Rd 1 2010

• Thread starter Thread starter BarneyBent

Careful where you step Kadafi. There is a line, and you are almost stepping on it.

LRT has improved out of sight. I don't particularly care how supporters of other clubs rate him (or what his trade value would be).
Back ín the day he the clumsy type you speak of, but not anymore.

Quality player nowadays. Does his job.

Careful wat i say?? mate i can say wat eva i want about football, its my opinion. if u dont like it go join another forum where u dont express opinions. Lrt survived in our golden yrs 03-07 when we had a very good team, with legends like leo barry and c.bolton carrying him. now that leos gone, lrt has done nothing he still is the same clumsy player he has always been. u cant teach an ex rugby player how to play football. him and richards are not good footballers, and to win flags you cant have lrt as one of ur main men in defence come september. thats my opinion, is that orite mr THEMASE??

Great start to your Big Footy days, telling a mod to go post on another forum.

We're all still waiting for you to talk about football, or is that what you've been attempting to do?

sorry i ddint no it was sucha hierarchy on a forum. what do you want to talk about? Mglyn and kennedy to the swans for pick 39+39?

mate are you serious?? no shit LRT plays afl. lrt is an average footballer at his very best. now if u cant handle that, i dont realy care. mate i aint no internet warrior, i couldnt care less about fightin with you about dumb childish stuff. i wanna talk footy adn the swanies, now how bout you prove your words and stop worrying bout the rest of the board to get your little army behind you and get ova it! do us a favour and give me your opinion on the following.
LRT, RICHARDS, L.ABLETT, SEABY, BEVAN! id like to see what wave length your on, based on your opinions obviously!

Just to change the subject...

My Potential Sydney Swans Side of 2010:

Backs: Bevan LRT Mattner
Half-Backs: Shaw C.Bolton Grundy
Centre: Jack Kirk McVeigh
Half-Forward: O'keefe Goodes Moore
Forward: Veszpremi White Johnston
Ruck: Mumford J.Bolton Kennedy
Interchange: Seaby Richards Hannebery Pick 6*
Emergency: Malceski Brabazon Pyke

*2009 Draft pick 6 to develope early-Likely to pick a speedy inside/hard-at-it skillful midfielder (key to Sydney's success... i reckon :D ).

Potentials:
Koby Stevens - Hard-nut inside midfielder with great hands.
Dustin Martin - Offensive midfielder with great skill on both sides of the body.
Kane Lucas - Speedster Midfielder with run-carry abilities and great awareness.

mate are you serious?? no shit LRT plays afl. lrt is an average footballer at his very best. now if u cant handle that, i dont realy care. mate i aint no internet warrior, i couldnt care less about fightin with you about dumb childish stuff. i wanna talk footy adn the swanies, now how bout you prove your words and stop worrying bout the rest of the board to get your little army behind you and get ova it! do us a favour and give me your opinion on the following.
LRT, RICHARDS, L.ABLETT, SEABY, BEVAN! id like to see what wave length your on, based on your opinions obviously!

LRT: good defender, not great like C. Bolton, but reliable. Has height which is something our backline really needs. easily in 22. More than an average footballer for sure.

RICHARDS: loose defender. pretty good footy awareness. drops back to help one on ones. courage which no one doubts. does do some cringe worthy things but generally solid. just dont ask him to shoot for goal.

L.ABLETT: not a glory seeker. whether he is in the 22 is debateable, but for now is a big body and a modest tagger. does a pretty good job overall, just doesnt have enough of an impact himself.

SEABY: dont watch enough WCE games to even make a comment.

BEVAN: very versatile. very courageous. very very courageous. not a great defender and not a very good forward and he doesnt currently have form so he's struggling atm.

go ahead, disagree with all of that.

nuh thats fair enough. i understand the height issue with lrt, however if we are to get talia whos 196 id rather through him in at the expense of lrt. richards i wont even go there, his decision making is terrible. l.ablett i dont think warrants a spot in our 22, he is at the perfect age now, with experience at 26, to average under 10 possesions a game everytime he plays is poor. seaby, well i cant believe we gave pick 22 for a bloke that cant get a game at the eagles, he is extremely average, however he cud turn it around, and im all for givin him a go. Bevan, i was a fan of him, but since smith has come abouts, i think he has taken bevans spot in a back pocket. he offers more speed, and has far more upside.

Sydney has an excess of battling midfield-small-type players who are going to be really struggling next season. I think McGlynn and Kennedy are going to squeeze them out now they have officially signed.

Careful wat i say?? mate i can say wat eva i want about football, its my opinion. if u dont like it go join another forum where u dont express opinions. Lrt survived in our golden yrs 03-07 when we had a very good team, with legends like leo barry and c.bolton carrying him. now that leos gone, lrt has done nothing he still is the same clumsy player he has always been. u cant teach an ex rugby player how to play football. him and richards are not good footballers, and to win flags you cant have lrt as one of ur main men in defence come september. thats my opinion, is that orite mr THEMASE??

I will cop that.
Sir, I was referring to your demeanor towards other posters. Not your opinion. I welcome any opinions, I was merely stating mine in regards to LRT.

I, like you am also allowed an opinion.

If you would like to discuss further, please use the private messaging functions Bigfooty provides.

By the way, the bolded bit. We won a premiership with LRT in our defense. Nearly won a second. That isn't opinion, that is fact.

B: Smith - LRT - Grundy
HB: Shaw - Bolton - Mattner
C: O'Keefe - Kirk - Kennedy
HF: Meredith - Goodes - Jack
F: Vezspremi - White - Johnston
R: Seaby - Bolton - McVeigh
INT: Mumford - Bird - Richards - McGlynn

EMG: O'Dwyer - Hannebery - Moore - Malceski - Bevan - Barlow - Ablett - Pyke - Currie - Thornton

We actually have pretty good depth for small/medium sized players. I'd like to fit more in the team, but that's a good sign. Richards could easily go out for one of the emergencies. I'm hoping Malceski find his 07 form next season. Hannebery and Bevan unlucky. I'm picking Vez based on his reputation because I haven't seen much from him to warrant the plaudits so far. Just seems another version of Moore.

Im still a huge fan of Bevo, not down back cause as you say Kadafi Smith has done bloody well down there since coming in, but i reckon Roosy will want to keep a defensive forward in the side like he was doing with Ablett at the end of the year, and i truly believe Bevo can do everything better than or at least as well as NOG did it.

With all those trades now finalised essentially, this is what i hope is the round 1 side:

F: Bevan White Veszpremi
HF: Jack Goodes Bird
C: ROK McVeigh Kennedy
HB: Mattner LRT Smith
B: Shaw C.Bolton Grundy
R: Mumford J.Bolton Kirk

I/C: Seaby, Richards, then 2 of (Hannebery, Malceski, Moore, Meredith, McGlynn).

So happy about McGlynn, he is a bloody good tagger but is good going the other way too. Jack can now be released from out and out tagging the gun which is a big plus. Had a bit of a rethink on Johnston, probs better for him to start off in the 2's rather than going straight into it. Im sure he will dominate Canberra like it's nobody's business and make his way into the 1's by round 6 or something. But start him in the 2's i reckon.

yeah i agree, we do have a good supply of SMALL sized midfielders... wot about our supply of medium sizers. Another batch of Ryan O'keefe's is i think what sydney should be looking for in the next draft.

I think our team will look something like this (Note: this is my second post as we just got Mcglynn):

B Bolton, Craig | Grundy, Heath | Smith, Nick
HB Shaw, Rhyce | Roberts-Thomson, Lewis | Malceski, Nick
C Mattner, Martin | Kirk, Brett | J.Kennedy
HF McVeigh, Jarrad | Goodes, Adam | O'Keefe, Ryan
F Richards, Ted | White, Jesse | Meredith, Brett
FOLL Seaby, Mark | Bolton, Jude | Jack, Kieren
INT Bird, Craig | Hannebery, Daniel | Mumford, Shane | McGlynn, Ben

EM Bevan, Paul | Pyke, Mike | O'Dwyer, Matthew | Veszpremi, Patrick | Moore, Jarred

Other players in our list (that i think we will keep):
Johnston, Lewis | Playfair, Henry | Currie, Daniel
Brabazon, Ryan | Thornton, Kristin | Heath, Campbell
O'Keefe, Daniel | Schmidt, Tim | Barlow, Ed
Orreal, Jake | Gilchrist, Taylor | Ablett, Luke

Look at the depth of our team!!

I could't find room Beven, Vesz, Moore..... (Look at our emergencies :)) . Barlow cant even make that list :thumbsu:. plus we have young players like johnston + currie developing not to mention two first round draft picks.

Next year is going to be awesome

Yep,our depth is fantastic now,everyone will be fighting for their spots and now if anyone gets injured,we know we have the players to cover them.We will certainly be there in September next year.

I think this is probably our best 22

F Johnston White Veszpremi
HF O’Keefe Goodes Meredith
C Shaw McVeigh Jack
HB Mattner R-Thompson Kennedy
B C. Bolton Richards Grundy
R Seaby Kirk J. Bolton
I Mumford McGlynn Bird Smith

Other players

Malceski
Ablett
Moore
Bevan
Hannebery
O’Dwyer
Thornton
Brabazon
Barlow
Pyke
Schmidt
Playfair
Currie
Laidlaw
Heath
D O’Keefe
Gilchrist
Orreal

I think our team will look something like this (Note: this is my second post as we just got Mcglynn):

B Bolton, Craig | Grundy, Heath | Smith, Nick
HB Shaw, Rhyce | Roberts-Thomson, Lewis | Malceski, Nick
C Mattner, Martin | Kirk, Brett | J.Kennedy
HF McVeigh, Jarrad | Goodes, Adam | O'Keefe, Ryan
F Richards, Ted | White, Jesse | Meredith, Brett
FOLL Seaby, Mark | Bolton, Jude | Jack, Kieren
INT Bird, Craig | Hannebery, Daniel | Mumford, Shane | McGlynn, Ben

EM Bevan, Paul | Pyke, Mike | O'Dwyer, Matthew | Veszpremi, Patrick | Moore, Jarred

Other players in our list (that i think we will keep):
Johnston, Lewis | Playfair, Henry | Currie, Daniel
Brabazon, Ryan | Thornton, Kristin | Heath, Campbell
O'Keefe, Daniel | Schmidt, Tim | Barlow, Ed
Orreal, Jake | Gilchrist, Taylor | Ablett, Luke

Look at the depth of our team!!

I could't find room Beven, Vesz, Moore..... (Look at our emergencies :)) . Barlow cant even make that list :thumbsu:. plus we have young players like johnston + currie developing not to mention two first round draft picks.

Next year is going to be awesome

We have to be a bit patient, especially next year. This new team will take time to settle, there's a lot of new faces and, well, for starters we're starting from scratch in the ruck.

I think the swesomeness will more likely start in 2011, but who knows, maybe in each other's company this mob will just go crazyapebonkers and win win win from the off.

That's a pretty deep looking list we are running now for sure. Getting back to that misspelt Libyan Colonel, I doubt that there would be more than say 3 or 4 seriously big backmen ahead of LRT in the AFL at the moment, that's from a 38 year South Melbourne supporter who has also played over 300 games at a local level, so go easy on Sydney supporters not knowing their stuff, that's simply wrong.

Also, don't be surprised to see one D Currie in the goal square starting next year, with White out to CHF and Goodes to a flank. Roosy was after a ruckman from the start of trade week, even without Jolly leaving. I doubt he has given up on Pyke already as a back up and we have Orreal as the apprentice. I just wonder if he doesn't have a different role in mind for Currie.

Any Canberra people able to shed some light here?

Is anyone else feeling a lot more confident about next year than they were 2 days ago or is it just me?

Anyway i have read this thread and i have a few comments

- LRT and Richards are so under rated on this forum it just isn't funny. LRT was our number 1 defender for several games this season with Bolton injured and he did a very good job from memory. He plays on a oppositions 2nd tall forward nearly every week and he almost always does a good job (i have also seen him do well against Buddy Frandklin). Richards is also extremely under rated, sure he isn't a amazing player but he has good skills, puts his body on the line every week and rarely gets beaten. As far as i'm concerned the combination of Craig Bolton, Lewis Roberts-Thomson and Ted Richards is probably one of the best 3 tall defenders in the entire competition.

- I would like to see Bevan play as a forward. I have seen him in the forward line every so often and from what i saw i was impressed. He is a good kick and has a good mark and i truely believe if he is given the chance he would be a very servicable small forward.

FF: Veszpremi Currie White
HF: Johnston Goodes Hannebery
C: Jack ROK Mcveigh
HB: Shaw LRT Mattner
B: Smith C Bolts Grundy
R: Seaby Kirk J Bolton

Int: Mumford Richards Kennedy Bird

Emg: McGlynn (although you'd assume he'd be in rd 1) Moore Malceski Ablett Bevan MOD, Pyke, Barlow Thornton, Meredith etc.

Throw in Pick 6 - Rohan and Pick 14 - Jetta? it could really quicken it up.

If Currie can develop into a Kozi style FF then we will have ur 3 prong marking forward line for the future with Vesz for now a Medium hybrid forward who can crumb.