Social Science Rate your 2010

• Thread starter Thread starter Bourky23

6.5/10 for me

Pros
- Work is interesting and challenging, and the most annoying prick in the office was woken up to and pissed off early in the year. Boss seems to rate me in a non ghey kind of way.
-got into the masters program i was wanting to do
- went from 'mentally disabled' to 'quite fluent' in my foreign language of choice.
- single life remains enjoyable, some surprising additions to the tally over the course of the year.
-bought a lot of things I've always wanted. Its nice to have nice things.
-made or revived a few close friendships.
-had maybe the most memorable night on the turps in my life in april.
- got the eyes lasered. Turned out perfectly and I am loving it.

Cons
-Work is insanely busy. Were a few big disappointments in the last week or so. Hope that isn't a sign of things to come in 2011.
-buggered up my financial situation pretty royally by miscalculating my tax return and going over the top with a few things. Have to buckle down and pay some debts in 2011.
-struggled to get to the gym regularly and never really got into a routine.
-one traumatic incident which was terrifying and looked like being life changing at the time. Turned out okay in the end. Not sure if pro or a con?
-West (lol) Coast.
-a few mates/relatives have been on struggle street one way or another.

This is a good thread, in a slightly creepy and voyeuristic way. Interesting to see the things people care about and also how many positive ratings there are- either life in oz is cracking or we are all a pretty optimistic lot.

2009 sucked for me, so 2010 seemed pretty unreal.

Good
- actually got a job, earnt some money
- had less drunken adventures than last year but the ones I had were probably more interesting than previous ones.
- passed my uni subjects, actually did subjects that I at least found to be half decent.

Bad
- job is very boring and I get paid jack shit:p
- everything or everyone I barracked for in sport sucked, and pies won the flag.
- had a period where I didn't go out for about a month and a half (but I probably can't afford to go out more than once a month anyway).

7.5/10 for me.

5/10 Bit of a mixture. Work sucked. What is it about women teachers that make them so friggin bitchy? Outside of work was quite good but. Went to every Essendon match in Victoria plus Sydney. Having said that there were quite a few games I wished I wasn't at.:o

Rate: 7.5/10

Pros

• Won Dux of year nine at my school, without really putting in too much effort whatsover.
  • In the senior basketball I played during 2010, the year is divided into two seasons. First season, I won the grand final in Div 4 and was named Grand Final MVP. In the second season I repeated my previous feats, as well as coming second in the Div 4 Overall Best and Fairest, and winning the Div 2 Grand Final. Also, played with my brother in the second Div 4 grand final, which was a big thing for me.
  • Gained a midfield spot in my local footy team as a bottom-ager, and went on to finish 5th in the Best and Fairest, in a runners-up team. Hope to better that this seaosn as a top-ager.
  • Developed closer friendships with a lot of mates.
  • Saw U2 and Bon Jovi live.
  • Was a big year in terms of learning and developing social skills (read: girls) :o Mistakes made, but at my age I think that's too be expected, and mistakes are good aslong as you learn from them, which I have.
  • Was having more and more fun towards the end of the year, hoping that continues.

Cons

• Didn't really improve in terms of fitness, just sort of tread water in that regard.
  • Didn't get out as much as I maybe could have in hindsight.
  • Lack of girlfriend was disappoint. Learnt about the harsh reality of the frienzone among other things.
  • Didn't feel like too much accomplishment was going on, and started to really take notice of life flying by already..

2011 goals
  • Go running every morning (did it on the first day of the year, will continue to do it).
  • Try and add a bit off weight
  • Read more, less time on XBox and computer
  • Don't just be. If I'm at home, doing nothing, ask myself why, and get together with a mate.
  • Actually start putting in more studying/effort when it comes to school, because from here on out it seems to be more about organisation and hard work as opposed to just being smart and getting through the work.
  • Hopefully can get a few girls throughout the year too.
  • Find a part-time job once school starts to add some weight to my wallet.

Good:
- Got an extremely good ATAR without trying at all.
- Finished school and just partying every day.
- Leavers
- Have my license
- No deaths to anyone I know.

Bad
- Wooden spoon :(
- Finished school. Might not see some of my good mates again when they go to the U.S, Europe, etc.
- Fuel is ****ing expensive.
- Had no oney at all.
- Have not improved my fitness at all. Probably went backwards.
- Still don't have a PS3 or Xbox or anything.

7/10.

First half of the year I differed for 6 months from uni, was a pretty shit six months (granted it probably could have been a lot worse). Basically did nothing but hang around the house and sleep, went out a lot, but the time between was highly disappointing. Watched a lot of tv shows etc. First semi serious relationship, which was boring, and in the end bad, it also took way too long to get over after it ended.

Couldn't find a job to save my life. Also that 9 loss run in the middle of the year ****ing sucked.

2nd half of the year was a lot better. I went back to uni, made new mates, passed everything. Got a decent job working at AAMI park. Port Adelaide managed to win games, which was highly exciting.

Collingwood winning the premiership was lame, especially as i rather like the saints - family supports them, I went nuts when Goddard took that mark.

Ashes was a pretty major disappointment as well.

I also got my P's roughly a month ago, which was awesome.

All in all I'd give it a 6 or 7 out of ten. It wasn't great for large portions, but being more mature is a massive bonus, which I really am. The last 2 months have just been great as well.

6.5/10

Hoping 2011 shits on it (which it really, really should)

Overall, a pretty good year. Key highlight was moving back to Australia after living oversea since 2001.

As I knew I was leaving Scotland in June I ensured I made the most of my final six months away. 2009 had been pretty shit as I'd broken up with long term girlfriend of 8 years but by the time NYE ever rolled around I'd pretty well worked trough the inevitable shit that happens after a long and intense relationship stops working. Glad to say by the time I bailed the ex and I had become friends again and she even atended my leaving party which was good: all terrifyingly mature really.

So the first six months in Edinburgh I made sure I did plenty of partying - a single man to leaving with a bang. Some good results on the female front: not rooting evetything that moves but a few very high quality pick ups that certainly lifted the spirits.

Did some pretty sweet travelling on my way back to Oz: Lebanon, Syria and Thailand. Had an absolute ball and managed to combine some serious partying with really interesting historical/cultural stuff and met some sounds people I know will remain long term friends.

Arriving back Oz was a bit of a head spin but made far easier by a really close mate announcing a few weeks before I got back that he had a spot in his plush yet unbelievably cheap (for what it is) and quite big house in North Melbourne. Just being able to get off the plane and head straight to 'my place' rather than having stay in spare rooms and go through all the hassle of finding a new place was heaps beneficial.

Spent the first month a bit back just catching up with people, getting my head around being back and doing some freelance journalism and speechwriting.

North were showed some tremendously encouraging signs in the second half of the year and finishing the season with a win against much hyped Melbourne in a game where our youngsters - led by Levi Greenwood - has me very optimistic for 2011. Also just great to go to games. I'd been back over a few times when living overseas and gone to games then but getting 7 or 8 solid rounds in was awesome.

Things got a bit flat September until about a few weeks ago. Novelty of being home wore off. Had a few things with various girls but none of them eventuated to much which was a bit disheartening. Then financial necessity - hadn't worked full time in getting on four months - meant I ended up taking a job that was good money but not really wanted I wanted to do.

It was in the public service doing sort of PR kind of work and while I enjoyed working with some of my colleagues and found of the subject matter interesting enough, coming from the very fast paced and intense world of journalism to the public service where everything is structured and formalised and requires endless levels of approval and sign off and meetings and blah blah meant I was quickly getting bored and frustrated.

However then in early December I got a call from a contact about a new start up media project and invited to submit a CV. I found the project really exciting and right up my alley. After some pretty full on interviews I got a call on the Monday before Christmas offering me the position which I accepted.

It really is as close to the ideal job as possible: money is very good, good mix of writing and other stuff, covering areas I'm really interested in and working with some intermationally-renowned people I'll be able to learn so much from.

So that kicked 2010 up to a 9 out of 10 for me.
Cricket shambles losing points big time.

And I gave my old work the arse on minimum notice as you can as a contractor but don't start the new role til end of Jan so have a month off. Going to WA to catch up with some good mates there and spend a lazy ten days or so down at Margaret River beaching and wining it up.

Good

Passed all 8 university units I did over the 2 semesters study periods - 3 distinctions, 3 credits and 2 p1's so that's a very good start.

Went on a holiday to the Gold Coast during the Easter Holidays and won a week long all expenses free trip to Sydney - so that was a double bonus. Took that holidays during the October school holidays and missed seeing Collingwood win the flag. Triple bonus

Crows had an ok second half of the year, Adelaide United are doing much better this season than last and I got a new car. So a few good points to keep me going.

Bad

I lost a very close mate to suicide in May and had a bit of a break down. A group of mates decided we should have a wake to remember him, got very drunk and then very pissed of with why he did it and started punching and kicking things in an uncontrollable manner. In the end, broke my hand, wrist, foot and ankle and missed the second half of the football season and social basketball on a Tuesday night. After that occurred I fell into a depressed state and dropped out of everything other than uni, Went to the doctor and got diagnosed with depression and started seeing a physiologist to talk about what happen and become a more positive person. Maybe i could talk about my sister and brother in law dropping in and work though those issues as well.

Had my first appointment on the 31st of December. Hopefully all of my negative thoughts will leave or slowly decrease with the departure of 2010.

bring on 2011.

Overall - 6 out of 10 i would say. some good stuff, some bad stuff but overall....I'm working on having a much better 2011.

Mixed bag, would have liked to exercise and socialise more than I did, work is never-ending and had some family stuff to deal with (still unresolved), but things got better towards the end of 2010 as I started to develop better working relationships with the people in our office -- which makes a HUGE difference, no matter what your job is. Didn't feel like I accomplished all that much, really (in part because it went by so quickly), but feel I understand things a lot better than I did at the end of 2009, which means the year overall was a step forward.

Went to my first Club Champion (Swans B&F dinner) this year which was awesome. Footy was enjoyable even though we were never going to be a serious contender - but loved watching the re-birth of the new Swans. Did a tour of Vietnam last January which was a blast, but apart from that didn't travel much. Re-connected with my family interstate at the end of the year when I visited for Christmas.

Good
-ATAR should be enough to get me into my course
-Increased confidence
-Got unbelievably fit
-Turned 18
-Memories were generally good
-Went to heaps of concerts
-Carlton surprised a bit

Bad
-Lady troublez for much of the year
-Still not at ideal skinfold level
-Lots of time spent studying
-Slightly sad about finishing school

-Keep up the exercise
-Get into a few more relationships
-Go out more
-Pass uni
-Worry less

Started off awesomely, had 2 girls fighting for my hand in..relationship. Eventually made my mind up, good choice, close to a nympho, constant sex for a good 6 months :thumbsu: :D

Midway through year am really hating my employer (EGT) ... they were in a nutshell..shit. Talked to a mate and he was mentioning that his company who pays above award rate were currently looking for work, in the meantime my gf was being a stupid bitch. So this month was crazy, work got infinite times better yet i couldn't appreciate it for all the heartbreak. feelsbaccsman.

Come spring time it's all back on track, ****buddys make the relationship seem shit anyway, GD board soaks up lots of time from complete awesomeness and i turn 21.

End of year goes well albeit **** buddy gets feelings and calls it off. Holiday times, organise phuket for next april, mates are housesitting, apologies to liver as shit gets messy and everything is awesome. Women situation has come full circle, must be summer lovin?

As for 2011:
phuket
women
gold coast
footy
continue apprenticeship

it's not looking too bad

feelsgoodman

Where does 2010 rank in the best years of your life (or the past decade, at least)?

For mine, 2002 and 2007 are the Kings. I'd have 2010 pressing to be very close to the throne indeed.

2010 was one of the poorer years for me this decade (still got a 6 so I haven't done too bad)

Without a doubt 2007 and 2009 was the best years for me.

Went to Bali (go every second year)

My top 5 sport teams were all champions in 2007 and only Boston missed out in 2009
-Geelong
-Man Utd
-Boston Red Sox
-Melbourne Storm*
-Melbourne Victory

*At the time the felt legit

2007 gets the nod though as Boston won the championship, Ashes domination and I turned 21

Good:
- Got dux of my school and an awesome ATAR
- Kicked the sealing goal in my school's staff student footy match
- Met new people, made a lot of new friends
- Improved my social life significantly
- Got my Ps
- Got punched in the face and broke the guy's knuckles whilst only suffering a slight bruise

Bad:
- Family troubles (the guy who broke his knuckles was my brother)
- Need more money

2011:
- Improve my relationship with my brother (this is more dependent on him)
- Land a decent job
- Thoroughly enjoy my first year at uni and still get good grades
- Keep in contact with many old friends whilst making new ones

Good:
Spose Lecras Kicking 12 the one night i decide to upgrade my ticket and sit right hehind the goals when he kicks twelve was pretty cool.
Saw ACDC. Which was my first rock concert i went to. Besides the headache and the heat. That was good.
(sorta slim pickings really because of the negatives)

Bad/Negatives:
Popped shoulder at work in Feb. Spent two months on light duties waiting for operation.
Been off work since april 27 since my shoulder reco.
Problems getting paid through work during that time.
Stress and related problems with it.
Shoulder in sling for 6 weeks, arm not functioning well for a long time after.
Break up with partner of three years which leaved me devo. Life goes on.
Go back to work and say "ill do light duties" and get told to go home until im 100%. im still off. this happened in october.
Collinwood win flag and the never ending hearing of it from collinwood supporters bragging and geeling supporters whhinging it should have been thiers.

-4/10

Should be back at work within a month.
Hopefully assult the OT and save since ive been getting **** all
Get away for a holiday. (ok, people think that being off for best part of ten months is a holiday, its not. a holiday for me in this realm is away from vic. to drink piss all day and run amok and not have a care in the world. not feel like im being watched by work.)
Try and get that OT and upgrade car.
Finish off some house renos.
Get a new housemate.
Find a woman.
Hope that they weight dont go up.
Hope Im there when the eagles win the flag
Hopefully 2011 is better.

Good

-Flying at work
-Bought another investment apartment
-Epic holidays with the boys
-Made up with a longterm mate that i hadn't spoken to for a couple of years
-Hot streak with women since i've been single
-Family member's cancer went into remission
-Collingwood Flag, beating St Kilda

Bad

-Broke up with long term GF
-Her family no longer speaks to me
-Mutual friends are now her friends
-Fitness gone to shit due to laziness and too much work

I'd say it was a 8/10 year, thats pretty harsh marking though. I had a ****ing awesome year but the gloss was taken off due to the break up, i was really good mates with her old man and brother plus some of her friends who all won't talk to me now.

Worst year ever.

- girlfriend of four years cheated on me, subsequent relationship breakdown
- stagnated in current role at work.
- got kicked out of the house that I was living in as a result of breaking up with girlfriend and had nowhere to live so slept on a mates lounge room floor for two months.
- best mate was overseas while all this was happening.
- aforementioned ex girfriends dad died. Was way too young and generally a great person.
- felt helpless and conflicted in how to deal with the situation regarding ex girlfriends father passing.
- dealt with the stress in my life in a completely self destructive manner.
- failed to grasp the opportunites being single offered me.

+ saw some great acts perform
+ became closer with friends both old and new.

In summary 2010 can go get ****ed.

1/10

Good.
Got License.
Got a car.
Partied a lot.
Got a fair bit of money. (Lost most of it.)
Uncle came back from overseas.

Bad.
Dog died.
Sister has been away all year.
Small car crash. X 2
Failed uni; Dropped out halfway.
Pies won premiership; old man is Magpie.
Got dropped for Grand Final in footy.
Horrible start to cricket season.
Went to Sydney to see Carlton lose the final.

I didn't think it was a horrible year but weighing up the pros and cons it doesn't look great.

4/10? :o

Pretty solid year for me

- Pies won the premiership
- Became friends with the chick I was eying at work for ages
- Now we have been going out for 4 months
- Finally transferred to a uni course I enjoy
- Got an awesome new guitar
- Made a lot of great new friends
+ more

Solid 9/10, gonna be hard to top last year this year.

+ Finished year 12
+ Got a social life
+ Become a lot closer with certain people
+ Finally went interstate

- Social life may have interfered a bit with school in the end
- Still don't have license

Pretty uneventful year but I'd say it's been my best so far.

7/10