Random discussion thread.

For users of 'videobb' and 'videoizer' as well as megavideo, you may notice that these are no longer working, and may have something to do with SOPA, which is an anti-piracy bill going through US congress, read more below

http://gizmodo.com/5877000/what-is-sopa:thumbsd:

I'm in support of those that want to stop piracy. I really hate the way the US are enforcing it.

Agree. I'm continue to be surprised at how blasé people are about torrents.

With something like TV, the networks in Australia have and continue to treat the viewer with complete disdain. It's impossible to watch a program on FTA in Australia with the insane amount of ad breaks, ad-hoc scheduling and the like. I have a friend who, for example, watched all of the episodes of Mad Men via torrent, but bought the DVD set for second viewing. A pragmatic decision to see the show but deliver some revenue back.

I have sympathy for the position when industries haven't evolved and treat their consumer base as a captive market and like idiots.

With something like TV, the networks in Australia have and continue to treat the viewer with complete disdain. It's impossible to watch a program on FTA in Australia with the insane amount of ad breaks, ad-hoc scheduling and the like. I have a friend who, for example, watched all of the episodes of Mad Men via torrent, but bought the DVD set for second viewing. A pragmatic decision to see the show but deliver some revenue back.

I have sympathy for the position when industries haven't evolved and treat their consumer base as a captive market and like idiots.

Agreed that TV networks treat their viewers with contempt, but the fallout is that those that produce the content are being ripped off through file sharing. There's already a severe shortage of quality TV shows, but if the business of making TV becomes unprofitable then the situation will get even worse.

Killing off the file sharing sites is like shutting down Ford because a lot of people are speeding. Ever since the Internet became mainstream governments and corporations have been in a state of panic because nobody controls it or owns it. This SOPA bizzo seems to be a front for old school control and filtering of a new type of media.

Agreed that TV networks treat their viewers with contempt, but the fallout is that those that produce the content are being ripped off through file sharing. There's already a severe shortage of quality TV shows, but if the business of making TV becomes unprofitable then the situation will get even worse.

On the contrary, there has never been more quality tv programs being created than there are now. Just look at producers like HBO, AMC and people like that. Actors, directors and writers are clamouring to work on productions via these people.

As for the Australian market: our tv stations really have no interest in making quality shows. They simply want to produce stuff that rates; if that's My Kitchen Rules or some other celebrity crap, they don't care what they make.

There was a very interesting industry white paper commissioned a couple of years back and it raised many of these issues with the Australian tv network. It basically concluded unless they changed their model of operaion they couldn't expect consumers to stand by and accept what they were being dished up and when. The bottom line is that the networks only offered two three things that were unique, in that people would tune in for at the times they wanted: live sport, news and 'event shows'. In short, the paper said that networks had to change their offering and identify with consumer needs, rather than try to force people to go back to the 'old' model.

So I headed to Bunnings today with GM Jnr in tow. On the way I saw something really odd/off.

It was a hot day. Actually seemed hotter than what the Mercury showed. Me and Jnr stopped at a nearby 7 Eleven for water. As I was parking I saw a woman who I've noticed around the area a bit. Always seems to be walking up the road to the 7 Eleven or loitering around there. It seems she bots cigarettes. Anyway, it's not unfair to say she's pretty damn rough.

So, I was sitting in the car watching her as she was approaching people who were turning her dismissively away. "It's the hot weather," I thought, "tough gig botting smokes on a day like this."

As I got out of the car she had approached an Indian guy in a red Ford or something and I distinctly heard her say, "buy me a bottle of Coke and I'll give you a blowie".

"Ah, ha," I thought, "that's why people are shooing her away."

But no, after like a mili-second of thinking time the guy lead her into the store. A couple of minutes later she emerged holding a 600ml Coke (freakin' cheapskate) and got into the car with the guy presumably to give him a Slurpee to accompany the one he bought from the 7 Eleven.

You did not answer the Question Grizz;)
Grizz was speaking from a third person again. I can tell you that a 600ml coke is overpriced for a blowie frankston way:D:D:D more appropriate tender would be a freddo frog.

On the contrary, there has never been more quality tv programs being created than there are now. Just look at producers like HBO, AMC and people like that. Actors, directors and writers are clamouring to work on productions via these people.

As for the Australian market: our tv stations really have no interest in making quality shows. They simply want to produce stuff that rates; if that's My Kitchen Rules or some other celebrity crap, they don't care what they make.

There was a very interesting industry white paper commissioned a couple of years back and it raised many of these issues with the Australian tv network. It basically concluded unless they changed their model of operaion they couldn't expect consumers to stand by and accept what they were being dished up and when. The bottom line is that the networks only offered two three things that were unique, in that people would tune in for at the times they wanted: live sport, news and 'event shows'. In short, the paper said that networks had to change their offering and identify with consumer needs, rather than try to force people to go back to the 'old' model.

Agree that there's some quality coming out now but with all the piracy that goes on I wonder what incentive there is for the producers to make more of it? That's what I worry about.

How many people actually paid (either with dollars or by watching advertising) for the privilege of watching breaking bad?

But I agree with your line of discussion on the race to the bottom. I read a similar (perhaps the same) whitepaper about how Australian networks are avoiding the outlay of producing series and were trending towards imported series. Seinfeld and a few others did well but now it's all we get. Oh yes there's news - LOTS of news.

Take out Reality TV (which is just rubbish imo), how many decent shows are really out there?

There's less and less with the uptake of RTV. Its cheap as shit to make (one host and the contestants work for free) versus say a series of Dexter where you have actors to pay salaries to.

A grizz moment today (without the red spots to show for a bottle of coke)

So today cone home early. I'm preparing dinner, when this faint noise goes off.

I slowly work out, it's the fire alarm in my tower of the apartment building. I take the stairs, amazing how many ********s take the elevator!:confused:

So back to the moral, I walk out, introduce myself to the neighbors and wait for the fire brigade.... (we could not see smoke in the building)

So, something draws my attention......
A girl runs out the door in undies and bra screaming 'fire, fire!'

All the blokes forget abt the fire danger and stare.....

So a lady says:
'for f)&k's sake, your in your 20's and you have saggers, put a f:$k'n robe on!

To the guys dissapointment, she ran inside (I did see a guy following her with a 600 ml bottle of coke:D

Well it was a false alarm, albeit, great to meet our neighbors!

To the guys dissapointment, she ran inside (I did see a guy following her with a 600 ml bottle of coke:D

I didn't know Hank was visiting you. Thought I saw him hanging out the front of 7 Eleven with a 2lt Coke this arvo. Must have been mistaken.

So a lady says:
'for f)&k's sake, your in your 20's and you have saggers, put a f:$k'n robe on!

You able to provide a better description mate for Grizz to confirm it is indeed the same bird he 'red spotted' down at the Franga 7-11?

I am curious if there is any psychological research on the impact of a resignation from their employer on a individual (GH to perform google search).

I resigned yesterday, after 4 years with my current employer (I have resigned at other forms of employment). The relief can only be compared to drinking 6 VBs and ‘breaking the seal’. Actually I may renew that comparison this evening!

I must say I felt a sense of relief, as I was not enjoying what I was doing for sometime, and pretty much only worked there due to the salary (to pay the bills/ debt) and the comfort in that I could control my own schedule, not work late, run in the morning, go to see the hawks train etc. But I noticed to more unhappy I was at work, the less I have a shit about my career, and my ambition disappeared. I must say that upon joining this employer, a friend, who is an executive coach told me this would happen. So I bit the bullet and resigned.

So the question is, if you have resigned recently or during your career, how did you feel, and was it the right/ wrong decision and where did it take you?

I am curious if there is any psychological research on the impact of a resignation from their employer on a individual (GH to perform google search).

I resigned yesterday, after 4 years with my current employer (I have resigned at other forms of employment). The relief can only be compared to drinking 6 VBs and ‘breaking the seal’. Actually I may renew that comparison this evening!

I must say I felt a sense of relief, as I was not enjoying what I was doing for sometime, and pretty much only worked there due to the salary (to pay the bills/ debt) and the comfort in that I could control my own schedule, not work late, run in the morning, go to see the hawks train etc. But I noticed to more unhappy I was at work, the less I have a shit about my career, and my ambition disappeared. I must say that upon joining this employer, a friend, who is an executive coach told me this would happen. So I bit the bullet and resigned.

So the question is, if you have resigned recently or during your career, how did you feel, and was it the right/ wrong decision and where did it take you?

Welcome to the roller coaster of emotions that will be with you now and for months to come even after you secure new employment. Everything from "Oh Gawd its Great to be outtahere!" to "Oh Gawd why did I do it?"

Most studies show changing your job as one of the most stressful times that you experience in life. Not quite up there with loss of a dearly loved one but not that far off.

Im suprised someone hasnt offered you a CD or DVD of Tony Robbins and his NLP series to help guide you through.

Back in the late 1880's when I studying and involved in the employment hiring and firing process, we got to touch on the work of guys like Maslow & his hierarchy of needs and Fredrick Herzberg & his two factor theory of motivation and hygiene factors that influence our work, life etc.

Here is a thrilling final point that you wouldnt want to ponder. We so often judge a person by the position in society, their job, their wealth and income. Just imagine you are sitting at training with HenryJr next to you & someone asks what you do. When you tell them your unemployed, dont be suprised if they dont start fishing around in their pockets to give you their loose change!!

VB's mate - reckon you can do better than that!

Judging by the tone of your post and clarity contained within, it sounds like you did exactly the right thing, GH. And I bet it's liberating too.

Life is too short. Best of luck with it all.

Totally agree with grizz gh!!! - if you are not happy with your life (in whatever regard) only you can change it.

Very gutsy thing to do - if you can afford it - take some time and enjoy it, refocus your ideals, and come back hungry.

Plenty of research into it GH.

You spend a minimum of 40 hours a week at work. That's a looooooooong time to be stressed, miserable or unfulfilled. The relief is great and even when people jump ship for something worse (well, less pay or less secure income like starting their own business) they generally report increased feelings of well being.

Enjoy it.

Plenty of research into it GH.

You spend a minimum of 40 hours a week at work. That's a looooooooong time to be stressed, miserable or unfulfilled. The relief is great and even when people jump ship for something worse (well, less pay or less secure income like starting their own business) they generally report increased feelings of well being.

Enjoy it.

Sorry to pull you up LP but plug in another figure (much lower of course) will you mate please.

Just the mention of the word 40 starts to give him the shakes...

Random discussion thread.