Discussion Random Discussion

Clearly all Scott Morrison's fault , he obviously had the power to stop this climate change and prevent the bush fires.

And what's more i have taps full of water, why the hell doesn't he turn it into wine for me.

Whats it got to do with your politics.
How do you suggest it should have been prevented?
How do you suggest it should be prevented in future?

Did you get permission to use those hard working firemen to promote your cause?
Ask jonnyray, he reckons climate change is far left lunacy.

For your other questions maybe ask tjis bloke. He has the opportunity to address it not me.

No cause being persue, just posting current affairs.

Pretty bad viewing I agree.

Screenshot_20191219-190348_Twitter.jpeg Screenshot_20191220-225518_Twitter.jpeg

Ask jonnyray, he reckons climate change is far left lunacy.

For your other questions maybe ask tjis bloke. He has the opportunity to address it not me.

No cause being persue, just posting current affairs.

Pretty bad viewing I agree.

View attachment 797259View attachment 797260

No he doesn't

I asked you the question.
You don't KNOW and answer.

Scott Morrison is a leader with limited power, of a backwater country with limited ability to address this issue.
People of small vision such as yourself still think Australia can implement policy to stop bushfires in Australia.

For starters the current climate isn't caused by things that happened in the last couple of years.

But yea keep making out that Liberals destroyed the planet and Labor are the saviors. Neither is remotely true.
Keep posting your childish pictures as if it will possibly help anything.
You clearly think that Morrison should have been making useless political appearances near the bushfires, with his "serious face" on until the last ember is out. Political statements are clearly what you think are the cause and solution of climate change.

Me , i blame Livinia Nixon, she was smiling so happily as she read out the grim climate that awaits us.

No he doesn't

I asked you the question.
You don't KNOW and answer.

Scott Morrison is a leader with limited power, of a backwater country with limited ability to address this issue.
People of small vision such as yourself still think Australia can implement policy to stop bushfires in Australia.

For starters the current climate isn't caused by things that happened in the last couple of years.

But yea keep making out that Liberals destroyed the planet and Labor are the saviors. Neither is remotely true.
Keep posting your childish pictures as if it will possibly help anything.
You clearly think that Morrison should have been making useless political appearances near the bushfires, with his "serious face" on until the last ember is out. Political statements are clearly what you think are the cause and solution of climate change.

Me , i blame Livinia Nixon, she was smiling so happily as she read out the grim climate that awaits us.
Nobody thinks Scott Morrison could have prevented the bushfires or stop them SS.

I’m tempted to crack some joke about the end of the hose and his lack of ability but I don’t think you’d get it.

You’re missing the point. All we want is some support for the firies that isn’t retrospective.

And maybe a better future energy policy.

Nobody thinks Scott Morrison could have prevented the bushfires or stop them SS.

The problem is, it seems like many people do. They're calling them the "Morrison fires" blaming him for his lack of action in making these fires worse. It's misplaced blame and anger but it is happening.
The way some people are going on about the fires, you'd think it was the first time they've ever heard of a bushfire. I guess it's to be expected when they're affected for (probably) the first time in their lives in Sydney with bushfire smoke. It finally affects them, and the sky is falling.

Foghorn leghorn stuff
just people with very little understanding of the situation

To me it's just a cheap shot coming out and trying to make it political. I don't rate how Morrison has handled the emergency, he stuffed it up but politicians trying to be "good blokes" when there is an emergency or cheap point scoring doesn't make a debate. It just makes them look opportunistic. Love her or hate her I reckon Jacinta Ahern looks like a leader when there is a disaster. She seems to know how to calm the situation without looking like she's doing it to make her self look better.

Climate change probably has made fires worse, it stands to reason that less rain and more heat should make it burn easier. It's just not really the time to fight over it. Just need to get it contained and work out how to minimise damage in the future. To me having Scomo home from holidays would be a negative. I have family who are in the in the DSE and ar CFA firefighters, they hate when they have politicians at fires because they have to meet them and waste time where they could be out or take up their breaks making small talk with dumb arses so they can look good in front of a camera.

Yep. It's far left lunacy.

I'm not sure it is any more. It might have started that way but even the deputy prime minister who is also a Nationals leader has come out and said they need some policy and the regional fire fighters are mentioning it. I was up around Walhalla a few weeks back, the tree fern forrest around there was like Sherbrook in the Dandnongs once, it's all bone dry where it used to be rain forrest. I have been going up there all my life and the environment is different. The DSE can't burn off any more because there aren't the right weather conditions to do it where it doesn't make the fires a risk of becoming what they want to avoid.

To me it's just a cheap shot coming out and trying to make it political. I don't rate how Morrison has handled the emergency, he stuffed it up but politicians trying to be "good blokes" when there is an emergency or cheap point scoring doesn't make a debate. It just makes them look opportunistic. Love her or hate her I reckon Jacinta Ahern looks like a leader when there is a disaster. She seems to know how to calm the situation without looking like she's doing it to make her self look better.

Climate change probably has made fires worse, it stands to reason that less rain and more heat should make it burn easier. It's just not really the time to fight over it. Just need to get it contained and work out how to minimise damage in the future. To me having Scomo home from holidays would be a negative. I have family who are in the in the DSE and ar CFA firefighters, they hate when they have politicians at fires because they have to meet them and waste time where they could be out or take up their breaks making small talk with dumb arses so they can look good in front of a camera.
Well said

The problem is, it seems like many people do. They're calling them the "Morrison fires" blaming him for his lack of action in making these fires worse. It's misplaced blame and anger but it is happening.
The way some people are going on about the fires, you'd think it was the first time they've ever heard of a bushfire. I guess it's to be expected when they're affected for (probably) the first time in their lives in Sydney with bushfire smoke. It finally affects them, and the sky is falling.

There has definitely been a lack of action on Morrison’s part. I don’t think that can be argued. And I think that’s what most Australians are primarily upset about. The lack of leadership. I know I am.

“As always, Australians must band together and we must focus on the effort that needs to be put in on the ground now, and that has my absolute focus and the focus of all the premiers leading states, that lead the response”.

Those are ScoMo’s words. Except that he didn’t band together and he didn’t focus, he left the country to go abroad. And now he’s spouting so much spin I can’t tell if he’s facing front or back anymore.

He should be called out for holidaying through this. So let’s not get upset that he’s had to cut his holiday short. Or that people are tut tutting him. That’s just holding the prime minister to account. We should be applauding this. And Albanese hasn’t been much chop either.

Again, the Australian Bureau of Meterology actually forecast this fire season. Why couldn’t we have developed some sort of contingency plan around that? Where is the leadership from the people that actually occupy the positions that can make a difference?

As for climate change Morrison is the guy that brought a lump of coal into parliament and said to his colleagues “Don’t be afraid, don’t be scared. It won’t hurt you”, while ridiculing the opposition’s commitment to carbon reduction.

So now here we are and the Australian Bureau of Meteorology has used scientific forecasting to project a deep and potentially catastrophic fire season which is due to changing weather around Antarctica which is due to increased rate of ice melt and ocean warming which over 97% of scientists say is caused by carbon emissions, from human activity.

So why are people getting upset when some are pointing out that this bushfire season is not normal. And that it’s climate change related. Is there an aversion to facts? Again, I can’t say this often enough OUR OWN WEATHER FORECASTERS PREDICTED THIS.

This is not a partisan protest. Anybody who claims it is, is just deflecting to defend their own personal political views. I would be just as mad if Albanese were in charge and behaving with the same level of dismissiveness.

I know SS. We’re only 1% of the problem, not big enough to make an impact. Yada, yada, yada. We’re all kind of doing a ScoMo though aren’t we. We are enjoying our holiday and leaving it to the rest of the world to fight this one out. We will pop our head back up when the devastation has passed and ask why people were getting unreasonably over anxious.

The Fijians have a saying that ties neatly into climate change. We are all in the same canoe. I don’t think it’s too much for other countries to ask us to work our paddle.

There has definitely been a lack of action on Morrison’s part. I don’t think that can be argued. And I think that’s what most Australians are primarily upset about. The lack of leadership. I know I am.

“As always, Australians must band together and we must focus on the effort that needs to be put in on the ground now, and that has my absolute focus and the focus of all the premiers leading states, that lead the response”.

Those are ScoMo’s words. Except that he didn’t band together and he didn’t focus, he left the country to go abroad. And now he’s spouting so much spin I can’t tell if he’s facing front or back anymore.

He should be called out for holidaying through this. So let’s not get upset that he’s had to cut his holiday short. Or that people are tut tutting him. That’s just holding the prime minister to account. We should be applauding this. And Albanese hasn’t been much chop either.

Again, the Australian Bureau of Meterology actually forecast this fire season. Why couldn’t we have developed some sort of contingency plan around that? Where is the leadership from the people that actually occupy the positions that can make a difference?

As for climate change Morrison is the guy that brought a lump of coal into parliament and said to his colleagues “Don’t be afraid, don’t be scared. It won’t hurt you”, while ridiculing the opposition’s commitment to carbon reduction.

So now here we are and the Australian Bureau of Meteorology has used scientific forecasting to project a deep and potentially catastrophic fire season which is due to changing weather around Antarctica which is due to increased rate of ice melt and ocean warming which over 97% of scientists say is caused by carbon emissions, from human activity.

So why are people getting upset when some are pointing out that this bushfire season is not normal. And that it’s climate change related. Is there an aversion to facts? Again, I can’t say this often enough OUR OWN WEATHER FORECASTERS PREDICTED THIS.

This is not a partisan protest. Anybody who claims it is, is just deflecting to defend their own personal political views. I would be just as mad if Albanese were in charge and behaving with the same level of dismissiveness.

I know SS. We’re only 1% of the problem, not big enough to make an impact. Yada, yada, yada. We’re all kind of doing a ScoMo though aren’t we. We are enjoying our holiday and leaving it to the rest of the world to fight this one out. We will pop our head back up when the devastation has passed and ask why people were getting unreasonably over anxious.

The Fijians have a saying that ties neatly into climate change. We are all in the same canoe. I don’t think it’s too much for other countries to ask us to work our paddle.

I think the real issue is they make it an economic arguement, but it's not actually very honest. It more holds the old model together to help out the corporations that pay the most contributions to the major parties. Renewable technology would have been something we could have sold to the rest of the world. Being the best wagon builders in the age of the truck is just bad business. New technology can be a commodity, we seem to fight against innovation and use the financial argument but aren't really honest about it.

Countries like Israel spend a lot on development of all sorts of technologies and make themselves wealthy selling that tech. Everything from agriculture to weapons and anti missile tech. We seem to dig shit up and nothing else. We should have a few strings to our bow just in case.

If the NSW government didn't gut funding to firefighters it would've been controlled much better than it is now.

It's the governments fault the fires have lasted as long as they have, no question about it.

What did we expect from the Liberals anyway.

Climate change is a hoax apparently.

This is not happening according to some, even on this thread.

But at least the PM had a nice holiday
View attachment 797208View attachment 797210View attachment 797211View attachment 797212View attachment 797213

Yeah mate was listening to the wife of the Captain of one NSW firefighters , was heartbreaking stuff
her husband had stopped operating the family business for last 12 weeks , voluntarily fighting fires for
between 12 -18 hours a day for the whole day , called his wife on phone in tears lost their home &
pretty much everything they have these are the real heroes of Australia.

If the NSW government didn't gut funding to firefighters it would've been controlled much better than it is now.

It's the governments fault the fires have lasted as long as they have, no question about it.

What did we expect from the Liberals anyway.

They didn’t cut funding. Those “cut funds” were actually just a one off payment for airplanes and buildings. It wasn’t ever part of the ongoing budget, it was simply a one off purchase.

I think the real issue is they make it an economic arguement, but it's not actually very honest. It more holds the old model together to help out the corporations that pay the most contributions to the major parties. Renewable technology would have been something we could have sold to the rest of the world. Being the best wagon builders in the age of the truck is just bad business. New technology can be a commodity, we seem to fight against innovation and use the financial argument but aren't really honest about it.

Countries like Israel spend a lot on development of all sorts of technologies and make themselves wealthy selling that tech. Everything from agriculture to weapons and anti missile tech. We seem to dig shit up and nothing else. We should have a few strings to our bow just in case.

Yeah i know, we need to find some worth while way of making an achievement.

Getting Morrison to come back to Canberra and get photographed with his worry face wont achieve anything.

Closing our coal power stations and covering the power supply shortfall with rolling brownouts, will make us all feel good in our suffering ( do they ever do a rolling brownout through the CBD - or is it only the outer suburbs cop it ). But it won't help anything.

Buying a Prius while the favored vehicles for the daily commute look like Monster Trucks, won't help anything.

Someone needs a plan, both for the environment and Australia, but both Left and Right governments just tweak the status quo.

You know the abc is a Liberal media machine right?

Who owns the abc?

Check the document

A show like Fact Check would not survive if they were not impartial.
I'm sure you can check the facts fact check use.

------------------------------------------
As the budget papers show, capital spending for the two agencies was $61.5 million in 2017-18, $146.7 million in 2018-19 and, at the start of the year, estimated to be $68.3 million in 2019-20.
-------------------------------------------

If they had not spent the extra on equipment in 2018-19, then they would be able to say they had increased the budget each year. But they wouldn't be better off.

This kind of political blame calling is childish.

Hahaha. What complete nonsense from you. I’m honestly surprised.
The one ABC Fact Check article that isn’t shitting on the LNP and you claim it’s because of ABC bias. Unbelievable.
Why don't you just read the budget document?

Hahaha. What complete nonsense from you. I’m honestly surprised.
The one ABC Fact Check article that isn’t shitting on the LNP and you claim it’s because of ABC bias. Unbelievable.

TBF, the ABC as a bastion of centralist doctrine has been on the decline for a while. Something to do with FP raids and planted CEO's I believe.

Not saying things are right or wrong that get published, but media in this country is largely a joke towing lines to several groups that don't generally involve "the general populace" as one of them.

You know the abc is a Liberal media machine right?

Who owns the abc?

Check the document

ABC looks after the Liberals?

Are you serious George?

This "government funded broadcaster" is meant to sit in the centre but it sits to the left and far left to be honest. It favours Labour and the Greens.

I can't stand the station anymore. Its a disgrace.