Keg on legs
Bunch of on here
Very poor comment mate

BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Round 4
The Golden Ticket - Corporate tickets, functions, Open Air Boxes at the Adelaide Oval, ENGIE, Gabba, MCG, Marvel, Optus & People First Stadiums. Corporate Suites at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
Fantasy Footy Notice Image Round 4
SuperCoach Rd 4 SC Talk - Trade Talk - Capt/VC ,//, AFL Fantasy Rd 4 AF Trades - AFF Talk - Capt/VC
Bunch of on here
Preach it brother.I generally make sure i dont get involved in internet debates with small minded people. I know too well that opinions will not be changed. I have to say, however, you need some serious educating. Those 'others' that lived here for 40000 years before us? We are the people being accommodated here.
The 'national' anthem is not a reflection on the nation as a whole and nor is the flag. We have stolen a land mass and called it our own while committing disgusting human rights violations along the way. You should feel blessed to hear the sounds of our first people because for so long their culture has been oppressed.
I dont blame you for feeling this way, we're all a product of our environment. I just find it sad you actually think you have more right over this land than the original owners. Or at the very least, cannot fathom the culture being incorporated into our own. Do me a favour and pick up a book and do some reading or do some volunteer work, anything to gain some perspective.
* you would be called racist because you are racist.
I had to look that term up because I simply did not recognise it, and apparently gin burglar is a similar reference. Now I came from another country that was colonized by the English, but there is no Fijian word or phrase similar. Nor has the English language in Fiji sporned a turn of phrase that has similar meaning. I find it insightful that a behaviour (white males exchanging cigarettes and alcohol for sex with Australian Aborgines) can be so familiar that it has been colloquially labelled, and is still contemporary. It just illuminates what we have all been alluding to here...that Australia's past has not been so kind to the indigenous population, and may not be entirely in the past.Bunch of gin jockies on here
yeah, sadly my" keep it classy" comment didnt work.Utterly disgusting descent in this thread. Credit to those trying to keep the high ground here.
Not pulling the piss hereUtterly disgusting descent in this thread. Credit to those trying to keep the high ground here.
Defacto I married into a family that grew up in the Pilbara and has a very strong anti indigenous attitude. I have found it very difficult to even have a conversation with my Australian family regarding issues like Australia Day. It just quickly disintigrates into a diatribe about how aboriginal Australians are the ungrateful priviledged, and undeserving of the financial handouts and other benefits they are given. I am always told that I am a trouble maker for wanting to discuss it, even though I only always respond to somebody else's comments. I am always reminded that I am not originally from Australia and really shouldn't interfere. It has been suggested that I should return to where I came from and perhaps take a few of the undeserving with me.Not pulling the piss here
I'm not mad or angry I'm just really disappointed. Just hurts to see how far back we really are and our supporters are not immune to it all
Defacto I am always reminded that I am not originally from Australia and really shouldn't interfere. It has been suggested that I should return to where I came from and perhaps take a few of the undeserving with me.
Don't know how to feel about that last line Joff...I think you yourself have painted a picture in your head that is filled with classical stereo typical imagery. But that is key to the whole issue for me. My wife is a kind, generous, industrious, sensible living, family oriented, loving middle class mother. We have travelled to Fiji, NZ, Vietnam, Singapore, Bali and other great countries together and she has always been interested in other cultures and foreign peoples that we have met along the way.The height of hypocricy and irony.
Wonder what they would say if an aboriginal said the same to them.
Next time they say your shouldn't interfere ask them why Australia interfered with South Africa, Turkey, Malaysia, Korea, Vietnam, East Timor, Afganistan, Iraq x 2 and now Syria.
Seems some think we have a divine right to "interfere" with others internal issues, but nobody can interfere in Australian issues unless they are Australian.
All due respect to your wife, but her family sounds like a bunch of ignorant bogan f-wits.
It's odd in a way because scientifically speaking, there is no such thing as race. It is a social construct. Here in Australia we show signs of growing up into a much more accepting culture - but this is being led by the younger generation - many outposts of hatred persist though (racism, bigotry, homophobia etc).
Nig ger (serious, word filters are for sesame street forums, not grown adults) has been generally popularized by music for so long its become a secondary term of almost "endearment" in a strange way, even outside the black community. Im not even sure its a bad thing either. The destruction of the impact of bigotted words can have positive effects but you have to be careful not to lose the importance of why it was a bad thing in the first place.Its interesting though, i've observed some groups of young people now think its cool to use the word fellow. ( the n racist word in case it doesn't go through the filter ).
I don't think its necessarily racist or even in context sometimes.
I think its more to do with the rebellion thing and, its a word you can't use , and no-one gives a *&%$ about all those other *&^%ing words like the one i just replaced with miscellaneous symbols. If its OK for the winner of the gold logie to use it, its not very rebellious is it?
The word Gay is also getting widespread use in a derogatory manner, not necessary indicating homophobia or even used in context. ie that new X-box game is so gay, the previous version was much better.
Nig ger (serious, word filters are for sesame street forums, not grown adults) has been generally popularized by music for so long its become a secondary term of almost "endearment" in a strange way, even outside the black community. Im not even sure its a bad thing either. The destruction of the impact of bigotted words can have positive effects but you have to be careful not to lose the importance of why it was a bad thing in the first place.
I disagree a bit with the word gay as I have definitely heard it less and less over the last few years. *** got (AGAIN, SERIOUS DISCUSSION ARGHH) is still common as a general insult word but I think describing something as gay is slowly dying thanks to kids actually being taught at a younger age what is acceptable.
I took a simple approach with my kids whenever they asked me " is this word a swear word" or "can i say this word" .Nig ger (serious, word filters are for sesame street forums, not grown adults) has been generally popularized by music for so long its become a secondary term of almost "endearment" in a strange way, even outside the black community. Im not even sure its a bad thing either. The destruction of the impact of bigotted words can have positive effects but you have to be careful not to lose the importance of why it was a bad thing in the first place.
I disagree a bit with the word gay as I have definitely heard it less and less over the last few years. *** got (AGAIN, SERIOUS DISCUSSION ARGHH) is still common as a general insult word but I think describing something as gay is slowly dying thanks to kids actually being taught at a younger age what is acceptable.
Don't know how to feel about that last line Joff...I think you yourself have painted a picture in your head that is filled with classical stereo typical imagery. But that is key to the whole issue for me. My wife is a kind, generous, industrious, sensible living, family oriented, loving middle class mother. We have travelled to Fiji, NZ, Vietnam, Singapore, Bali and other great countries together and she has always been interested in other cultures and foreign peoples that we have met along the way.
She just can't get her head around aboriginality here in Australia. It's almost like her anti-aboriginal attitudes are intertwined with her love for her father and mother. She dare not unravel the anti-aboriginal thread because it will weaken her connection to her family, and expose her as having a history of casual racism.
My point is that you don't have to be a beer swilling, roo shooting, flip flopping, name calling person to be casually racist. You can just be a decent person who is not prepared to read, absorb and rethink some of the values that you have inherited.
I am probably talking more from a high school perspective from my teaching days but I did find gay used a lot less then back in my time.Its something my kids came home from primary school saying. They get in trouble when they say it in front of us parents, but i know they still say it when they think they aren't being heard.
Incidentally they seem to be quite accepting when exposed to gay characters on tv shows etc.
Oh yeah obviously. I am meaning in polite company that these words are being used. Saying that to a stranger is ****ing stupid.Some rapper saying "yeah my N*****S" in a song doesnt make it Ok to say N****R to some random dark complection person you meet on the street so its still a shit word to be thrown around i think.
For the record Nutsngum i wasnt picking apart your post. I just used it add my thoughts to mate![]()
Race is literally skin deep.It's odd in a way because scientifically speaking, there is no such thing as race. It is a social construct. Here in Australia we show signs of growing up into a much more accepting culture - but this is being led by the younger generation - many outposts of hatred persist though (racism, bigotry, homophobia etc).
No offense was taken Joff, But I just felt I needed to defend someone I love.Fair enough and I really wasn't trying to offend. Obviously don't know your family and it is not my intention to generalise.
I would say though that I loved what the new Australian of the Year said when confronting the LGBT issue recently.
I am paraphrasing but he said "I am a white middle age man who is still learning"
I found that a fantastic response. He was basically saying that his ingrained beliefs/prejuideces took a bit of undoing.
I am of the same age as he is and I agree with him. I have had to re-educate myself in the ways of race and sexuality.
I had certain beliefs from my formative years that were wrong. Becoming less racist (I am of a firm belief that most people still struggle with race) and less homophobic has, I believe made me a better, more compassionate person.
Wrong views can be unlearnt. I am not comfortable facing these issues but bad luck, that is my journey and I will take it because, well it is just right.
Again I am truly apologetic if my post offended you in any way. Not my intention at all.