans land

I think the fact you have to play Bond, means that Laird is not and should be be considered a small stopping defender. He's therefore I'm the backline as a loose or half back. Given he has terrible skills and marking ability in the backline in non existent since moving to 666, it's a terrible fit for the position.

Max definitely comes back into that side a d Laird is the most logical person to make way.

He wasn't great no, turnovers in our back half were horrendous last night particularly early

The only change from last night I can see is Rash for Pedlar, maybe Max for Bond if he's 100% ready to go. I'm not picking Milera either.
The issue is Laird has always been able to attract the ball and commands it. But he’s not the player you want to get the ball to in defence. He’s not a meters gained player and he doesn’t have great disposal. He seems to be slowing down reaction time too.

He’s not a lock down small defender and Bond does that very well.

Max offers more versatility and is a better kick.

Our defence is better without Laird but unfortunately we have to find a role for him. He’d be a good sub but that’s never going to happen.

The issue is Laird has always been able to attract the ball and commands it. But he’s not the player you want to get the ball to in defence. He’s not a meters gained player and he doesn’t have great disposal. He seems to be slowing down reaction time too.

He’s not a lock down small defender and Bond does that very well.

Max offers more versatility and is a better kick.

Our defence is better without Laird but unfortunately we have to find a role for him. He’d be a good sub but that’s never going to happen.
I mean he's an AA level defender. Is he past that stage of his career ?? Most probably but it's not like he's never done the job.

Bonds biggest strength is also a weakness IMO. Guy is a brilliant stopper, but at this stage we need a bit more because the rest of our back 6 cause heart attacks on the rebound. Nank helps because he can defend as well, at his best so does Hinge but as good as Hinge can be by foot, he has some horrid turnovers.

I mean he's an AA level defender. Is he past that stage of his career ?? Most probably but it's not like he's never done the job.

Bonds biggest strength is also a weakness IMO. Guy is a brilliant stopper, but at this stage we need a bit more because the rest of our back 6 cause heart attacks on the rebound. Nank helps because he can defend as well, at his best so does Hinge but as good as Hinge can be by foot, he has some horrid turnovers.
Laird was an AA level defender. He is nowhere near that level now. Do you see the weaknesses I mentioned as being there?

Don't disagree but there's just no way Nicks drops both Laird and Milera.
Don't think he will drop Laird, but don't reckon Milera plays round 1 as hasn't done enough.

I’d much rather the ball in Bond’s hands than Laird’s. And he was moved out of half back in 2020 because he was going terribly back there. He’s at no risk of losing his spot, but he’s just a waste of space stat padder that progresses our cause backwards.

My team after trial games

Bond Murray Worrell
Michalanney Keane Nank

Cumming Crouch Sholl

Keays Fog Rachele

Rankine Tex RT

RoB Dawson Sog

Int Draper Hinge ANB Peatling

Sub Curtin don't really think should sub, but unsure who's spot he takes. He needs to play AFL every week this year.

I wonder with Curtin if his future is peak Tex's role. Ie CHF who does his best work between the arcs.

After the trials
F Rachele Walker Fogarty
HF Keays Thilthorpe Neal-Bullen
C Dawson Peatling Sholl
HB Hinge Murray Michalanney
B Worrell Keane Laird
R O'Brien Soligo Rankine
I Crouch Curtin Cumming Nankervis Draper

This is pretty much spot on for the 23. The only question is who is the sub and if we debut Draper as the Sub.

I don't think Milera is really in the conversation. Nicks has been pretty vocal about how important round 1 is so I can’t see him playing someone who isn't 100% when there are other options.

What I think we will do:

Laird Keane Worrell
Max Murray Hinge
Soligo Crouch Sholl
Rachele Walker Keays
ANB Fog Thilthorpe

ROB Dawson Rankine

Curtin Cumming Peatling Milera Sub: Draper

What I would do:
Bond Keane Worrell
Max Murray Hinge
Cumming Crouch Dawson
ANB Walker Keays
Rachele Fog Thilthorpe

ROB Soligo Rankine

Curtin Nankervis Peatling Draper Sub: Laird

Basically, I'm choosing Nankervis (and Cumming) over Sholl. That means moving Dawson to the wing and Nank becomes the 7th defender.
Bond plays lock down. We saw last year that Max was already adding running and creativity to his game. Hopefully we can encourage that.
Curtin in FWD rotations and some wing etc...
Peatling and Draper the Mid/Fwd rotations as well.

I would try and always have either Crouch, Peatling or Dawson in the middle. Then Soligo, Peatling or Dawson as the second mid and one of Rankine, Draper or Peatling as the 3rd.
That gives you an extractor, some class and some explosive speed/power as your combination at all times.

I've also put Rachele closer to goal and ANB/Keays as the up the ground players. Rachele is a goal kicker. Might as well use his strengths.
Laird sub with a very clear message that he either plays a team game (no sooking, no stat padding), or he is back to SANFL.

HB Hinge - Keane - Nankervis

C Cumming - Soligo - Sholl

I Peatling - Draper - Curtin - Bond
S Pedlar

I think that's where I'm sitting for my round 1 side.

Really not sure about the 7th defensive spot. I think Cumming should play wing, and I'm not sure either Laird or Milera deserve a spot - well Laird definitely doesn't, Milera probably not. So maybe Bond?
That's fine, except both Laird and Crouch are playing. They'd be amongst the first picked.

I'm not disagreeing with you, I'm just suggesting what they'll begin with.

Apologies for the intrusion. What's the go with Dowling? Thought he looked the goods when given an opportunity last year. Footy smarts, could get the ball. Are there questions on disposal? Or is he just paying his dues in the SANFL?

That's fine, except both Laird and Crouch are playing. They'd be amongst the first picked.

I agree. Hence:

Predicted Matthew Nicks round 1 side

HB Hinge - Keane - Laird

C Cumming - Crouch - Sholl

I Peatling - Soligo - Curtin - Milera
S Draper

E Nankervis - Pedlar - Bond - Murphy

This seems to be the side Nicks is angling towards

The fact that, outside of tonight's 23, we have:
Rachele
Michalanney
Taylor
Jones
Berry
Butts
Dowling
Schoenberg
Milera
Murphy

Shows that depth is where it hasn't been for a long time.

I agree to an extent. I think our depth is quite unbalanced though

We have a lot of midfield depth. Berry, Schoenberg, Dowling, Taylor, Jones, even Edwards

We have pretty strong defensive cover with Butts and Borlase as backups, plus Bond, Ryan and one of Milera or Nankervis won't play

Our forward depth is really weak. Our backups are Burgess, a raw Toby Murray, an even rawer Welsh. Any one of them is likely to be quite a downgrade on our AFL players. Then our small/medium depth is Pedlar and... well Murphy should never play again and we've got Cook.

Three injuries to defense and I'd be pretty comfortable calling up Butts, Bond and Milera to do a job.

Three injuries to the forward line and we're calling up Burgess, Pedlar and... Cook? Murphy? Playing a mid as a forward?

Reckon we need to draft a developing small forward, could probably do with another outside mid/half forward flank and without Walker our tall forward stocks are looking thin

The depth chart for the position Laird occupies is

Michalanney
Nank
Hinge
Bond
Laird
Milera
Smithers

Can really only have four in the 22.

IMO Laird is now fifth in this list.

I'd have Jones ahead of Milera and Smithers. I don't think he's going to get a look in on a wing and he was pretty good behind the ball. I think we forget that he was good enough back there to progress to a wing where he was also pretty good, but not since injury. And I'd also play that Oscar Ryan kid ahead of Smithers and it'd be touch and go whether I'd play him ahead of Milera. Would depend on how critical the 4 points are, even then, it's still going to be a close call.