RDFL Thread - 2013

Abso-friggen-lutely pal ! :thumbsu:

I'd rather see 'em name a medal after a bloke like Cuffey than the plethora of self absorbed administrators that have bestowed the award on each other through their fawning cronyism down the years !!! :eek:

I said this way back in May of this year.........Just so as NONE of those "Self Absorbed Administrators" go patting each other on the back about thinking up the idea ALL by themselves !!! :cool:
...........Oh Dear ! Another positive post I guess !!! :cool:

We were BOTH wrong Chris ! But I was a little more accurate with 4 goals from free kicks to Sunbury.....It was actually three.......... Sunbury's 2nd goal at the 13 min' mark of the first quarter - soft holding the man to Ryan Pretty. Their 7th goal in the 3rd at the 21.30 min' mark - soft high contact to Joeb Ploog. And their 8th & last goal at the 19 min' mark to Phil Kauffman - "Falcon".....Ball to the face....high contact ruled !!!
The vision is right there on the web site pal if you want to correct those stats of yours ???

My mistake mate.. didn't think the umpires had that much of an impact on the game which was why I had to have a look.. all good.. my apologies.. I was wrong.. that's footy.. the players played a frustrating game of football .. especially on the back of a Reserves game that was amazing.. the pressure, tackling and intensity was at its highest level to force a lot of errors.. but to use a Wrestlemania break-down.. Undertaker and Triple H battle it out in Hell in the Cell last year.. the 12 man tag match followed with some good moves and pace but people were still trying to catch their breath from the emotional rollercoaster of Taker beating HHH.. The Reserves on Saturday was emotionally tough.. plenty of excitement and anything that followed that was exhausting to keep that emotional investment.. the voice was just about gone after that one.. lets hope that we have three big games tomorrow.. who will get the job done??

Yeah no worries mate. :thumbsu:
I got a little theory on why the players are making so many ball skill errors too CTL. I reckon it is the Ball we use. The Burley ball I'm told by ALL the players I speak to is extremely inferior to the Sherrin. Its more difficult to kick correctly, it floats around in the air, harder to mark. Bounces around erratically on the ground. Perhaps its even harder to bounce for the Umpires too ?
I am told the Burley is cheaper & that's why we use it, but if we want quality standard of footy played then we should bite the bullet & go with the best ball available.....& that is the Sherrin by ALL accounts.
Nothing that's cheap is ever good, & nothing that's good is ever cheap !
Lets have everything going in our favour I say ! :thumbsu: :footy:

Been casting an eye whilst on holiday, can someone tell me where's the thread with comment, previews and news on this week's prelim finals?

What was the washup from Bowen Medal night? I know form suggests I'm not the best judge but some of the votes given in games I watched left me scratching my head, not towards my players but some of the opposition players who were overlooked.

Bowen/Ryan Medal Night Award Winners:

Dome Security Under 18.5 Leading Goalkicker: Mitchell Kook (Sunbury Kangaroos)
Dome Security Reserves Leading Goalkicker: Matt Vandenberg (Riddell)
Dome Security Senior Leading Goalkicker: Brent Tuckey (Diggers Rest)

Dome Security C Grade Netball Sharpshooter: Megan Payne (Diggers Rest)
Dome Security B Grade Netball Sharpshooter: Casey Kidd (Romsey)
Dome Security A Grade Netball Sharpshooter: Hope Hamilton (Romsey)

Steve Turner Medallist - RDFNL Rising Gun: Todd Podolczak (Rupertswood)

RDFNL Wingman Award: Alan Walters (Sunbury Kangaroos)

Karman Medallist - RDFNL Interleague Best Player: James Wright (Macedon)

Under 18.5 R/Up B&F - Doug McIntyre Medallist: Lachlan Muir (Rupertswood)
Under 18.5 B&F - Charles Watson Medallist: Matt Mills (Macedon)

C Grade Netball R/Up B&F: Toni Fogarty (Sunbury Kangaroos)
C Grade Netball B&F: Erin Nugent (Kilmore)

Reserves R/Up B&F - Laurie O'Brien Medallist: Chris Meacham (Sunbury Kangaroos)
Reserves R/Up B&F - Laurie O'Brien Medallist: Brendan Lees (Melton Centrals)
Reserves B&F - James Scarborough Medallist: Jeremy Pennefather (Woodend/Hesket)

RDFNL Unsung Hero Award: Justin & Lisa Paterson

B Grade Netball R/Up B&F: Jessie Mistretta (Romsey)
B Grade Netball B&F: Samantha George (Kilmore)

Western Water - A Grade Team of the Year:
GK: Katie Clarke (Rupertswood)
GD: Mel Laird (Melton Centrals)
WD: Danielle Davidson (Romsey)
C: Toni Lind (Romsey)
WA: Jess Kennedy (Riddell)
GA: Renee Hulls (Melton Centrals)
GS: Christine Harris (Riddell)
Sub: Rebecca Morabito (Melton Centrals)
Sub: Tran Truong (Melton Centrals)
Sub: Kellie Down (Sunbury Kangaroos)
Sub: Cayley Armstrong (Riddell)
Sub: Hope Hamilton (Romsey)
Coach: Randy Pereira (Melton Centrals)

Western Water Player of the Year: Kila Elavo (Sunbury Kangaroos)

Buffalo Sports Award R/Up - Under 18.5: Matthew Panuccio (Riddell)
Buffalo Sports Award Winner - Under 18.5: Lachlan Muir (Rupertswood)
Buffalo Sports Award R/Up - Reserves: Chris Meacham (Sunbury Kangaroos)
Buffalo Sports Award R/Up - Reserves: Brett McDorman (Diggers Rest)
Buffalo Sports Award Winner - Reserves: Jeremy Pennefather (Woodend/Hesket)
Buffalo Sports Award Winner - Reserves: Michael Sammut (Riddell)
Buffalo Sports Award R/Up - Seniors: James Wright (Macedon)
Buffalo Sports Award R/Up - Seniors: Shaun Wilson (Rockbank)
Buffalo Sports Award Winner - Seniors: Jamie Zerafa (Rockbank)

Melton Toyota Senior Team of the Year:
B: Tom Mainey (Rockbank) - Dan Gregory (Sunbury) - Brett Caton (Diggers Rest)
HB: Ayden Tessari (Romsey) - John Ryan (Diggers Rest) - Stuart Clarke (Diggers Rest)
C: Ethan Foreman (Riddell) - Darren Goodwin (Macedon) - Chris Burkett (Lancefield)
HF: Todd Podolczak (Rupertswood) - James Nolan (Riddell) - Mitch Gaunt (Rupertswood)
F: Adam Fenton (Centrals) - Brent Tuckey (Diggers Rest) - Matt Davidson (Romsey)
R: Jamie Cuffe (Sunbury) - Nathan Richardson (Centrals) - James Wright (Macedon)
I: Haydn Ross (Riddell) - Paul Sahlberg (Riddell)
Jamie Zerafa (Rockbank) - Matt Coomans (Broadford)

Melton Toyota Player of the Year: Brent Tuckey (Diggers Rest)

RDFNL Club of the Year - 3rd Place: Sunbury Kangaroos
RDFNL Club of the Year - 2nd Place: Rockbank
RDFNL Club of the Year - 1st Place: Macedon

A Grade Netball R/Up: Kellie Down (Sunbury Kangaroos)
A Grade Netball - Janine Ryan Medallist: Renee Hulls (Melton Centrals)

Senior Best & Fairest R/Up - Alan Matthews Medallist: Haydn Ross (Riddell)
Senior Best & Fairest - Percy Bowen Medallist: Darren Goodwin (Macedon)

Right here Doon'........one page back ! :rolleyes:

Ha ha yeh sorry mate, just having a read and catching up on it all now. You watch a lot games OMNI many surprises in there amongst the votes? I know I often jot down my better 3-4 from the opposition each week as a bit of a guide and I must admit a few caught my eye.

Yeah, look there always is mate. But it is what it is...... Well done to Darren Goodwin by the way. :thumbsu:
I did tip him on here earlier in the season to take it out, but as the season went on I thought Al Meldrum & Nipper Wright would take votes off him. That & the fact Macedon weren't playing all that well & dropping some games they should have won.

I think its pretty tough on the Umpires with the Awarding of votes & all. I mean we expect them to do the very best job they can of Umpiring the game & we all agree that it must take an enormous amount of concentration to do the gig properly. Then at the end of the game we ask them, oh & by the way, who were your best players in the contest ?
In the AFL & top line footy the Umpires are given the stats of the game to make their job much easier. But our guys get no assistance at all.
So, it is what it is & perhaps we shouldn't place too much importance on it being "The Best Player of the Season"
per se ???
As I said earlier Doon' the Melton Toyota Best Player Award is for mine a truer reflection of form & I agree whole heartedly that Brent Tuckey was clearly the best player this season & was a deserved winner. So well done to Brent also. :thumbsu:

Yeah no worries mate. :thumbsu:
I got a little theory on why the players are making so many ball skill errors too CTL. I reckon it is the Ball we use. The Burley ball I'm told by ALL the players I speak to is extremely inferior to the Sherrin. Its more difficult to kick correctly, it floats around in the air, harder to mark. Bounces around erratically on the ground. Perhaps its even harder to bounce for the Umpires too ?
I am told the Burley is cheaper & that's why we use it, but if we want quality standard of footy played then we should bite the bullet & go with the best ball available.....& that is the Sherrin by ALL accounts.
Nothing that's cheap is ever good, & nothing that's good is ever cheap !
Lets have everything going in our favour I say ! :thumbsu: :footy:

The Sherrin is no doubt the superior footy, but they use Burleys in the WAFL and they play pretty good footy there. The RDFL players play and train with the Burleys week-in, week-out, so that shouldn't be an excuse.

If Sherrin didn't charge so much for footys then I'm sure the RDFL would use them.

The Sherrin is no doubt the superior footy, but they use Burleys in the WAFL and they play pretty good footy there. The RDFL players play and train with the Burleys week-in, week-out, so that shouldn't be an excuse.

If Sherrin didn't charge so much for footys then I'm sure the RDFL would use them.

It's not just the cost of the Sherrin. Burley are sponsors of the competition.

RDFNL Preliminary Final – Sunbury Kangaroos Vs Riddell

Twice these sides have met this year and the result was fairly emphatic both times in the favor of the Bombers. Both at Boardman Reserve and at Riddell Reserve, the Bombers have comprehensively outplayed the Kangaroos, especially around the contest, and have left the Roos line up looking flat footed.

Sunbury Kangaroos - The Roos looked in all sorts of trouble in the first half last week, the Burra dominated just about every facet of the game, as the Roos went into half time 5 goals down and searching for answers. What we saw was the Roos we have all come to know; their fighting qualities in the second half kept them well entrenched in the contest and they hit the front at 3 quarter time, before an arm wrestle in the last term eventually falling to the Burra by less than a goal. They will need to be on the ball from the opening bounce this week though, it’s very difficult to win a game of football with only 2 goals in a half.
Positive: The experience of the past 2 finals campaigns played a huge role last week, the Roos were able to hang in the game. The Roos are close to the best team in the competition at capitalizing on momentum, if they get a roll on and their crowd gets involved, the players lift accordingly in every aspect of the contest.
Negative: The Kangaroos ability to win the contested football at stoppages has dwindled over the course of the season, they have the two most dominant ruckman in the competition, but unlike previous seasons, haven’t been able to consolidate that into clearances as often as the past. Against the Bombers, this area of the game is vital, as they are the best stoppage team in the competition.
Key: The ability to find forward options, in recent seasons, the Roos have had their targets inside 50, but last week, Kaufmann was outplayed and until Ploog pushed forward, the Roos didn’t have a player that looked likely to kick goals. Hopefully Meacham will return to the lineup this week, which will free up Kaufmann and bring the small forwards into play.
Wildcard: Joeb Ploog – Last week he booted 3 goals in the third term and he has a natural ability to draw the football as a forward, something that the Roos lacked in the first half last week. He is an exceptional mark overhead and on the lead and an accurate set shot on goal, an addition to this though is, if he plays forward, I would prefer to see him more selfish when looking at goal scoring opportunities. He could be the surprise packet that kicks a bag and sees the Roos over the line.

Riddell - The Bombers come of a massive win against the Redbacks last week, one that will reaffirm their claims as the top side in the competition. Despite the loss in the first week to the Burras, quite often in the top 6 layout we see a side have to take “the long road” through and win the premiership and the one thing the Bombers have this season is far more youth that will have no trouble with tiring legs, as some Bombers sides have done recently.
Postive: The Bombers are the best clearance side in the competition, in addition, their ability to spread from the stoppage is their real strength, they have a couple of exceptional users of the ball in Paul Sahlberg and Ethan Foreman that can break from the contest with confidence, knowing that their teammates are likely to win the ball, this leaves both in the clear, to deliver to the forwards with no pressure on the kick. Their back line continues to perform, as often sides believe the back line is the Bombers weakness, they continue to keep opponents from scoring, much of this is due to the Bombers midfield being willing to push both ways and support. Aaron Blade dominates across the half back line in a sweeper role and rarely feels any contact or pressure.
Negative: If somehow, the opposition can win the ball at the stoppages or draw even, the Bombers can be vulnerable. Because their players can spread off the stoppage with such confidence, if they are losing the contested football, they can be caught out of position, so this is where the opposition needs to make the most of their opportunities. Win the contested ball/stoppage and then provide the forwards with one on one contests and plenty of space before the Bombers mids can push back and support.
Key: The Bombers have bought in players that use the ball exceptionally well, if they are allowed to get on top and run and carry without restriction, the forwards will get far too much good football coming inside 50 to contain. When the Bombers got a run on last week, they ran the Redbacks ragged, if given half a chance, they will do the same this week.
Wildcard: James Nolan – Was very quiet last week, but has a great record against the Roos this year, the big forward has strong hands and is capable of kicking quick goals to put space between the Bombers and their opponents.

Prediction: A Grand Final berth on the line, the Roos still holding onto the dream of back to back, whilst the Bombers will no doubt want to avoid the finishing on top but not making the big day stigma that followed the Burra last year.

Both sides will be fired up for a big showing without a doubt, but based on last week’s games and the results this year, I find it difficult to see how the Kangaroos can get over the Bombers, there is no doubt they will hang in, but in the end, I think we will see another Diggers Rest Vs Riddell Grand Final in 2013.
Riddell by 24 points.

Riddell don't Matt ! I think B.T. has a contact at Sherrin. :thumbsu:

Is it a long term sponsorship contract IMS ? Isn't the BalFL sponsored by & use Sherrins ? Is it something we could get on board with now we are aligned with Ballarat ?

Honestly, I have never asked about the Ballarat deal.. :confused: Don't even know what footy's they use.

I think the sponsorship is year by year, Sherrin is no where near at the level of Burley.

Gotta agree with omnis earlier post re Iceleys umpiring I always find him very fair with a common sense approach only paying the obvious and not rewarding any logie awards.May not b the fittest ump but when running 3 umps in finals dont think fitness or speed is too important you simply want the best.As for the 2 stupid brothers still umpiring what a joke and a slur on the whole Rdfl community.As for the footy hope Sunba get up.

Thanks bf. Adam is a fantastic Ump'. I was just discussing him & his style with a coach earlier in the week. He said he loved the way Icely only payed the obvious frees & let the game flow. He went on to say that the consistency this afforded to the players ment they were not always second guessing themselves when going for the ball & made for a better contest to watch & play in alike.............

Unfortunately, I have since leaned Icely has been told by O'Keefe he missed a few decisions on Sunday & that his services will no longer be required this season !!! :thumbsdown:
I tend to think its more like, he doesn't quite fit the right "Look" for O'Keefe or doesn't kiss his arse as much as some of the other ump's still getting a run !!! :confused:

Riddell don't Matt ! I think B.T. has a contact at Sherrin. :thumbsu:
With all due respect to Riddell, I reckon that's silly. BT might have a contact at Sherrin to supply balls, but why would you train with a ball that you don't use on game day?

I wouldn't have a problem with the RDFL playing with yellow Burleys on game day to cut costs on clubs as match balls can then be used at training. They also do that in the WAFL. Would come in handy during those final quarters in June, too!

I don't agree with anything certain people above have stated of late ( or for that matter anything they have said over the last 6 or 7 years) but I too do really rate Ice as an umpire, always fair, never second guesses and you can tell he has played the game. Really surprising he has not received a big final.

Hit the nail on the head. He has played a lot of footy in his time and understands the game from a players point of view. This is a key ingredient and if possible we should be trying to recruit more retired players into the ranks.

Good luck to all tomorrow :thumbsu::footy: .......................................& I'll be watching you very closely Mr Joel Wood ! :cool:

You sure your not an umpire OMNI, you seem to know what going on with the umps more so than we do. Either that or your getting some inside information (if its true), guess we will find out Sunday. Maybe Ice stole your identity, that would explain the water comment earlier. We could have done with a drink on a few more occasions Sunday I must say. I will just say i really enjoy umpiring with Ice, always know what to expect, which goes along with what everyone is saying above. Interested to know why you want to watch woody so closely?