RDFL Thread - 2013

Not sure of the value of this or the fact that it suggests league officials will be conducting the testing (would open up a can of worms i reckon). It's amateur footy, if blokes are suspected of taking recreational drugs then I believe it is the role of the police to stamp it out given that recreational drugs are against the law

IMO I believe all clubs , in all leagues should be supplied with drug testing equipment. Drugs are a huge problem in society & it's only getting worse. I've been involved with local Footy a long time & for the last few years have coached & the amount of people ' using 'drugs' is staggering. To deny 'your club/community has an issue is just ludicrous. Clubs change/shape people's lives , so we have a responsibility to create the right enviroment. You all know who the bad influences are at your clubs , BUT does your club have the balls to do something about it & yes it may cost u a spot or 2 on the ladder.

I totally agree with drug testing in local leagues. Performance enhancing drugs has always been an unfair advantage and players who breach drug rules/laws should be sacked, or at least handed a long term suspension.

Just wanted to clarify things. Wasn't talking about sacking blokes , more shaming blokes.
Saturday nite do what u like , but training nights and Saturday you better be clean. No-one wants to be known as the druggie of the club , it's embarrassing for them & their families.
I'd say an example would be :
1st time testing positive your made to stand up on a Thursday night & apologize to all at the club.
2nd time caught your suspended 2weeks & everyone who asks is told the real reason why your out.
3rd time your career at the club is over.
Don't think it's over the top to EXPECT blokes to give your club ' all they've got', especially if their hands out for some $$.
I've ALWAYS gone by the quote:
'ITS AN HONOR TO REPRESENT THE CLUB , NO YOUR RIGHT'.
Interested to hear what others think.

Hello all, long time observer first time post(er), I have some very strong opinions on drugs. First of all I do not think there is a place for illegal drugs in society let alone Footy Netball Clubs. (lets not forget the ladies/girls). Drugs ruin lives, careers relationships. Education is the way to go. Most local councils will assist in identifying an organisation that can deliver a package for all (Education). Naming and shaming is not the way to go. It embarrasses people force's them away from the club friends family, alienates them and puts them in a place that is not a happy one. People that use drug need help, they may not know it yet, and we have a responsibility in attempting to show them the way. What better place to be than a footy netball club to support some-one going through this horrible experience. Yes I agree we don't want the drug element to effect other individuals, so there has to be consequences, push away with one hand grab tighter with the other, try and bring them into line. If all fails we can look at ourselves in the mirror and know we gave it a red hot go. Remember - Drugs do NOT discriminate, it could be your brother, sister,son, daughter, cousin, best friend, some-one you know - a team mate.

Agree with u EBF about drugs in society & the need to help not push away , but from my experience the drug problem at Footy clubs is more the social kind. Where it's a fun thing to do. Unfortunately smoking 10 cones a night or having a line on the way out to party is becoming the norm these days. This is were the culture of a club can 'Save/change a life. As a parent of young boys , it would 'Ease the mind' if I knew the club they were playing for ' didn't tolerate this culture' , that the leaders at the club 'Weren't a part of this culture' & the life long friends they will make 'didn't partake in this culture' & the people supporting this club 'weren't feeding this culture'.
Luckily in the rdfl most young people play for 'Their town ' so the chance is there to get them in young & influence them in the 'Right way ' from a young age. We can make our young men & women productive members of our community with very little effort , just by supplying them with a safe place to partake in their chosen sport & surround them with some real 'Positive ' influences. Our clubs would be all the better for it & our communities would be the ENVY of all others.
Thx again EBF , just for caring. Cheers.

what about the final 6 format? Are there going to be changes so finishing 3rd isn't better than 2nd?

Perhaps they'll go to a top 8, that's one extra final on week one meaning one extra lot of money some club would have to pay to host it :p

Coaches for Wallan FNC next year are,
Seniors...Ben Chapman.
2nds.... Russell Humphries
18's..... Travis McCarty.

Matthew Whiteside has stepped down as President and Brad Collins (Secretary and last couple years timekeeper) has taken up the Presidents chair.

Should be an interesting year for the black and white.

Coaches for Wallan FNC next year are,
Seniors...Ben Chapman.
2nds.... Russell Humphries
18's..... Travis McCarty.

Matthew Whiteside has stepped down as President and Brad Collins (Secretary and last couple years timekeeper) has taken up the Presidents chair.

Is Russel the bloke who was at Mernda FC a while ago?

Should be an interesting year for the black and white.

Sorry stuffed that up. Was Russell up at Mernda fc a few years back? If so where has he been till now?

Yeah pretty sure he was up Mernda a while ago. Ran into him a while back in local shops , think he lives up Wallan way. Pretty passionate about his Footy.

Any idea on the exact date round 1 is? Trying to arrange cricket trip and hoping not to interfere with footy.

any truth to the rumours that Rupertswood are looking to play their home games at Sunbury lions ground
There is some truth in it. Salesian college are not 100% behind the move to the rdfl so if they don't get on board rupo may look at clark oval. This was about a month ago though so things might have been sorted now. The school just needed more time to make a decision. I reckon they will come around before round one though. I'll keep you posted.

Yeah pretty sure he was up Mernda a while ago. Ran into him a while back in local shops , think he lives up Wallan way. Pretty passionate about his Footy.
Yeah. Is same Russell.

We got that idea he is passionate. Will be helping out with seniors as well I think.