Discussion Random Discussion

Are we one of the 3 AFL players , that don't employ a shrink ?

We share Richmond's club psychologist...well did last year. My wife met a Psych who was doing Mindfulness training and worked for a Melbourne club, he claimed he turned down the Saints for his current club after he's toured Seaford and decided it was a an amateur set up.

That's probably Stereotyping. Like i said , i knew a Schoolteacher with a house and family in the burbs. Not sure if they were damaged people trying to numb anything, partying that got out of hand seems way more likely.
Any addiction is about numbing the pain from something. It provides relief from what is us. The trick is finding an addiction that doesn't destroy you. Whether it, 's drugs, hoarding, OCD, gambling, food, sex or exercise, it can always be traced back to a root cause. Nature abhors a vacuum. All voids need to be filled. If you think addiction is not a response to emotional and physical pain, grief and loss, I suggest you may be addicted to denial.

Bunnings wouldn’t let me load up 8 lengths of 150x25 Pine Valleyboard (total weight 50kg?) today on my Hilux with Industrial roof racks.

The forklift operator wanted me to produce an engineering certificate for the racks.

Any addiction is about numbing the pain from something. It provides relief from what is us. The trick is finding an addiction that doesn't destroy you. Whether it, 's drugs, hoarding, OCD, gambling, food, sex or exercise, it can always be traced back to a root cause. Nature abhors a vacuum. All voids need to be filled. If you think addiction is not a response to emotional and physical pain, grief and loss, I suggest you may be addicted to denial.

My addiction is the Saints. Whether they destroy me, only time will tell! ;)
( my favourite, purple rolly-eye emoji is gone....I don’t like this new incarnation!)

Bunnings wouldn’t let me load up 8 lengths of 150x25 Pine Valleyboard (total weight 50kg?) today on my Hilux with Industrial roof racks.

The forklift operator wanted me to produce an engineering certificate for the racks.
Good grief!

My addiction is the Saints. Whether they destroy me, only time will tell! ;)
( my favourite, purple rolly-eye emoji is gone....I don’t like this new incarnation!)
You make my point for me, Diehard Saint. I am similarly afflicted. I feel your pain, sister!

Good grief!

Good Grief isn’t quite what I said to the forklift operator. I honestly thought he was cracking a joke.

Drove 17km to the next Bunnings and loaded it myself. No problem. Thank you for the business sir, have a great day.

Meanwhile I got a carpenter working double time sitting on his toolbox swinging his hammer in circles.

Mildly infuriating.

Good Grief isn’t quite what I said to the forklift operator. I honestly thought he was cracking a joke.

Drove 17km to the next Bunnings and loaded it myself. No problem. Thank you for the business sir, have a great day.

Meanwhile I got a carpenter working double time sitting on his toolbox swinging his hammer in circles.

Mildly infuriating.
I'd ring up and complain.

I have never ever heard of that shit. And I did a few shifts with them over the years.

Tend to agree for the most part Drake!
But all those vices you listed, didn't start off that way! Just because you might do certain things doesn't automatically
Mean you are addicted and masking some sort of pain!
But once something does get a hold of you and you begin becoming a slave to the habit
Then unquestionably it obviously fills a need in one to like you say more often than not replace something missing!

So in summary I think it also goes unnoticed just how many people slip into addiction just through their own
Genetic makeup in many cases as to their compulsive instincts and patterns!
This can make the denial so many seem to suffer from even more ingrained!

Do you even lift bro?

2ed54418197990ace9875d156be24399.jpg

Tend to agree for the most part Drake!
But all those vices you listed, didn't start off that way! Just because you might do certain things doesn't automatically
Mean you are addicted and masking some sort of pain!
But once something does get a hold of you and you begin becoming a slave to the habit
Then unquestionably it obviously fills a need in one to like you say more often than not replace something missing!

So in summary I think it also goes unnoticed just how many people slip into addiction just through their own
Genetic makeup in many cases as to their compulsive instincts and patterns!
This can make the denial so many seem to suffer from even more ingrained!
Fair comment. For many it starts out as a lifestyle choice, I would assume, as I have never been addicted to drugs or alcohol or smoking.

It's mostly coffee and donuts these days.

I'd imagine it becomes a "happy place" for people to go to when their coping mechanisms fail.

If Bunnings starts to police the crazy shit people try and get into/onto their cars they would go out of business.

Yeah, they leave guys free to go with 3 meter lengths of pine hanging out the back of a hatchback but worry about a roof rack all of a sudden. Must just be some officious idiot who got excited by having a name badge.

Fair comment. For many it starts out as a lifestyle choice, I would assume, as I have never been addicted to drugs or alcohol or smoking.

It's mostly coffee and donuts these days.

I'd imagine it becomes a "happy place" for people to go to when their coping mechanisms fail.

Exactly. "The happy place" is what it's all about. As MM suggested, it can start out as the pursuit of pleasure, but once an addiction is formed it becomes a need. The very definition of an addiction is something you can't control.

The neural networks that form during the initial period only become stronger through the constant reinforcement of exposure. You are literally changing your hormonal and neurological responses. This "new" physiology is what makes withdrawal so difficult. Your body has to adjust and it gives you pain and discomfort because it wants what it is used to. Persist, and eventually you return to normal.

Willpower is a crucial factor, but not the entire answer. As for functioning addicts, they are everywhere, in much the same way people with various disabilities cope in silence. I know quite a few, including a doctor dealing with his opiate addiction and an ex copper turned lawyer who puts so much devil's dandruff up his nose, he keeps the Columbian economy afloat.

I had a neighbour when I was growing up who flew for the RAF in WW2. He was badly burnt in a crash and during his treatment became addicted to Heroin, which was the pain killer of choice in those days. On returning home to Manchester after the war, he was placed on a program for veterans, whereby he was administered 3 doses og heroin per week.

The key was a pure supply, administered correctly by doctors and nurses. This continued for almost a decade as he was weaned off it. There were a few relapses, but eventually he stayed clean and migrated to Australia. He had a very successful life and career, both back in England and here. I guess he was part of the longest legal heroin injecting program in history.

COR .... chain of responsability ... we have similar at my work the risk is if there is a traffic accident and that lod becomes unsecure then the COR fall back to the business supplying the goods ... we copped a huge fine some months ago when a guy can and loaded 4x 204L drums of oil onto his ute but didnt tie down for side movment , he took the second corner out of our driveway and the drums slipped and two fell off onto the road pouring 400L of diesel engine oil ont the road ... honestly the risk of allowing customers to take home their own goods is huge so i dont really blame the bloke at bunnings as hes just been instructed from higher up to be ultra careful

Yeah, they leave guys free to go with 3 meter lengths of pine hanging out the back of a hatchback but worry about a roof rack all of a sudden. Must just be some officious idiot who got excited by having a name badge.
the issue is the forklift driver loading it ... realistically a customer walking out and loading their own car they have little control over but once they have to load it they are part of the loading responsability so the risk is on them ... considering the fines that are involved i dont blame the forklift guy for not wanting to risk it

COR .... chain of responsability ... we have similar at my work the risk is if there is a traffic accident and that lod becomes unsecure then the COR fall back to the business supplying the goods ... we copped a huge fine some months ago when a guy can and loaded 4x 204L drums of oil onto his ute but didnt tie down for side movment , he took the second corner out of our driveway and the drums slipped and two fell off onto the road pouring 400L of diesel engine oil ont the road ... honestly the risk of allowing customers to take home their own goods is huge so i dont really blame the bloke at bunnings as hes just been instructed from higher up to be ultra careful
the issue is the forklift driver loading it ... realistically a customer walking out and loading their own car they have little control over but once they have to load it they are part of the loading responsability so the risk is on them ... considering the fines that are involved i dont blame the forklift guy for not wanting to risk it
Honestly, I understand what you’re talking about.

However, someone suggesting my ute couldn’t carry that load is the same as someone suggesting that a commercial courier couldn’t carry that load. Sheer lunacy.

When I get my trestles and scaff planks up there they would weigh three times that load. When I go camping I carry more weight than that load. In no sane world could somebody competent look at my Ute and the load and say, ‘nah mate, it’s too big’.

Honestly, that forklift operator was being malicious. For what reason I don’t know.

Probably failed entrance exam for parking officers.