Play Nice Random Chat Thread: Episode III

This is just very disturbing. I mean, the way it's clamped onto the bird's head...how did he get up there? Did he slither up the pole? How did he actually get the bird when it's out in the open on a wire like that? Is the bird paralysed or dead? (I'm not sure I want to know the answer to that!) And NOW what happens?? Dangling up there in the sunlight, it's macabre. I think I may be scarred for life, and I don't even have a snake phobia. Thanks Val!

So much stuff that kind of terrifies me about your guys's country. I mean, in Canada, sure we have bears, but they mostly just break into people's houses and empty out their fridges. I'm serious.

This is just very disturbing. I mean, the way it's clamped onto the bird's head...how did he get up there? Did he slither up the pole? How did he actually get the bird when it's out in the open on a wire like that? Is the bird paralysed or dead? (I'm not sure I want to know the answer to that!) And NOW what happens?? Dangling up there in the sunlight, it's macabre. I think I may be scarred for life, and I don't even have a snake phobia. Thanks Val!

So much stuff that kind of terrifies me about your guys's country. I mean, in Canada, sure we have bears, but they mostly just break into people's houses and empty out their fridges. I'm serious.

It’s a snake, they climb pretty much anything. Reckon the bird was already dead, it looked pretty stiff to me, and the snake is a python so it wouldn’t be able to cause paralysis like a venomous snake. The bird probably got a zap from the wires. You see heaps of possums and the occasional bird stiffened like that on power lines down here.

There’s a roof pretty close by, the snake probably lives in it.

If it makes you feel better, the bird was a magpie and magpies are pricks. I reckon they would hurt more people then all pythons in Australia put together.

It’s a snake, they climb pretty much anything. Reckon the bird was already dead, it looked pretty stiff to me, and the snake is a python so it wouldn’t be able to cause paralysis like a venomous snake. The bird probably got a zap from the wires. You see heaps of possums and the occasional bird stiffened like that on power lines down here.

There’s a roof pretty close by, the snake probably lives in it.

If it makes you feel better, the bird was a magpie and magpies are pricks. I reckon they would hurt more people then all pythons in Australia put together.

Thanks Val, that actually is very helpful. The roof nearby as a home somehow makes it less sinister to me. And I've read a bit of what people have posted about the magpie assaults on here, so I hear you on that one, even though I try to maintain equality for all species (except spiders!) in my brain. I just can't handle slow, agonizing animal deaths, so it helps to think the bird was already zapped.

Wasps vs spiders are fun...

It's an unspoken thing in Australia Sopwiths. I've had friends that have been snatched off the streets by these snakes. There's nothing you can do about it. Natural selection. It's best to watch 'Hard Target' with JCVD so you have a fighting chance. Good luck out there.

Pfft, you think snakes are bad?

I know a person whose first born was snatched by a magpie and raised as one of their own.

He was 23.

giphy.gif

Investing in a personal mongoose has been one of the best decisions I've made living here.

Pfft, you think snakes are bad?

I know a person whose first born was snatched by a magpie and raised as one of their own.

He was 23.
Sadly I think magpies (and other swooping varieties) are underrepresented in the danger scale. Every time I go to other countries all I hear is "woah crocodiles and snakes are bad in Australia" - thinking they just roam city centres ready to attack. Little do they know it's those ****ers that will do the most damage. In pre-primary we had our year 1 orientation day - at recess I was walking onto the oval with my vegemite sandwich (that I made because my parents were hard workers and I've been independent since birth) and I was swooped by a magpie. Never happened before. I took off and I got pecked on the ear. The teacher on duty saved me. I started crying because my brother and sister warned me about bullies, dunny flushes, and said school can be terrible. It took less than half a day to realise that. I still remember older kids pointing and laughing at me as I was running away crying. After school I started doing pushups and situps so that the only people that would be running and crying would be those running from me. I haven't cried ever since.

Sadly I think magpies (and other swooping varieties) are underrepresented in the danger scale. Every time I go to other countries all I hear is "woah crocodiles and snakes are bad in Australia" - thinking they just roam city centres ready to attack. Little do they know it's those ******s that will do the most damage. In pre-primary we had our year 1 orientation day - at recess I was walking onto the oval with my vegemite sandwich (that I made because my parents were hard workers and I've been independent since birth) and I was swooped by a magpie. Never happened before. I took off and I got pecked on the ear. The teacher on duty saved me. I started crying because my brother and sister warned me about bullies, dunny flushes, and said school can be terrible. It took less than half a day to realise that. I still remember older kids pointing and laughing at me as I was running away crying. After school I started doing pushups and situps so that the only people that would be running and crying would be those running from me. I haven't cried ever since.
And after said regime of situps and pushups, I hope you finally found that same magpie and wreaked vengeance upon them and theirs.

Going on my morning walk with my woofer I come across this snake opposite a primary school at a school crossing. I know the lollipop guy and he said yeah it’s been there for a while, I questioned is anyone getting someone to get it moved. Response was I mentioned it to the ranger and school principal (as the land belongs to the school) but they were more concerned who was responsible for it as it was in an area that had foliage and a run off .
I was mortified and said I hope a little kid waiting at the crossing (snake probably 3-4 meters from crossing) doesn’t go there f they lose their footy.
So when I got home I rang the council and after been put through to about four different people the person said he would follow it up .
Seriously I think some people should take responsibility when situations require it 119E83A2-8919-4C07-9E4F-EA0D2C83B6E1.jpeg