Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

Christmas is a time for reflection, and in this occasion I had reason to consider the discovery of music and how its changed with MP3s.

I remember when I was a kid being mesmerised by an album cover in my family home: Bing Crosby's White Christmas. I don't have many memories if that time, somehow that one made it through. Every time I hear the music, I think of that cover.

My son won't have the same memory sadly, as my version of the album is a faceless virtual folder on my multimedia hard drive. The text of the artist and title come up on the TV and its identical to that of all the other music.

I got into so much music via the interesting cover art, and seeing a thumbnail photo on a screen does not compare to a big cardboard square you can hold, plus in some cases you have a lyric sheet you can hold to learn the words made by the artists, not some 80% accurate rendition that some 18 year old Ukrainian guitar student has posted online.

I could use my old records but they're boxed up in storage in Thornbury. MP3s are cheap and convenient but music is so much more than the music, and there is definitely still a place for those old 30cm cardboard squares in our lives.

I have my kids sold on vinyl now. My 10 year old son is a crate digger now, he's still needing some schooling though. He likes Stones, AC DC and Beatles but my daughter has better taste she likes a broader range of stuff like Beastie Boys, Nirvana and stuff. Make them go to some flea markets and tell them the value of some if they find good ones. My son worked out how much I paid for vinyl means other idiots will buy them too. Now he wants to hit markets to look for stuff he likes.

Anyway Aussie, you don't have to justify yourself to anyone, you are the ultimate supporter, not born here, pays money for the club despite not living here, knowledgable, passionate and one eyed as anyone who grew up indoctrinated. I reckon that qualifies you as a pretty special member of the saints, former lapsed member or not.

I have my kids sold on vinyl now. My 10 year old son is a crate digger now, he's still needing some schooling though. He likes Stones, AC DC and Beatles but my daughter has better taste she likes a broader range of stuff like Beastie Boys, Nirvana and stuff. Make them go to some flea markets and tell them the value of some if they find good ones. My son worked out how much I paid for vinyl means other idiots will buy them too. Now he wants to hit markets to look for stuff he likes.

Anyway Aussie, you don't have to justify yourself to anyone, you are the ultimate supporter, not born here, pays money for the club despite not living here, knowledgable, passionate and one eyed as anyone who grew up indoctrinated. I reckon that qualifies you as a pretty special member of the saints, former lapsed member or not.
o_O

Don't mind it really, I pay for it so must love it really. I only like stuff until other people like it then it becomes mainstream and I can't stand it. I'm left with Mongolian throat singers and lesbian performance artists that do 120 minutes of silence on coloured vinyl to keep me going though.

mate i wouldn't be using this line in any of your rebuttal. Whilst he may not have been proven guilty, there is no doubt in my mind that both of them acted in a highly immoral and disgraceful way, however one of them was fortunate enough to put their head down and given the public persona they keep it mostly washed over them in the court of public opinion.

I can totally understand why people did not find St Kilda worth investing in over that period.

Fortunately for St Kilda I have blind faith, and do not have a family yet, and whilst I will always keep my membership, I can't always guarantee it'll be a social club or reserved seat as it is now.
Please......

I got into so much music via the interesting cover art, and seeing a thumbnail photo on a screen does not compare to a big cardboard square you can hold, plus in some cases you have a lyric sheet you can hold to learn the words made by the artists, not some 80% accurate rendition that some 18 year old Ukrainian guitar student has posted online.

I could use my old records but they're boxed up in storage in Thornbury. MP3s are cheap and convenient but music is so much more than the music, and there is definitely still a place for those old 30cm cardboard squares in our lives.
ahhhh the fond memories flooding back austinnn:)
Its 1979. Im in my room , sunken nice and deep into the safety of my bean bag. Ive got massive headphones on that wouldnt look out of place In an airport control tower. They looked so big wrapped around my head with that big Industrial strength spiral cord snaking across the floor towards the headphone output of my big brothers 4 piece stereo.
None of this fancy all In one music system crap.
This thing was like four big boxs stacked on top of each other connected with enough leads and wires to power that Ukrainian kids village.
Big powerfull amp on the bottom, then cassette deck and then a seperate radio tuner sitting on top of it.
Then the piece de resistance sitting on top. The all important turntable.
It may sound extremely stupid to todays 'I-pod' download generation but one of my fav childhood memories was when I pushed the 'on' button to start up the stereo amp, it fired up with a big warm hummming sound and kind of static electricity noise crackling noise through the big tower speakers. I loved that sound:)
Although it was most likely sending a wave of electical radiation through my body everytime i switched it on and im probably lucky i could still end up having kids:p
It may be an over nostalgic old memory ,but the joy of laying back with a big gatefold sleeve as you looked at it like it was your own personal piece of artwork and then studied the lyric sheet till the words were stuck in your head forever was such a big part of the listening pleasure.
I could have an absolute crap day at school. Or i could be feeling down cos my beloved Saints got smashed by 8 goals again. But put on those head phones, melt into the comfort of that beanbag and listen to Parallel Lines or Regatta de Blanc or Bob Seger and the Silver Bullet band or whatever albums my brother had in 1979 and i didnt have a care in the world:):)
Nowdays i look over at my young teenage daughter as she plugs her I-pod into our laptop and she goes ' tap tap tap' on the keyboard and downloads a couple of songs from a new artist in a few seconds and walks away with just a few grabs of music.
Sure she gets the music. But she misses out on the memories.
Ahhhhhh the ramblings of an old romanticizing fool:D

Probably the best song ive heard for romancing the memory of vinyl is Spin the black circle by Pearl Jam.
Plays homage to the old records and also rocks enough to make your ears bleed as well :D

Also, what did Joey ever do? NOTHING.
mate i wouldn't be using this line in any of your rebuttal. Whilst he may not have been proven guilty, there is no doubt in my mind that both of them acted in a highly immoral and disgraceful way, however one of them was fortunate enough to put their head down and given the public persona they keep it mostly washed over them in the court of public opinion.

I can totally understand why people did not find St Kilda worth investing in over that period.

Fortunately for St Kilda I have blind faith, and do not have a family yet, and whilst I will always keep my membership, I can't always guarantee it'll be a social club or reserved seat as it is now.
Please......
Joey did conspire with his mate, Milney, and perform actions that allowed Milney to (IMO) deceive a woman into thinking she was engaging in an intimate act with Joey when she was in fact with Milne. This isn't just morally grey!

Also it was Joey who arranged the "dwarf" entertainment that led to Jones setting this man alight in parody of burning their coach, Scott Watters.
These actions brought the club into disrepute (yet again) and show a blatant disregard / disrespect for the victim and for their coach

Watters was eventually sacked and a very good replacement found, but the actions of the players involved were reprehensible - and forced the club to prevent "the tail wagging the dog" again.

There are undoubtedly other incidences that I do not know of.

I think Joey is very lucky to still be playing for this football club given the need for GOOD role models / leaders as we rebuild

If every footballer got sacked for being insensitive and being a bastard towards a female fan there wouldn't be many footballers playing.
Not condoning just expressing my view of reality
Also he hired a dwarf. The dwarf is a commercial enterprise. Joey didn't set him alight. He was bagging the coach and as it turned out it was justified.

Christmas is a time for reflection, and in this occasion I had reason to consider the discovery of music and how its changed with MP3s.

I remember when I was a kid being mesmerised by an album cover in my family home: Bing Crosby's White Christmas. I don't have many memories if that time, somehow that one made it through. Every time I hear the music, I think of that cover.

My son won't have the same memory sadly, as my version of the album is a faceless virtual folder on my multimedia hard drive. The text of the artist and title come up on the TV and its identical to that of all the other music.

Haha my mum had that record too but the one I always remember is the cover to the War of the World album.

Everything is digital now though.

Id say close to half of our movie and video game collection is digital. No looking at the boxes to decide what to play.

Its both awesome and a little sad.

I used to listen to this vinyl over and over again in the late 70s

As I recall I didn't like any of the songs all that much. In fact, I vaguely remember most of the songs were shit. But as a 7 or 8 year old lad there was just something about this album that I really liked.....

image.jpeg

As I recall I didn't like any of the songs all that much. In fact, I vaguely remember most of the songs were shit. But as a 7 or 8 year old lad there was just something about this album that I really liked.....

View attachment 203634
Ahhhh so thats why they were called alBUMs:rolleyes::rolleyes:

i'll show myself out Kegs:oops:

View attachment 203634
I had that album too

It had a few classic songs which I still know every word to...

Horror Movie (Skyhooks)
Turn the Page (Jon English)
Down Down (Status Quo)
Girls in the Avenue (Richard Clapton)
You Ain't Seen Nothing Yet (BTO)

If you've not heard all of the above songs before, do yourself a favour

Anyone a fan of Creedence Clearwater Revival?

Boy they could play.

Do yourself a favour and listen to "Ramble Tamble"

My top 5 is:

1. INXS
2. CCR
3. Nirvana
4. Cold Chisel
5. Crowded House

Anyone a fan of Creedence Clearwater Revival?

Boy they could play.

Do yourself a favour and listen to "Ramble Tamble"

My top 5 is:

1. INXS
2. CCR
3. Nirvana
4. Cold Chisel
5. Crowded House
I was probably a bit young to really appreciate Creedence at the time.

Anyhoo, as a random bit of trivia I can advise that a young Dr Spaceman once woke in the middle of the night to answer the phone, only to hear John Fogarty on the other end. He'd rung to speak to my sister who had formed the Australian Fan Club or something like that.

My clearest memory is of him asking something about whether we had socialized medicine or something like that. But given I was quite young, and was half asleep, it was all a bit ho hum at the time [emoji11]

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

View attachment 203634
I had that one myself.

Had the Rod Stewart coloured picture album "hot legs" IIRC and the police green vinyl but she who shall be obeyed ordered tgat they go with the rest in a garage sale. :cry::cry:

View attachment 203634

That would be Ripper 74 or 75 from memory.

BTO's You Ain't Seen Nothing Yet was a fave. As a 10 year old, I swear they sung "and then she looked at me with her big fat arse, and said you ain't seen nothing yet"...

Who else had a K-Tel record selector????

BTO's You Ain't Seen Nothing Yet was a fave. As a 10 year old, I swear they sung "and then she looked at me with her big fat arse, and said you ain't seen nothing yet"...

I always used to think in "our lips are sealed" by the go go's they were singing "Alex the seal"
:D

I always used to think in "our lips are sealed" by the go go's they were singing "Alex the seal"
:D
You mean they weren't? [emoji15]

I was probably a bit young to really appreciate Creedence at the time.

Anyhoo, as a random bit of trivia I can advise that a young Dr Spaceman once woke in the middle of the night to answer the phone, only to hear John Fogarty on the other end. He'd rung to speak to my sister who had formed the Australian Fan Club or something like that.

My clearest memory is of him asking something about whether we had socialized medicine or something like that. But given I was quite young, and was half asleep, it was all a bit ho hum at the time [emoji11]

Probably wanted to get some free drugs. Ever listen to the lyrics of " Lookin out my backdoor"?

Tambourines and Elephants indeed.......

BTO's You Ain't Seen Nothing Yet was a fave.
As a 10 year old, I swear they sung "and then she looked at me with her big fat arse, and said you ain't seen nothing yet"...

It was big brown eyes so you were close

I know a lot of young peeps on here will say
" who the f*** is that " but the first record I ever had was 'Farewell Aunty Jack'
2015-12-28-16-18-47--1917783425.jpeg
Surely somebody else remembers her errr him?
and her catch phrase " ill rip ya bloody arms off"
I was very young at the time and i thought the picture disc was really cool.
And who wouldnt like a fat aunty with a moustach who wore a boxing glove:p
Probably explains my odd sense of humour growing up with stuff like that:D

and yes VDS66 we had a ktel record selector as well:thumbsu: and then when you ended up with heaps of LPs I used to store em In milk crates:)

I know a lot of young peeps on here will say
" who the f*** is that " but the first record I ever had was 'Farewell Aunty Jack'
View attachment 203692
Surely somebody else remembers her errr him?
and her catch phrase " ill rip ya bloody arms off"
I was very young at the time and i thought the picture disc was really cool.
And who wouldnt like a fat aunty with a moustach who wore a boxing glove:p
Probably explains my odd sense of humour growing up with stuff like that:D

and yes VDS66 we had a ktel record selector as well:thumbsu: and then when you ended up with heaps of LPs I used to store em In milk crates:)
Absolute classic.

I've got this CD:

Wollongong_re-issue.jpg

Plus a DVD featuring AJ, The Farrelly Brothers, Kev Kavanagh etc :):thumbsu:

This is a great trip down memory lane.

I smile when I remember sitting with my "greatest hits" blank cassette.

I would be a coiled spring. When I thought a song was about to start i would punch the record button. If it was a song I wanted I'd let it run (and hope the dj shut the hell up and not talk over the top of the first few bars). If not, I would have that 3 minutes to reset my cassette back and do it all over again next song.

God I spent some hours building my perfect tape. But great times! Those of us my age were the lucky ones. Young people today just won't have those sort of memories.

Absolute classic.

I've got this CD:

Wollongong_re-issue.jpg

Plus a DVD featuring AJ, The Farrelly Brothers, Kev Kavanagh etc :):thumbsu:
LOL Graeme Bond had a very energetic unique sense of humour.
sadly I lost that picture disc many many yrs ago.
I think Gary McDonald may have first shown his Norman Gunston character on the Aunty Jack show as well.
I dont remember the original screening of the show but watched repeats on ABC when i was very young.:)