Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

How good do the ads look for 'Molly' on C7? The lead actor looks bang on as well.
I wonder if it has the bit where Molly stops the music at the Saints Disco, until the players who just walked in leave. It was late and the game was the next day.

I just can't stand it when they are on "Talking Footy" discussing how bad it is that some young guy may have had a glass of beer too many, while Carey sits there wisely nodding his head.
Carey was attempting to visit Barwon Prison in February 2012 to speak to indigenous inmates as part of a mentoring program, however he was found to have traces of cocaine on his clothing following a routine drug scan. Carey was informed that he could enter the prison if he submitted to a strip search. He declined and left the correctional facility

If the Tigers "should" ban Martin for a year, no TV company should give this flog a job ever.
Half the problem with AFL players is that they hang out with media people.
I travelled to NZ recently, there was a drug sniffer dog in in the customs area. When it approached me I was stupid enough to give it a pat (I like dogs and hadn't dealt with a sniffer dog before). Next thing I know i was pulled into the screening area and told the dog is a "white powder" dog and it had detected something on my person. They went through all my shit. The lady went away with my bag, when she returned she told me it registered positive for traces of cocaine (no, I'm not a coke fiend... can barely afford my cigarette habit). They quizzed me, told me I was going to be strip searched, my computer would be checked for child pr0n, it was pretty scary, even though I knew I had nothing to worry about. I basically consented to whatever just so I could get out of there. They didn't end up going through with any of it luckily, but basically the point im making is finding traces of drugs on someones clothes or bags means very little. I probably picked up the traces from sitting my bag on the floor at spencer st station.

Though.. it is Wank Airy and he probably had a coke and coffee breakfast.

That lady was a horror. Almost everyone else I met over there were incredibly kind and generous. The very next person I met (it was 6am, she was half asleep and on the way to work) offered me a place to stay, and the bus driver got out mid route to speak to his friend so he could write me down directions.

I travelled to NZ recently, there was a drug sniffer dog in in the customs area. When it approached me I was stupid enough to give it a pat (I like dogs and hadn't dealt with a sniffer dog before). Next thing I know i was pulled into the screening area and told the dog is a "white powder" dog and it had detected something on my person. They went through all my shit. The lady went away with my bag, when she returned she told me it registered positive for traces of cocaine (no, I'm not a coke fiend... can barely afford my cigarette habit). They quizzed me, told me I was going to be strip searched, my computer would be checked for child pr0n, it was pretty scary, even though I knew I had nothing to worry about. I basically consented to whatever just so I could get out of there. They didn't end up going through with any of it luckily, but basically the point im making is finding traces of drugs on someones clothes or bags means very little. I probably picked up the traces from sitting my bag on the floor at spencer st station.

That lady was a horror. Almost everyone else I met over there were incredibly kind and generous. The very next person I met (it was 6am, she was half asleep and on the way to work) offered me a place to stay, and the bus driver got out mid route to speak to his friend so he could write me down directions.

Fair enough, but it was Wayne Carey. Without knowing you i believe in your case it was a false positive. ( maybe dogs just like you :D ).
Knowing Carey's history ......?

My point... why give him a job on TV where he gets to sit there and nod while they talk about how bad Luke Hodge has been for driving drunk. He may have been one of a kind on the oval, but there are plenty who can talk and offer an opinion just as good as his who are better role models.

Sniffer dogs are horribly inaccurate. So much so that they probably shouldn't be used at all. http://www.abc.net.au/news/2011-12-12/accuracy-of-police-sniffer-dogs-called-into-question/3726228

I was at Melbourne airport when the dogs sniffed a guy who was orthodox Jewish. They had him cuffed and pushed around only for him to dig out a contraband sandwich from his pocket. We thought they got some shady Pablo Escobar, they were going pretty hard on the racism with him and did the full public humiliation.

Fair enough, but it was Wayne Carey. Without knowing you i believe in your case it was a false positive. ( maybe dogs just like you :D ).

My point... why give him a job on TV where he gets to sit there and nod while they talk about how bad Luke Hodge has been for driving drunk. He may have been one of a kind on the oval, but there are plenty who can talk and offer an opinion just as good as his who are better role models.
agree

Bad joke can't work out why they put that human enema on tv.
Glass your girlfriend = automatic media ban

The problem Hawthorn have with players involved in sexual violence may be a statistical anomaly... Or it may reflect a culture in which the rights of women are not valued highly. If it is the latter, then the club has an issue which may pervade the personalities of some of the players and that may be a cancer.

There is a reason players sign extra contracts to do with women & drugs, and it's not because the AFL is an educational institution, it is because these are highlighted problem areas.

Not just with Hawthorn, it's reflective of the degradation of parenting and moral values, that of course it will all filter through places where people congregate and otherwise engage in social/mob mentalities, let's not forget that both Rugby and cricket have also had issues with players and women (and animals) as well.

They don't provide evidence they provide suspicion.

If dogs have a 75% miss rate, they are still finding 1 in 4 people with drugs, which ( i hope ) is a lot higher than you'd get if you searched people randomly.

As for the staff acting rude. No excuse for it.
The big issue is that how "accurate" a sniffer dog is based entirely on its operator at the time. The dogs are pretty much trained to react to things their handler are inspecting and will sense when they should be giving a positive just from their handler's language and scent etc.. So when they get that positive it is often because the handler suspected them of having drugs, rather then it being a blind random search.

So basically theyre a tool of profiling and you only have to watch an episode or two of border security to realize how racist our border security is.

Why do people keep bringing up montagna and gilbert as examples of player incidents?

What did they do wrong?
Not player "incidents" but shows the overall disrespect toward women.

Montagna used a woman like a piece of meat giving her to his mate to bang, who ended up being found guilty of sexual assault after 10 years.

Gilbert showed his lack of judgement by banging a schoolgirl and taking dick pics of his teammates and not deleting them.

Both incidents show the Saints are not choir boys.

Defacto bagged Freo for their poor handling of players. One, Heath Black, had an undiagnosed mental illness or autism, but hey let's punish him when he was not responsible for his actions.
When I mentioned the Saints indescretions Defacto went off tap and defended the Saints attitude to women like his life depended on it.

Nobody is saying those attitudes still exist. Saints are vastly different from just a few years back, but to throw stones at others with our track record is a bit rich

Montagna used a woman like a piece of meat giving her to his mate to bang, who ended up being found guilty of sexual assault after 10 years.

Gilbert showed his lack of judgement by banging a schoolgirl and taking dick pics of his teammates and not deleting them.

Defacto bagged Freo for their poor handling of players. One, Heath Black, had an undiagnosed mental illness or autism, but hey let's punish him when he was not responsible for his actions.
When I mentioned the Saints indescretions Defacto went off tap and defended the Saints attitude to women like his life depended on it.

Nobody is saying those attitudes still exist. Saints are vastly different from just a few years back, but to throw stones at others with our track record is a bit rich

I have a problem with your attitude to be honest.

There are certainly "footballer groupies" out there who act like a piece of meat. ( Not defending Milne ).
Banging a Schoolgirl is a completely emotive and inaccurate description of what Gilbert did.
My friend took embarrassing photo's of me at my bucks night. I can only assume he did not delete them. Granted i'm not in the public eye. This sort of crap happens. Stealing the photo's and publishing them to the public would be wrong and illegal.

If Heath Black is not responsible for his own actions who is? I have a family member with ADHD and he has a lot of trouble controlling himself. That does not mean that we should allow poor behavior without consequences. It's difficult for him, but he needs to be able to control himself if he is going to fit in with society. Do you suggest that footy clubs should all shake their heads when these incident's occur and state , "its ok , it's probably a mental condition"?
Maybe Dustin has a mental condition, all the players should give him a hug and move on.

As i pointed out in the list of AFL/VFL player incidents i posted above, StKilda and its players are NOT the leaders in this anti-social behavior, even though they seem to have been tarred with the brush.
Wayne Carey would be one of the worst REPEAT offenders, yet he gets a job in television where they all pretend it never happened.

Jesus christ mate... the tone and emotive terms. Not to mention some of it is just blatantly wrong...

For starters... I still do not understand what montagna is guilty of here... is it partner swapping? Is this a crime? If he's guilty of something so horrible why wasnt he charged by the police?

As for gilbert... i can't believe one of our own supporters who knows the details of the case is so quick to ignore the detail and sink the boot into him. For starters he met duthie in a club after hours, where she was drinking with her aunt. She did not look under age and I bet anyone in there would have said she was 18 or 19 (already drinking, been id'd coming into the club as well). He kept in contact with her and ended up being in a relationship with her (by this time she was 18) when she decided to lie that she was pregnant and go down the path we all know about. Including lies that could have had him charged with a crime including meeting her at a school clinic, giving her drugs etc. Truth is she caused him untold damage through defamation, abuse, theft and stalking. If anything he is the victim in this. So again, I'd love to know what he was guilty of here....

As for heath black... he levelled a female police officer at the races. Knocking her out. 3 years after jeff farmer repeatedly hit his partner in the head in his car at the traffic lights threatening to kill her... both received a court fine after being found guilty and received NO club sanction... yet they received no criticism in probably the two worst incidents occurring here in WA footy in the last 15 years. Even freo supporters admit they had a problem then and the way the incidents were managed was very poor if your being kind

So heath black he's ok in your eyes but you want to go to town on gilbert and montagna for something they were not even charged with..... riggghhhtttt

I have a problem with your attitude to be honest.

That's unfortunate, but that's your opinion

There are certainly "footballer groupies" out there who act like a piece of meat. ( Not defending Milne ).

I am certain there is. Up to the footballer to decide on his actions. Handing around a woman, like a piece of sexual meat, is not in my opinion a good healthy attitude toward women.

You have a right to disagree but I have a right to that opinion

Banging a Schoolgirl is a completely emotive and inaccurate description of what Gilbert did.

Maybe emotive, but didn't he bang her and wasn't she a schoolgirl? Again it comes to choices an attitude.

My friend took embarrassing photo's of me at my bucks night. I can only assume he did not delete them. Granted i'm not in the public eye. This sort of crap happens. Stealing the photo's and publishing them to the public would be wrong and illegal.

Again it comes down to judgement. The girl who stole them is just as culpable, and it was disgraceful to publish them especially when Riewoldt and Dal Santo we innocent of anything except to have an immature poorly judged prank done to them.

Riewoldt asked for the shots to be deleted and Gilbert didn't. So Gilbert is at fault.

If Heath Black is not responsible for his own actions who is? I have a family member with ADHD and he has a lot of trouble controlling himself. That does not mean that we should allow poor behavior without consequences. It's difficult for him, but he needs to be able to control himself if he is going to fit in with society. Do you suggest that footy clubs should all shake their heads when these incident's occur and state , "its ok , it's probably a mental condition"?

No, but you should take the comment in the context it was made. defacto was banging on about how poor Freo had been in discipilining Black on his appalling behaviour. I suggested that there were extenuating circumstance in that case. Why cant those circumstances be aired, for an opposition player, when I have heard every excuse under the sun for our players?

Maybe Dustin has a mental condition, all the players should give him a hug and move on.

Maybe he has, how would any of us really know?

As i pointed out in the list of AFL/VFL player incidents i posted above, StKilda and its players are NOT the leaders in this anti-social behavior, even though they seem to have been tarred with the brush.

I would say the incidents in the past. coupled with pissed Saints players being denied access to Thailand, burning dwarfs, taking stillnox and alcohol, and other incidents would suggest our club has been just as bad or wors than most clubs.

The Carlisle incident, and the reaction by the club, and the once hostile media, tells me the attitude has completely changed for the better.

Montagna is now married (I think) much older and would not have the same attitude toward women. Sammy Gilbert learnt a hard lesson and I am sure stears clear of women who have the mentality of Amy from Gone Girl. Dwarfs are no longer ritually burnt for fun.

I think that everyone has cut them some slack and wont hold it over their heads for ever, as it should not be.

Wayne Carey would be one of the worst REPEAT offenders, yet he gets a job in television where they all pretend it never happened.

Read his autobiography. Anything but not pretending it happened. Was upfront and painfully honest. He took full responsibility for his previous actions and admitted to them and makes no excuses.

He has asked for and received help for his very real issues. But hey he isn't a Saint or ex Saint so I suppose he deserves no second chance?

Jesus christ mate... the tone and emotive terms. Not to mention some of it is just blatantly wrong...

For starters... I still do not understand what montagna is guilty of here... is it partner swapping? Is this a crime? If he's guilty of something so horrible why wasnt he charged by the police?

As for gilbert... i can't believe one of our own supporters who knows the details of the case is so quick to ignore the detail and sink the boot into him. For starters he met duthie in a club after hours, where she was drinking with her aunt. She did not look under age and I bet anyone in there would have said she was 18 or 19 (already drinking, been id'd coming into the club as well). He kept in contact with her and ended up being in a relationship with her (by this time she was 18) when she decided to lie that she was pregnant and go down the path we all know about. Including lies that could have had him charged with a crime including meeting her at a school clinic, giving her drugs etc. Truth is she caused him untold damage through defamation, abuse, theft and stalking. If anything he is the victim in this. So again, I'd love to know what he was guilty of here....

As for heath black... he levelled a female police officer at the races. Knocking her out. 3 years after jeff farmer repeatedly hit his partner in the head in his car the traffic lights... both received a court fine after being found guilty and received NO club sanction... yet they received no criticism in probably the two worst incidents occurring here in WA footy in the last 15 years. Even freo supporters admit they had a problem then and the way the incidents were managed was very poor if your being kind

So heath black he's ok in your eyes but you want to go to town on gilbert and montagna for something they were not even charged with..... riggghhhtttt
tl:dr

Wont respnd to your diatribe. SainstSeptember deserved a response and received one. Not interested in your post TBH

That's unfortunate, but that's your opinion

I am certain there is. Up to the footballer to decide on his actions. Handing around a woman, like a piece of sexual meat, is not in my opinion a good healthy attitude toward women.

You have a right to disagree but I have a right to that opinion

Maybe emotive, but didn't he bang her and wasn't she a schoolgirl? Again it comes to choices an attitude.

Again it comes down to judgement. The girl who stole them is just as culpable, and it was disgraceful to publish them especially when Riewoldt and Dal Santo we innocent of anything except to have an immature poorly judged prank done to them.

Riewoldt asked for the shots to be deleted and Gilbert didn't. So Gilbert is at fault.

No, but you should take the comment in the context it was made. defacto was banging on about how poor Freo had been in discipilining Black on his appalling behaviour. I suggested that there were extenuating circumstance in that case. Why cant those circumstances be aired, for an opposition player, when I have heard every excuse under the sun for our players?

Maybe he has, how would any of us really know?

I would say the incidents in the past. coupled with pissed Saints players being denied access to Thailand, burning dwarfs, taking stillnox and alcohol, and other incidents would suggest our club has been just as bad or wors than most clubs.

The Carlisle incident, and the reaction by the club, and the once hostile media, tells me the attitude has completely changed for the better.

Montagna is now married (I think) much older and would not have the same attitude toward women. Sammy Gilbert learnt a hard lesson and I am sure stears clear of women who have the mentality of Amy from Gone Girl. Dwarfs are no longer ritually burnt for fun.

I think that everyone has cut them some slack and wont hold it over their heads for ever, as it should not be.

Read his autobiography. Anything but not pretending it happened. Was upfront and painfully honest. He took full responsibility for his previous actions and admitted to them and makes no excuses.

He has asked for and received help for his very real issues. But hey he isn't a Saint or ex Saint so I suppose he deserves no second chance?
On black freo have been pretty open with how they were not tough enough on him initially. Amazing those extenuating circumstances went out the window the year before...

His mental health angle didnt happen till he was in retirement... so that wasnt a factor in freos decision...

I recall it was connollys decision to get his players back from memory when he left and the admin changed they took a tougher stance

In any case there is no excuse for repeatedly hitting someone in the head and threatening to kill them let alone your partner. Like wise theres no excuse for assaulting a female police officer

As for the just as bad or worse comment... I'll leave that for others who actually spent time looking at the incidents

On black freo have been pretty open with how they were not tough enough on him initially. Amazing those extenuating circumstances went out the window the year before...

His mental health angle didnt happen till he was in retirement... so that wasnt a factor in freos decision...

I recall it was connollys decision to get his players back from memory when he left and the admin changed they took a tougher stance

In any case there is no excuse for repeatedly hitting someone in the head and threatening to kill them let alone your partner. Like wise theres no excuse for assaulting a female police officer

As for the just as bad or worse comment... I'll leave that for others who actually spent time looking at the incidents

Who said there is an excuse? I posted there was circumstance, undiagnosed at the time.

the only excuses I have heard have been from you regarding St.Kilda players.

Who said there is an excuse? I posted there was circumstance, undiagnosed at the time.

the only excuses I have heard have been from you regarding St.Kilda players.
I didnt know jeff farmer was also diagnosed with a mental illness...

Also are you saying the reason black assaulted his female victim is because he was bipolar?

Joffa , the whole "Schoolgirl" thing was a media blowup based on false information that StKilda players met her at school.

You do know that its quite common for "Schoolgirls" to be LEGALLY out at nightclubs LEGALLY and to be banging their brains out ( your terminology ) if they choose to. Schoolgirls can frequently be 18 or 19 years old.
Your use of the word "schoolgirl" is in fact an emotive term. I understand why the media chooses to parrot it, because its their job to sensationalise things.

Seriously, this has to be the weirdest live thread we've got going at the moment.
In honour of the dude it's supposed to be about, ya need to snort a line of coke to make any sense of it :cool: