Ratten gone?

Fair dinkum, they got reamed by Injuries. Knee-Jerk reaction. Team should of made the 8, but one bad year shouldn't get you rogered when you've been on the improve. Fail to show improvement next year? Fine, get the boot. Players have to take responsibility though.

As for Caro, never liked her, because her articles are mostly about the political side of things and often contain large amounts of innuendo and factualy incorrect guesses. I only care about the football.

Emma Quayle, now there's a lady that knows football!! Why can't she be on the Footy Shows??
Would it really suit what she does, though?
I dunno, Quayle's strength is that she goes into topics (players/clubs/drafts/whatever) in a fair bit of depth.
Does a panel type show, where they basically allocate 5 minutes for the group to cover each issue, really let anyone do that?

Never ceases to amaze how a fairly standard coach somehow becomes a supercoach-in-waiting simply by not buggering up his farewell press conference. Ratten isn't completely stupid, he knows he had nothing to gain from a petulant, whiny performance. Kudos to him, but I don't see how it makes an iota of difference to whether or not Carlton made the right decision. When you have a coach with a proven ability to build a premiership team available, it was pretty much up to Ratten to make himself unsackable, which he comprehensively failed to do, for whatever reasons.

i don't think he was that bad a coach and i think ratten may have eventually got them to a flag, but the fact is that carlton memberships are slipping behind the other big melbourne clubs and there is no way they could have gone into 2013 with the same old faces coming of such a disastrous year (and the debacle up at carrara). the marketeers needed a fresh face with a proven record. i'm sure they'll come up with another ****ing awesome slogan too.

the autopsy report for ratten's coaching career will read: death by marketing.

i don't think he was that bad a coach and i think ratten may have eventually got them to a flag, but the fact is that carlton memberships are slipping behind the other big melbourne clubs and there is no way they could have gone into 2013 with the same old faces coming of such a disastrous year (and the debacle up at carrara). the marketeers needed a fresh face with a proven record. i'm sure they'll come up with another ******* awesome slogan too.

the autopsy report for ratten's coaching career will read: death by marketing.

'Can you smell what the Pies cooked and we've reheated?'

'They know we're coming, but we're pretty sure we're lost'

Kernehan clearly didn't want to get rid of him. The board + Swan wanted him gone. Am glad Sticks ripped into the players, hope he told them they've cost a brilliant man his job.

Not sure I'd call Ratten a brilliant man but I do feel sorry for him, he comes across as a good, honest person and has handled himself pretty well all year with humour and class when the media vultures have been circling him.

Would have been nice if Carlton could have stuck by him but at the same time I can understand why they sacked him as, injuries or not, they expected to play finals this year and didn't achieve it. Might have been different if Malthouse hadn't made himself available though as there aren't really any other great candidates out there.

you just can't knock grace in defeat. The Saints should be on the alert - the Carlton players are probably going to come out well fired up after this!! One last effort for the coach they didn't manage last week. What are the bookies offering? Might get on.

I might be worried if we still had a chance of playing finals, not too worried about them taking 9th of us though.

Never ceases to amaze how a fairly standard coach somehow becomes a supercoach-in-waiting simply by not buggering up his farewell press conference.

Never ceases to amaze? Who else was as gracious as ratts in the farewell presser?

Carlton's new slogan for 2013:

"I Am Collingwood"

Easy- you play the 18 year olds together, give them match time,they learn together and a camaraderie develops amongst a group that has played together. They reach 75 games together and start maturing as a group - just as Gold coast had matured when they beat Carlton in their second year together.
Clarkeson did that at Hawthorn earlier on and put up with the pain, even President Jeff wanted him chucked , but wiser footy brains remained and so did our ripper coach.
Ratten has still been murdered by a useless board and admininstration, with some help from the AFL earlier on. Tragic and they will pay badly.

Reporter: Some punters might claim that the board has acted inappropriately in dealing with a club champion. How would you respond to that claim?
Board: Some idiot thinks they are in a more informed position than us to make a decision? Is that what they think? Well, we couldn't give a Rat's...

Never ceases to amaze? Who else was as gracious as ratts in the farewell presser?

I don't know and I don't care, the point is that just because you don't rant at a press conference that doesn't mean you were really a top notch coach all along. Generally the coaches exit is managed pretty well these days, Ratten pretty much knew as soon as the siren went on Saturday night that he was gone, he had it confirmed yesterday and today he had his chance to go gracefully, which he took. He knows full well that the club didn't have much choice, it would have been ridiculous for him to carry on like a pork chop, so why is everyone praising him to high heaven for doing the equivalent of managing to tie up his shoelaces correctly?

Don't like the guy for where his allegiances lay, but respect for such a classy way to go out.

You don't like him because he played for Carlton?

What a childish, moronic and trivial reason. Get over yourself.

Well, I despise everything about Carlton. Makes sense to me. You get over YOURself

Carlton promised to undertake an indepth review and they chickened out/lost patience because of the Gold Coast loss. It's really sad for Carlton fans that their board couldn't wait a week for the season to end and to actually do the hard yards instead of just sacking the coach presumably because Malthouse bluffed them into it.

Mick Malthouse is a smart man, he doesn't want to leave anything to chance. He wants the Carlton job and he knows there's a chance a proper review would prevent him from getting it, so he picks the club's lowest point to throw his hat into the ring with a time limit. It worked.

If Geelong had chickened out of the 2006 review like Carlton did and sacked Thompson there's no doubt in my mind we never would have turned things around the way we did.

In as parochial and emotional a construct as football, seems like as good a reason as any.

Only two guys I like to have worn the monogram are Maclure and O'hAilpin.