Moved Thread Rank the Melbourne suburbs

You want Indians? Lynbrook and Endeavour Hills geez it's like ****ing Chennai down there.

Sadly not enough good Indian food joints around. Would pay a pretty penny for a nice Biryani

1. South Yarra - The bit just outside the city near the Botanic Gardens/Yarra/Tan is one of the nicest areas ofMelbourne.

2. Richmond/Jollymont. The G. Sporting precinct.

3. Brunswick. Not my go to area but adds a bit to the scene so it is not bland.

4. North Melbourne/Flemington. Good restaurants/places to chill if you want something different.

5. Box Hill. Just picked a random outer suburb. Hard to get around, traffic makes peak hour a nightmare, boring.

6. Dandenong. Just picked an outer outer suburb. Crime ridden.

What I hate about Essendon is people say stuff like this about it and severely overrate it.

Like yeah it's relatively close to the city, it's pretty safe, a few things around. But it's not one of the best suburbs in the whole northern area of Melbourne.

You can't even really walk to Brunswick to go to a proper pub from there. It's a good $30 uber to the city. I wouldn't even say the cafés are particularly good – they're like a country town's idea of trendy. By no means bad but barely some burgeoning area. Union Road has a bit of that and even then it's pretty much only come in the last 12 months.

Essendon is a pretty good area but people act like it's up there with Fitzroy North or something, like some neighbourly little enclave close to some happening suburb. It's depressing to think it's a mil to get a house. Like it isn't that much more to buy/rent in Flemington to Kensington which are way better. Moonee Ponds has a way better main strip too even. In fact when I thought parks I thought Queen's Park, which is Moonee Ponds. When I thought shops I thought the shopping centre near and the whole of Puckle Street. It's splitting hairs but you know.

The Moonee Ponds end is part of the older more middle class part of the Essendon area which runs up along Mt Alexander Rd into Essendon proper. The property prices reflect the housing stock, the local infrastructure and the distance from the city.

A lot of suburbs live off their history, Essendon and the surrounding suburbs were and in some regards are still more middle class than your typical northern or western suburb, it is part of the backstory behind the apparently fierce rivalry between those middle class Essendon types up on the hill and the poor worker class at the bottom of the hill in North Melbourne although I'm not sure there is much of a hill separating the two suburbs, just like the rivalry really.

If you talk about the north as starting above the Yarra River and ending at the Maribyrnong, then:

Fitzroy, Carlton, Parkville, Princes Hill, Clifton Hill, the nicer parts of Northcote, North Melbourne, Flemington, Kensington, Ascot Vale, Moonee Ponds are all way better than Essendon. I'd rather live in Essendon than Brunswick because the latter has such a shitty, seedy, gross feeling and it seems a heap of the good old Turkish restaurants have become slack and not as cool as they used to be (that wood panelled one half way down Sydney Road with all the dips used to be great, it's a bit too lax now – heaps of other places are giving you reheated stuff and are just full of discussions you don't really want to hear, sort of feels like it's comprised mainly of 30-plus year old's who can't let go of sharehouse living and drugs). As I said Essendon is a pretty good suburb, would have no qualms in living there, would actually enjoy the more suburban and quiet lifestyle for 12 months, but at the same time at under 30 I'd probably be itching to get back somewhere a little closer.

The demographic there is good because it's always been fairly middle class as is my understanding, now it's just full of Indians, Asians with good jobs who want their kids going to private schools in the area, but the trams are riddled with little pisspants and teenage grots from Niddrie which is a bonafide bogan suburb.

I know certain bigfooty posters get in a hump when I say it but there's a nice little clump of suburbs not far away. And they aren't that much more expensive. Nicer houses, the area just off Racecourse Road can be pretty ****in beautiful walking through it in the rain, those old shops and houses.

The only thing Flem-to-Norf needs is a rip roaring pub. All the ones there are pretty average. Leveson has okay prices but generally feels like an underdelivering South of the River pub, Town Hall is filthy and full of campaigners (feels like you walk away with a bender's worth of grime on you after a few pints there), the one at the very end where the tram turns has potential but is pretty shitty... bad staff, average food, no decent $8-10 pints so you have to reach for a $13 IPA or else go for some overrated pale ale or shitty Draught which isn't even cheap instead. Average decor, needs a general clean up.

Sad though because you walk around that area and so many nice looking old hotels are now apartments or deserted Thai joints or under-utilised. Nothing irks me more. Fremantle is another classic area where there's beautiful old hotels everywhere but they're catering to outer suburban bogans on weekends (The Newport), attract the worst of every crowd and have bad open mics too often (The National), owned by a supermarket (Sail & Anchor). The less said about that shithole Moondyne Joe's the better. Makes me angry. Can't you have two or three pubs that open up nice and light in summer and keep in the warmth and show the footy in winter, while shipping $14 jugs of Furphy? I mean come on. Not that hard.

Brunswick is a mixed bag, West Brunswick is rather nice particularly as you get closer to Pascoe Vale South.

Sweeping Generalisation / Outsider's Perception - Be interested to see how far off this is as have spent majority of time in CBD / inner city when visiting Melbourne. Gone by footy teams but kind of intended to be pooled with surrounding suburbs.

Elite
-

Upper Middle Class
-
Fitzroy
St.Kilda

Middle Class
-

Working Class
-
Footscray

I would move St Kilda to middle class, people may think of St Kilda as being an up market suburb but most of the local professional types generally live in the neighboring suburbs like Middle Park Elwood, Brighton or Elsternwick. St Kilda is slowly becoming more middle class however from my experience it shares more in common with Richmond which you have listed as middle class.

Hawthorn is elite! parts of it are however it has always been a diverse suburb with less upper areas so I would move it down to upper middle class.

Hawthorn as a whole is brought down by it's international student population who live their for Swinburne.