Radio coverage: 5aa or MMM?

Adelaide United, Leeds United
Pretty simple really when you listen to coverage of a game what station would you rather listen too?

I prefer MMM myself as I find them more light hearted while not taking anything away from the game itself. I also find the talk back aspect more enjoyable as they do not attract alot of the old group of people who want to reminice (sp?) with KG about some ********ty little player in some ********ty little league back in some ********ty little era. :D

Your thoughts?

I like MMM for the sound quality (crowds sound heaps better), but I prefer the 5AA commentators. I sometimes switch between these two and also ABC 891. Generally, the worse the Crows are playing the more I change stations. :D

Edit: I voted 5AA because overall I listen to them more.

Both are pretty reasonable, 5AA annoys me at times with Ebert's calling; seems to all be on a first name basis "Byron to gav to toby etc" that bores me to tears; Id' be sure that the Port supporters would find the same from Cornes bias's; and we can all be confused by KG :) MMM's coverage is alot more relaxed and not a bad coverage. But no option for the ABC's coverage? or is that pretty much a sleeping tonic still.

i'll go with 5aa - they seem to have a better analysis but it depends on how i'm feeling - if the crows are frustrating me I listen to MMM casue Bruce and Mcguiness talk tripe about how bad they are so i get more annoyed at them than the crows

if you want a laugh listen to 5aa who have the press confrences on straight away then tune in to MMM 10 minutes later and you get the press conference

love rowie nothing like going over the top to excite the listeners - reminds me of the simpsons episode when the Mexico play portugal - the local commentator is bored ********less and the foriegn commentator is going mental of a pass

5AA for me, although my stereo has preset radio stations and because of that I find myself flicking back and forth.... just like on the TV.

Fergus said:
5AA for me - no question about it. I have tried MMM a few times and just don't enjoy them.

Perhaps we're set in our ways, but it just doesn't sound like serious footy on MMM.

All the way with 5AA!! :cool:

What a choice :rolleyes:

I don't really listen to commentary during the game. Mostly driving/walking to & from the ground & then I am usualy flicking between the 2 to avoid the ads.

Don't mind ABC at the breaks because they have Rhenny & others looking at the game as if they were coaching each side.

Don’t listen to the radio at Crows games. One of my pet hates actually as most people who listen to the radio just sit there like statues and don’t interact as a crowd member should. Why do you need the idiots at 5AA telling you what’s happening when you can see it with your own eyes.

well I have to listen to radio so I only have the choice between 5aa and mmm - well I have serious trouble trying to figure out what the score is and who has the ball when listening to mmm, so 5aa is the main choice for me (that's when the afl site is actually working!).

My mum is one of those that listens to 5aa during a game and argues with them quite loudly cause she thinks they are stupid - it's funny really :D

I find myself listening to 5AA - good if you support the Adelaide treams but not so good for those who support other clubs - reckon they should go 891.

What really pi##es me off about 5AA is the way the comments men make reactionary comments while one of the others is calling and often groan etc - I'd rather they spoke at the right time - Cornes, McBone, RE mainly.

jo172 said:
Am i the only one here who listens to 891 ABC Radio Adelaide? :confused:

My sister loves ABC so your not alone Jo172

During the week I have had SEN 1324 tuned in and been listening to them. Dermott, Hudson and that other guy ( unsure of name)are much better than KG and Cornes. Saturday morning l have been giving the “boys next door" a go (Aston, Bickley and Primus) on SEN and will never go back to 5 AA now, KG and his crew just argue for some dramatic effect and it ********s me.

5 AA at the footy but am seriously considering giving ABC 891 a go this season but will always give 5AA the time to ******** me off before I change on match day. Rowe, Wildy and KG (for some reason without Cornes he is ok) are my fav combo and Cornes, Dittmar and the great man (no he isn’t KG) Russell Ebert are just tripe. The after match analysis on 5 AA is 100% the best IMO and always enjoyable, even after a loss

When the crows are plaing in melbourne. I actually prefer to listen to a victorian commentary, you get a better perspective of the game from a neutral point of view. Though immediately after the game I go to 5AA as their after match programme is flawless.

Other than that usually 5AA except I cant stand listening to Ebert during power games especially in cases when they are losing as he goes immediately into damage control and excuse mode, but thats thats just my personal opinion.

Nige_Bix said:
What really pi##es me off about 5AA is the way the comments men make reactionary comments while one of the others is calling and often groan etc - I'd rather they spoke at the right time - Cornes, McBone, RE mainly.

Good point and interesting you bring this up.
I dont listen to the radio that much as I prefer to watch the game and if I cant watch the game it is due to my own football commitments but I have been listening a little bit lately.

Chris McDermotts moaning and groaning during the melbourne game was driving me nuts. He doesnt explain what is going on just moans as if he thinks we know what is going on.

I did not like to commentary during the melbourne game, KG was going at a million miles an hour which I dont think was needed.