Recruits for 2002

• Thread starter Thread starter Visro

Visro

Who does everyone think the WC FC should recruit at the end of the year? What type of players do you think we need?

Personally I think we have the ruck division sorted out. Gardiner is a very good number 1 ruck and Cox is an immerging ruckman. Gaspar could aslo be used in the ruck if we were really desperate and aslo Jako so the ruck department isn't lacking.

I think we need to recruit a high profile defender, Darren Gaspar at Richmond immediately springs to mind, but if the club wants to go with someone younger, Jonathon Hay would be my pick. If we had to choose out of the two I would pick Jonathon Hay purely because he is a bit younger.

Another player which might be a possibility is Des Headland. Since being picked up by Brisbane a few years ago as number 1 draft pick he has looked promising but hasn't really delivered. A move back to WA may do the trick. He could boost our CHF line signicantly.

Are there any other players you feel we should have a look at? The club has a lot of youngsters now and we should probably think of trading our draft picks for some more experienced players. I would however keep our number 1 draft pick still.

Vis

------------------
The computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila (Mitch Ratcliffe)

The eagles need to draft 3 new players every year, so don't expect us to be giving draft picks away too rapidly.

Instead of signing players from other AFL clubs i would prefer to see us give our players(Donnelly, Turnball, Wooden, etc) up for first round draft picks. If we could secure say a top 10 pick and add to that our own top 10 pick(which we are likely to get as we won't finish in the top6) and we culd draft two fantastic key position players.

We need a CHB as Gaspar might play there but it is not guaranteed, he should end up playing at CHF. McDougall, Gaspar and Gardiner are all capable of playing at CHF but i can't see any of them playing at CHB. We need a player of jakovich's type, though we are unlikely to find one of his quality(easily greatest CHB in AFL history).

Thats probably it, we are stocked up with midfielders(Cousins, Morrison, Braun, wirrpunda, Kerr, Fletcher, Humm, Munro, Haynes, etc) and forwards(Gaspar, Gardiner, McDougall, Joey, Williams, Embley) yet we have not that many defenders, as Glass and Collica are the only under 23 i can think of.

NOTE: I only mentioned our younggsters, i did not include the likes of Cummings, Wilson, Kemp, Roo, McIntosh, Jakovich, Banfield, Taylor, Sierakowski and Prior.

In conclusion, we need to stock up on defenders.

------------------
"I'm not going to waste my life trying to prolong it"

Well looks like Gaspar will become like his brother, a backman. He frequently plays down in defence in the WAFL but there lies a problem, WC has a good defence for the moment but it is mainly older players. We need to even up where the older players are playing or otherwise when they retire, there will be no youngsters who can play down there.

Thats why I say recruit Jonathon Hay...great defender, a West Aussie boy, KJ knows him and can convince him back and he is only in his early twenties!

Vis

i agree d4e
2 top 10 draft picks would really add to our list
we need a true full back and a true chb
2 more big men for our defense and 1 more specific half back flanker id say
i dont think we would get a top- 10 pick for any player like turnbull wodden etc, we would be lucky to get a top 35 pick for them. Personally i beleive we should ytrade cummings to get it, we have wilson to fill in for a bit and then buszan will be good enough to take over by then,

if we were to trade for any player, we should trade for Hay and Hedland
but not give up any top 25 picks and still try to have 2 really good picks for some good key players

The only way we would get another top 10 draft pick would be to trade several of our players in what could be a complex deal with multiple clubs and since the players we are talking about aren't that great anyway, the deal would probably never even be considered.

No club really wants Turnball, Wooden or Donnely...think realisticly, they're nothing more than average players that would get low draft picks. We are much better trading a draft pick and a fairly good player like Williams or Jones for example for one better player.

Vis

I would like to see us target Paul Barnard. He is a strong and powerful West Aussie and would complement the side. I reckon Essendon are way over the salary cap this year and next year they will need to offload as players demand higher wages.

i dont beleive we should be targetting ANY player over the age of 22
hay would be the oldest in my opinion
we shouldnt waste draft picks for players that will play only a few season
just look at gerard neeshams tactics at freo
and u will see what i mean

First you have to look at the list to see where you need some players.

Full-Forward: Cummings and Wilson compliment that position (i noticed Cummings was named on the bench).

Half-Forward: We could probably do with another CHF. Aside from Gardiner (who can't play CHF full-time yet) we've got a battler in Sierakowski and a rookie in MacDougall. So we may get another one if we have space on the list.

Small Forwards: We're going allright in this department but we could probably do with one more. Phil Matera and Merenda are the only true small forwards.

Rucks: looking good here - Cox, Gardiner, even Turnbull, Jakovich, heaps of options here.

Midfielders and Wings: we're stacked up in the midfield - Cousins, Kemp, Banfield, Morrison, Read, Braun, Kerr, Peter Matera. There's a few others who we can use for burts in the centre (Taylor, Wirrpunda, etc,.). Don't need any midfielders.

Key Backman: definetaly a problem area - Jako and McIntosh will be gone pretty soon and we have NO ONE at all to replace them.
We have a few quick-fix solutions at CHB and FB, but nothing dominating. We need to recruit at least 3 players to fill these 2 positions.

Small backmen: We're going allright here, but we could probably recruit another small backmen. We've got Wirrpunda, Prior, Morrison back here, but we could do with one more.

So we need to recruit:

3 key position backmen (high priority - probably use 1 draft pick, and try and recruit 2 from other clubs)
small forward (draft pick)
small backman (draft pick)
a half forward (draft pick - if we've still got space on the list, and in the salary cap)

so we would use 4 draft picks (hopefully we can get 3 picks in the first 2 rounds) and look at recruiting a couple of young kep position backman (ie, Jon Hay) from other clubs.

------------------
Join the big footy tipping competition at Footy Tips
Join the BigFooty Cricket Cup
visit the Easts Cricket Club
The ulitimate statistics reference

I agree that we probably wouldn't get a top10 pick for Turnball, donnelly, wooden etc, but where the eagles need to do is capitalise on what they have.

Last year we lost Gehrid and got pick 18 and Sierakowski, rather than that we should of asked the saints for one of their top 10picks. We also lost White for 3 really low draft picks, why couldn't we get a 2nd round draft pick for him instead?

Imagine what a club would of offered us if we offered them Gehrid and White as a package, the saints would have given their #2 for them any day and we could of probably picked up siera in the draft anyway.

If we offered Freo donnelly, wooden and turnball(they do need a ruckman) i'm sure we could get a top 15 pick for them three.

------------------
"I'm not going to waste my life trying to prolong it"

Ah_19 - sometimes i think your not actually an eagles fan!!! I mean trade Cummings!!! What the hell is that about. We have needed a pure FF for years and now we finally have one you want to trade him???

You say we have Wilson to play there until Buzcan is ready to step up. What if Buzcan is a dud and Wilson only last 1 or 2 years then we are back where we started with no FF.

Cummings when healthy is one of the best FF in the country and is perfect for us with our pinpoint midfield that can put it on his chest. Trading Cummings is an absolute shocking idea and on top of all that he is a fan favourite and still reasonably young.

Are you sure your not a dockers man??

No club would ever accept Donnely, Wooden and Turnball. First of all they're trading 1 player and getting 3 in return when clubs are trying to cut lists. Second, two of them are getting old and whilst may have been good for some time, are now ageing. The third, Wooden, hasn't shown much. There is no club in the AFL that will trade to get these players, basically cause they know they could pick them up in the draft. We have to trade a better player in our team to get a good draft pick. Anyone know Darren Glass's and Jonathon Hay's contract details?
biggrin.gif

Vis

no jod im not
im just someone who likes to look to 3 years in the future
i like cummings, hes a very funny guy and likable
but cummings is one dimensional, we have to structure our forward line so he can lead out to the ball, if he cant lead to it and its 50-50 he wont win, hes got too little upper body strength, that means people like gardiner cant push back into his space, its all about him..
he never kicks the ball off the ground and turns too slowly

a few years ago collingwood wanted peter matera
if we had traded him we would have tarrant now and most likely one other player......
3 years down the track, dont you think it would have been worth it?

The 2 key areas I feel we lose games in is our half forward line and our backline. Most clubs have a solid CHF and although Siera didn't get the chance to prove himself this year, I don't think he or a player like Embley or Hunter would be able to kick 50-60 goals each year (although I'm not saying delist Embley!)

Our backline used to be our foundation of defense and our best method of attack with McKenna, McIntosh/Brennan, Woosha down there. I'm thinking we need another solid defender in the mould of Jon Hay (hasn't his name come up a lot!) and a very skillful back pocket such as Ben Hart from Adelaide.

Btw - Is Buckley available?
wink.gif

Originally posted by GoEagles:
I'm thinking we need another solid defender in the mould of Jon Hay (hasn't his name come up a lot!) and a very skillful back pocket such as Ben Hart from Adelaide.

Jonathon Hay's name comes up a lot because I have a feeling he is out of contract at the end of the year. He is a West Australian, was recruited by Ken Judge in his stint at Hawthorn so therefore knows our coach and has been known to be homesick returning to live in Perth in the offseason. I just have this feeling that WC will be targeting him very heavily at the end of the season.

On another note, in a couple of games I have seen Embly play down back and he did quite well there. I think he could become quite a dominant CHB or defender if the club gives him a chance down there.

Vis

no doubt Hay should be targeted but lets not forget the Daniel Chick story of last year.

I think Hawthorn will consider Hay even more valuable than they considered Daniel Chick to be

it'll be very hard to pick him up..

Jon Hay has already come out and said he isnt returning home until the end of his career. So unless, he is saying that to bump up his asking price he aint comin home.

I though the Tigers Gaspar renewed his contract not long ago.

Quite often I have seen you guys refer to a Gaspar. I think you are getting confused with Damien Gaspar at East Freo Our Travis Gaspar is a young bloke at South Freo Yes they are all brothers. Travis is about 18 and would have played very few WAFL games.

I dont think we have much to trade. The person who spoke about trading Peter Matera should wash their mouth out. At the risk of upsetting someone I would say they havent watched our Boys very closely this year. Peter Matera is on fire.

We should think about what we need to win a Premiership and what players we will lose before we do. Gone will be Kemp, Jako, Matera, McIntosh.

I think we have heaps of midfielders, small defenders and small forwards. Young guys too - Morrison, Banfield, Fletcher, Taylor, Cousins, Braun, Chambers, Jones, Merenda, Munro, Phil Matera, Kerr, Green, Read, Williams, Humm, Wirra. Not all young but all can play a bit.

From what I have seen our problem is key position talls. Darren Glass will hold down CHB. But we need a CHF and Full Back. Maybe Gaspar will develop. It would be great to get Gaspar from Ricmond or Hay. That is what we want to recruit but we may have to look for Kids.

The Ruck is covered by Cox, Gardiner, McDougall.

Andrew Embley is our mid range forward with physicality. When he is back we will have a great side and a true finals prospect for 2001.

It is such a shame that Glas and Embley got injured because they would iron out any problems we are having right now. In short drop Trent Carroll. He just aint up to it

We have some good tall prospects on the Rookie list. - Beeck, Buszan, McCarrey. I think thats where to draft them. Take a punt on a raw tall skinny kid with talent and see how he develops

Boy, sorry about the book

GO EAGLES!

As a general rule, you recruit talls before smalls because they take longer to develop.

We should develop our own players and forget about bringing guys home. Look at how much it cost the Dockers to get Peter Bell. He alone will not win them a Flag and for what they paid he may have cost them one. The Dockers could have recruited for 1st round draft picks like Pavlich, Brown and Haselby. But gave those picks to the Kangaroos

God you got a bit confusing when referring to the Gaspars then. Darren Gaspar is quite a bit older than his brothers isnt he, Travis anyway, hes about 25 from what I remember. When did Jon Hay say that? Pity about that cause he could have been a good prospect. I dont think we should write Carroll off yet, he hasn't had the oppurtunity to play where he wants which is down back. Anyone know much about Zac Beeck, i have never really known much about the guy.

BTW ONE EYE, how do you know so much about everything?? Your probably KJ in disguise arent ya
wink.gif
But seriously do you have links within the clubs or something?

Vis

Originally posted by ah_19:
no jod im not
im just someone who likes to look to 3 years in the future
i like cummings, hes a very funny guy and likable
but cummings is one dimensional, we have to structure our forward line so he can lead out to the ball, if he cant lead to it and its 50-50 he wont win, hes got too little upper body strength, that means people like gardiner cant push back into his space, its all about him..
he never kicks the ball off the ground and turns too slowly

a few years ago collingwood wanted peter matera
if we had traded him we would have tarrant now and most likely one other player......
3 years down the track, dont you think it would have been worth it?

Your rapidly losing creditbility ....

Matera is one of those guys you just dont trade, Hird, Buckley, Lloyd, Crawford, Harvey ... you dont trade people like that. Matera is one of them.

Cummings purpose is to lead mark and kick accurately, he does that pretty well when uninjured so why trade him???

Im really beginning to think your a Dockers spy.

Originally posted by Visro:
Well looks like Gaspar will become like his brother, a backman. He frequently plays down in defence in the WAFL but there lies a problem, WC has a good defence for the moment but it is mainly older players. We need to even up where the older players are playing or otherwise when they retire, there will be no youngsters who can play down there.

Thats why I say recruit Jonathon Hay...great defender, a West Aussie boy, KJ knows him and can convince him back and he is only in his early twenties!

Vis

Vis Ken overrated Judge knowing him would prolly work against him LOL. Seriously from an outsiders perspective i think its time WCE bit the bullett, Kerr was a great young pick up, but hndy as they might be recruits such as Taylor, Merenda,Carroll etc are all stop gap measures. Your better players are getting older and more vulnerable (although still great value) Essendon despite always being near the top leads the way in identifying top youngsters and recruiting them, they also pick up handy 'used' footballers such as Barnes, but only to plug specific gaps. Hawthorn has followed Essendons lead (remarkably while Judgey was coach!) and the benefits are starting to show. Introducing talented youngsters is the way to go while you still have a couple of good years out of Matera and Jakovich etc left. Perhaps the problem is Judge feels under pressure to perform short term to keep the job he coveted so badly and long term decisions are being put to the backburner?

dockers spy, what are you 10 years old?
im actually a victorian spy making sure that the cup doesnt leave vic, im undermining WCE from this webpage, its really important in the whole scheme of things.

ONE EYE i thought our Gaspar played for East freo, because i know he plays for the club thats alligned wtih the dockers, and i think thats east, the older brother playes for souths i thought.

And Bubalous thats what ive been saying all along, from someone who is trying to look at the team logically, its time we bit the bullet, premierships are what matters, we can contine on the path we are on now of slow rebuilding because supporters DEMAND that we have succes along the way (....jod..) which will result in a good team at the end of a long period of time
or we can really trade some players, pick up LOTS of young kids and see them develop into a very very good team, this will mean no succes in the short term, but really in 3 years we WILL be better off.

The problem ah_19 though is, who can we trade. No AFL club is going to want our ageing stars anymore, they certainly wont give us high draft picks for them anyway. What we could do though is give anothe club say 2 or 3 players and then get a high draft pick (Below 20). It will be hard though cause there isn't many players on our list that are stars and in their mid 20's, and we're not trading cousins or gardiner either.

Vis

yes i agree
which is why i beleive trading cummings would be good, IF we can get hay we should trade braun for him.... it would be worth it
and the only player thats young in our team worth trading is jones, we would get a top 15 pick maybe for him
if we gave say jones and our 2nd round pick for a 5-10 pick etc...
traded towards lower picks,
because jones just cant kick
frown.gif

not sure we'd get much for Jones on the basis of performances to date.

as for future needs a lot depends on the development of glass, embley and gaspar this year. if 2 of these 3 can develop we will be well placed.

regarding carroll i wouldn't discard him just yet. i thought he showed some endeavour last night but he certainly was outclassed. i think we have to remember that it usually takes time for key defenders to develop to the point of being able to play on the competition's very best (which Richardson is). I remember when mitchell white came on the scene as a 18y.o. - i used to cringe when he had the key forwards in the first season and a half. i didn't think he would make it. michael brennan generally got the big jobs. with experience white became a great defender (later a very good CHF). I know carroll's not 18 but he is a bit inexperienced and i think he lacks a bit of confidence (who wouldn't after playing in freo's defence). i'm not saying he'll make it, only that he should be given a chance.

With Kerr and Humm looking both to be good midfielders we might be able to get rid of Braun, Im not sure what type of player we would get in return though.

If Cummings doesn't play a good year I think we should trade him. Promote Buznan of the rookie list this year and see how he goes. If he cant cut it, trade him or something.

Jones or Williams are both good players but we still wouldn't get the best of draft picks with them. If both of them were just a bit taller we might.

Vis

Ok, I had a lot to read here. We need key backmen, and we need them quickly. Last night the Richmond talls killed us. We had no one to play on Richo but Carroll, who was smaller, slower, not as strong and not as good a football mind. Ottens played well as well. No way should we trade cummings, just like we definately shouldn't have traded matera. If you always look 3 years to the future you'll never win a premiership, cause you'll trade away all your up and coming stars to get early draft picks. A bit pushed for time so that'll have to do for now!

------------------
If everybody is rowing the boat together then there's no body to rock it!
CARN THE 7TH WONDERS
CARN THE W C WARRIORS