Play Nice Random Chat Thread VII

Oh damn that sucks. I had to read blood meridian twice to understand it. True individual thinker
Yeah there were heaps of passages in there where I was like "what the **** is actually going on" and "who the heck is saying what" and I'd have to double back a few pages to try and contextualise it.

But as a kind of strange literary fever dream, it was bloody amazing.

Yeah there were heaps of passages in there where I was like "what the * is actually going on" and "who the heck is saying what" and I'd have to double back a few pages to try and contextualise it.

But as a kind of strange literary fever dream, it was bloody amazing.

Has the infamous title of being unadaptable to be turned into a movie, despite several attempts.

Reckon if there’s a person to do it, it would be Tarantino

Dan.

You asked what i've done for indigenous communities.

Well there was this:

I'm being facetious but if you want you can donate here:

All i really did then was hassle people to chuck a few dollars their way so if you haven't donated yet Dan please consider this an invitation. The BF board dontated over 1500 bucks to their cause and a large chunk of it came from this board. p[rops to everyone who chucked in.

Legends.

I have friends who I've known for decades and they are now elders. They consider me a member of their nation.

So anyway i've done so many things I dunno where to begin. Been involved in fundraisers for Missions, to get things like transport or sporting goods. Many years ago I worked on a native title claim a bit. Just helping out, not some expert or anything. Brought (redacted) paint and drove him to town to get art supplies I dunno how many times. Helped out at the rocks I dunno how many times (Nimbin Rocks had, still has an indigenous camp there for decades). Helped out with festivals, events, personal business.

I've been involved in coaching and playing footy with indigenous people (and kids wrt coaching) that meant driving hundreds of kms to get people to play, sometimes just to get them out of a bad situation and give them an opportunity to do something else.

Worked with cultural burners via the NSW RFS and (just because it was great) by myself on a few cultural burns here and there over the years.

I don't even know where to begin to list shit or what order or what. But those last two things were the best things I reckon in terms of what i got out of them. (Coaching the kids wasn't just indigenous people btw, it was just a footy side.)

I've sat in the bush with guys while they told me their stories, even their secret stories that they don't tell anyone. Been hunting with them. Things i can't even talk about for cultural and sometimes legal reasons.

I dunno... your question seems so weird to me.

As a young man I'd go fruit picking in the Riverina in the late 80s and 90s and being black in redneckville i'd often just hang out with indigenous people. Sometimes the old ladies (well not that old 30s and 40s) would make a point of asking about me,. looking after me and trying to chase up my story. They just assumed I was a member of the stolen generation looking for my country/home and people but I wasn't. But they wouldn't always believe me. this is before the stolen generation was known in Wite Australia. It was weird ... I guess they'd lost kids when they were younger.

Even now typing about this and remembering it brings a lump to my throat.

In relation to the Indigenous Voice to federal parliament.

I think the main thing a lot of people are missing in relation to the proposed amendments to our constitution is that we are not being asked vote for our favourite team, our preferred colour or political party. We are not being asked to make a true value judgement as such. We are being asked to support an amendment to our constitution that supports a concept based on our collective values after a long and and diligent process to get to this point.

A lot of the dialogue especially from the No side is really about process and to those people I say where have you been since 1967?

Those that oppose on grounds that aren’t process related are by reductive reasoning, must be coming from a racist perspective. Although there’s a clear crossover where the clever racist and the cynical politicians focus on process being the reason for No to hide their racism or dog whistling.

The concept we are being asked to vote for has been through exhaustive consultation with our indigenous Australians and been endorsed through the federal parliament which is the due process in a representative democracy such as ours.

The concept is to recognise indigenous Australians should and deserve to be heard at the highest level due to the gross injustices inflicted upon them in the name of the Crown (which ironically to this day is still the same Crown that is the head of Australia) throughout the past past 250 years.

These injustices were the wrong things to do to indigenous Australians and their land.

Put simply I will be voting Yes because it is the right thing to do.

Dan.

Well there was this:

All i really did then was hassle people to chuck a few dollars their way so if you haven't donated yet Dan please consider this an invitation. The BF board dontated over 1500 bucks to their cause and a large chunk of it came from this board. p[rops to everyone who chucked in.

Legends.

I have friends who I've known for decades and they are now elders. They consider me a member of their nation.

So anyway i've done so many things I dunno where to begin. Been involved in fundraisers for Missions, to get things like transport or sporting goods. Many years ago I worked on a native title claim a bit. Just helping out, not some expert or anything. Brought (redacted) paint and drove him to town to get art supplies I dunno how many times. Helped out at the rocks I dunno how many times (Nimbin Rocks had, still has an indigenous camp there for decades). Helped out with festivals, events, personal business.

I've been involved in coaching and playing footy with indigenous people (and kids wrt coaching) that meant driving hundreds of kms to get people to play, sometimes just to get them out of a bad situation and give them an opportunity to do something else.

Worked with cultural burners via the NSW RFS and (just because it was great) by myself on a few cultural burns here and there over the years.

I don't even know where to begin to list s**t or what order or what. But those last two things were the best things I reckon in terms of what i got out of them. (Coaching the kids wasn't just indigenous people btw, it was just a footy side.)

I've sat in the bush with guys while they told me their stories, even their secret stories that they don't tell anyone. Been hunting with them. Things i can't even talk about for cultural and sometimes legal reasons.

As a young man I'd go fruit picking in the Riverina in the late 80s and 90s and being black in redneckville i'd often just hang out with indigenous people. Sometimes the old ladies (well not that old 30s and 40s) would make a point of asking about me,. looking after me and trying to chase up my story. They just assumed I was a member of the stolen generation looking for my country/home and people but I wasn't. But they wouldn't always believe me. this is before the stolen generation was known in Wite Australia. It was weird ... I guess they'd lost kids when they were younger.

I think Dan is a troll on this issue baiting you to make you justify your position when you don’t have to. Hes having fun with you just to get a reaction. He’s the one who has to justify why he won’t vote yes and will tie himself in knots doing so without admitting his is a racist position

He asked me to respond in good faith so I have.

I'm responsible for how I act not what other people do.

I don't think he's a "hate black people" type.

But alot of people are worn out by all this, feel any criticism is personally aimed at them and also feel things are better now. They feel tired by all this stuff. And its not really their fault. Think back to the 2000 Olympics and you'd assume we've sorted this shit by now. We haven't cos for most of that time we've lacked real leadership in Australia.

While things are much better than they were they aren't fixed yet but alot of people don't believe that and have two decades of bullshit propaganda shoved down their throat to reinforce it.

As easy as it is to lose it and tell people to **** off maybe on reflection its bettter to engage with good faith and give other people the chance top live up to that.

Dan.

Well there was this:

Legends.

I don't even know where to begin to list s**t or what order or what. But those last two things were the best things I reckon in terms of what i got out of them. (Coaching the kids wasn't just indigenous people btw, it was just a footy side.)

So you've put in some loose change, done some volunteer work and participated in hobbies. Not exactly ground breaking stuff but its still more than what most people do......so I commend you for that and I take back the hot air/disingenuous part of my last post (no longer relates to you) in the clarko thread.
There's a distinct possibility that more than half the vote will be 'No'........are those people all racist? What would you say to indigenous people that have publicly declared that they will vote 'No'?

So you've put in some loose change, done some volunteer work and participated in hobbies. Not exactly ground breaking stuff but its still more than what most people do......so I commend you for that and I take back the hot air/disingenuous part of my last post (no longer relates to you) in the clarko thread.

There's a distinct possibility that more than half the vote will be 'No'........are those people all racist? What would you say to indigenous people that have publicly declared that they will vote 'No'?

I am intrigued at what you have done for Aboriginal people?

I’ve helped a few times as a first responder.(I won’t share specific branch or what happened on an internet forum)

I donate blood a couple times a year. It may have helped an indigenous person….probably not.

I saw a homeless Polynesian man with a dog a couple years before Covid. I gave whatever coin I had on me…4-5 dollars. I pat the dog too.

And I have a didgeridoo in my garage.

I’ve helped a few times as a first responder.(I won’t share specific branch or what happened on an internet forum)

I donate blood a couple times a year. It may have helped an indigenous person….probably not.

I saw a homeless Polynesian man with a dog a couple years before Covid. I gave whatever coin I had on me…4-5 dollars. I pat the dog too.

And I have a didgeridoo in my garage.

An expected response

They're just people who are part of my "community". I do the same sort of stuff for non aboriginal people in my "community" too.

I get the feeling that many non aboriginal people including yourself see aboriginal people as something other instead of just people who lived here longer. The way new immigrants this year see the rest of the country.

A big part of the issue here is the government of Australia isn't Australia, its just the management of an ongoing process of resource extraction for powerful people overseas. The land gets exploited for farming and mining resources and most of the profits go offshore and have since the 18th century. There's enough resources stay here to keep most people in the cities distracted from it.

People who live on the land or connected to it, not just blackfellas but whitefellas too have a different view, but there's **** all small holdings for farmers anymore. Most of it is big agribusiness. The people who live in cities - well Paul Kelly nailed that - every ****en city is just the same.

Maybe we're slightly better off cos footy gives us a unique sense of place in the world but it competing against a planet that's franchised.

You ever think an indigenous voice to parliament might make the point that we have more gas offshore in the west than anyone else else on earth? So why aren't everyone in the country as rich as the citizens of Gulf States? Bass Starit is full of oil and the country is full of food so why are people having to choose between buying food or buying fuel to get to work?

The people funding the No vote are the same people making money off the status quo and they don't want any challenge to it.

An indigenous voice to parliament is potentially a voice from the people who've been here forever (or close enough to forever) and i'll bet you its not something the people who run parliament (high ranking public servants, high ranking politicians and their lobbyist mates) really want to hear.

Covid has broken alot of otherwise rational people.

It’s a shame. Not just because of the money lost to charity, but because it would be good to hear out two intellectuals with opposing opinions in a long form conversation on the biggest platform in media.

Rogan’s not informed enough to counter expert opinions so having them on individually doesn’t do much good.