Discussion Random Discussion

I was pretty informed about things that went on in Victoria's SEC, and it was stuffed. I can 100% see why they went down the privatisation route. SEC was horribly corrupt and people were rorting it for anything they could get.
So after so much shitting in their nest, they cleaned it out.

I tend to see things like a big pendulum, if things swing too much one way , it swings back the other way, but it doesn't stop in the middle, it keeps swinging.

That's true people scammed the SEC but really the people stealing copper and over charging for service are small fry compared to selling a business that's replacement cost would be trillions for a $22 billion. It sounds great because you balance the books but the plants probably returned more than that annually in profit, fringe benefits like employment of a larger workforce etc. It kept more people employed so benefits small business etc. The best any one can say is that it is more competitive which just means a leaner workforce and lower standards of service.

It will swing back but unfortunately the public pay to build big infrastructure, give it cheap to industry to profit from, they run it down and it all starts over again.

The bay is full of fish gringo it hasn’t been this healthy in years.

Still plenty of snakes from all reports too maybe you’ve just been lucky but the pressure from people and development does impact the wildlife that’s for sure. My sister has a place in the country and one of my daughters spends a fair bit of time in the Bendigo area and their always going on about brown snakes.

In the bay the government got rid of the scallop dredgers and brought out the commercial fishing licences. They have also done some good work on marine parks and re establishing local angasi oyster beds that were torn up by dredging etc. They are working dropping limestone blocks and other material off some of the beaches in port Phillip. You probably see the shells when your at the beach there bigger and flater than a pacific oyster shell. The Elwood canal is teeming with small mullet and bream at certain times of the early summer and the bird life around here is fanatasic.

WA is the frontier that’s for sure it’s so far away and so bloody big it will take longer to screw up.

Perhaps it's just Gippsland then. There used to be tiger and brown snakes everywhere, they just seem to have disappeared along with the water dragons there. Water dragons used to be on every big rock along the river and all the Christmas beetles and a heap of butterflies varieties and stuff are all gone too. It's like diversity has gone to about one 1000 of what it was. It's mostly kangaroos, possums and wallabies now. There used to be big goannas even and they don't seem to be around. We are abutted by state water catchment forrest and on a river so should be as diverse as anywhere, it's untouched.

Im pretty sure all players would be on good behavior at a club function

He actually comes across as shy, like won't make eye contact and looks nervous. He's probably a party animal around mates when he's had a few cans as well. That's pretty normal.

Perhaps it's just Gippsland then. There used to be tiger and brown snakes everywhere, they just seem to have disappeared along with the water dragons there. Water dragons used to be on every big rock along the river and all the Christmas beetles and a heap of butterflies varieties and stuff are all gone too. It's like diversity has gone to about one 1000 of what it was. It's mostly kangaroos, possums and wallabies now. There used to be big goannas even and they don't seem to be around. We are abutted by state water catchment forrest and on a river so should be as diverse as anywhere, it's untouched.
Yeah that’s pretty disconcerting that it’s so noticeable, any big logging nearby?.

I remember when there were loads of butterflies around here in fact kids used to get nets as presents, there were plenty of monarchs and I rarely see one now. The Christmas beetles are weird things, some years you see heaps and then they go missing. I think they’re a forest floor type and are affected by dry spring weather. We are killing things off at an alarming rate, the thing with fishing is there’s so much money in it and it’s a powerful lobby group so things get done.

You get to a quite part of Gippsland and who’s making a fuss, maybe a few locals and greens. That’s a beautiful part of the world though. I have a love affair with the prom that goes back to my childhood, I still like a drive down the south Gippsland highway then we swing down to inverlock and back.

I know this is veering off subject somewhat, but I no longer habour much negativity towards Carey, and I used to hate him as much as anyone during the day.

From my understanding he was abused by his father as a youngun and reflecting on his upbringing he just wasn't given the tools to behave correctly in an urban setting. Even at the Kangaroos back in those days, I doubt much effort we t into molding the person, clubs only cared about the player, especially a cold ruthless snake like Denis Pagan.

It sounds like an excuse to blame the environment but despite being so strong physically, Wayne Carey was probably emotionally a battered and weak confused individual who needed properly nurturing but was just told to man up and do what the rest of the jocks around him did. Then just lavish him with praise and money and admiring men and women for a few years. A time bomb.
I guess you could argue that sort of line for anyone and have some truth in it. I did know people that went to school with him and others that knew him after that. Based on that info, I think your first approach was the correct one. Your sympathy and understanding is probably better directed elsewhere.

metro fishing it Perth is getting a bit hit and miss ... growing up we used to get a good feed after about 1.5 hrs fishing now days its mainly pest fish blowies (you call the toad fish) and the like ... but as you head up north of the state thats when the fishing gets real good ...

as for the koalas ... they also have big claws that can scratch pretty deep if they decide they dont like you anymore..

He actually comes across as shy, like won't make eye contact and looks nervous. He's probably a party animal around mates when he's had a few cans as well. That's pretty normal.
I remember reading a Nicky Winmar interview or an interview with Stan or another ex-coach where they were saying that Nicky was always being challenged to actually look his coach in the eye, until the coach found out that in Nicky's aboriginal culture it's a gesture of disrespect to do so, and after that they were fine.

Not sure if it's true, or if this true for all Aus aboriginal cultures or if that's the reason why Gresh won't look into your eyes, but worth considering.

They missed my favourite Aussie the yabby. The brits have a version that has taken a pounding from the American crawfish. The yabby would make short work of both, they grow to a decent size and are fun to catch for kids as well. The funny thing about them is you can catch them by tying a piece of meat to a bit of string and throwing it into the dam, lake or river. The yabby latches on and you pull them out after letting it soak for awhile. The funny bit is all they have to do is let go to get away but they don’t. Oh no up they come to dispute ownership of the bait and they can and will draw blood if they latch onto your finger. They amuse me because they seem to epitomise the Aussie fauna it all has attitude, the crabs here aren’t docile either they will go for you as well haha.
as a kid growing up my grandparents lived in East Malvern so we used to go to the park out that way with the left over meat scraps and string to catch the yabbies (or Marron as we call them here in WA)... there were thousands of them in that lake we used to catch them put them in a bucket then take them home to race them .. we would put them back later that afternoon then the next morning catch them again ... pretty sure they drained the lake there now...

I guess you could argue that sort of line for anyone and have some truth in it. I did know people that went to school with him and others that knew him after that. Based on that info, I think your first approach was the correct one. Your sympathy and understanding is probably better directed elsewhere.

I met him through work back in the 90s, he was extremely unpleasant. I feel sorry for him but he was awful. Hopefully he's mellowed a bit.

I remember reading a Nicky Winmar interview or an interview with Stan or another ex-coach where they were saying that Nicky was always being challenged to actually look his coach in the eye, until the coach found out that in Nicky's aboriginal culture it's a gesture of disrespect to do so, and after that they were fine.

Not sure if it's true, or if this true for all Aus aboriginal cultures or if that's the reason why Gresh won't look into your eyes, but worth considering.

I reckon Gresh has grown up in suburban Melbourne, doubt he even knows much about Indigenous culture. The indigenous folks who come from Victoria had their culture removed pretty early on. It's world away from a guy like Liam Jurrah who grew up with English as a second language and knowing Yuendamu tribal law.

metro fishing it Perth is getting a bit hit and miss ... growing up we used to get a good feed after about 1.5 hrs fishing now days its mainly pest fish blowies (you call the toad fish) and the like ... but as you head up north of the state thats when the fishing gets real good ...

as for the koalas ... they also have big claws that can scratch pretty deep if they decide they dont like you anymore..

Yeah a mate who was living in Perth used to go up the coast and send pics of his fishing hauls. He reckons from Lancelin to Exmouth you just have to dangle a hook over the side of your boat and you have to beat the fish off. If you don't haul them in quick enough the sharks eat them though.

That's true people scammed the SEC but really the people stealing copper and over charging for service are small fry compared to selling a business that's replacement cost would be trillions for a $22 billion. It sounds great because you balance the books but the plants probably returned more than that annually in profit, fringe benefits like employment of a larger workforce etc. It kept more people employed so benefits small business etc. The best any one can say is that it is more competitive which just means a leaner workforce and lower standards of service.

It will swing back but unfortunately the public pay to build big infrastructure, give it cheap to industry to profit from, they run it down and it all starts over again.

It was way more than that Gringo, and they didn't make profit.
Hundreds and hundreds of people getting paid to "not work".

Yeah that’s pretty disconcerting that it’s so noticeable, any big logging nearby?.

I remember when there were loads of butterflies around here in fact kids used to get nets as presents, there were plenty of monarchs and I rarely see one now. The Christmas beetles are weird things, some years you see heaps and then they go missing. I think they’re a forest floor type and are affected by dry spring weather. We are killing things off at an alarming rate, the thing with fishing is there’s so much money in it and it’s a powerful lobby group so things get done.

You get to a quite part of Gippsland and who’s making a fuss, maybe a few locals and greens. That’s a beautiful part of the world though. I have a love affair with the prom that goes back to my childhood, I still like a drive down the south Gippsland highway then we swing down to inverlock and back.

Gippsland is pretty heavily logged but nothing too close, I reckon it's more insecticide from agriculture in all likelihood. There used to be a lot more prey birds and small marsupials as well. Little hopping mice things are all gone. Over about 20 years they have just disappeared with the hawks, owls and eagles. Get plenty of wombats there as well actually, the big stuff that doesn't have predators seem okay. Lots of the tree ferns have died off over that time too and the valleys dry off over summer so might be a bit of climate change stuff too.

Computer skills and coding are certainly available to kids in the free education system in Australia.
My son originally planned to become a "software developer".
I had grave concerns that coding is one of the most mobile jobs possible.
There are a lot of people in India and China who will happily write coding for a day, and accept payment that wouldn't buy you four beers in a bar in Melbourne.

Anyway i think he eventually worked out that it could be a bit boring, and he's now more interested in cyber-security. ( i think he likes the idea of legitimately learning hacking skills )

i'm a developer, i've had exposure to offshore companies. everything from the biggest in the world to smaller operations. here's the thing, you end up paying more than a local resource without any transparency what so ever on what they're actually doing. the good ones offshore want to be relocated onshore, so they dont have 2-3 hour commutes and 12 hour days. if you want to bring them onshore, you have to go through the visa process then end up paying an onshore rate, which for a full time senior resource is about 160-200k. what they classify as senior though is more like our standard developer, if you get a good one. basically if you are any good, you don't work at the offshore companies.

you know what's common, getting billed 10 hours for what was actually 30 minutes of really poor work. there's been other issues i'm not prepared to put in writing. just genuinely bad unethical bullshit. imagine what it's like dealing with telstra's bureaucracy when your internet has some problem with it. now imagine if telstra didn't have to abide by regulations here and had a host of unethical behaviour. now try sell their products to people here. gonna go well isnt it!!!

in the end it comes down to what you want, do you want R&D and an actual product you can sell, or do you want something that's completely unsellable without some serious intervention from a local resource that can actually do the work and that's why the large players and popular products you know of were never sent over-seas. they were developed by highly paid, well performed, local resources. because doing it off shore in a code chop shop, just doesnt work. you blow a bunch of money for something that can't be sold and won't go live.

if you want to maintain some legacy system well that's another story. obviously then its more about cost and little care for selling it to the market. its also easier to bed down into things like SLA's

Yeah coding is being taught to millions and coding will get more automated as well. Teaching creativity and abstract thinking will be a much better long term thing. If you can conceptualise Fortnite you get rich, the 300 people coding it in Mumbai are getting **** all of it.

gringo get its and that what a good software developer has to do. they have to help actually come up with the product. read about agile.

Yeah a mate who was living in Perth used to go up the coast and send pics of his fishing hauls. He reckons from Lancelin to Exmouth you just have to dangle a hook over the side of your boat and you have to beat the fish off. If you don't haul them in quick enough the sharks eat them though.
pretty much ... we used to head up to Lanno (Lancelin) each year for NYE one year we were catching so much Whiting it was comical we didnt even need bait it was literally cast out and wind in and every time there was a fish... i ended up getting one of those galv kreo fire smoker kits from the bait and tackle shop and spent the weekend smoking the catch ... it was delish .. havent been up that way for years now ..

Gippsland is pretty heavily logged but nothing too close, I reckon it's more insecticide from agriculture in all likelihood. There used to be a lot more prey birds and small marsupials as well. Little hopping mice things are all gone. Over about 20 years they have just disappeared with the hawks, owls and eagles. Get plenty of wombats there as well actually, the big stuff that doesn't have predators seem okay. Lots of the tree ferns have died off over that time too and the valleys dry off over summer so might be a bit of climate change stuff too.
a lot of the issues with the smaller animals going is to do with the feral cats and foxes ..

I reckon Gresh has grown up in suburban Melbourne, doubt he even knows much about Indigenous culture. The indigenous folks who come from Victoria had their culture removed pretty early on. It's world away from a guy like Liam Jurrah who grew up with English as a second language and knowing Yuendamu tribal law.
Gresh has mutual understanding of his aboriginal heritage through his mum, who has designed our indigenous juniper for the last couple of years.

I believe no matter where they are born or brought up, young indigenous children are well & truly taught everything possible about their culture.

Hate to say it, but I think that's a ridiculous statement and you should be ashamed if you truly think that way.

Plenty aren't growing up in the right environment to learn, plenty aren't interested. To suggest that they somehow automatically know and are automatically taught everything is seriously wrong.

It's a nice, romantic notion, but it isn't even close to accurate.

Interesting that you take this view on this post but didn't react to the post that automatically assumed Gresh would have no idea of his aboriginality.

It isn't interesting, I reckon it's easier to believe someone doesn't know something than it is to believe they automatically do know everything.

And this is the last comment I'll make on the subject.

It isn't interesting, I reckon it's easier to believe someone doesn't know something than it is to believe they automatically do know everything.

And this is the last comment I'll back on the subject.
No it is interesting because of the window it opens on the inisidous nature of casual racism.

One post assumed that urban aboriginals had no knowledge of their ancestral history and the other assumed that they all knew their history.

Both are equally untrue which is why its interesting to me why one deserved a response but the other doesn't.

https://www.humanrights.gov.au/news/stories/what-casual-racism