Discussion Random Discussion

I still live at home and I'm 27. I'd love to leave with the way house prices keep going up are I'm here for a bit longer. Every week I've put 150 dollars a week away in another account with higher interest(which is now being demolished because the RBA are trying to move deck chairs on the titanic) to save.

Around my area there's houses going for 500k plus that feature: A location closer to Pluto than Melbourne's CBD, A massive drive to a train station, no public transport and roads which belong in the 18th century!

500K an outer suburb is pathetic!
Nah you're misunderstanding you've just gotta pull yourselves up by your boostraps and make it work mate, no reason to complain about the fact that it's as hard to buy a house now as it was for a serf in the middle ages. Don't you understand that the older generation made it work? They worked two minimum wage jobs to pay for their mortgage and even though it'd be almost impossible to find 2 minimum wage jobs for 1 person and even though that definitely wouldn't even pay for a down payment on a house, they had it tougher and don't you forget it! Because if you do then they'll be right there to remind you.

My internet data usage went from about 120 gigabytes a month to 2,950 gigabytes.

I’m on an unlimited plan so it doesn’t actually cost me anything, but I don’t know why this is happening.

I’m seriously wondering if all the neighbours are hacked in to my account.

I do have a 21 and 25 year old living at home (kinda fits in to the discussion we’ve been having) and one is a gaming addict. But still...3,000 gigabytes?! Not even sure how that’s possible.

Any tech savvy posters know why this might be happening or how I can find out what is the primary cause?
I'd be shocked if just your family were using 3k gigs a month, probably change your wifi password. Your ISP might also be able to see the number of connections to your wifi at any one time so if you count all your and your families devices and find out there's more connections then you'd confirm others were using it.

Nah you're misunderstanding you've just gotta pull yourselves up by your boostraps and make it work mate, no reason to complain about the fact that it's as hard to buy a house now as it was for a serf in the middle ages. Don't you understand that the older generation made it work? They worked two minimum wage jobs to pay for their mortgage and even though it'd be almost impossible to find 2 minimum wage jobs for 1 person and even though that definitely wouldn't even pay for a down payment on a house, they had it tougher and don't you forget it! Because if you do then they'll be right there to remind you.

You are so full of crap, get a grip on yourself and stop misquoting people, better still find a mirror and argue with yourself, arguing is all you seem to know how to do.

I wasn't talking to or about you in particular. Relax. You aren't that special to me and I've heard it all before.

So much for the older generations being more mature and setting a good example I suppose. Oh well. I'm not gonna spit the dummy like old mate :)

I reckon it pays to be nice to everyone Crusty, Cornish is a good bloke and always a pretty respectful. I know plenty of boomers who are friends of my parents who are and were hippies. They have lived small footprint lives and never chased money.

It's a bit overly simplistic to blame a generation when it's a full system that is stacked against the working people that really came about through corporate greed. The neo liberal ideas of free markets and deregulated systems haven't made it even.

The west is going through a period of readjustment to our finances at the same time as the the wealth is being condensed. It means people starting out with out a decent base or limited access to decent incomes can be pushed out and disenfranchised.

To me you want a society that doesn't leave people behind because it's like eating a banquet in front of a starving person. It makes it hard to enjoy yourself.

I guess in short all generations have a mix of campaigners and good people. People in the older generations are struggling too if they didn't set themselves up.

I reckon it pays to be nice to everyone Crusty, Cornish is a good bloke and always a pretty respectful. I know plenty of boomers who are friends of my parents who are and were hippies. They have lived small footprint lives and never chased money.

It's a bit overly simplistic to blame a generation when it's a full system that is stacked against the working people that really came about through corporate greed. The neo liberal ideas of free markets and deregulated systems haven't made it even.

The west is going through a period of readjustment to our finances at the same time as the the wealth is being condensed. It means people starting out with out a decent base or limited access to decent incomes can be pushed out and disenfranchised.

To me you want a society that doesn't leave people behind because it's like eating a banquet in front of a starving person. It makes it hard to enjoy yourself.

I guess in short all generations have a mix of campaigners and good people. People in the older generations are struggling too if they didn't set themselves up.
Yeah nah fair enough. I just don't appreciate being told I'm lazy, entitled or whatever "chicken lips" is for disagreeing with someone. And yeah for sure I can see the problems hurt everyone in different ways. But to just deny there's a problem and say "just work harder" is a head in the sand approach that helps precisely no one.

The problem these days is it’s too easy to spend money. There’s so much entertainment & then extra content to purchase as part of each entertainment package. It’s difficult to live a minimalist lifestyle when all this stuff is thrown in your face & everyone else has it. Got to keep up with the Jones’. I reckon if you are strong enough to ignore it all you can live a fairly comfortable life & still own a house & send your kids to a good school. I like nice stuff so unfortunately I get sucked in though!

I think the thread has drifted into Python’s Meaning of Life territory. Complex argument that’s all too difficult, so let’s talk about hats.

I wear hats when I'm self conscious about receding hairlines and more hair on body than on the top of my head.

You get a bit self conscious when you go shopping look in those mirrors and go "who's that bloke" since you don't recognise your own noggin.

Please explain.

Well when hormones meet social media platforms you end up with poor life choices and...

The problem these days is it’s too easy to spend money. There’s so much entertainment & then extra content to purchase as part of each entertainment package. It’s difficult to live a minimalist lifestyle when all this stuff is thrown in your face & everyone else has it. Got to keep up with the Jones’. I reckon if you are strong enough to ignore it all you can live a fairly comfortable life & still own a house & send your kids to a good school. I like nice stuff so unfortunately I get sucked in though!

Yeah, I went in a different direction to my mates and chose to do something I enjoy and I can't say I'm not comfortable. But on cup day we all get together with the families and it's hard when you are the guy with out the $100,000 plus car and your kids don't go to the best school and the holiday houses and crap. It's really hard to not compare yourself to them and want it too.

Then you start to talk to them and realise they don't get to enjoy it anyway. There are only a couple of them that actually have a decent lifestyle even though they have everything you are meant to want.

I think the thread has drifted into Python’s Meaning of Life territory. Complex argument that’s all too difficult, so let’s talk about hats.
Speaking of classic British comedy - has anybody been watching Detectorists.

Two more shows to complete the third series and the end of the show. Only 18 shows in total and ranks up there with Fawlty Towers for its writing and quality of its cast.

As one reviewer observed - "I’m tempted to beg for more, but begin to wonder if creator MacKenzie Crook isn’t quite right to leave it at this: perfect, and thus unimprovable, a treasure to be simply yearned over with wry wistfulness. Pub? Yeah, go on then."

Two more shows to complete the third series and the end of the show. Only 18 shows in total and ranks up there with Fawlty Towers for its writing and quality of its cast.

As one reviewer observed - "I’m tempted to beg for more, but begin to wonder if creator MacKenzie Crook isn’t quite right to leave it at this: perfect, and thus unimprovable, a treasure to be simply yearned over with wry wistfulness. Pub? Yeah, go on then."

I haven’t been but will catch up on it. Thanks mate I love this type of comedy!

I'm soft myself so have a soft spot for youth. I have lived a privileged life and not really struggled ever, if I hadn't had parents who could help me out I'd have probably been a homeless bum in a doorway somewhere.

Good on you for making it work out for yourself. I thought you were joking at first, a butterless lard and turnip sandwiches sounds like Cornish mines in the 1800s.
I think the generation battle is pointless still, lots of young people work overtime without pay and the old manufacturing jobs aren't around any more. It's a different world good or bad.

Every generation faces its own unique challenges. It has ever been thus, since Zog and Thag competed for the first cave to live in.

I'm with Gringo about the "yoong folk" o' tooday. My two are 26 and 24. Young professionals, smart accomplished and ambitious. They work their arses off. The first born just bought a very nice two bedder in Highett. The girl is engaged and they are building in, gulp, Officer. You've got to start somewhere.

I hold great hope for their generation. They certainly seem more tolerant, accepting and broadly educated than my gen. I have my 40th year HSC reunion coming up next Friday. Should be fascinating.

PS. We 'ad it toof! I dreamed of being able to have a lard and turnip sandwich! Looxoory! 😀

I'm just self interested. The average age a Aussie kid leaves home now is getting later and later. I love my kids but I don't want them at home after they finish uni.

Just do what I did, Gringo. One day when they went off to uni, I changed the locks and left on a European vacation. They were gone by the time I got back. Simples!

Warning: Actual events and those stated in this post may vary. Considerably.

Every generation faces its own unique challenges. It has ever been thus, since Zog and Thag competed for the first cave to live in.

I'm with Gringo about the "yoong folk" o' tooday. My two are 26 and 24. Young professionals, smart accomplished and ambitious. They work their arses off. The first born just bought a very nice two bedder in Highett. The girl is engaged and they are building in, gulp, Officer. You've got to start somewhere.

I hold great hope for their generation. They certainly seem more tolerant, accepting and broadly educated than my gen. I have my 40th year HSC reunion coming up next Friday. Should be fascinating.

PS. We 'ad it toof! I dreamed of being able to have a lard and turnip sandwich! Looxoory! 😀

Funny my nephew bought in Officer, he seems to think its ok down there, just has to leave home early for the commute to town.

Talking of food, my dad jumped in his little Hillman Minx to head up to Newcastle area to see about jobs in the coal mines, i was about 10 i think, when he got home the car was chock full of all these green things shaped like a butternut pumkin, they were Grammas he picked from a cow paddock in the Hunter Valley. We had Gramma Pie for ever, i loved it at 1st but i couldnt look at it today, talk about overkill :D I think it was essetially gramma and golden syrup made into a pie for desert and drop the golden syrup for main course.

Funny my nephew bought in Officer, he seems to think its ok down there, just has to leave home early for the commute to town.

Talking of food, my dad jumped in his little Hillman Minx to head up to Newcastle area to see about jobs in the coal mines, i was about 10 i think, when he got home the car was chock full of all these green things shaped like a butternut pumkin, they were Grammas he picked from a cow paddock in the Hunter Valley. We had Gramma Pie for ever, i loved it at 1st but i couldnt look at it today, talk about overkill :D I think it was essetially gramma and golden syrup made into a pie for desert and drop the golden syrup for main course.

Fortunately my daughter and her fiance both work as nurses at St. John of God Hospital in Berwick, which takes the sting out of the commute. They've accessed a special "mortgage maximiser" program, which is an offset account with some extra bells and whistles. Should have it paid off in 8-10 years, all going well, instead of the 30 years the banks were offering. Bastards, aren't they?

Loved the story about grandma's cooking. My parents, who lived through the depression and WW2 in Germany, knew a bit about stretching ingredients. Some of their efforts, however, left me scarred for life!😀

Just a quick reflection on how little things change.

"The children now love luxury; they have bad manners, contempt for authority; they show disrespect for elders and love chatter in place of exercise. Children are now tyrants, not the servants of their households. They no longer rise when elders enter the room.

Socrates over two thousand years ago. Or it could've been Lara Bingle. One of the two!

I stated it but dropped off. I think I watched about 3 episodes. It's got a slow pace and a dreary Englishness that probably takes time to buy into. I'll give it another go. I watched Friday night Dinner on Stan, that's like dumb Frank Spencer type humour rather than the dramedy format but so stupid it's kind of endearing. I liked the Inbetweeners too.

I quite liked After Life with Ricky Jervais, a lot of people hated it though.

What is a Gramma? Eating Gramma pie sounds like a disturbing euphemism. ;)

Fortunately my daughter and her fiance both work as nurses at St. John of God Hospital in Berwick, which takes the sting out of the commute. They've accessed a special "mortgage maximiser" program, which is an offset account with some extra bells and whistles. Should have it paid off in 8-10 years, all going well, instead of the 30 years the banks were offering. Bastards, aren't they?

Loved the story about grandma's cooking. My parents, who lived through the depression and WW2 in Germany, knew a bit about stretching ingredients. Some of their efforts, however, left me scarred for life!😀

Didn't the word ersatz come from WWII Krauts eating gunpowder as salt and pepper and stuff?

What is a Gramma? Eating Gramma pie sounds like a disturbing euphemism. ;)

Gramma is a type of pumpkin or gourd that grows in warm climates as far as i know, and it can bloody stay there.

Attachments

• gram.jpg
    gram.jpg
    35.8 KB · Views: 57