Discussion Random Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

That's why they need renewables contributing a lot more. Anyway the idea is to be less carbon polluting, I don't think diesels do that too well. Diesel is dirty fuel.
technology has improved a lot in the last 10 years with the old US emission laws diesel engines had to meet a specific tier 4 classing this meant emission control and better designed engines .. i know on earthmoving equipment the tier 4 engines utilise electronic, fuel, air and aftertreatment components the advance in technology is now giving up to 90% reduction in particulate matter (PM) and 50% reduction in Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx)....
but with inovators like Musk this is just the tip of the iceberg on what can be done .. provided the mega rich who control the industry of coal and fossil fuels dont influence goverments to not invest in renewable and sustainable inovation

Can I replace a k-frame myself.
it depends on your skill level ... considering what the k-frame holds on the car you would want to make sure you got it right.. again my experiance is in earthmoving equipment but with this kind of repair we generally have specialist trades come in to do these repairs (welders. machinists and mechanics) personally i wouldnt do it but im not really hands on mechanically

Because most engine wear happens on a cold motor

Oh but I run synthetic oil..........up to temp is it???

Always warm your car up

It was worse when people used to put in the special high performance " 30W50" instead of the regulation "20W40"
In a 20W40 the 20 means that it performs like an SAE20 oil at cold temperature and like an SAE40 oil at higher temperature.
Something like a 10W40 gives much better performance at cold temperature ,( 10 is not as thick as 20 ) and similar performance at 100°C ( 40 vs 40)
But if you get the oil even hotter the 10W40 doesn't thin as much as a 20W40 so it performs better than a 20W40 or even a 20W50.

Modern 10W's are way better for cold starts.

I don't think the price of the electricity is the key issue. If he's delivering clean energy at the front end and then smart enough to deliver high quality engineering that feeds off that at the back end then he's built himself a money printing machine.

You charge the battery with power from the Grid.
Most of the power is coming from Coal/Gas.
Gas has less greenhouse gasses than coal.
The gas turbines in use in Australia are way less efficient than the latest generation of small Diesel Engines. When the power was privatised , the capital spending was shot. What they've built is basically aeroplane engines with a generator attached.

Batteries are merely a storage device. THEY can give benefits in that they aren't doing anything when you are stuck in traffic, so perhaps a hybrid is better, but Tesla are NOT creating green energy. They don't have built in solar panels, so unless your house has solar and storage don't even think about electric cars.

Efficiency of Generation * Efficiency of Transmission * Efficiency of Battery Charging * Efficiency of Electric Car. Est 0.45 * 0.9* 0.92 * 0.95 = 35%
Vs
Efficency of Diesel Engine. 45%.
Efficiency of Diesel Hybrid A Diesel charging batteries to drive an electric motor ends up around 40% but the driving efficiency would be better.

The price of energy plus the inefficiency of generation/transmission means that its getting very viable to take your house off grid.
Lots of solar panels, a storage system ( doesn't need to be a powerwall , any long life batteries would do if you have space for them ) , and a $5000 high efficiency backup generator , then tell them to stick it. THEN if you have surplus power you can charge a car, but i still think a plug in hybrid is better than complete electric.

Stirling engines are good for back up generation, they can use any fuel, including natural gas.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/christ...ng-engine-could-power-the-world/#11275c933b2e

Its just as cheap for you to put solar panels/storage on your house as it is for a private company to build a solar farm.
They'll want 50% per annum return on investment. You'll settle for way less.
You won't be paying for the transmission losses and the profits made by the transmission company.
You won't be pay a middle man for the privilege invoicing you.

so unless your house has solar and storage don't even think about electric cars.

Yeah, my thinking was to have your house/business setup as a solar collection point. But that’s what Tesla specialises in doesn’t it?

They do.
I'm not completely sold on "Powerwalls though" The main benefits of Lithium is lightweight and small space. Ideal for Cars/Phones/Laptops.
If you have room in your house why not use lead/acid and why have the bloody thing on the wall.
If you get a fire the lead acid won't burn.
If the Lithium burns you won't get it out.
Then there's the price.

A certain amount of Tesla is all to do with the marketing.

Solar at home is hard without storage, because most people will want the car out for their daily commute and then charge the car at night.
At work is good if you can swing it. Wonder why Tesla don't put PV panels on the car roof.

Most workplaces want a payback on investment of a couple of years though, so installing power is hard.
Origin have a system where a business can have solar installed. I remains the property of Solar, but you commit to buying the solar power at a cheaper rate to the normal tariff.

For the larger companies, their tariff is so much less than the household tariffs, the scheme doesn't come in cheap enough.

They do.
I'm not completely sold on "Powerwalls though" The main benefits of Lithium is lightweight and small space. Ideal for Cars/Phones/Laptops.
If you have room in your house why not use lead/acid and why have the bloody thing on the wall.
If you get a fire the lead acid won't burn.
If the Lithium burns you won't get it out.
Then there's the price.

A certain amount of Tesla is all to do with the marketing.

Solar at home is hard without storage, because most people will want the car out for their daily commute and then charge the car at night.
At work is good if you can swing it. Wonder why Tesla don't put PV panels on the car roof.

Most workplaces want a payback on investment of a couple of years though, so installing power is hard.
Origin have a system where a business can have solar installed. I remains the property of Solar, but you commit to buying the solar power at a cheaper rate to the normal tariff.

For the larger companies, their tariff is so much less than the household tariffs, the scheme doesn't come in cheap enough.
People forget that Elon Musk is not a scientist, he is a marketer, and that a bit of what he sprouts is really in the realm of technological speculation. His whole hyperloop project is a bunch of snake oil for example.

His bio suggests that he completed two bachelor of arts degrees in four years (physics and economics) and he had enrolled to do a PHD in applied physics and materials science at Stanford. So he must know a bit about it. He is the most interesting human being on the planet for me at the moment, even in terms of how he is positioning himself within the market. Almost seems to be anti-establishment somehow.

That's why they need renewables contributing a lot more. Anyway the idea is to be less carbon polluting, I don't think diesels do that too well. Diesel is dirty fuel.

Not Dirty in terms of greenhouse gas emissions. To call it dirty fuel is not correct in terms of global warming.

I think it's still pretty apt in Australia. My wife was a lawyer for the last 20 years and we go to heaps of corporate events and the majority of positions of power and influence in the corporate world, politics and even sport are represented by middle aged or older white guys. It's a stereotype but it's a stereotype for a reason. The people who make decisions are from a very small pool too, the AFL guys know all the politicians and the politicians are all career pollies or ex-lawyers and they are all heavily connected in the corporate world. They have a fluid movement into corporate jobs once their political career ends.
That's to be expected and hardly limited to Australia, you will find ex politicians on boards all around the world.

You know its bloody hot out there when you go out and its hot
Most sensible thing I've read in a long time [emoji1303]

You charge the battery with power from the Grid.
Most of the power is coming from Coal/Gas.
Gas has less greenhouse gasses than coal.
The gas turbines in use in Australia are way less efficient than the latest generation of small Diesel Engines. When the power was privatised , the capital spending was shot. What they've built is basically aeroplane engines with a generator attached.

Batteries are merely a storage device. THEY can give benefits in that they aren't doing anything when you are stuck in traffic, so perhaps a hybrid is better, but Tesla are NOT creating green energy. They don't have built in solar panels, so unless your house has solar and storage don't even think about electric cars.

Efficiency of Generation * Efficiency of Transmission * Efficiency of Battery Charging * Efficiency of Electric Car. Est 0.45 * 0.9* 0.92 * 0.95 = 35%
Vs
Efficency of Diesel Engine. 45%.
Efficiency of Diesel Hybrid A Diesel charging batteries to drive an electric motor ends up around 40% but the driving efficiency would be better.

The price of energy plus the inefficiency of generation/transmission means that its getting very viable to take your house off grid.
Lots of solar panels, a storage system ( doesn't need to be a powerwall , any long life batteries would do if you have space for them ) , and a $5000 high efficiency backup generator , then tell them to stick it. THEN if you have surplus power you can charge a car, but i still think a plug in hybrid is better than complete electric.

Stirling engines are good for back up generation, they can use any fuel, including natural gas.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/christ...ng-engine-could-power-the-world/#11275c933b2e

Its just as cheap for you to put solar panels/storage on your house as it is for a private company to build a solar farm.
They'll want 50% per annum return on investment. You'll settle for way less.
You won't be paying for the transmission losses and the profits made by the transmission company.
You won't be pay a middle man for the privilege invoicing you.

Tesla is building solar farms too. He's not as innovative as he seems but invests in the right things and promotes like a mother ****er. His storage batteries for houses look god and mean there is a real chance to disconnect from the grid. Overseas solar charging stations are going in already. I had a friend who worked for a wind turbine company who were set up here and our inability to make a policy cost us 10 years of investment and infrastructure. There is now a lag between the end of the old coal fired power stations and the roll out of renewables that would have taken up some slack. Pollies are dick heads.

He works for a company that owns CFPS now and they are unable to lend money to build new ones but the government has told them they have too. It's like comedy. The Liberals who sold them all are going to buy them back to rebuild them on the public purse then close them down again straight away because they made an on the run policy that sounded good to Abbott. Lucky we have the right people in charge.

Tesla is building solar farms too. He's not as innovative as he seems but invests in the right things and promotes like a mother ******. His storage batteries for houses look god and mean there is a real chance to disconnect from the grid. Overseas solar charging stations are going in already. I had a friend who worked for a wind turbine company who were set up here and our inability to make a policy cost us 10 years of investment and infrastructure. There is now a lag between the end of the old coal fired power stations and the roll out of renewables that would have taken up some slack. Pollies are dick heads.

He works for a company that owns CFPS now and they are unable to lend money to build new ones but the government has told them they have too. It's like comedy. The Liberals who sold them all are going to buy them back to rebuild them on the public purse then close them down again straight away because they made an on the run policy that sounded good to Abbott. Lucky we have the right people in charge.

I don't like the idea of Lithium Batteries in the home. Too flammable. The battery on the wall thing looks kind of cool, but i think its one of those things that in the future people will say...Checkout Grandpa Gringo, he used to keep his battery on the wall lol. I mean is it really the place to keep a battery?

His bio suggests that he completed two bachelor of arts degrees in four years (physics and economics) and he had enrolled to do a PHD in applied physics and materials science at Stanford. So he must know a bit about it. He is the most interesting human being on the planet for me at the moment, even in terms of how he is positioning himself within the market. Almost seems to be anti-establishment somehow.
He certainly aint no engineer. His whole thing about turning rockets into a commercial passenger enterprise was absurd and really not anywhere realistic to anyone know knows anything about current technology of space flight.

Because most engine wear happens on a cold motor

Oh but I run synthetic oil..........up to temp is it???

Always warm your car up

Cette règle s'applique-t-elle aux voitures françaises avec seulement trois cylindres?
sûrement pas.....

Looks like the "Out of Africa" theory is becoming more flimsy by the day.
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/s...ina-homo-erectus-sapiens-latest-a8064306.html
Article even stats "a theory that has been widely dismissed by mainstream academics for decades, some of whom suggest that it is being made up to emphasise the role of China." Chinese communists has been pushing this theory for 50 years they have at times taught children that Han Chinese are a separate species to everyone else. China is more a Han ethno-fascist state then anything else.

There is some DNA evidence of Neanderthal and Homo Sapiens interbreeding so that Europeans and Asians may have up to 2-3% Neanderthal DNA but the DNA difference from a Neanderthal and a early Homo Sapien was likely ver small maybe a couple percent or we would of had in fertile offspring like Mules or no conception at all like if someone tried to mate with an ape.
There is some DNA evidence that the same thing happened in Africa that instead of Homo Sapiens coming from 1 small part of the African we sexed our way all over to become Homo Sapiens then did the same when we left but all Homo Sapiens are maybe 95-99% related to the Homo Sapiens who came out of Africa we came out of Africa and the greatest DNA difference between any 2 people is far less then 1%.
Also Homo Erectus originated in Africa just earlier then Homo Sapiens Chinese people can be racists too
https://www.theatlantic.com/technol...ancient-humans-had-sex-other-hominids/338117/

Lucky Dan's was across the road from last job 2 can trip home

store.jpg
o_Oo_O
F**K buying toys mate. Id rather have a beer.:drunk:

I'd love a solar powered house in the future, didn't think about the potential danger a batteyr may pose though

Saves $$$ and the environment win win

So, working with power tools, there's inherently 3 individual companies who produce lithium who then onsell to everyone globally battery wise, and in the process of making things safe, we kinda try to break things and inevitably set fire to things that are flammable to denote environmental points and ensure standards; lithium in general is quite impressive when you try and set fire to it.

If it's enclosed, like in a battery, you will see it expand, then smoke for about 3-5 seconds and in about half a second there will be flame, there will be force and depending on the amount it will be quite the shock to see.

Generally doesn't get to that point though, since in most every case you have electronics to talk to the electronics to keep it stable and checks and balances if certain things occur temperature wise.