Play Nice Random Chat Thread V

When your day starts off with grabbing half a D for the garbo, and 1 decides to become a suicide bomber!! Mop and bucket to the kitchen circa 5:45am ..... might be a long day 🙃

Didn't think people still did that Rickety 😃
Just another little lesson for my best little mate. The garbo might be having a worse day than me, so far, might be I have made his day better. Or at least he can have a beer at the end of the day and give me a "thanks mate" :cool:

Could prolly also assume the worst is done for the day.
Let's hope. If I drop another beer though, there might be tears 🙃

You bulk up from a caloric surplus, sufficient protein intake and muscle protein synthesis - all of which can be achieved on a vegan diet.

There's no magical caloric difference between meat and plant-based foods which means you can't bulk up on a plant based diet.

It really gets up my goat when people who have no idea how to gain muscle mass start insulting people based on this stuff.

The average Joe who doesnt track macro and micronutrient intake, spread and timing will do better on an omnivorous diet just because there's less room for error. Athletes who meticulously track everything they eat and monitor their diet do fine.

I know how it works. I only stopped caring about calorie intake and eating clean a few years ago. The used to be obsessed with it.

None of which I’d consider powerful. They’re all pretty skinny tbh.

Can someone be 100% vegan if they kick a leather ball around for a job? What type of footy boots do they wear?

If someone is vegan because they see it as a health choice, then fair enough.

If someone is vegan because they see it as a moral choice, then evolution is laughing in their face.

............and so is Dr Kevin Wilson.

If someone is vegan because they see it as a health choice, then fair enough.

If someone is vegan because they see it as a moral choice, then evolution is laughing in their face.

............and so is Dr Kevin Wilson.

“You starved it to death you fat ****”. That’s funny.

Seriously though, I’m just saying it’s not the absolute best diet for an AFL footballer.

“You starved it to death you fat fu**”. That’s funny.

Seriously though, I’m just saying it’s not the absolute best diet for an AFL footballer.

No. It isn't.

Evolution promoted physical superiority and animal protein has been a corner stone.

It's not up for discussion. If people want to make moral or health (longevity) choices, then good for them, but it has no basis for universal acceptance.

Basically just staying away from any processed food.

It's all about macro & micronutrient balance. This can come from inside a plastic wrapper, it's just that this is not common. The better meal shakes combined with a source of fibre are perfectly healthy.

No. It isn't.

Evolution promoted physical superiority and animal protein has been a corner stone.

It's not up for discussion. If people want to make moral or health (longevity) choices, then good for them, but it has no basis for universal acceptance.

Thank you. It’s not even debatable, yet people are drinking that koolaid.

People misconstrue longevity with evolutionary success, it's not the case.

I don’t think most people are getting that deep into it. Otherwise they’d never get past what had to happen when you farm massive amounts of greens. All the wildlife killed in the process is mind blowing. So I doubt they’re thinking about evolutionary biology.

There is a LARGE difference between saying a particular diet is 'optimal' for power and performance athlete (on a side note, I doubt any of our players are on an 'optimal' diet, it's all about adherence and getting the right macro/micro balance), and the statements that Val has made here: "Find me a vegan athlete at the top of their class."

As I stated above, it is far easier for omnivores to get complete proteins, hit a good macro and micro balance (although in terms of performance it's probably macro plus fibre that should be the main concern). There's a difference between suggesting that it's easier to do so on such a diet, versus saying it's impossible to do on a plant-based diet. There absolutely are vegans who say that their diet is optimal for performance, they are wrong. But, their diet, in fitting with their ethics or whatever other concerns they have, can be absolutely fine for a performance athlete if they pay a lot more care and attention to it.

It's this zealotry on either side that is pretty damn shit.

Anyone who refers to 'clean eating' as the key to gains should be struck from the record and ignored.

As Snake up above says: it's about macro and micro nutrient balance (mostly macro for muscle protein synthesis and weight, but your colon, brain and organs will thank you for the micro side of the equation). It's not about arbitrary perceptions of clean eating and smashing down chicken, rice and broccoli all day every day.

The vast majority of decent athletes I've competed against had a diet which promoted adherence - the percentage of time that you hit the main factors for recovery, muscle protein synthesis and energy recruitment. For most people that's something that (1) fits with their ethics and values; and (2) doesn't come up with BS restrictions like 'only clean foods'. Mitch Starc has soft serve ice cream on tap during test matches, because his calorie expenditure is so high and his appetite so small that he drops a tonne of weight (and presumably muscle mass) during the course of a match.

This is a good article from a bloke with a PhD in muscle protein synthesis and nutrient timing, who proudly eats his meat, and is writing against the wave of zealotry from the vegan camp about it being optimal for performance: https://www.biolayne.com/articles/nutrition/will-veganism-kill-your-gains/

That article is well reasoned and just as equally combats the other side's (you can't hit peak performance if you don't eat meat) zealotry. It takes a lot more care and effort to get a good macro and micro balance on a vegan diet, conducive to performance. That's not in doubt. But this idea that you can't be the best in your class on this diet is just nonsense. Not a single athlete in the world has a 100 per cent bullet proof diet that is perfect in every sense. It all exists on a spectrum, and the differences at the performance end of the spectrum when people adhere to the main factors (macro and micro balance, and to a degree nutrient timing) are probably too minuscule or confounded by other factors to meaningfully measure.

Disclosure: not a vegan. Became a pescatarian as of Good Friday 2020. Dairy and seafood make it much easier for me to hit my targets without thinking or spending a fortune (although I am no longer a strength athlete), which is why I eat those. That and for some bizarre reason fish don't hit the heart string for me that mammals do.

I don’t think most people are getting that deep into it. Otherwise they’d never get past what had to happen when you farm massive amounts of greens. All the wildlife killed in the process is mind blowing. So I doubt they’re thinking about evolutionary biology.

Yes, I should temper my expectations more often.

1608587428314.png

Tell yourselves what you want, but no need attacking vegans about their life choices to validate yours. People are touchy because as soon as you "come out" as vegan or vegetarian, your life choices are being questioned. People complain about "militant vegans", "militant meat eaters" are no better. I do not fall into any of those camps by the way.

its still Monday here so:
in "honor" of Jane Fonda's birthday.
1608591341070.png
and this one is the only one i can put (all the other ones or getting into R rated territory)